LASIK at SNEC

yes, i do experience glare and halos at night, maybe due to astig. You better take care of your dry eyes, put more eyedrops. If it persists after 6 months, more likely it is permanent. By the way, what is your degree?

poh (pps)
i'm currently not working so i do not require any MCs. my rite eye is -600, 100 astig, and my left eye is -500, 125 astig. so i can consider my astig abit on the high side.

wawa, not to worry, Dr Chan is very experienced. I have a colleague who was referred to him for second opinion by another doc at SNEC.

poh (pps),
frequent use of teardrops even tho' if u dun feel yr eyes are dry. tht's what he said. what did Dr Wee tell you then?

He did say it's pretty normal as the vision is still trying to stablize. hopefully the dryness and the halos will be better after 1-3 months time.

Do keep me posted of the next consultation as I am quite curious about your outcome. By the way, what do you hope the results will be?

Hi poh (pps),
went to see Dr Wee for my 1st month consultation. They did a power test for me and good news, both my eyes are now perfect, 6/6!
Bad news is, i still have -100 deg of astig on my left eye, but none in my right, which I'm surprised!
anyway, Dr Wee did assure me that i do not have to be that worried abt the astig as they will definitely slowly decrease by the time i see him in another 3 month's time.

melgal, thanks for sharing your experience with me. Dr Wee is quite nice actually, always ready to answer any questions. It's just that I was too shy to ask. But I will consult him if there is any problem.

hi poh (pps)
no worries. i try to help as much as i can in regards to any probs yah. feel free to ask me should anything crops up.

hi everybody,

hw many consultation b4 n after e surgery? hw much is e consulation fee? need 2 do sm budgeting .....pls advise.

Im having an appt with Dr. Chan Tat Keong (fr SNEC) this 18 Oct to test if im suitable for Lasik or not. My power is 375/eye + 50-100 astig. Still considering whether to go or not. Like everyone, im also afraid of side effects. And also, will anything happen in few years time.. Anyone have a experience with Dr. Chan TK b4? From the above tat i'd read is mostly on Dr.Chan WK & Dr.Wee. Eyes is sooo important and i do not hope it'll become a nightmare.

The cost is only $1320/eye, which is lower than everyone had paid. So does tat mean this doc is not as experience?

Pls advice..... Thank u..

melgal, thanks, how many times do you need to go for consultation???

tan, the doctors are experienced at snec, it's just that they lower the fees to make it more competitive, I paid more than that when i did it last year

hv bn hearing so much about lasik... wat's conventional and wavefront??? hv bn thinking about going for the surgery, coz cant live w/o contacts or glasses... about myopia 550 on each eye... am dreaming of hvg 6/6 eyesight... especially when my son wakes up in the middle of nite... i shd be looking out for my son, but instead am looking for my specs... aiya ...
can some1 pls enlighten me on the different types of lasik and all in all how much it will costs.. nid to do some budgeting and convincing my husband to part with the amt... tks..

Hi there!
I am wondering what is the waiting time like between the consultation to determine one's suitability for the op and the op? do I have to wait for months before the surgery?

Hi cheerio,
it all depends on the doc's schedule, as for me, i only have to wait for 2 days to book my surgery. no worries at all!

hi I am going for lasik on wednesday afternoon
I hate my specs and is looking forward to days without specs but at the same time worried about the side effects..sigh
my colleague who did it six months ago still experiences blur vision occasionally...i need some encouragement here

yes cheerio. it's 2 eyes on separate days.
miso: which doc did u choose finally? blur vision = dry eyes. if u've got leftover astig, you might experience side effects like glares/halos/starbursts bt 3-6 mths time. it's normal. dun worry.

I am considering doing a LASIK at SNEC. The op fees for consultant are so much attractive than senior consultant say like $1320 to $1800 per eye.

However, the experience & skill of the Dr is my main priority cos I only have one pair of eyes for them to play around....(too scare to take any risk). Any recommendation of the SNEC's Dr is greatly appreciated.

Anyone had their Lasik done by Dr Lim Li at SNEC? Is he good and patient? Pls share your experience with me. I'm having my 1st consultation with him this fri and i'm getting nervous.

Pls help me. Thanks!

Some of my friends and even my husband did the eye lasik in malaysia. When I was there with my hubby, there was plenty of Singaporeans, the manager told me 90% of their customers are Singaporean. I think my hubby paid RM3600 for 2 eyes. I think now is around RM4000.

Can't recall the name of that eye lasik centre, but it's located at City Square Office Tower, 20+ flr.

apple, I know that specialist clinic that you are talking about, it is called Optimax (www.optimax.com.my) In fact, I just had my lasik done (both eyes) 2 days ago there. I had a nice doctor who is very re-assuring. Initially, was quite sceptical, but a few of my colleagues did it there and had very good results, so I went with another colleague on thursday to have both eyes corrected. (we had the pre-op check a few days before the operation, an appt set about 1 mth ago) My degree was 750 for both eyes, with 50 astig. Now one eye is 20/20 and the other 25/20. One day later, almost perfect, no dryness at all, very slight halo. Total cost is RM4600 for BOTH eyes, so just slightly above SGD2000 (inclusive of ALL followup checkups 1 day, 1 month, 3 months and 1 year later) The pre-op checkup costs RM100.

