LASIK anyone?

rocher_ho

wondering if anyone have done LASIK before? I have some qns on it:

1) Is it 100% perfect eyesight?
2) How much is the treatment?
3) How many days of MC?
4) Which hospital, clinic and doctor to recommend?
5) Will the shortsighted come back again?

Cos I feel like doing it but still very fickle-minded.

Cheerios!

bear318

rocher

i did 3wks ago. my eyesight close to 1000 degrees each. to ans ur qns, it's not 100% perfect. dpds on indd. it oso doesn't mind that the lower your degree, the closest to perfect eyesight you get. it depends on your own eyes esp your cornea thickness.

i'm due to see my doc my next (1 mth later). so far, i don't think i have perfect eyesight but i can function without glasses. my doc has told me to expect abt 100 degress or so after op. and so, if i'm in this category, i'm please liao.

i did mine at national eye centre. my doc is dr peter tseng. he's a senior consultant. they wld ask you which doc you want. the most experience wld be the head of the dept but there was a waitlist for him and i don't want to wait. . the cost is the same for any doc. $2250 each eye. only diff is consultation.

no mc needed. but mc can be given if you request. oh, but the 1st checkup (where they did 3 hr test on your eyes), they will gv you mc. cos your focus will be blur after that. no pain at all. just that your eyes wld be dilated for the checkup. so vision blur.

on my day of ops, i can go hm immed after that. by night time, i can see but very blur - mainly due to my hidh degrees. doc got warn me to expect hazy vision for first few wks. now, my left eye still hazy but right side clear vision.

and no guarantee that the shortsightednness won't come back.

so far, i'm please that i did it! considered for awhile too. i'm the guinea pig among my friends and so, i had nobody to consult.

as for which hosp, now all hops seems to provide the op! it dpds on you. singapore national eye centre at sgh. no is 63228891. call them.

_angel

rocher,

i did mine too in jun wif dr peter tseng. my degrees abt 650 and 600 plus astig of abt 150 each eye. my last checkup was last abt 2 wks ago. my right eye is 6/6 but left eye abt 50 degrees. no regrets and never felt better. for the first time i could go for hols w/o glasses and contact lens solution....

nutella

Hi rocher,

I did mine in Jan this year, no regrets at all! Both eyes were more than 600 degree, plus 100+ of astig. Both eyes are now 6/6, but my left eye is left with about 30 degree of astig. I can still see well, except at night my vision can get abit hazy coz of the astig. But so far I can still drive at night.

My doctor is Dr Donald Tan. As I have been wearing hard/RGP lenses for more than 10 years, my doctor did "warn" me that after lasik, I still might not achieve the perfect vision that I have when wearing lenses. He is right, but I am still very happy with the results. Agree with angie that it feels good to go on holidays without glasses and lenses too!

periwinkle

Izit possible to make specs juz for astig? i'm asking this as my astigmatism is abt 300 degrees and i'm worried that i'll be left with some astigmatism after the Lasik surgery.

nutella

Jen, I paid $2250 per eye. When I went for my first consultation, the recep told me they actually have 12 months interest free payment tied up with a few credit cards. So I took that option, since its interest free

periwinkle, I think it's possible to make glasses just for astig. So far I feel I don't need glasses so I didn't ask for prescription.

_angel

periwinkle,

u noe to actually go for the surgery b4 u will noe if u need specs for astig. like mine, the surgeon say lasik doesn't correct astig but somehow, my astig disappeared. i was prepared to make specs for stig cos i'm still doing part time studies so was worried that i might not be able to c the board. but now, dun need cos i can c the board pretty clearly. i guess the results vary for diff individuals. so, u will never noe for sure unless u go for the surgery.
if u r prepared, juz go for it cos it will really change the way u c things in life. i've been wearing glasses for 17 yrs. my only regret was y didn't i do it b4 my wedding.....

rocher_ho

Hi bear318, angie, nutella, Jen, periwinkle

Thanks so much for the wonderful advices... this really motivates me to do it..
Well my degree is 700+ degree for each eyes and some astig, is think lesser than 75 degree for each eyes.

