LASIK anyone?

smurfy

I am back from KL already but I didn't get to do the lasik due to the diagnosis of sub-clinical keratoconus (meaning abnormal steepening of the cornea) during the initial stage of examination.

I am very disappointed. I'll be seeing a corneal specialist here in Singapore and see if anything could be done..sigh..

sq07

Hi Smurfy,
sorry to hear that. It was a great fear for me actually, to go to Bangkok to find out that I cant do LASIK. But I guess I was luckier. My LASIK was done smoothly on 1 July. Now my vision is really good. Although there are redness in my eyes due to bruising, it's normal. Surgeon is really assuring and professional. Heard he did >17,000 eyes already. Plus the agency send a customer service to help me through the arrangements, all I had to do is sit and wait. And personal driver to send me to and from LASIK centre and hotel. And the LASIK centre is so modern! Their own staff are well trained, helpful and friendly. The hotel recommended by the agency was near the LASIK centre for convenience, very new and very good service, even in comparison to other hotels in Bangkok. All in all, superb experience, definitely will recommend for people who wants top-notch service and surgery.

smurfy

sq07,

Great to hear that your Lasik is such a success. How I wish I could also do lasik.. really very disappointed..

carr

Hi smurfy,
sorry you sound so upset. but maybe it is better you know you have a problem and can avoid it getting worse (whatever it is called?)Can u stop it or heal it?

I just wanna add my 2 cents worth to this.
I have good eye sight but hubby was pretty bad b4 he did his laser thing in optimax kl last year.

first night he was a bit wingey but he seemed really pleased after that! looks younger too so I better watch out!

The girls at KL Optimax are quite good looking too I noticed. maybe they get specialiy picked. They were also very polite and professional.

His mum too was a bit worried that he was going to do it in KL (standard u know and all that) but he had a really good friend who also did his in KL and knows many people who also went to OPtimax so figures cant go wrong!

I also heard the price is going up in aug coz my cousin wants to do it too.
She's from Brunei so she's loaded but the staff told her to put a deposit down if she wanted.(a bit of increase but ok unless u want the Dr who is bald.(Choong or something) increase by I think RM500 for 1 eye)
CAN FIX the current price with the depositloh Heh Heh!!

Also told her they have something called epelasik very soon from Germany, supposed to be safer than lasik! no cutting of the cornea so no cutting dangers they said and even if very high degrees still ok (at least she wont be disappointed flying from Brunei to KL and get told sorry no Lasik)
lucky I got ok eyes
AArgh didnt realise I gave more like 20 cents worth.

smurfy

hi carrtoon,

Thanks for your comforting words..you are right. If they didn't discover my problem and go ahead with the op, I could have ended up worse now. i am not sure if my condition could be stopped or healed. I'll be visiting a corneal specialist on friday to see if anything could be done. By the way, I didn't go to Optimax at KL, I went to Vista.

Could you tell me more epelasik? or where could i get more information on it?

carr

hi again Smurfy,
Yep, I checked it out and "Epi-Lasik" is on their website <www.optimax.com.my>
Sounds pretty safe but maybe you need to email them to ask more.

Also heard their Jb branch acquired a really good dr from one of the Singapore Eye hospitals.Dont know what his name is but I know it's a guy.
That's my bit for now,
hope ur checkup goes fine!

smurfy

hi carrtoon,

I read the website. The technique sounds great as no flap is being created, maybe I could be suitable for it. I already sent an email to optimax to ask about it. Will ask my doctor too tomorrow.

Thanks for the great info.

carr

you're very welcome smurfy.

My cousin (Brunei)is going to do epi next week because they have a special epi-price or something.
At least that is what she wants to choose but I suppose she'll still end up doing the best type of laser for her eyes.

She's not too keen on flap cutting into her cornea so that's why to her epi sounds the best option.She said even intralase also cuts part of the cornea.

Why did u choose Vista? Dont know anyone who went there actually. Are they new?? Do they have a branch in JB too?

Is the centre decent? most important clean? coz I believe it shows how clean their operation room is. Don't u think so?
Optimax is pretty well done up so u feel confident u know!
They have 2 Operation rooms u know.

