LASIK anyone?

dreamymi

I have make an appt wif JB Already but it till July then got slot for me to test my eyes... It is really better in KL then in JB?? Any1 did wif Optimax can share wif mi?

bubblepearl

Hi, I have also make a appt w JB but it is in Aug!.....OMG...so long time..cos i choose it on a Sat...i dun want to go there on a weekday..hehe.Anymore comments on Optimax costs n SG costs? looks like the price is not much diff as M'sia also increase their prices liao.

dreamymi

huh Bubblepearl....

Incease their price again?? so wat the cost now... I m fainting soon.... Btw ya if u 1 sat the appt date is damn long lor... plus 2-3 week b4 no contact lens... haiz... u also doing wif optimax? heard that there is a new 1 call vista,,

bubblepearl

Hi Jus,

Looks like only u and me in the thread leh..i'm not too sure if i'm doing w optimax..anyway, i have did a brief test in SG before..earlier this yr and i was so-called suitable to do lasik.

I heard from the nurse, it was like 10 days without the contact lens. But in SG, i tot it is like 3days w.o contacts? Oh that Vista, i dun think it is new. If u read up those archive posting, I think Optimax open earlier than Vista, but Vista not recently open one..and somemore..it is more X leh..i dunno why also.

dreamymi

Wow... the lady from OPTIMAX ask me to stop for abt 3 weeks lor... sianz.... but listen lah .... hai.....is it? mi dun know if i m suitable yet....

bubblepearl

What! 3weeks! tat is so long...actually i am thinking should i be doing in SG or JB..looks like not much saving leh...except the high currency exchange rate now.

dreamymi

in sg it abt 3000$ for 2 eyes....
in jb is abt 5520$ for 2 eyes....

so saving is abt 2400$ saving abt 600$ quite huge amt

dreamymi

Hi Bubblepearl...

Sorry ....that i sound confuse...

in sg it abt 3000$ for 2 eyes....
in jb is abt 5520$RM for 2 eyes.... which is 2400$

so saving abt 600$ quite huge amt to me lor...

bubblepearl

Jus Mi...
oic! no worries!

dreamymi

Hi Bubble ... Dun knwo if u still reading...

I am certified ok for lasik already.... will be doing on 29/7 ... scary rite? Well, wish mi luck ok....

Will update if u still around..

cres

Anybody interested in buying the eye lubricant Refresh Plus (expiry Aug 2007, sealed), 3 boxes to let go @ $10 each. Bought too much at my lasik op, no dry eye effect so not needed.

Please contact me at email <[email protected]>

angeleye

Hi Mitzi

I’m going to Dr Leonard Ang at SNEC. I’ve read many good reviews about him. My degrees are quite high and I want someone with more experience. I also feel safer going to the hospitals where they have more options available. I’ll be seeing him this coming week. I’m also a bit scared, but at the same time quite excited.

mitzi

Is it? U going for pre-lasik check up or the Op already? I've booked my appt with Dr Julian Thng who has his own clinic at Mt A... heard from friends that he's good too. I'm very afraid of the whole procedure actually hehe

sea_blue

IIRC, was give like 5 days of MC. Did mine at TTSH. But if you don't feel like you are ready to work at the end of 5 days, can ask for more days.

I think whether can work the next day or after 3 days is kinda subjective. All this is like best case scenario...and of coz depends on your nature of work. If your job involves staring at the computer 9 hrs a day...or standing out in the construction site in the sun...then you might not be ready to resume work that soon. I would say give your eyes ample time to recover.

Hmm...getting company for surgery is a good idea. I did that too. At least there's someone to compare healing progress with.

icygal

I like Dr Leonard Ang alot... Gave me alot of assurance. Will be operating on Jun... :D

For the sake of beauty, I don't mind to take leave... Hehehe...

sharon_c

hi mitzi, have you done your lasik?

btw i have booked my appt with Doc Julian Theng on 21 Jun! but i need to see him last fri for incision &amp; drain of the 2 sties in my right eye! He is the best doc i have seen so far! indeed like what other pple said from other forums, very gentle &amp; patient doc!

i had done i&amp;d of sty for couple of times past years by GP &amp; eye's specialist (thot will be less painful), they turned out to be very painful procedure to me that i had phobia! when i was on my way to see doc Julian Theng, i felt like vomiting coz i was so afraid to the extend i felt like i had 2 hearts racing with each other! however, he was so gentle &amp; the procedure turned out to be painless! i didn't expect that &amp; best of all i didn't have bruise even this time i had 2 sties side by side on the lower right eye lid!

hopefully i'm suitable for lasik &amp; am looking forward to it!

sharon_c

Hi all! Finally did it on 21 June!