But the fees are rather high..so total fees is ard $4500. I quite like the installement free plan..

Hi bear318,
thanks for so much information
I will check it out with NEC.
Thanks so much!

Hi nutella,
Is Mr Ronald Tan from NEC as well? And how abt your astigmatism? Has it also cleared as well?

Thanks alot! Have a great day everyone..

Cheerios!
Rocher

nutella

Rocher, I think my astig is still here, left eye only but I can function properly so far

Yes, Dr Donald Tan is also from SNEC. In fact, he and Peter Tseng were highly recommended by a church friend who is a doctor

soap

I am also pretty much interested in Lasik. But have heard from my colleague that in total he paid abt $6k plus inclusive of consultation. Which means that the $2250 per eye is not inclusive of consultation or follow up treatment rite?

Can I ask a stupid question : is it painful? I am the kind that is super scare of pain one. So very worried that Y always put this issue on hold

periwinkle

did any of u check wif the doctor if u'll get long sightedness after the surgery, when u're in ur 40's? wat happens then? do we hv to wear specs then, or can we have another op to correct the long-sightedness?

bear318

periwinkle,

so far the tech is not able to do long-sightedness. and so, we will need glasses when we kena long-sightedness.

chia

<font color="aa00aa">Hi All,</font>

check this out : http://www.optimax.com.my/

1 of my company's banker went for the laser operation to correct his short sightedness &amp; astigmetism in Msia, JB at City Square 22nd floor.

It cost him around RM4K+ [=S$2K+] for both eyes.
He did the op.for both eyes on the same day and was able to go back to work the next day. No major problems at all. Only a little little problem which is now he got slight long sightedness.

Anyway, his doctor said he could go to the KL branch to correct to perfect coz the KL branch has the technology to correct long sightedness.
BUT then, the surgery to correct long sightedness will be painful...hehehee

Just sharing the infor.
Quite worth going making the trip &amp; save at least $2K on the surgery leh.....

rocher_ho

Hi Chia,

so that means, he cleared his short sightedness but 'kena' long sightedness huh?

So its like u take away one thing but come back another new one. So does this consider the side effect of LASIK?

I'm worry cos I'm quite determine to do the op now but I do not know if the long sightedness will result after the op or not..

chia

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Rocher,</font>

err..i'm not too sure if everybody will 'kanna' the long sightedness lor...but i remember last time there's a tv documentary on Lasik &amp; that there's this singer/composer Li2 Fei4 Hui1 who had this op &amp; he also 'over-corrected' &amp; had long sightedness but later he also went to correct that.

In spore, i think the doc will do 1 eye at a time unlike in msia can do both eyes together...

It's best u go for a consultation with the doc &amp; see what the doc says lor...mayb u can also ask abt the side effects.

Anyway, i still dun have the courage to try Lasik lah....hehehe

rocher_ho

Hi Chia,

thanks for the explaination

I will ask the doc abt the 'over-corrected' side effects.

I'm thinking of doing it before my wedding, cos my degree is 700+ and I cant wear contact lens. I have tried 2 times (different brands) but both din work well for me. I can still feel that there is something inside my eyes (whereas contact lens shld not be felt), irritation, dry eyes and the worst thing is that my contact lens even 'slide' upwards. It does not stay on to my pupil...

And both times, the result is still the same.
So I have decided not to wear contact lens anymore... so very keen to try out this new technology...

But it seems so much cheaper to do it it JB leh... so tempted to do cos can save $2k, but the risk is there leh...

Have to consider again where to do it..

I hope that slowly you can have the courage to do it?

Cheerios!
Rocher

_angel

hi rocher,

I've also heard that it's much cheaper in JB but dun think the risk is worth taking. Ur eyes r very important, I feel it's betta to spend a bit more for peace of mind.

