LASIK anyone?

pebsb

I checked with Optimax on their RM3700 promo (till July 30).

To secure the old price and do the eye examination and treatment later, you may pay up-front of RM 600. RM 100 is for the eye examination before treatment and this is unrefundable. The RM 500 is a deposit for treatment. Should you found unsuitable for the treatment, RM 500 will be fully refunded to you. However, if you deemed suitable for the treatment and would like to cancel the treatment with us, 5% adminstration charges will be incurred. In other word, they will only refund RM 475 to you.

It covers
- Lasik for 2 eyes conventional LASIK method
- Doctor sugery fee - No doctor fee incur and you can choose any treating dr. you like
- Medication Yes
- Eye examination - Yes
- All post-check-ups are FOC within all the branches in Malaysia until you discharge.

If you want to top up to Epi or Wavefront
- RM 3,700 is only eye examination fee + treatment fee for LASIK. If you required, other procedure, then we will charge you according to the varies type of treatment.
- Epi-LASIK is RM 2,000 per eye ( Early Bird Promotion, valid till Aug 2004) Thereafter is RM 2,400 per eye
- Wavefront LASIK is RM 3,500 per eye (normal price)
- The eye examination of RM 100 is still applicable if you do Epi-LASIK or Wavefront LASIK.
- Doctor Surgeon Fee (RM400-RM900 per eye) ?? To be advised.

The new rate for normal lasik is RM4200. At RM3700, U save RM500. And to TT the $$ to them before Jul 30 (tomorrow), U will incur abt SGD50 (services etc).

Do the maths if its really worth it to rush for this promo? It may be, if you're def 100% sure ur doing conventional lasik.

clarewoo

Hi blueblue,

I guess there is nothing that is going to be 100% perfect. Maybe you should ask yourself if you really need to go for it? For me, I've been wearing contact lenses for over 10 years and it's so troublesome so no matter what, I'm going to give Lasik a try. I'm not so affected by those negative comments cos' everybody's eyes are different, some may feel more uncomfortable than others. There are also many positive comments about Lasik especially from my collegue and her family members. They are real life examples for me so maybe that's why I'm not so worried about doing lasik at Optimax.

Hi Pebs,

How come Optimax didn't ask me to pay the deposit before 31 July? They only told me if I were to confirm my appointment before 1 Aug (irregardless when I doing my lasik), I will be eligible for the promo rate.

blue2003

Hi Pebs

I have also checked with Optimax on the revised price after 01 Aug. They told me it is RM5000 to RM6000 depending on which surgeon you choose. Perhaps I am wrong.

Hi Clare
I have also been wearing contact lens for 10 over years. I haven really know of anyone who have done the treatment at Optimax. Just read from pple's comment from this thread. As you have colleague sand family members who have done it there, so perhaps it really boost your confidence. what you have said also helped to make me feel better.

clarewoo

Hi blueblue,

Don't worry so much. Since I'm going for my checkup and lasik (if I'm suitable lah) before you, I can keek up updated on my progress. By then, you'll be more ready for your lasik too

pebsb

Hi Hi

I made some calls to Optimax JB & KL.
Here's what I've gathered.

If you make an appt & deposit of 600RM, you lock in the price at RM3700 for conventional lasik / LASEK. Need to do op by oct 04 (can extend till dec but nov & dec v pack).

If not suitable for lasik / LASEK, can opt for epi / wavefront at price before July 31 (no doc fee). Basically the increase in price is due to doc fee which range from 400-900RM per eye.

Difference between Lasik, LASEK, EPI - see urls. Basically if U have thin cornea, go for LASEK or EPI, but recovery takes a few days more, and more discomfort. But lesser Lasik complication & dry eyes. Doc will advise U.
http://www.saferlasek.com/lasekvslasik.htm
http://www.revoptom.com/index.asp?ArticleType=SiteSpec&page=body/articles/11_2001/ro308.htm

Dr Stephen Chung dont fly to JB after Sep. And JB is fully booked till then. Also JB dont have wavefront nor epi method yet. JB is using machine Nidex (Jap) while KL is Ladar (US).

I've booked my appt for Oct in JB for eye test & then next week for surgery. So in event im not suitable or found another option, I can get back RM475 (from the RM600 deposit paid). My colleague will be operating his eyes in JB in Aug. SO can see how he turns out.

Actually quite subjective too, as he is using a diff machine & surgeon (unless he got Dr Chung).

