LASIK at SNEC

joyful_kiki

Hello everybody,..

just finished reading all the archives. Really very very interested to do the lasik and very excited to get my pre-op appointment. I'm kinda deciding on Dr Wee after all your recommendations.. is he really good? don't need to be very PR, just must be good at doing his job.. as in 6/6 vision after the op. how many of u achieved 6/6 vision after Dr Wee?

my degrees is 450 for both eyes.. astig abt 100 i think.. also my degrees not very stable i think.. but i dunno le.. cos i always change optician. how stable is do they consider as stable?

idyllic

Stable degree means that it should have remained at the same power for at least one year. Cannot fluctuate, go up or down.

idyllic

Yup, I underwent Lasik @ SNEC nearly two months ago. At my first-month test, my vision was 6/6.

So you booking for your pre-op consultation yet?

eteh3

little twin stars,
me gg for lasik end may. scared scared..

beautyexp,
SNEC= Spore National Eye Centre.
u can visit their website for detailed pricing depending on which type of op u choose at www.snec.com.sg

joyful_kiki

Hi eteh,

i booked my surgery for beginning june.. so we abt the same period le.. who u doing w? i'm doing w dr wee.. so 2nd do first eye, 3rd check up first eye, 4th do second eye, 5th check up second eye.. so lay chey right? whole week down le..

but i also dunno if i'm suitable for the surgery or not.. very afraid that i'm not suitable.. then i'll be v sad..

eteh3

u havent gone for pre consultation oredi can book surgery date? i booked mine on the day i went for pre con & confirm suitable to do. mine's dr chan.
many here also done by him. quite nice man but of little words.
if go pte hospital, can do both eyes tog on same day. tts what my sis in law did

joyful_kiki

ya, mine special case cos i'm only free then.. so, the nurse allowed me to book. which dr chan? dr chan wing keong? head of refractive dept?

tge25

I had Lasik 1 year ago and my eyesight is still 6/6 for the moment. That time my eyesight was over 1000 degree per eyes... near to blindness...scary sia...

My doctor in charge was Dr Wee at SNEC.

Must say that it was a good experience to be "operated" by Dr Wee.

Although i was super scared that time, but bo bian, alreeady make payment...

But i must say that it was worth it lor..although i was very worried there will be infection etc... lucky nothing so far...

Its a great feeling to wake up and look ard with clear eyesight

angelica

I had Lasik in SNEC 2 years ago. My degree was 600 and 900 for right and left eye. Now they are 6/6 and 6/9. Very satisfied.

jullchae

Hi, does anyone know of any Lasik op that accepts installment payment of 12/24 months?? Pls advise. Desperate....

kimeoki

I know SNEC does...it's the usual 0% installment plan for credit card holders of UOB, Standard Chartered Bank, POSB / DBS, Diners Club, CitiBank and OCBC. Patients can have the option of 12 or 24 months instalment. However, the instalment plan is for the lasik op only, not the outpatient consultations.

Why don't u call them up directly to check?

jullchae

Hi Kimeoki,

Last time I called them a lady told me only 6 months instalment leh. I really hope they've changed to 12/24 months. Pray hard while trying to call them.

kimeoki

Really? So sorry. I did not take up the instalment plan but i remembered the cashier asking if i wanted 12 or 24 mths. Good luck!

jullchae

Kimeoki,

I just called them to check again and this time a lady told me only 12mths instalment. Finally, I see hope again. Hiak hiak!

As I can't afford a senior consultant, can you advise me on which consultant to approach?

kimeoki

Hi Jullchae
I had Dr Wee Tze Lin. He's very reassuring & not bad looking too :p hyak hyak hyak

I had frens who had lasik done by Dr Cordelia Chan and Dr Chan Tat Keong, both consultants too. All are happy customers.

Guess you shld also consider their operation dates. I think dr wee only operates on Tues & Thurs. You have to return on Wed & Fri for post-op review. Total 4 days MC.