She has to be there for 3 hrs ( a bit long huh? just for checking) my husband's was only 2 hrs but he did the normal lasik not the special Custom type with the Ladar Vision!.

Something about many photos have to be taken for the Custom Ladar testing.

aderinel

Hi Carrtoon and Smurfy
This morning i went to Optimax KL wif my sis.She did her full eye exam there, than tomolo she's going for the treatment which call Epi-Custom lasik.Her power is -8.00 and astig -3.00 each eye.

My sis said that,onli Optimax offer Ladar Custom Lasik in Malaysia.This is the onli US FDA approved custom which give better quality vision compare to others.(specially night vision).Beside that Epi-Lasik can save more tissue.That is the reason my sis go for the Epi-Custom Lasik.

Friendly speaking, my sis last month went to Vista to do the eye exam.Their price is so expensive.They even say they did 4,000 cases in Malaysia, but Optimax had done more than 22,000 cases. Optimax have 5 doctors in Malaysia. Vista onli have 1 branch in KL, but Optimax have 5 branches in Malaysia. Optimax started since 1995 but Vista onli started in year 2000. Beside that, Optimax UK is the Largest Provider of Laser Eye Treatment in United kingdom as well.To Date, Optimax UK has carried over 140,000 treatment.That why my sis choose Optimax KL to do her treatment.

Carrtoon, I agree that Optimax guls is very polite and pro.The front counter guls is very pretty as well.The center is so comfort, you will feel like in your house.

Smurfy dun worry so much, i will let you know how my sis result, once she done her treatment by tomolo by the famous doctor Stephen Chung.

Hi Carrtoon and Aderinel,

May I know where both of you are based and posting from? Thank you.

aderinel

Hi Chin Leng,

I'm working in Singapore but i was post in Malaysia cos my sis doing the treatment in Optimax KL.

My sis result is very good. Doctor said she can see 20/20 in next day! Thank you Optimax and i'm going for the treatment end of the month!

Aderinel

Hi Aderinel,

If you are working in Malaysia, why is it that you stated in your profile as student?

smurfy

hi carrtoon,

The reason for choosing Vista is because they use Intralase to create the flap which is better than Microkeratome which Optimax is using. Recently only know that TTSH also has Intralase.

Hi Aderinel,

Do you mean your sis already went thru the op and she can now see 20/20 already?

How is the whole procedure like as compared to standard lasik? Does she feel more painful?

bei

Hi Rocher,

How's r u feeling now after your LASIK? Still dry eye and haze? Do take care ya... Mine is next sat... So excited and scare.... So worry tat i will faint white waiting for my eye to get dipilated....

Hopefully I can be brave enough to go through the procedures.......

wawa

Aft hearing soo much abt Optimax, i would also like to get my eyes done at one of the centres. I have a few questions to ask:

1) Can i get my eyes done, both examination and treatment on the same day?

2) my degree is quite high abt -12.00 and -3.00 (astig) for each eye. So which options serve a better choice for me? Conventional lasik or custom lasik or epi-lasik?

3) Tot of visting the centre in JB but aft hearing sooooooo much news abt the social security in JB recently, actually i'm quite scared abt it. the tot of bring sooo much money makes me jiggles. Not to mention i still need to go for post check on the very next day....

appreciate your gals' advice for the above questions!!! thanks

rocher_ho

Hi Bei Bei,

yups, my eyes still very dry lor.. have been using a lot of the tears drop... Yup, vision still blur.. but hopefully can see well soon...

All the best for ur op.. dun worry too much &amp; eveything will be fine..

Hi Wawa,
1) yes, u can have ur eye examination &amp; op on the same day, but provided u are suitable for it..

2) This one, i'm not sure.. but it best to call Optimax to ask them abt it.. the staff are very friendly, they will be able to help u out..

3) u can oso opt to do it in KL... dun have to pay by cash.. credit cards oso can...they have promotions for SCB, UOB, Maybank, etc... But its better to go with ur bf or hubby, to protect u mah..hehe

lilacz

Hey Rocher,

U finally done Lasik!U r the one who started this thread right?And then encouraged me to go do it before my trip.Congrats!Im sure u will enjoy your "new vision"!:p

bei

Hi Rocher,

Me counting down to my LASIK men! 5 more days to go! Hope your eye is getting better! I have a friend who just did hers at SNEC, she advise not to look too long into the PC, don carry heavy stuff and try not to bed your head down cos is cause eye pressure....
hope this tips help you too... Take care ya!

