LASIK at SNEC

cutiekris

celia, Yuppie i'll try to apply leave to rest by considering the days of MCs i'm entitled per yr excluding my annual leave ;p

My collg came back to office today with perfect eyesight! His only discomfort is dry eyes. Nevertheless he achieve 6/6 vision after Lasik! Me trying to tell myself even if there’s minimal residual I shld be contented tt I wnt be relying much on specs anymore & farewell to contact lens!! Meanwhile still counting down to day of my ops ; p

totto

after reading all ur posting.. i have finally called SNEC to make an appointment for consultation on monday.. my appt is next friday.. hope they would be able to correct my eyesight for me.. i have very dry eyes

touraco

Anyone heard of Dr Chan Tat Keong from SNEC? My sis-in-law sis her lasik with him. She says he's ok. Any others done theirs with him as well.

dear_dear

I went for the pre-evaluation today with Dr Wee. He is indeed a nice doctor.

When I went there in the morning, while waiting a lady approach me telling me that Dr Wee got available slots for lasik on 27 June. I was so happy & called back office to check whether is there any important things on that week or not. Everything was fine so I booked the dates.

But an hr later when I step into Dr Wee room. I have not even really sit down. He told me that I am not suitable for lasik surgery as my corena is too thin & it will have complications if I go for lasik or wave front.

In my whole life, this is the first time I feel so lost & dazed. While in the cab meeting up my mum & sister, all of sudden I juz cried bcoz all along I have been wanting to do it finally got the courage but I can't.

Hi dear,

so sorry to hear that u cant do it. Actually dunno how to console u but I hope you'll look on the bright side of things. Go get yourself a little present tomorrow and dont think so much about it, ok.

Its good that u cried out. Hey, dun feel sad, I think there are some other methods thats suitable for those who cant go thru Lasik in the market and I'll try to find out for u.

dear_dear

Hi celia,

Thks for ur concern. But this is my dream end up it was dashed this morning. I never had this feeling before. I kept telling myself never mind I can start saving instead of spending a bomb for the lasik but still need some time to get over it. I know I have to face the fact too.

After the consulation, me, my mum & sis went for lunch & go to shop for some stuffs for my mum. My vision was quite blur. When I reach home at 3pm, less than 5 mins I slept & wake up at 7pm then I feel better.

Quite touched by hubby bcoz he is not expressive type of guy but he kept calling & asked am I ok or not. Even my aunt also called me up to ask how was the evaluation.

Tmr I m on leave also & going for a 'wild' shopping with my sister.

omomom

Hi deardear

Most prob u gonna get over with the "Lasik Craze" in a short while. Me too, was very excited over Lasik the other time, but the feeling was gone after some time...

Its something like having the idea of changing my car. I was so crazy over the idea then tat i wud check the COE prices and car prices every week, get myself sooo excited.. but in the end, I decided to kill tat thought ( a great struggle), save more money and the feeling kinda went off after sometime.

Its jus abt perfect visions la, u still have ur 4 limbs to engage in sports and other fun... to enjoy life! Cheer up :D

Hi dear,

that's the way to go. Your loved ones really cared about u so go for your shopping tmr and remember to buy a little present for those who showed their concern today...like your aunt. Wow, your hubby must really sayang u.

Btw, found something like that

What about PRK (photorefractive keratectomy)? How is it different from Lasik?

Lasik has superseded PRK because recovery of vision is faster with Lasik and there is generally less discomfort. However, PRK may be a better option in some cases. For example, Lasik may not be suitable for people with a very thin cornea.

dear_dear

Hi Zea,

Thks. I understand wat u mean.

Hi Celia,

I will. I am really touched although hubby have to work overtime today but he kept calling.

According to Dr Wee, he say that now there is no technology available for thin cornea which mean PRK also not suitable for me.

Thks alot for helping me to check out.

totto

hi dear

ur hubby is really nice.. & am glad ur feeling better already.. so how was ur shopping ?

me going for the evaluation in 30mins time *hiakz*.. am not expecting too much.. coz i think my cornea shld be thin as well coz i have the habit of rubbing my eyes everyday.. but i still wanna go ahead and hear from the Doctor :p

dear_dear

hi totto,

wow i spend a bomb today...Abt $200plus...But it had been ages I never shop until like that...

how is ur evaluation today?

cutiekris

Hi dear
Hope you'll get over the sadness soon and remain positive towards things in life
what did you spend on?

Hi totto,
did your evaluation go well?
hope to hear from you soon

cutiekris

dear dear,
Glad that you had a good time
Wishing you more happiness to come along the way! Nice knowing you & sharing information over here. 3 weeks to go for me till my ops, guess i will get nervous only when the day is near

Hi touraco, is dont have comments for you on Dr Chan Tat Keong perhaps you can check him out from other forums

omomom

Hi cutiekris. . yeah no pt getting nervous for the op cos its a very fast procedure. .. u enter the room, put on the op suite over ur own clothings, sit at corner, nurse help u put some eye drops, wait for the prev guy/gal to come out, then u go in, and tadah.....

newbbi79

my power is abt 1150 on my left eye and 1250 on my rite eye, do u tink i am suitable to go for Lasik? COs i did heard that if your power is too high, cannot go for lasik leh..is this true? my hubby wans me to do lasik cos scared when i am older, might become blind lor...i bery scare leh...anyone can help? ;)

Hi Newbbi79,

U can try to call SNEC and check with them about your concern as there are also other issues to consider before they can operate on ur eyes.

omomom

hi Newbbi79

You can read an earlier posting on this forum by WaWa (dated: September 06). From her post, i learnt that she has very high myopia too, was rejected by Optimax but accepted by SNEC to do Lasik.