The other 2 doctors have op on consecutive days. My fren who had Dr Chan TK did hers on Thur & fri, i.e. the 1st eye op on thur, review & do the 2nd eye on the 2nd day, and final review on Sat morning. Total MC needed is only 2 days.

jullchae

Thanks a lot, Kimeoki. You've been such great help. Think I'll book Dr Chan.

By the way, did you frens feedback on any side effects so far? Mine is about 225/250 degrees.

kimeoki

Most of us experienced the common effects of dry eyes for the following 2 weeks or so. Nothing really bad or permanent. Thank God.

Have you been to the first consult yet? A fren who went with me to the consultation was told that her cornea too thin...not suitable candidate. She was soOO upset coz she actually save up $$ for the op & took so much time & energy to convince her hubby...only to find out...

oh well...good luck to you

mini_red

Hi, Jullchae,

I just done my lasik last month. I am happy with the op. My doc is Dr Zaianh Alsagoff, consultant. She is good. Her voice will calm you and make you relax during the op.

Good Luck to you!

missyelmo

hello, can i drive for my first consultation? How long does the process take? I was told not to drive during that day cos will have blur vision...But i would prefer to drive if possible. Can anyone share their experience...

jullchae

Kimeoki/CYL,

Thanks for all your advices. Now I'm so confident with the op, just that......

I'm actually into family planning now. I wonder will pregnancy affect my eyes to heal properly after the op? Or it'll take longer to heal?? Usually how long will it heal and for the eyes to see clearly?

eteh3

i finally finished with my op with Dr Chan.
life's gd till now...
sometimes eyes get dry, but can live with it...

3rd day consultation, seemingly have 6/6 vision on both sides.
will see how it is like next wk.

missyelmo,
dun think its advisable for u to drive on 1st consultation. they will drip lotion into ur eyes to dilate it. i had pblms even the next day in sunlight. cant see properly...

jullchae,
if u are pregnant, u can do the op. that's what i know. apprently, reading for ur eye sight will differ due to pregnancy.
so better not. either u do lasik 1st else wait until u give birth lor.

idyllic

missyelmo: You would NOT be able to drive after the pre-op consultation. The eyedrops they use to dilate your pupils will cause your eyesight to be blur, it would not be safe to drive at all. Do take a cab to and fro or get a friend to drive you. The process is supposed to be between 3 to 4 hours, but I was done in 2 hrs. Depends on the crowd I guess.

jullchae: If you are already pregnant, I think it is not advisable to undergo Lasik as your degree will fluctuate I think. If you're not pregnant yet, should be ok. But to be sure, do call up and ask.

The cornea flap takes about a week to patch, it's important not to rub your eyes during this period. I think full healing takes about a month. You should be able to see clearly after a few hours from the op, but vision will fluctuate and only stabilise gradually.

jullchae

Hi eteh3 & idyllic,

I'm planning for baby but not pregnant yet. I'll most probably go for the op either end of this month or July.

One question. After the op, how long later will vision be finally stabilised?

missyelmo

Hello eteh3 & idyllic,
Thanks for your advise. I'll take a cab then as my appointment is 8.30a.m!

How do you chose between standard lasik and wave-front guided? Or is it recomended by the doctor?

idyllic

jullchae: The time taken for vision to be stabilised differs from person to person. The SNEC website states that there may be "fluctuation of vision in the first 3 to 6 months while the eye is healing. Thereafter the result will be permanent." SNEC did power tests on me during my 1st month and 3rd month post-op consultations. Both times my vision was 6/6 and my doctor said I need not return for consultations anymore. For some people, I think a 6th month consultation is necessary, so it really depends.

missyelmo: The doctor will make his recommendations, not to worry. So far most people I came across did standard Lasik. I think wavefront is only for those with very serious myopia, thinner corneas, or some other conditions, if I'm not wrong.

jullchae

One question. How many times can a person do lasik? In case the degrees comes back to square one again in future?