Hi soap,

I took up a package with SNEC at Mt E. The package cost 5K b4 gst but includes all subsequent follow-ups and medication. It also comes wif a guarantee against over-correction or under-correction. If there is a need for touch-up, it will be FOC. I think this package is only offered at the Mt E branch. Not very sure if they hav it at SGH.

I chose Dr Peter Tseng cos he was recommended by a colleague. He's real nice and patient and was always reassuring me throughout the whole procedure. I would definitely recommend him to anyone who's thinking of doing Lasik.

chia

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Rocher,</font>

er..u tried both soft &amp; hard lens?
Did u try the 1day lens? I find it's quite comfortable &amp; thin....so thin until when u want to remove, it became quite difficult..hahahaa

Hard lens is pretty uncomfortable, coz it's like putting a glass into ur eye but 1 thing good abt it is rarely pple have eye infection fm wearing &amp; it's suitable for most pple BUT most pple prefer soft lens...

Anyway, my degree is abt 400-450, i dun have astigmetism &amp; so i guess i'm still quite oooook having to wear specs &amp; contact lens till i grow old.......

Do u know that the doc will put some kind of clips on ur eyes to keep them open &amp; u cannot anyhow move ur eyeballs during the operation lor.
The thought of it scares me.....

Dun know Y spore charges so X &amp; worst still cant use medisave etc to claim coz they considered this under plastic surgery category.
But did u notice so majority of sporeans r short sighted??? Even those small small kids r wearing specs......

rocher_ho

Hi angie,
thanks for your advice. Btw, as for the package, can we use credit card to pay? Is it installment fee?

Hi chia,
I have used only the soft lens cos I dun like hard lens. Cos I have seen my friend putting it back to her eyes and its kind of of weird to put a hard object in your eyes...
Ya, I know that the procedure during the op is like dat one...but just 'tahan' for abt 10-15 mins. I think shldnt be a problem...

I dun noe y they consider it as plastic surgery leh... haiz.. so weird to classify it under plastic surgery, its not that we are changing our features or wat leh.
I think they shld lower the price, cos like u have said, alot of singaporeans are short-sighted...and we have been compared to other countries as one of the country with highest short sighted rate... since most of the Singaporeans are in need of such services, price of such op shld be lowered.

_angel

Hi Rocher,

I'm not too sure abt the int free cos the ppl there told me if int free, I need to use for the full sum and not partial. I did not want to use up my credit limit so I paid cash instead. I think u shld call them and ask them directly.

geraldine

juz to give a tiny suggedtion. try not to get both eyes done at 1 time. the reason why SNES do it 1 at a time is to c the effect of the corection and then adjust the beam ray according to it. the machine is not acurrate at time and then to over or under- correct as the thickness of cornea to be laser off is caculated by the machine. for those that are not suitable for Lasik, there are other options available and are more cheaper wif similar result. the doctors would advise accordindly. in case u all are wondering y i'm saying these, dat's coz i work as a nurse. any pbl wif regard to this issue can email directly to SNEC at [email][email protected][/email]. they will be the best person to ans all ur doubts or u can call 63228891, 62277266.

obride

hi how to make sure your eye ball doesn't move in that 10-15 minutes.... seems impossible to me!! so scary... been contemplating for years,... but no courage to try at all cos i thot it's quite an impossibe and uncomfortable thing to do

_angel

Hi Ob-rider,

the doc will insert some device over your eye that will kep the eyeball in place and prevent it from moving. You will only look in one direction after they do that so you dun hav to worry abt ur eyeball moving. Actually, the whole procedure takes only abt 5 mins. the rest of the time is spent on prepping ur eye for the surgery. Hope this helps

obride

oh i see.... so no effort required on our side is it? hmmm..... then i'm relieved..... been saving money for it.... sad to say,... after so many years,.... still feel the pinch... :-(

periwinkle

Hi Geraldine,
Can u pls elaborate more on what u were referring to when u said "for those that are not suitable for Lasik, there are other options available and are more cheaper wif similar result. the doctors would advise accordindly" I still haven't plucked up enough courage to go for Lasik.