As widely known, the chances of getting a perfect vision is inversely proportional to the power you have. I guess some ppl do Lasik and they dyingly want to have PERFECT vision, while some will be already be contented as long as they r no longer dependent on their glasses, even though their visions may not be perfect.

cutiekris

dear dear & Zea,
Thanks for your well-wishes
to be exact i'm counting down 21days to my ops from today!!

Newbbi79

I would also suggest that you make an appointment with SNEC for a pre-Lasik evaluation. The doctor would be able to evaluate your suitability for Lasik procedure based on the test results & health of your eyes. make the first move and have your queries answered!

newbbi79

cutiekris,zea,celia : thanks for all your advises. Will call SINEC to check it out =D.

so far, anyone has any complains after the OP is completed? ;p

fallen

hi there, i just did my lasik on 9 and 10 Jun at SNEC and I was back to work on 13th already!

The operation time is really super short, so no need to fret over it too much.

But sadly, I dun seem to have very clear vision yet: my left eye is weaker than my right eye most days. And eyes are really super dry =(

totto

me had my evaluation on the 17th jun, did my lasik on the 21st & 23rd jun..

on the day of evaluation, u go register at the counter, then u will go to 3 different room to do various test.. first room is like the norm procedure which we go thu when we go to optrician to do degree/power test.. then u will do a test to see the presure in ur eye.. then u will do a test to see if ur cornea is thick enuff.. smthing like that.. if i rem correct.. all these are done by the nurses.. then lastly.. u will get to see the doc... the doc will ans any qns u may have.. then advise if ur suitable for lasik... and what kind of lasik... then if u wanna proceed.. then u book the date with the nurse.. oh... before u see the doc.. there will be one very nice and pretty lady to tell u more abt lasik procedure...

totto

as for the day of lasik, u go to the counter to register.. then u will be ask to wait outside the lasik suite.. then they will call ur name.. then when u go in.. they will ask if u need any muscle relaxer pill or smthing like that.. if u dun need.. they will reconfirm ur details.. eg.. which eye, i/c no. then paste a sticker on ur eye for lasik.. then u go out and wait again.. when its ur turn again.. u go in and they will keep ur bag for u if nobody went with u.. then u will put on those disposal gown.. then they will give u some eyedrop to numb ur eye.. then clean the area ard ur eye.. then u will wait for ur turn to go in...

totto

then wala... u will be out in less than 15 mins.. hahhaa... how is the procedure like.. well.. its for u ple to find out urselves.. heee...

one of my eye has got perfect vision.. it doesnt give me any problem.. not even dry eye.. *touch wood* heee... erm...the other eye is not as perfect.. this stupid eye has always been much more sensitive then the other.. then suay suay.. it happen during my lasik also.. will go back for review next week.. hope everything will clear up this week... else.. also duno how... will only know next week.. i am asked to apply some kind of gel b4 sleeping for the week.. not everyone needs the gel.. so it all depends on condition..

no scientific theory.. but on the day i did my perfect eye.. i did not sleep soon after that.. as a matter of fact.. only rest quite late.. but has been applying eye drop diligently every 15 mins.. as for the other stupid eye.. i went to bed soon after reaching home.. never apply much eye drop.. duno if all these makes any difference.. still wondering...

omomom

Actually if u want ur op fast, u can book ur op dates together with ur pre-consultation date. Can always cancel if u find out u r not suitable for Lasik.

As for the verification of names before the op, the nurses really mess up the files/documents and i heard them telling the doc tat i am 'johnathan' when i am not. Luckily I clarified with them, haha.

Fallen... dry eyes symptoms will be gone in a matter of time. Visions will also get better eventually.

cutiekris

I had my Lasik ops last week. Well, the ops went smooth. The only funny thing is that one comer on my right eye was extremely dry after the ops that Dr Wee had to delicately speared the eyedrops onto that side of my eye!
Right now i'm experiencing dry eyes! "It’s like wearing dirty contact lens" as Dr Wee described.
I’m seeing haziness most of the time, as if in a dreamy land!
Hope this dryness will subside in time to come, perhaps within 3-4 weeks?
Meanwhile I suppose I have to keep flushing my eyes with eyedrops to keep the dryness away!

cutiekris,

congrats. Ya, u'll experience dryness and haziness for quite sometime. In fact, my doctor said that some people take about a year to stablised their vision.

cutiekris

Hi celia
I'm actually still sensitive to the small letters on the snellen chart!
haha the joke is I read out the wordings to the nurse as letters when in fact they're all numbers in that row!
But when Dr Wee tested them for me I got them correct after blinking a few times to read clearly!