My bro's friend is also going to Optimax through my recommendation and he is doing it earlier than me! His is the coming Tue...
Looks like everyone going there men....

rocher_ho

Hi LiLacz,

yes...finally done my in early July.
Yup, its me who started this thread..:p

How abt u? Have u corrected ur vision already? If yes, where do u done it? i'm still adapting to the hazey vision, hopefully my vision will improve as time goes by..

Hi Bei Bei.
thanks for ur concern... wow, so fast... getting excited? just stay calm and everything will be alrite... btw, did they sent u the recommendation fees? Not sure how long does it take, but think you better remind them again when u are there, if not lugi..:p

As for the advise, optimax told me to rest for 10 mins after an hour of PC.. but they din mentioned abt carrying heavy stuff and not to bend the head down..

Ya.. it seems that optimax is getting more popular liao.. yday channel 8, 10pm news reports abt many singaporeans went to JB to do their Lasik and they even interviewed one SG guy in optimax JB branch.. I instantly recognise it, cos of their corporate sofa..

Good luck for ur op.. and let me know hows ur outcome..

bei

heheheheh... ya lor Rocher, me cant wait for it and at the same time very scare lei.... maybe will faint in the theatre room...

Ya I saw it on the news yesterday, and this really increase my confident with them! Oh I have not receive anything from them yet lei, I tot they should send to you since I told them u r the one who recommended me? NVM i Check with them this sat
will definitely update u on the after my LASIK! will be back on Sun evening... Hopefully can catch up with you on MON!

Good luck to me ya!

pebsb

Hello
Anyone heard or gone through Epi-Lasik/Epi-Wavefront? Read from the internet, its approved by the US authority late last year. Is it even better than intralase (no blade method)?

Took from website: http://wgntv.trb.com/news/local/eveningnews/wgntv-110403medicalwatch,0,2327454.story

Lasik surgery without cutting the eye. It's possible with a new type of Lasik just approved and performed for the first time in Illinois yesterday.
It gave one patient the gift of better sight without the same risks as traditional Lasik.
Caleb Henry is still on his back, his eye propped open and anesthetized. But he will not have the top layers of tissue cut away in a flap to make way for the laser to reshape his cornea for better vision. Instead the top layer of tissue will just be moved.
Dr. Bruce Larson, opthamologist at the Hinsdale Surgical Center explains, "The main difference is cutting versus no cutting and surface treatment versus sub-surface treatment and we have shown that surface treatments are associated with much less in terms of night vision symptoms halos and starbursts."
The most recently approved laser vision correction surgery, Epi-Lasik, is appealing to patients due to a limited risk for side effects. First, using this tool, doctors gently pull the top layer of tissue to the side. Then they administer the laser treatment.
Once the desired cornea shape is achieved to correct vision, the doctor then slides back and repositions the tissue.
What's even better, some patients who are not candidates for traditional Lasik surgery, like those with thin corneas, can have the Epi-Lasik successfully.

blue2003

Hi Bei Bei and Rocher

You guys just came back after the lasik. Is it really not that scary afterall? I cannot overcome the fear of doing operation though it should not be painful. I am just v v scare.

Initilly din dare to do it but after reading so many testimonials...slightly more confident now. Any difference if we do it at KL or JB?

me_no_expert

Hi Sq07,

May I know which how much did you pay for the TRSC package and which type of lasik procedure did you opt for?