I'm 37, female with degree of 500(L) &amp; 525(R)! I went for assessment at Eagle Eye Centre on 21 June 9.30am. Did all the checking &amp; tests &amp; dilation of my eyes, took about less than 2 hours, i was told that i have thick cornea 592(L) &amp; 591(R) &amp; can proceed for the lasik. Waited for Dr Julian Theng for consultation till around 12pm+ coz he had 1 surgery &amp; 1 inplant in the morning! He told me that he will leave about 25 degree for my eyes to delay lau hau which i think is good! 1 stone kills 2 birds!

Then my lasik was around 2.50pm! Before that i was dressed into a disposable gown &amp; cap, dilation &amp; anethetic eyedrops were used &amp; eyes were cleaned while i was sitting on a sofa listening to soothing music &amp; waiting for my friend to finish her lasik because i was the 2nd one to go.

The procedure was very fast before i couold actually remembered what was done to my eyes! Before i went into the operating room, Dr Julian came out to tell me about what will happen during the op - basically all I need to do is to concentrate on the red light. I can blink all I want - in fact I should blink or else my left eye will dry up. (my right eye was operated first).

Then i went in &amp; lied down on the machine, (sorry i couldn't remember much but i try to describe what i can here) i remember he taped down my eyelashes, then he clamped open my right eye, and tightened it to open my eye bigger, no uncomfy so far. Then was the part where he cut my cornea which i tensed up because i could figure out what was going on (but my friend didn't). Though scary but Dr Julian was very fast &amp; assuring! To be honest, if i had really focus on the light which i did for my left eye, i wouldn't be so conscious about the cutting!

During the laser, Dr Julian held my head firmly so that i wouldn't move &amp; i could smell something burning but that was done very fast, then doc closed back the flap and the last part i liked best was he used 'water' to wash my eye which was very cooling &amp; nice! Then 'bandage lens' was put on to protect the flap! Throughout the op, doc was very reassuring!

After both eyes were done, i could tell the time on the wall clock but my vision was quite blurry and cloudy. Dr Julian checked my eyes again outside the op room and that was done! I waited for around 3.5hr that my vision was pretty cleared up but near vision still blur due to the dilation i think! Anyway my another friend came in at 4pm and i waited till she finished and we went home around 8pm and i could see pretty clear by that time!

My advice for those whom are very afraid of the procedure, if you don't mind pay a bit more, you should do 2 eyes at the same time! What i like about Dr Julian is i could get everything done in a day! My 2 friends &amp; i are doing fine &amp; we are so happy about it! Yes, also try to make payment first before lasik if you are going alone coz after lasik, you can't see the price at all due to the dilation of the eyes!

The next day when we went back for review, we were given a photo in a photo frame of us inside the operating room! Very sweet gesture! Also the staffs are so friendly that we felt they were like our friends!

My vision is pretty good with no glaring or halo, etc so far! Indeed the best investment so far!

yuki31

Hi sharon, how much it cost for your lasik?

juz wan to check, if i am preparing for baby soon, is it advisable to do lasik?

angeleye

Hi yuki

If you're planning to get pregnant then you might want to do the lasik as soon as possible. Once pregnant, u will have to wait for a year before u can do the lasik.

Btw, I had my lasik by Dr Leonard Ang at SNEC. I like him. He's very nice. It cost $1320 for each eye. Perfect result so far.

sharon_c

hi yuki,

Pre Lasik Assessement is $200
Lasik for both eyes is $3000
2 Eye Drops + 1 box of Lubricant is $46
5% GST is $162.30
Total is $3408.30.

After that, next day, 1 wk &amp; 1 mth reviews will be $50 + GST each!

Not sure after 1 mth still have to check or not!

Though a bit expensive comparing to SNEC but i saved time &amp; taxi fares!

kwc

Had mine done 3 days ago for "lau hwa yan" - lasik for mono vision for one eye only. so far so good, now could read without reading glasses almost 90% by 3rd day with no side effects.
Had it done at Lasik Surgery, Paragon, under Dr Marc Tay. Very satisfied with the doctor and the staff friendly and caring service as the nurse accompany all patients to any transport point if there is no one to bring them home from the clinic.
total cost for one eye lasik = S$1,250 + 5% GST = S$1,312.50 inclusive of pre-lasik assessment of $100 (which is absorbed into the surgery cost) + 1 bottle anti-biotic eye drops + 1 box refresh-plus 30-tube lubricant, 3 tablets of sleeping pills, 10 pcs sterile wipes for eyes + surgical tape for eye mask at no extra cost.

bao

I also did in Lasik Surgery by Dr. Marc, I fully agree with EL Chan, even the nurses are friendly. I like the environment and most importantly is the fee is reasonable. I did both eye for around 2,400 and free enhancement. (i did twice for both eyes)

now very satisfied and really pay-off. I never seen a crystal clear world and very happy that every morning i can finally see the clock from my bed. Shiok. no regret although i had gone thru twice.