By the way, I called to ask SNEC about the new launched Bausch & Lomb Aspheric Lasik. Saw from an article that it's supposed to be better than the normal lasik, comparing the side effects. It's only additional $125 per eye more.

missyelmo

Juz came back from my pre-op consultation. Dr. Wee who will be performing my ops had recommended me Aspheric Lasik saying that it will increase the chance of better night vision than standard lasik.

cres

Anybody interested in buying the eye lubricant Refresh Plus (expiry Aug 2007, sealed), 3 boxes to let go @ $10 each. Bought too much at my lasik op, no dry eye effect so not needed.

Please contact me at email <[email protected]>

mitzi

anyone found the op painful? may i know what they use to keep ur eyes open? Tape or a kind of metal equipment? The op sounds scary and I'm afraid of pain! sigh..

pokerdot

Hi Mitzi

I did my surgery with Dr Leonard Ang at SNEC. My friends told me he’s really good. The surgery is very quick (only about 5 min), and quite painless. Your eyes will be kept open with a device. There will be a stage when you feel some pressure on your eye but that’s about it. I was quite nervous, but my doc put me at ease and talked me thru the whole process.

My vision is 6/6 after the op. I’m super happy with my result.

mitzi

hihi..good to hear abt ur perfert eyesight. Dr Ang is very popular here? My friends went to Dr Julian Thng at SNEC but now he left to open his own private clinic thus me thought of going to his new clinic but it'll be slightly more exp.

Me rather worried abt the pain and the device that keeps ur lids open..

pokerdot

Hi Mitzi

My friends recommended A/Prof Leonard Ang at SNEC because he went to Harvard Medical School in the US to learn the latest techniques in lasik. I also saw rave reviews about him.

What I really like about Dr Ang is that he is very patient and even though he had many other lasik patients, he still spent a long time talking to me. This was especially important for me as he was able to put me at ease and address all my questions.

I know some people like everything to be finished very fast, like conveyor belt system in some clinics, where even the doc spends only a short time with u. I personally like a doc who is prepared to spend time with his patients- this is what I impressed me about him.

My surgery wasn’t painful- and the device to hold the eye open didn’t really bother me.

My lasik surgery cost $1320 for each eye. I have recommended all my friends to him and they are also very happy.

Surgery cost: $1320 per eye.
That day when I did the assesmment the total damage done to my pocket was $158.55 ($80 for investigations cost, $71 for consultation fee, add 5% GST). I think the informmation posted on the SNEC website that the evaluation is $145 is outdated. (i.e. consultation =$65.)
Post op follow up: $47 per visit.
Enhancement within 1 yr of surgery is free.
Enhancement per eye after 1 year from date of surgery is $400

pokerdot

Hi Zach

I also underwent planoscan lasik- paid $1320 per eye. I was initially unsure about the various types of lasik and which would be best for me. That’s why I chose to go to A/Prof Leonard Ang because of his experience in all the latest techniques. He explained in detail his choice of the type of lasik that would give me the best result. Wavefront lasik would have cost $1520 per eye with him. But for me, there was no benefit in wavefront lasik- in fact the results would actually be less perfect.

I have friends who had high degrees who went to other clinics and the doc advised wavefront lasik to save tissue. They ended paying a lot more for surgery and some of them still needed an enhancement operation. SNEC has the option of ladarvision which saves even more tissue than wavefront. My friends with high degrees who underwent ladarvision lasik with Dr Ang paid $1320 per eye.

Dr Ang customizes his treatment and selects the type of lasik that would be best for that person. For myself, I have perfect vision so far and I’m very happy with my results. Same for my friends who went to him.

pokerdot

Hi HydrogenRainbow

I did my lasik with Dr Ang about 8 months ago. Perfect vision so far, and very happy no need to wear contacts and specs.

I see. I am also looking forward to the day I can say bye bye to my specs, contacts, my saline, protein removers and my ao sept plus. hahaha but gotta wait till early sept....so long