So far how is the eye? Any problem?

sq07

Hi Husky_Boy,
I paid for my husband and mine accomodation, airfares, and stayed one more night than necessary in BKK. And also upgraded my LASIK to 4th generation totalling about $4500. Was quite value for money cuz I think the surgeon is really good, and also, my husband and I have our holiday in BKK too. If you are budget conscious, then prob you might want to book your own airflight, if you can find a cheaper one. and maybe a cheaper hotel too.
I opted for 4th generation w/o wavefront. 4th cuz they use the carl-weiss (spelling?) lens. but no wave-front cuz my cornea is thick enuf so no need for that. if you book through Health Aesthetics, they will book the top surgeon in the centre, so it is really assuring. you can definitely email Health Aesthetics for more info. They are more than willing to answer your queries. plus they dun hard-sell.
for now, my vision is stabilizing. still no signs of halo, poor night vision, glare, and stuff. guess i'm lucky. but eyes still a bit dry. i am quite afraid of staring at the computer for too long though, in case it deteriorates.

lester

I would like to share some good news with all of you regarding the Lasik operation that I just did on the 21st July, Wednesday. I first got to know about Optimax in March and after hearing some friends who went and came back with success stories, I decided to do it. After fixing the appointment, I was told to abstain from contact lens from minimum 2 weeks, better if it can be a month. I have been a contact lens person all along for the last 11 years, everyday. i have shortsightedness of 500 degrees each eye and between 25 to 50degrees of astimatism for both eyes as well.
I first did my eye examination in Optimax on 28th June 2004. During the examination they did tests alike to optician when you do your eye checks. On top of that they have precision instruments that test the thickness of your cornea, responses to puff of wind...... It took about 2 hours. My pupils were dilated with the aid some some eye drops to facilitate the testings. Dilation is a process where by your pupils are being enlarged by medicinal help, in this case, the eye drop, temporarily. This dilation will last for anytime between 2 days to 3 days depending on individual and it is not permanent. I advise you to bring laong a pair of power sunglasses to minimise sunlight glare or at least some form of shades. Go with someone rather than on your own. After certifying that I am a suitable patient for the surgery, I went home to wait for the surgery scheduled on 7th July. I must warn everyone that the eye examination dates are not dated until minimum October. So you have to try your luck to book an examination date. I paid RM$3700 for everything inclusive of consultation, medication and surgery. That converts to about S$1630! This amount is for a pair of eyes for Lasik! Whereas in SIngapore, it's average of S$5000 to S$6000 for a piar of eyes inclusive of the above.
On the surgery day, 7th July, I went to Optimax as scheduled, I waited until noon time before I was told to rescheduled to come back for another appointment. The reason being the machine was unable to calibrate to the requirements. I figured that it was professional of them to inform me of the on-goings rather than to allow me to go ahead with the surgery with any room for errors. As we have heard or talked about before, we all aould have exclaimed at some point of time the facilities in the medical scene in Malaysia being ill equipped and unprofessional...... I beg to differ. This clientele base in Optimax is mainly Singaporean. I see many expatriates visiting the clinic and I spoke to 2 of them before, both giving positive responses as well.
The surgery was rescheduled to 21st July 2004 and at this point of time I was still having fear and second thoughts of pulling out. I have already paid in full was ready to forfeit the 5% penalty in the event of not getting the surgery done. Upon arrival, some similar eye tests were done to me as on eye examination day, my corneas were marked out by Dr Chong for the laser to be cut. Following that, I was brought into a pre surgery room to change into some surgery garments. A nurse cleaned up my eyes and applied an anesthetic eyedrop. In about 10 minutes, I could feel my eyelids and eyeball becoming numb but I was still as per normal without spectacles. I was the first patient for the day, my surgeon was Dr Chong. He was very reassuring and gives clear instructions exactly what I should do. The Lasik machine is not as bulky as I thought. it was bout the size of an x ray machine ot thereabout. There is a bed where you lie down, the head goes into a contoured pillow where your head is restricted to move in any direction. A surgeon blanket is placed over my face with just one exposed. A ring tape is used to hold back your eye lashes. I was told to focus on a red spot. A suction cup was used over my eyeball to prevent it from moving. at this point, I was tense and very, very worried. When vacuum was appiled, my right eye blacked out momentarily. I clenched my fists slightly to ease the tension. The cutting apparatus moved in to cut the cornea. This process took about 4 seconds. I didn't feel any pain at all but I could feel the cut. Following this, I could see the red light but it was very scattered. The laser was moved in to position to prepare for the removing of tissues at the position where the cornea was flipped open by Dr Chong. The laser was a blue intermittent light source and when it hit onto my pupil area, there was a burning stench but bearable. There was no pain felt at this point of time too. After the laser process was completed, saline was used to wash the area and the cornea was allowed to be covered back in place and left to set in 2 minutes. During these 2 minutes, I could see that the equipments and ceiling looked much clearly than before the operation. When 2 minutes was up, all the apparatus was removed and I was taken to rest in the pre surgery to rest for 5 minutes before continuing with the left eye. When I got down the bed, I could figure out words about 1 cm in height at about 3 metres distance with slight difficulty. I could feel that my right eye was slightly swollen and the path where the saline and tears flowed was damp to the back of my head. After resting for 5 minutes, I was brought in to perform the operation on the left eye. It took about 10 minutes for each eye and the entire process took about 30 minutes.
After the surgery, I was brought to a resting room to be rested on a large plush couch. I was given a quilt to cover myself with as it was a little chilly in the room. My eyes at this point of time was continuously tearing and had a slight sting. I could open my eyes only for maybe 1 second before i had to close them again. But it was after the right eye completion that I knew I made the right choice to follow through. I was advised not to drive on that day and have someone to accompany me back home. I drove and I tried to comtinue to drive evene after resting at the clinic for an hour. Before we left, Dr Chong did another simple eye examination to make sure that the cirnea was in place. All was well and I went off to do some grocery shopping, met up with friends and had lunch. It was only until about 3 hours later that I felt very comfortable to open my eyes completely. The vison I felt was maybe about 50% improvement by late afternoon. By nightfall, vision was extimated to be around 80% good. At night, I experienced glare and halos when I was driving on the road. I wore some tinted glasses to minimise this. This will not be permenent as I was told. I would advise again not to drive on surgery day and even eye examination day as it is unsuitable to drive in those conditions. I went ahead cos my wife was not confident enough to handle Malaysia traffic conditions.
I was scheduled to return for follow up the following day. I went back did some more eye checks and I was told my vision was about 70% good. It will be some time before it stabalises. anything from 1 to 3 months or maybe even longer for some patients. The medicatoin includes eyedrops that are to be used for a prescribed time and some painkillers and sleeping pills to be taken when necessary. This is definitely one surgery that I would recommend you to do if you are bespectacled or have to go thru the tiring process of cleaning your contact lens or even purchasing daily lens on a regular basis. It is worth it. Call up on your own to find out more informations, clear doubts or request for appintments. The address and contact is