I'll have to be tolerant with the dryness! Hopefully it'll clear within 2 wks as my colleague does for his case!
Be unbearable for me if they were to last for 1 yr!

Just to share, here's interesting sites, I've found:-
For Snellen Chart -http://www.i-see.org/eyecharts.html
For means to better vision - http://www.i-see.org/bates_nutshell.html

gera

I'll be going for my surgery next week and am feeling a bit anxious. Wanna check with you all, how did you all wash your face and hair the first few days after the surgery? I understand we are not supposed to let water get into our eyes..

thanks for your help!

sourlemon

i'm also going on 10th n 11th aug. juz wondering it is ok to go home by myself after the surgery. as in can i see clearly enough to make my way home by cab myself? Dr Wee said need to wear glasses (after 1st eye surgery) still cos effect won't be till a few hours later. how about sleeping a few hours after too? maybe not huh? should keep awake n keep putting the drops??

thanks! so excited!!

omomom

Hi Gera

Just try ur best to avoid ur eye area during washing of ur hair and face. I accidentally touched my eye lid and it was v painful. But the pain went off the next day i think.

Hi Sourlemon, my personal experience is tat my vision became quite clear immediately after the operation. And it became clearer and clearer towards the end of the day. No need to wear glasses at all to make my way home.

I slept for the entire aftn after my operation, and i did keep putting plenty of eye drops from time to time. And i really mean A LOT :D

gera

Hi Zea,

ouch.. ok, i'll try my best to avoid my eye area for the first few days.. thanks for your advice! tomorrow's the op for my first eye, scary..

cutiekris

Gera

To avoid getting dirty water into my eyes, i’m still keeping on the swimming goggles when I bathe daily although this is into the 3rd week since my eye surgery. I’m also using Pigeon baby wipes to clean my face before bathing and a towel to dry my face thereafter.

gera

Its been two weeks since my Lasik, and I'm still having blurry and hazy vision, especially in the mornings.. Dr Wee said I have very very dry eyes and this may take some time to go away.. has anyone had the same problems as mine?

Zea and cutiekris, how's your current vision?

icebaby0

geral,

put alot of eye drops more often. Don't worry it's like that...dryness...but it will fade as time passes. Drink water too hor.

For me, after 6 mths, I still experience some blurishness cos my eyes are naturally dry.

But overall, vision is still good.

Pls, don't expect ur vision be 100% as good as wearing contact lens. Contact lens normally make our vision abit "brighter".

Hope that helps!!!

cutiekris

Gera

Hang on with regular eyedrops and good rest!

My eyes aren’t blurry now as the haziness cleared within 3 weeks! Had my 1 month post-ops vision check last week and was tested close to 6/6 except for minimal astig which Dr Wee assures me not to be too worried about. Currently, I find my vision getting better each day. As my vision is still fluctuating my next consultation with him is scheduled in Dec!

era

I'm a new member tho I often read messages in singapore brides forum to get tips.

I've decided to get lasik done. I hope someone could answer my query - how soon will 1st appointment be at SNEC? - are they always booked up that new patients have to wait for more than 2 weeks to months?

venusvenus

hi era

i called SNEC last mth, the staff advised us to book abt one mth ahead, and te ops can be done anytime from two weeks to two mths thereafter... no more than 4mths, else u have to go redo yr eye checkup....... it's better if you book for the popular doctors as early as possible.

era

Thanks Venus...very kind of you for the response... I will call SNEC tomorrow (Monday Aug/22) and hopefully cud get the soonest appt avail...

gera

Hi icebaby and cutiekris,

thanks for sharing! glad to know that what I'm experiencing is normal.. hopefully the haziness and blurriness can go away soon.. I have been telling myself that I should be happy as long as I can cope without glasses, and not expect 6/6 vision.. just a bit worried cos my vision is very sharp at times but not very clear sometimes.. guess its due to the fluctuation. hope to get some good news and reassurance from Dr Wee during my 1st month post-op consultation next week!

icebaby0

Oh, by the way, not everyone will get 6/6. Don't expect too high okies?

Cos e.g. even for my Dr who did my lasik, she did hers and hers left abt 75 degrees.
Mine is one side if perfect, while the other has abt 25 degrees. The funny thing is my 25 degrees is sharper than my perfect eye sight.
So no worries!!!

omomom

Hi Geral, sorry for responding late. I had my lasik done for more than 8 mths now, and my visions are still very fine.

I din know if its pyschological effect or what, but i felt my visions were the clearest and brightest during the first week after my op. Perhaps it was the sudden contrast in visions tat made me felt so then.

For the 1st couple of months, i did experience blurry visions every now and then, esp looking at price tags or reading a book. But now everything has gone fine, and my vision is still 6/6 during my post-op 1/2 yr check up.

omomom

icebaby .. yeah, mine is also 11mths liao, so far so good :D

jus wondering why is this forum so quiet nowadays, perhaps the lasik craze is over already?