I am going to see Dr Peter Tseng at SNEC for an assessment. Can anyone tell me more about him and the result of your op if possible?

Hi Maverick,

Couldn't reply to your PM cos i think you blocked that in your profile. My op was about 3.5 months ago. Right now, my right eye is perfect eyesight but my left eye still has some residual myopia of about 75 degrees. Can see without glasses but vision is abit blur especially at night while driving. I just went for my review last week, Dr Tseng said that my eyes are very dry so the eye test may not give accurate results. So, i'll have to wait for the 6th month review to see how. My power is quite high before the surgery, 1050 on the right eye (which is perfect now) and 750 on the left eye. If i'm not wrong, i still have some astig on my left eye, probably around 50 to 100.

Becos of the high power, i was "warned" that the correction may not be perfect after the surgery. Well, I wouldn't say i'm extremely happy with the results because i have a friend who had higher power than me but now has perfect eyesight. But I'm happy enough lah. It's magical to be able to see first thing in the morning when i open my eyes, without grappling for my glasses. I suppose it depends on individuals as well, not just the doctors.

Dr Tseng is not the chatty kind, in fact, he will only talk if you ask questions. So, go prepared with questions. Else, your consultation will be over very swiftyly. When i see him for reviews,it's usually over within 2 minutes. That's how fast he works.

BTW, how much is the op per eye now ?

All the best

Per eye is quoted 2050. Havent seen him yet. Assessment is end of this month. Do you think he is experienced and skillful.

It's really hard to say, cos i have no basis to compare him with any other doctors. I chose him becos of his seniority, i believe that he must have earned a certain level of experience to be considered a Senior Consultant and charging higher fees. Like i mentioned earlier, the success of the surgery depends on the individual as well. My friend who has higher power than me, chose a more junior doctor but her eyesight turned out fine. However, i can't say her doctor is more skilful than mine just because her surgery is more successful... you get what i mean hor.

Hi I had mine done by Peter Tseng last month.
Going for my first month review next week
So far so good but my vision is not so clear at night or areas with dim lighting.
Under normal sunlight , quite ok. I paid only 1850 per eye.
quite scary at first when going through the procedure but glad that i went through it.
life without specs or lenses is so convienient even without perfect vision.

Hi, anyone here had done the Lasik by Dr Wee? Would greatly appreciate your help for sharing your experience here.

cat, there was an earlier thread discussing abt dr wee but it was deleted. yes, i had lasik done by him last yr. everything was ok except for dry eyes & glare. but still can manage so far. when is yr consultation???

Thanks poh,

Finally somebody responded!

My appointment with him is next month. The Q is crazy, must be the recent newspaper report of the Lasik.

Btw, you do the conventional or wavefront Lasik? How high is your degree previously? Did he manage to correct your eyes perfectly? And is the dryness or glare affect your lifestyle a lot especially in the cold country?

Sorry, for posting so many questions cos I am a little bit gan cheong.

mine was the conventional lasik cos it's very simple. left eye close to 400 and right eye slightly over 500. both myopia, no astig. little bit of overcorrection and astig. dryness or glare don't affect lifestyle, just feel uncomfortable and glare affect night vision. don't worry too much, just relax when you see dr wee. let me know yr outcome cos I'm curious

Well, I have 600 myopia & 75 astigmatism for each eye. I am just like a blind mouse w/o specs so it is a great opportunity to go after such a good price reduction.

Anyway I appreciate your help for sharing your experience. Will let you know what's the outcome afetr I see him.

Hi andrew!

Could i check with you whether you did both eyes together at the malaysian clinic? How is the waiting time like? Is there any discomfort after that? Do you have to wear any eye protection or something after the op?
I'm really interested in doing in m'sia (save $$ esp with the exchange rate! :D)

I need some advice here. Can you still work immediately after the eye test? I heard that there will be some adverse effect & you probably can't see clearly in about 2 days time. I appreciate someone can assist me on this so I can arrange my leave.

Thanks~

cat, yr eyes will feel blurry after the eye test. the doc will give u mc for that day. u can still work on the next day.

Only 1 day mc not more?

Thks poh, I am getting excited to see Dr Wee next week. Last time u waited for how long to do your LASIK after the eye test?

the eyedrops will cause yr eyes to feel blurry for up to 24 hrs only, no problem for the next day. i done lasik 3 weeks after the eye test.

Just had my left eye operated this afternoon at SNEC by Dr Wee. Everything seems fine except that I still feel some pains in my left eye now. Now I am having some difficulties trying to see things having my left eye clear and right eye blur...