Optimax Laser Eye Centre
Level 22,Office tower, City Square, JB
tel: 07-2782522, Fax: 07-2782523
Look for Jaime or Agnes. They are very friendly and ready to answer your queries.

Last I heard was there will be a price hike if you book your appointments after 1st August. The hike will be at RM$500 per eye, or RM$1000 for a pir of eyes. that means, you'll end up paying about RM$4600 for a pair of eyes for Lasik. In additional to that, there will be a newer process of Lasik which will be customised for individual according to cornea eys. It'll be beneficial for patients like myself who has got large pupils. If you like, you could put me as your referral. Just tell them Leser yeong introduced you and if they ask for my contact number, it's 96922541. Hope this short write up is beneficial for those who has doubts about Lasik.

Disclaimer: I am in no way related to Optimax except that I have been there to perform Lasik on my eyes.

Lester

pebsb

Hi sq07,

What is LASIK 4th generation? And is $4500 in SIN $ and for yr eyes, or both yours and hubby?

Which hospital/clinic did you do it at, and your surgeon is?

pebsb

Lester,
that's a very detailed expl. Which method of surgery did you do? - Lasik, Wavefront, Epi?
Why did you choose this method?

bei

Hi Lester! Wow u really calm me down men!!! Hey my surgery is tomorrow at 10am in KL and I damm stress and scare now lor... Scare of pain and scare of after effect... Don know how would I feel after the surgery lor and damm SCARE!!!

After after reading your note, WOW!!! you really good lor so detailed and everything tat I'm scare and worry about r claerly explain in your note!

Thank you so much! Good luck to me and hopefully everything will turn out well for me tomorrow!

me_no_expert

Thanks sq07,

I paid a visit to Health Aesthetics today.. after talking to the 2 doctors.. I felt reassured and decided to take up their package although it is more expensive than that by meditour(another competing company)... now trying to arrange for a suitable date... there is a discount during National Day period..