pringirl

i did my lasik in JB in may last year, clinic name is optimax @ citysquare, 5mins walk away from causeway. chose there cos of raves &amp; price &amp; cos i used to stay in wlds. cost me abt SGD2K only &amp; good results. going back for annual eye checkup 2 weeks later =)

wawa_piggy

I have high myopia of 900 degrees per eye.
I just did my lasik last Sat at LSC by Dr Jon Goh. But my vision is still quite haqzy and is still not perfect. When i try to read some magazines, can see double vision of the words.. something like drop shadows and is giving me headaches if I try to read

All of my friends and colleagues who undergo lasik have recover to very clear and almost perfect vision 1-2 days after their lasik surgery. But their myopia is not as high as mine. They are around 400-500 only.

Any podders with high myopia have done lasik before? How is the recovery period like? I am a bit anxious and worried about my current vision.

marie

Hi Wawa, I have also did my lasik last Tuesday at LSC by Dr Jon Goh. It has been a week, but I am still having blurry vision. Mine is 800 degrees per eye. Hopefully, it would clear up soon

wawa_piggy

Hi marie, was it painful for you? My eyes didn't react well to the numbing eye drops during the operation so i can feel the pain and the pressure of the suction ring

U doing the normal lasik or epi-lasik?

Hope my vision will improve.. Coz it always give me headache when i try to read something

marie

Hi wawa, I can feel a bit of pressure when they put on the suction ring, and very naturally I twitch a little. The nurses subsequently apply more numbing eye drops so it was ok.

I did the wavefront and intralase (blade-free) lasik. Just want the best for my eyes and as little complications as possible. What did you do?

Understood. Now even though I can see objects better than when I am not wearing glasses, but they have a blurry edge, not sharp. Also give me headache when I do PC work.

Quite disappointed and frustrated, was expecting perfect vision at least after ops 2-3 days (that's what Dr Goh said) but still no improvement yet. I read over the Net that sometimes it takes 2-3 weeks for the vision to clear up. And 2-3 months for the vision to stablise.

Was hoping it would improve soon as I am planning to drive up to KL this week

wawa_piggy

Hi marie, I did the normal Lasik as Dr Goh say my cornea was thick enough though i got high myopia.

I have the same symptoms as you. The things I see has a blurry edge though i am looking at them at very near distance. I live on 19th floor and I can see the blk number at the next blk when I look down, but with a blurry edge too, not sharp at all. When I try to watch TV or focus on the PC monitor, my headache will start

Did you ask Dr Goh on your blurry vision in your second post-review??? I read from the forum that there are some eye drops to soothe or lessen the haziness of the vision ..

All my friends achieve sharp vision (though not perfect) within 2 days. My hb keep comforting me that i may need more days to adjust to the new vision due to my higher myopia, as compared to my frens.

marie

My second post-review is next week as Dr Goh is away this week. Hopefully my vision will improve then, if not, maybe the eye drops might help

My hb also went through the same procedure with Dr Goh, he also experienced blurry vision, but cleared up after about 1 week as I believe his degree is lesser: 200 and 400 degree. His vision is now more stable, 1 month liao.

So I guess we have to be more patient and hope for the best

I also read positive review about Dr Goh by some of his previous patients (he is previously from SNEC) so I guess we are in safe hands *pray* ;)

wawa_piggy

I also heard good comments about Dr Goh. That is why me and hb also choose him for our Lasik. Hb doing his ops next week.

My 2nd post revie4w is also next week. Hopefully by then, my blur vision will clear up liao

wawa_piggy

Hi marie,

I have gone for my 2nd review last Friday. Since last Wednesday, my vision was very very blurred, to the extent where I cannot see the words on the PC screen at all ïŒ And I have difficulties opening my eye during night time.

During my 2nd review, the Optometrist measures my eye pressure for me and find it to be exceptionally high. And when I see the doctor, he says my eyes react to the steroid in the antibiotic eye drops (the small bottle to be used until day 10). The reaction to the steroids results in my eye pressure to build up. That is why my vision is very very blur and I have difficulties opening my eyes.

He prescribes another type of eye drops for me to use and is suppose to lower the eye pressure for me. After I use the eye drops, I can see much clearer and sharper, though still a bit blur. But it is a big improvement. I will continue to use it and hope my vision will be sharper when the eye pressure is back to normal

Actually last week, before I went for my 2nd review, I already called LSC and ask them about my super blur vision, as it is causing disruptions to my normal daily activities. And i was having headaches due to the vision. The staffs keep telling me it is normal and ask me to be patient and wait for vision to recover. Luckily I went for my 2nd review in time to discover it is the eye pressure that is giving me problems. What if the eye pressure goes too high and I could have gone blind? :S

How is your vision now? You also went for your 2nd review, right?

marie

Hi wawa, season greetings!