I know personally 2 pax who did in BKK Barun (the one who was in Sunday times), and both of them are OK. So sometimes its as much the patient's fault as it is the doc?!?

pebsb

anyone did surgery at Vista? The price is slightly cheaper than Optimax. But it has intralase which optimax dont.

pepper

hi Pebs

to clarify, the deposit of RM 600 can be made before end of Oct this year to lock in the price of RM3700. And this payment can be made if u have ur 1st appt before end Oct. But condition is that once found suitable for the surgery, u definitely must proceed and also cannot change the operation dates. else will have to pay 5% admin charge.

however now to late Oct is all fully booked and cannot get Dr Chung to do it anymore. There are two other Docs Dr Yip and Dr Lee. Anyone know which one is better?

cute_buppy

This is a great thread for lasik!
I have reading much of the posts here and have gotten a lot of valuable inputs here!

I have also signed up at Optimax to be operated by Dr Chung. I am still abit hestitant about this as my eyes are at stake!! And do not know if my eyes can be as good as before in terms of vision quality ( as in colour contrast etc )

Here is a good link for all to post the questions to the doc :
http://www.usaeyes.org/faq/tough_questions.htm

Hope this can help!

lester

Hi there Pepper

Lasik doesn't correct astigmatism. It's for short or long sightedness. It is not difficult at all to focus on the red dot cos you know you need to focus and relax. You will be more obedient than a police dog as your eyes are at stake and you will want to follow every single command correctly and dutifully. No worries. Just obey and do it. Actually I did not follow that part as I know I am not a sleeper who moves around. I sleep straight and dun touch my face along the night. So no problem for that part. I didn't wear the shields. as for bathing and washing face, just as per normal. Try not to get water into your eyeball. Just shut lightly and wash. I dun use soap or any washing agent on my face all my life. So no problem for me for this as well. I only use water on my face. Currently, I feel that my night vision is more or less like before if not better. All along I had astigmatism of 25 in each eye, thus the slight dispersion of light at night. I dare say that my astigmatism seem to have reduced mildly but this is maybe just me alone? I'm going back for the check up tomorrow. I bet they are going to scold me if I were to tell them I had been driving since the after the first hour after the operation.
Pepper, have you ever thought of how come only negative study cases are featured and always on the main pages and even on the tv? Local government hospitals are having the similar surgery and they are losing customers to neighbouring countries. You got that? It's just like NTUC and Giant many years ago before the latter came into Singapore market.

pebsb

Pepper

The RM600 must be paid by July 31 or July 30 (depending if its KL or JB. JB requires U to book a pre-exam date). You then lock in at the promo price of RM3700 which you must then operate by 2004.

As for appt - depends on when clinic is avail. call them to find out.

If U found to be unsuitable for surgery - u get 500RM back. If u dont want to proceed with surgery (but suitable), U get 475RM back.

I've no idea abt Dr Yip & Dr Lee. Dr Yip is resident surgeon at JB. My colleague may be opearted by him (In aug). let u know if i hear anything.

pepper

Hi Lester

so if lasik doesnt correct astig then for those with high astig, there's no point in going for lasik right since they will still be dependent on glasses?

Hi Pebs, i called Optimax and the lady told me that the RM 600 don't have to be paid by Jul 30 or 31. IN fact she said that thsi price is locked in as long as u call and book the appt before end Aug and then the 1st appt be before End Oct. Then on the 1st appt, pay the deposit of RM 500 plus RM 100 for eye exam, which the former will be refunded if found to be unsuitable, but if found suitable, must definitely go for the surgery and cannot change the date or timing.

so have u already paid the RM 600?

Ya do let me know about ur colleague who is being operated by Dr Yip. This is afterall my eyes and i am concerned which Doc is operating too. Thanks a lot!

melgal

wah, really made me wanna go to optimax to do the laser asap. but i'm really skeptical about hving another doc to do. can anyone tell me which one, besides Dr Chung is good?

pebsb

Pepper

I think the payment by Aug if you're doing it at JB. Apparently KL has a different payment structure. Very luan.

lester

Hi Pepper

I am not in a position to answer your question. Maybe you'd like to check with Optimax or even SNEC? I feel this is more appropriate.

pebsb

anyone planning to go up KL optimax for op?
Which hotel/area are you staying at? Going by air or coach or drive?