Pebs - the 4th generation is using zeiss MEL80 equipment which is supposed to be the lastest... u can visit these websites for details.. www.healthaesthetics.com and www.lasikthai.com ... best is go down and talk to healthaesthetics... there is no obligation... different types of equipment has different percentage of achieving perfect 20/20 vision..

blue2003

I have tentatively booked the lasik with Dr Chung for the price RM 3,700 to be done in Sept. What you guys have said is true, the price will increase to RM5,000 to RM6,000 depending on which doc.

Though I am still not prepared mentally, my hubby kept assurring me that it's safe and should go before increase in price. Anyone oso interested but have fear too?

sq07

Hi Pebs, $4500 is in SGD. The surgery is only for me. Airflight and accomodation for my hubby and me. Doctor's name is Chansue. I think you can read up on his portfolio on the website mentioned by Husky Boy
Hi Husky Boy, I am quite happy with my eyes. So dun worry too much. Although today's Sunday's Times mentioned some bad experience in BKK. Dry eyes are common and might take up to 6 months to heal. I think even if you do it in SPore will also get dry eyes. As for after-care, I suggest you follow it seriously. Epecially not rubbing your eyes or squeezing your eyes shut too hard. Just be patient for 1 month. And do take care of your eyes by resting them often, some thing that you should do even for normal eyes. Nevertheless, the procedure is different from Optimax's which Lester described. The surgery will be done on both eyes at the same time. No resting in between. That is, surgeon will cut a flap in, say, the left cornea, wash, close back, then cut a flap in the right cornea, wash, do laser, then wash, close, then proceed back to left eye, open the flap, laser, wash, close back. Quite fast, chop chop, I like, and doctor is assuring by telling you what he is doing and that you are doing well. Even the nurse is reassuring when she gave me her hand to grab hold of as I felt discomfort and fear during the cutting. Plus my hubby was allowed to watch the whole procedure from a viewing "gallery". After the surgery, the nurse helped me up, turned me in the direction of the gallery and ask me to wave to my hubby and I could see him. My eyes had bruising, but now, after 3 weeks, it is gone. If you are worried, then prob you might want to stay for 1 week so you can see the doctor again for the 1-week check-up, which I did at SNEC. I read that Health Aesthetics is more expensive than Meditours but at least they give the insurance that they will pay for your corrective surgery if you are not satisfied. Plus if I am not wrong, Health Aesthetics is runned by doctors but Meditours is not. (Not 100% sure though)

pebsb

Blueblue, Clare - Both of you doing at Optimax with Dr Chung? My colleague too. What are you doing - lasik, wavefront or Epi? What's the difference between the three?

charmed_bebz

hiya all,

I'm interested in lasik too. my current power is 725deg (rite) and 650deg with 150 astig (left). However, my eyes sumtimes not symetrical (eg. not looking straight). do u tink i can still go for this opt?? Pls lemme have your comments, thanks!

blue2003

Hi Pebs

I also haven gone for checkup. I have booked an appt to secure the price at RM 3700 as they told me it will be RM 6000 if I choose Dr Chung.

Did u guys read the papers yesterday on Lasik? The risk involved..some pple had complications, wrinkle cornea after the surgery done in Thailand. They have to seek help at SNEC.

sq07

Hi Sarieta,
I think there is a chance that you will not be able to do LASIK. Why not just email SNEC or Health Aesthetics and enquite?

wawa

I went to Optimax (JB) last Sat to pay my upfront deposit to secure the special price (RM3700) ...then i had a "mini" check up and was told that i'm not a suitable candidate due to i'm having extreme myopia in both my eyes...ard 1.2 to 1.3 dip. Sad to hear that my cornea is not thick enuff for Lasik even though my thickness is coming close to 580mm.....

Just, I had made an appointment with SNEC for a 2nd opinion. Though my chances are not very good for Lasik, but got to give it a try somehow.... At Optimax, I'm being offered an alternative either the phakic IOL or removing my "natural lenses" and to be replaced by "artificial lenses". Personally, I'm not very comfortable with the idea of foreign objects being placed in my eyes...