Good to hear that they have managed to make your vision better

I went for my 2nd review earlier as I experience some discomfort, scared that it is infection. The senior optometrist checked and assured me that there is no infection and my vision will take time to stablise. He said that for a person with 100degrees it will take 1 month. So for me, it will take 8 months?!

Anyway, I dun really like the snr optometrist, he is not really interested to hear me out and want to rush through things. Still have one more review left, may go next month to get some assurance from Dr Goh as to when my vision will start improving. It has been 3 weeks liao, still having blurry vision, not clear and then blur, but blurry all the way, same from the day after ops. Sigh... But if I utilise this last one, will need to start paying for the next time liao, each time $50.

Did Dr Goh mention when your vision will start improving? Will it take like 8 months?!

wawa_piggy

Hi marie,

The senior optometrist is a guy? So far, I only saw female staff there during my visits. I feel the staff at LSC is so busy until they don't even have time to let you think what to ask. And when you try to ask, he just says that's normal here, that's normal there. Not into details. Guess he's too busy.

My vision is still blur and not very sharp now. But it improve after he give me the eye drops to reduce my eye pressure. I hate blurry visions as I find it hard to focus and give me headaches

Did you apply the Refresh Tears regularly? Dry eyes will cause blurry visions too.

Dr Goh didn't mention when my vision will improve as my eye pressure is quite high and it affected my clarity of the vision. Think my main concern now is to get my eye pressure under control first and hope my vision will improve.

Perhaps high myopia people like us will took longer to achieve sharper vision, as compared to others who is low myopia.

marie

Hi wawa, the snr optometrist is a guy, not a lady, he sits in the room. He was assigned to see patients that day as Dr Goh was not around. Never get his name.

Totally agree with you. The last time I called to ask about my blurry vision, the lady who answered my call said that I need to be patient as it will take time for vision to improve, asked me to wait for a month before coming in.

So your vision become sharper after applying the eye drops? Also hate the blurry vision and now I can't drive as focusing cause me to have headache

Yes, I apply the Refresh Tears regularly, sometimes for 1/2 hour interval as my office can get quite cold and dry. Haiz.. but still blurry..

Hope your eye pressure will be under control soon and clear vision will not be far away

Thanks for your comforting words, hopefully, everything will get better soon before the 8th month ;)

wawa_piggy

Hi marie, think you went for your 2nd review on the week where Dr Goh was not in. That is why they assigned you to see a senior optometrist.

I called to enquire and I also got the same replies as you from the girl that answered my call. She say different people have different recovering period. And I cannot compare myself with my other friends who did lasik as we have totally different eyes etc. She asked me to be patient and keep applying the lubricating eye drops as it will help the cornea to heal faster.

Yes, my vision become sharper after applying the new eye drops (though still a bit blur
) In the morning, i still feel alright. Whenever mid afternoon come, my eyes will become so tired and very very dry. Sometimes I have difficulty opening my eyes too.

If your eyes are very dry, you can try "Vidisic Gel" from Guardian Pharmacy. Costs around $13+ and can be bought off the shelf. If helps to relieves eyes from severe dryness. Sometimes, no matter how much Refresh I apply, my eyes will still feel dry. I will apply this gel whenever my Refresh eye drops don't work for me
Just pull down your lower eyelids and apply it like applying toothpaste. Blink eyes a few times. It will cause blurry vision for 5min so can apply it before going to bed. I brought the gel to ask Dr Goh when I went for my 2nd review. He say it is good and recommend me to use this twice a day.

Dry eyes do cost blurry vision. Not only that, dry eyes can cause itch, redness, tiredness of the eye. Just apply the lubricating eye drops, and rest ur eyes for every 15min, especially if you face the computer, and u are on your way to better vision

marie

Hi wawa, thanks for your advice, will try out the Vidisic Gel soon, hopefully it will help.

How do you come to know of this gel? You apply twice a day, one time before bed and the other when you are in office? Will it create some sort of inconvenience as it is sticky, I imagine? Like those we apply if our eye got infection?

wawa_piggy

I read of this gel from another forum. I apply once in the afternoon (when my eyes are extremely dry) and once before going to bed.

For me, it cause blurry vision for the 1st 5min I applied. After that, the vision will return to normal. ANd my eyes will feel more "moisturized" :p

It is gel-like form, not really very sticky. After you apply on your lower eyelids, you can blink a few times to "dissolve" the gel. Then you will not feel the stickiness at all.

marie

Hi wawa, thanks for the advice, will try the gel out soon. Hope our vision will get clearer and clearer everyday