I'm exploring the options currently - thinking of coach, and staying at golden triangle...

pepper

Hi Bei Bei

congrats! i am also looking forward to the day when i don need my specs. so did u do ur check up on the same day as ur lasik? did u do both eyes together? i am quite worried as in singapore, seems like no doc do both eyes together.

i am scared of the apparatus that they use to hold ur eye lids open. my colleague got swelling as the apparatus was pulling too tight.

tell us more!

bei

Hi pepper,

I did my test in June and my lasik on 24 July and I did both eye on the same day... Actually frankly I feel doing both eye on the same day is so much better....
1) U don have to scare yourself twice and get both done at teh same time
2) U don have the problem of one eye able to see an the other blur
3) Feel uncomfortable at the same time
4) Take care of the both eye at the same time

As for the procedures, don worry lah is only human that u feel uncomfortable and awake during a surgery but the "Thing" they use to open your lid and prevent u from blinking is no feeling at all is only the tape that the use to tape your lashes and cover your face that is abit irritating cos when they it off u feel like u just have your face waxed lor....

And after the tape your lashes and cover your face with the plastic sheet they will use the "Thing" to open your eye, then he will wash your eye (Feel abit funny here cos water all over your eye and u feel nothing) then they will use a white rubber ring(Suction ring) to "sucks" your eye ball (When the suction pressure is there u see all white and feel a bit tight around your eye) then they cut the flap (The cutting part is more comfortable cos is just like afeather goign round your eye) then pressure released and dr flip open the flap, okay now they will use the laser which takes around 30 seconds then dr wash your eye again and cover the flap..... and Now is the feeling like being waxed part when dr take off the pastic sheet and the tape....

after that you will be lead to a dark room to rest your eye and normal reaction is that u will try to open your eye and try to see lah and wat u see are like shadow moving around cos i think is the bright light and laser thingy lah then around 30 mins they will ask u go out and try to ask u open your eye (Abit difficult lor) then they will put some eye drops into your eye and imeediately after they u feel so comfortable cos the eye drops smoothen the toght feeling lor.... A bit of tearing after tat....

Around 30 mins later, that is the worse part cos u can barely open your eye so the best thing is go back take the sleeping pill and sleep and straight after u wake up viola! U see much clearly although maybe abit blur and u feel comfortable lor....

the whole one week after lasik try not to use computer and watch tv for too long cos u feel headache (Personal feeling) and must be careful when bathing, washing hair and face lor...

For me now i feel so good already, can see so clearly and feel so good!

clarewoo

Hi Pebs,

I'm going to KL to do my Lasik. I'll be going by coach and staying at Crystal Crown Hotel (as per recommended by Optimax).

pebsb

Hi Clare

Is Crystal Crown near Optimax? There is ano hotel - Ritz Dynasty that is just next to Optimax. Any shopping around there?

I'm thinking of staying in Golden Triangle - near food & shopping.

Which coach are you taking? I need to be on the coach that is the fastest as my appt is on a sat at 2pm, and coach leaves at 7.30am, and arrives in KL abt 5-6 hrs later. Tpt from KL bururaya bus station is abt 45 mins to Optimax.

clarewoo

Hi Pebs,

I can't seems to locate Ritz Dynasty when I do a search on this hotel from the internet. According to the lady from Optimax, it's 10mins drive from Crystal Crown to optimax. If I'm not wrong, there is not much of shopping area around Crystal Crown, the shopping area are closer to Optimax. I'll be going one day before my op as my appointment is at 11am. I'll probably go by grassland as I heard it's more comfortable. For the fastest coach service, my colleague recommend NICE. She just visited KL last week and her journey was only 4.5hrs as there was only one resting point. But the coach will drop you off at the train station rather than the bus terminal and it's more expensive.

pebsb

Hi Clare

I cant locate the hotel too. But from the map, I see it http://www.streetdirectory.com.sg/kl/kl_mapsize2.cgi?x=403676&y=347608&level=5&star=1

I remembered when I spoke with the Optimax lady, she mentioned 2 hotels nearby. I've emailed her for the name & room rates.

Im also thinking of going by Grassland, or Konsortium. The Konsortium person said can reach within 4.5-5.5 hrs (not sure how true).

I can't locate NICE's tel no. Can you post it here pls? Thanks

clarewoo

Hi Pebs,

You can try this website
http://www.malaysiasite.nl/nice.htm or http://www.plusliner.com/index2.html

The bus will depart Singapore from Copthorne Orchid Hotel. Maybe can give them a call to check. My colleague toldm me that if I'm going to take coach, buy the return ticket at KL cos it's in RM so cheaper.