geraldine

Hi Periwinkle,
hmm... how do i say it. i'm not at dat department but my friend is. itz seem that there is this gamma ray for those who are unsutable for lasik. bt wats ur degree? for wat i noe, SNEC is conducting a tst nw. for those thst is range for 300 and below, u dun have to go thru lasix but u can go thru eye training thru a specially designed program imported from japan. also there are other programmes available. if i'm nt mistaken, there might be a new method coming soon. a new tech from japan but nt sure yet... if i get the lastest new would post it here. but wat i would advise is to do to SNEC to see the doctors and they can plan the most suitable treatment for u.

periwinkle

My degree is 600+, but i got very high astig., so dunno if lasik can fully correct my vision. ya do keep us informed if u come across any new technologies, okie?

sdyna

Hi Bear 318,

my degree is also about 1000 per eye, had astig as well. I just had my pre-op check up done yesterday. my Doc is Dr Lim Li. i had 2 friends who were under her as well, and said she is very good. Anyone else went under her?

She mentioned that due to the high degree, she recommend that I use Ladar Laser, instead of the normal kind. Did you use that as well?

I'm feeling sorta jittery now, cos after all, we're talking about our eyes.

Any advise? Thanks!

rocher_ho

Hi sdyna,

How much is the ladar laser? As for the Dr Lim, she is from which hospital or clinic?

And how much did you pay for the pre-op check up and the first consultation?

rocher_ho

I intend to go to Optimax, in Kuala Lumpur to do the Lasik. Total cost RM$4000 and RM$100 for the first consultation and pre-op check up. But now they are having promotion by credit card companies and it will be 10% off the surgery.

sneaky

hi Rocher,

do you intend to do both eye at the same time?

do we need to make any appointment for the first consultation?

sneaky

hi rocher,

you're not worried? how are you going to survive the day having both eyes covered after the surgery?

thanks for the link anyway...

jenjen

hi rochor, when u planning to do it? is it safe to do in m'sia? though it's cheap lah.. but i just wonder if the standard is as good as here?

rocher_ho

Hi princess_lee,

yes, u can do it on one eyes. Cos normally the cost is for per eyes one ard $2100 - $2500 per eyes.

Hi sneaky,
only abit, cos I have called up the clinic and was assured by the staff there. Feels very comfortable with her. I dun think they are covering eyes. After the op, u will rest at the clinic for 1/2 for ur eyesight to stable, then u can go off but have to go back the next day for an examination. Then its done.

Hi jen,
I'm planning to do it in Dec. I think its quite safe. The standard shld be quite good cos they are one of the biggest Lasik centre.

sneaky

hmmm...that's worth considering then. i might wanna do it soon...maybe in december too...

but my poor hubby will be stranded with me for half a day at least....

sneaky

i intend to do so in Msia...the one at JB. think my cousin did hers there 8 months ago and no complaints so far...

rocher_ho

ic...at City Square? near the JB custom one. How much degree ur cousin have?
Me now confused liao, dun noe if I shld go SNEC or Optimax.

rocher_ho

I have checked with SNEC that they have the normal lasik and wavefront lasik. The normal one cost $2250/eye and wavefront cost $2430/eye. However, I have made a check with Optimax and the normal one cost $4000 for both eyes but their wavefront cost $3800/eye!!! Such a big difference.

lilacz

Can i check with those who have done the lasik ops, how long does your blurred vision last?I have a couple of friends who has blurred vision at night.The docs said it takes a few months to fully recover.If thats the case, i cant drive and isnt it very helpless not being able to see well at night for such a long period of time?Actually planned to do it next month but heard of the blurred vision complaints and is worried...Is it really worth it?

behappy

Hi Lilacz

I did my lasik last year Jan so far so good! As for blurred vision maybe you have high astig then maybe you will still have your astig after the lasik becos lasik can only clear off your max 300 de for astig

_angel

hi lilacz,

i did my lasik last june, unstable vision lasted only till abt sept, aft tat, it's perfect vison all the way. no regrets...