I'm keeping my fingers crossed..cheers for those peps who had success Lasik treatments

pepper

Hi anyone of u heard of Dr Yip or Dr Lee at Optimax? Dr Chung will no longer be coming down to the JB branch from 1 Oct i was told.

clarewoo

Hi pepper,

I know there's a lady doctor from Optimax JB but I dunno her surname. My colleague and her husband had her for their lasik. No problem at all.

blue2003

Hi Clare

Are you going to do your lasik at JB or KL? U have friends who have done it before? How's it? When's your?

lester

I am into 7 days after I did my Lasik at Optimax. All is well. I am glad I helped clear some doubts. Currently, I am seeing relatively clearly both in the day and night. I only occasionally experience dryness when the fan or aircon is directly blowing at my eyes. I am still on the strict medical instructions of using the eyedrops. Not that I need it at all but I just wanted to follow the doc's advice. Normal day, I do not experience any dryness or glare from the sunlight. Only the dryness I mentioned when direct wind is in my eyes. At night, the halos and glare has reduced significantly as compared to the first night after operation. I have been driving since the 2nd hour after the operation untill now. Of cos, this is personal and very much individual's choice. I do not have a problem but I strongly advice against driving on the first day after operations.

clarewoo

Hi blue,

I'm going to do it at KL cos I do want to wait too long for the op. My checkup will be on 10th Aug (JB) and if everything turns out well, my lasik will be on 14th Aug (KL). I only realised that she and her hubby did theirs at JB after I made my appointment. Both of them did theirs almost 2 years ago, in fact, even their sister-in-law and brother-in-law also did theirs at JB. No problem for all of them till now. What about yours?

blue2003

Hi Lester

When do you have to go back for checkup after surgery? Monthly? Do you go bk to KL or JB branch? I have made appt to do checkup and treatment on the same day. Now I am worried that it may not be good to do both on same days. Too tiring for the eyes. The gals at Optimax told me it really depends on individuals. Some pple cant take it and Dr will advice them to come bk the next day for surgery. I tried to make appt to do checkup at JB..but already fully booked till mid Oct. Now stick with my appt on 04 Sept at KL.

Hi Clare
Mine is on 4 Sept. It's good that you are going for checkup first. I oso would like to do so. Cant imagine if everything to do on the same day....who's your doc?

clarewoo

Hi blueblue,

My doctor for the surgery is Dr Chung. I decided to do my checkup first cos in case my eyes are not suitable for lasik then I don't have to waste a trip to go all the way to KL. I was initially given a sept slot for my checkup but I called them again to see if I can go earlier and they managed to schedule me in Aug. Maybe you can try to call them again?

lester

Hi Blue

Mine is from JB and you might want to try to book with them if you are not in a hurry. Just let them know that you are ok for an earlier date if it is available. Abstain from contact lens from now so that whenever any appointment dates come along, you just go for it. Moreover, it is nearer and it is not possible from what they told me that the examination day and treatment day cannot be on the same day. I've tried to ask for it but was told by the doctor that it cannot be done like that. I suggest you to confirm again with your doctor that examination and treatment can be done on the same day. Maybe technology improved within 1 week after I did mine? Or maybe they might wanna try to cramp everything together? No harm intended... just concern... good luck.

pepper

Hi Lester

is lasik about to correct astig? also how difficult was it to keep focusing on the red dot since ur eyes are forced open for so long? i am very worried about that.

do u have to wear goggles to sleep or shower after the surgery to prevent accidents?

do u still experience glare at night or is ur night vision as good as before?

am very worried about the dangers after reading more about lasik online. like the cornea may bulge out due to pressure within the eyes or if due to strong accidental knocks on the eyes, the cornea may detach.

blue2003

Hi Clare

I have just called KL branch. Great! They found a slot at JB for me.

Lester
Thanks..after reading what you hv mentioned. I told them that I heard cannot do on the same day. So she helped me to arrange checkup at JB.

blue2003

Hi Clare

My checkup is on 9th Sep at JB and lasik at KL 1 wk later. Oso by Dr. Chung. By the way, I am still scare leh. How? Read some negative reviews from the other thread. This gal's eyes become sensitive after the surgery.