From the PJ map, if I'm not wrong, one of the hotel should be Crystal Crown and the other will be Eastin. Can let me know the rate of both hotels as well so I can also do a comparison. Thanks.

blue2003

Hi Clare

Your checkup is coming soon...
on the 10 Aug rite? Right after national day..can go shopping after that...malaysia's having sale now.

pebsb

Clare

Oh your checkup is coming up. that's great. share with us your experience. When is your surgery?

Let me know how you find the Nice coach (or any other coach you're taking) and the hotel?

pebsb

Optimax replied.
Easton is abt 15min cab fare away; Crystal crown is abt 30 mins away. Both located in PJ area (Optimax is located in PJ). Crystal Crown is RM150+++, Easton is RM200+++.

Nearest shopping - Utama Shopping Centre- 3 KM (5 min), Ikano Power Centre-4 KM (5 min), Ikea- 4KM (5 min) , Mid Valley Shopping Mall- 7 KM (15 min)

Looking at the travelling time, I think I prefer to stay Golden Triangle. Go downstairs is shopping - Sungei Wang, Lot 10 etc; and got food - Jalan Alor, Petaling St etc.

clarewoo

Hi Pebs,

If nothing goes wrong, my surgery will be on 14th August. How long is the journey from Golden Triangle to Optimax and what's the room rate like? I'm paying RM140 nett for twin sharing (including breakfast for two) at Crystal Crown.

clarewoo

Hi blue,

I dunno if I can see properly after my checkup .... so I decided to go early in the morning to do some shopping and remember to eat at the Secret Recipe at JB if you're going for your checkup. They have yummy cakes

pebsb

Hi Clare
Go early? If take 10pm coach, U reach KL about 3am! where are you gonna hang around at from 3am to 6am? My checkup is at 2pm, so Im gonna take the 7.30am coach and reach about 1pm. Then a cab from bus station (golden triangle) which takes abt 30-34 mins to Optimax.
Room rates range from RM100+ to RM200+ depending on which hotel you staying? Not sure if breakfast included, but im ok if there isnt as there are lots of cheap food around KL.

Im also doing checkup in JB - one week before surgery. Mine's in the afternoon, so maybe go in early to jalan. Will try out the Secret Recipe. after that maybe have din in JB. Any recommendation? thinking of eating seafood. But as no car, dont want to venture too far from Optimax JB.

clarewoo

Hi Pebs,

My ops is at 11am so I must go one day before. Do you know what's the taxi fare like for a 30mins ride? The email I got from optimax told me that crystal crown is 10mins drive from optimax lor .... so confusing .... The lady also told me that I need to reach optimax 1/2 hr before my scheduled appointment.

I always go JB by bus so I only eat from the shopping area but heard from my friends that there are quite a no. of restaurant that serve nice and cheap seafood. Cannot go without car cos' all of them are in the ulu ulu places

pebsb

Clare
The Optimax pple sing different song. 1 said deposit must pay by June, ano say Oct. SIGH.
Then I told them I may not be able to reach by 2pm (maybe traffic jam). They said, its ok - your appt is 4pm. We need you early to put the drop in yr eye & for it to take effect. So long U can b4 4pm (clinic close at 5pm) that's ok. We schedule you in the last surgery.
They have no idea on taxi fare, maybe half of wat Spore's fare is? The distance away is also subjective. 1st time I spoke with them, they said abt 10-15 mins, then yesterday about 30 mins?!?

clarewoo

Ya Pebs .... I agree they always give different info. lor. Maybe 10mins is no jam and 30mins with traffic jam??? hhahhahahaha...... Well, now keeping my fingers crossed for my checkup on Tuesday, hope I can proceed with the ops next Sat .... have been wearing glasses for almost a month .... so inconvenient ....

blue2003

Hi Clare

I have just know of a colleague who has done the epi-lasik. Heard it is better...hv u heard of it? I have called Optimax and they said the price is RM 4000 for both eyes as I have booked before july 31.

clarewoo

Hi Blueblue,

I've no idea on what is epi-lasik as my colleagues and her family members did their a couple of years ago. Probably I can check with Optimax during my checkup next tues

melgal

I called up optimax and they told me Dr Lee is a female doctor whereas Dr Yip has done far more than 8,000 cases including cataracts surgery. I wanted Dr Chung but she told me I have to top up to $5000+ for him to operate, whereas for Dr Yip/Lee, the charges still remain the same as $3700.

Has anybody been operated by Dr Yip before? Any comments? It's beyond my budget if I want Dr Chung to operate on me.

clarewoo

Hi blueblue,

I’ve cleared my eye examination and will be proceeding to KL to do my lasik on Sat. I’ve checked on the difference on normal lasik and epi-lasik. According to the staff, a flap will be cut across your cornea and close back after the op for normal lasik and thus will be less painful. For epi-lasik, a brush will be used to brush away some of the membrane of your cornea instead of cutting the flap and thus your eyes will take longer to heal and you’ll feel more discomfort. However, epi-lasik will be suitable for people with thinner cornea since they only need to brush away a thin layer of your cornea.

pebsb

Clare
All the best for the op. Keep us posted!

Are you doing lasik or lasek (got difference). Lasek is similiar to epi - requires less cornea & suits thin cornea pple. Lasek has this cap that goes on after your op to help your cornea heals. I cant rem if its epi or lasek which uses alcohol.

clarewoo

Hi Pebs,

Thanks. Will keep you posted when I come back. I'll be doing lasik as I've got thick cornea. Lasek will be more painful and your eyes will take longer to heal.

blue2003

Hi Clare

After reading your reply, I think I will stick with the lasik if my cornea is thick enough. Remember to keep us posted after you come bk... Take care.

charmed_bebz

hey, did u all read straits times today? Tan Tock Seng Hosp and NUH are slashing their Lasik and Wavefront to 20% on 15 aug onwards. After the discount, Lasik will cost S$1,590/eye (before discount: S$1,950/eye) and wavefront will cost $1,780/eye (before discount: S$2,180/eye). It oso states that this are flat charges.

This rather interest me, hope it applies to u guys out there too. Btw any recommendations for these surgery at TTSH or NUH? Pls comment...

charmed_bebz

me again... sorry...

in case if u all are wondering, I was reading this article when I was having breakfast at Macdonalds this morning. So I didn't really take note if these flat charges referring to the surgery only or includes pre and post check up charges.

melgal

Hi pepper
can i know whether the lasik eye surgery includes follow up sessions with the doctor? the price of $3700 is it only for the surgery? I've checked with my friend who did her lasik in a clinic in Shaw Centre, she did her lasik for $5K and that includes several follow up sessions.

pepper

Hi Melgal

yes it include follow up but have to be done in JB, to be done in Singapore, each time is S$30-50. that's what the person told me but i am going to verify with the doc again when i have my first check up.

melgal

Hi Pepper,
When will be your 1st checkup? Which doctor have they assigned you to?
If the post follow-ups will be in JB, then wdn't be quite troublesome for us to travel to JB all the time?
How many follow-ups do we have to go?

pepper

hi melgal

my 1st checkup is in late Oct. If u find it too troublesome to check up in JB then u pay the $30-$50 to do it in singapore.

i am not sure how many check ups are required. got to ask the doctor.

clarewoo

I'm back from my Op. The op took less than 30 mins. You have to go in at least 1.5hrs earlier as they need to do some additional tests for you prior to your op. The first 4hrs after the op, you will feel very uncomfortable but just sleep thru it and when you wake up, you'll feel fine. My vision ok now but can get hazy under bright lights. Dr told me that my eyesights will only stabilise after 3 months. Just some info. for those going to KL:

Travelling to Malaysia
Took Grassland Coach to KL from Sg - depart Sg at 9am, reach KL at 2.30pm

Took Grassland Coach from KL to Sg - depart KL at 5.30pm, reach Beach Rd at 10.45pm

Cost $28 per pax for 1 way or $56 per pax for 2 way. It's pretty fast cos' they go by 2nd link so not much traffic jam.

Travelling in Malaysia
From KL Pudu station to Crystal Crowm Hotel - less than RM10

From Crystal Crown Hotel to Optimax - less than RM7

From Crystal Crown Hotel to Sunway Lagoon - less than RM6

Food
Found a nice restaurant called Kim Gary at Sunway Lagoon and Sungei Wang ... serve yummy Hong Kong style food.

pebsb

Hi Clare
Congrats on e success Op. my colleague did his in JB last fri. he said ok but still abit blur. think need time to stabilize.
Crystal crown hotel = near optimax?
How far (time) from Pudu station to Optimax?
How was shopping?

clarewoo

Hi Pebs,

Thanks. I'm sure yours will be great as well. Actually Eastin will be nearer but will be more expensive. Crystal Crown is really value for money and I personally find the food great too. It's about 10mins drive from crystal crown to Optimax. There wasn't any jam at all. From Pudu will be about 20-30 mins as it will usually jam a bit at KL, PJ very unlikely to have traffic jam. Shopping was great. Had a great time doing my shopping on Sunday and that is just one day after my ops