Ladies Out There (New thread) Here to Share

tyra~ellen

Hi ladies out there, married/singles/all races/all ages/new & senior members of SB.
Please do join this thread...

First of all, we ladies have a lot to share in common, daily lifestyle, career, hushband, kids, fashion and beauty tips, healty and diet food intake, and so lot more...

We can help each other by sharing our views and suggestions.

Have you all watch on Channel 5 the Ellen Degeneres and Tyra Bank show on weekdays....(and not to forget Oprah Winfrey show) This 3 are "superwomen" in helping ppl.
I love the show.

We too can follow like them in here:-

So come join me. Start Posting!!!!!

tyra~ellen

(pinkhippo)
Im not sure too... how abt the rest here... any1 Knows?? pls post!

but normally they wld publish in papers rite?

delin88

U should look out whoever holds a Club 21 membership card. Members normally receives the latest news and priority open door to members
on 1st day sale before publish paper (open to public)
If im not wrong.

bearyhip

Any remedy for painful calves and feet? My hb always has this problem when he wakes up and walks with a limp...

gracelourdes

bearyhip, looks like our hb have sth in common...mine too...seems like it's early rheumatism to me...even rainy days also like that...how ah? worse still, it's to do with nerves...

tyra~ellen

Hi ladies, hope this helps:-

Relieving foot pain

Water massage

There feet relieving pain procedures can be used for all kinds of foot pain. Baths of hot and cold water can be very helpful for reducing swelling and pain.

Here’s what you do:

1. Soak your foot for 5 minutes in cold water
2. Move the foot to a container of hot water of a tolerable temperature. The temperature of the water should not be cool or even lukewarm.
3. Soak the foot in the hot water for 5 minutes
4. Return to the cold water
This simple process invigorates the feet and opens and closes blood vessels. When you’re finished, use a moisturizing lotion to help massage the feet.

Ointments

There are some ointments, especially those made from capsaicin (interestingly, an active ingredient in hot peppers) that are excellent in relieving foot pain. The capsaicin helps in relieving the blaze caused by burning feet especially for diabetic individuals. Applying the ointment may cause burning sensations in some people but should not be a cause of alarm as this effect lessens over time.

Especially for diabetics, the effects of capsaicin ointment are remarkable. Many diabetics report greater improvement and were waling more easily compared to those using other brands of creams. Another advantage comes from the fact that since these ointments are applied onto the skin, there is less risk of side effects.

Break in new shoes carefully

New shoes often create some foot problems, especially if you use them for running or strenuous walking or hiking. Individuals with new shoes shouldn’t over exert or they may end up experiencing excruciating break-in pains.
Of course modern footwear has come a long way in terms of shoe development technology.

Stretching

Stretching out the calf can help reduce or relieve foot pain.
Try this:

1. Standing three feet away from a wall, place your hand on the wall.
2. Lean toward the wall, bringing one leg forward and bending at the elbows.
3. Keep your back leg straight with the heel on the floor and then gently stretch the calf muscle.
4. Repeat for the other foot
Stretches like this can help in relieving some of the tension in the feet.

Choose the appropriate shoe size and shapes

Choosing the right shoe size and shape is important when it comes to foot problems. You need to buy shoes that match the arch of your foot so you don’t put too much tension on your foot. Another tip? Shop for shoes in the afternoon, as feet tend to be larger at this time of day.

Before you try any of the remedies discussed here, consult your own doctor for the treatments that will be best for your unique situation.

inix

I suffer from painful feet as well. Go SGH and see a Doctor. I can't remember the name of the Clinic, but they have a specialist clinic there. They made special in-soles for me, and it worked wonders.

tyra~ellen

GOOD MORNING ALL...

delinbb, how are you?
I read most of your threads at SB.
Can i ask you something about fashion?

delin88

Hi tyra~ellen,

Im good. Thank you!
U got read my most posting where leh??
i post evry now and then at Matters of Heart, Home n deco and Travel too.

You wanna know abt fashion as in what latest?
Any fashion brand name your fave?
Just ask, i dun mind we share sumtin over this thread.

Hi Belinda,
You too rite?

pinkhippo2002

Tyra

do you mean favourite boutique?

I like Ness, m(phosis, GG<5 &amp; arthur yen
Zara I like their jeans skirt

perhaps we can keep a lookout for each other's favourite brands. Got sale must chiong ah

delin88

i like all brand especially on sales.
Mango, zara, topshop, forever21, dorothy perkin, warehouse, miss selfridge, mphosis, GAP, Guess,
aiyoh lot leh.. no special brand all i sapu liao!

if there is sale, sure you find me there. keke

So Tyra wat u wan to know leh????

delin88

yup yup... dat wan GSS evry year sure have one...
the only part dun shop now lor... save $$$ then on May we chiong... hahahaha

Hubby oso buay tahan liao... keke

furfygal

GSS is more like a marketing stratagy ... Coz its cheaper .. so pple buy more ... end of the day the retailers earn! ^^/

Althou saying the above, yeah MAY CHEONG!!!

delin88

yup yup... now GAP got sale..the wisma outlet
But pretend never see lor... still waiting for MAY......................
Dun buy now as now only gimmick sale... hahaha

pinkhippo2002

I feel that GSS discount is genuine lor. Really 50-70% off, so happy!

I made hubby drive me to all their outlets because different stores carry slightly different designs

luckily he's obliging since I only ask him to do that once a year

delin88

yup supposing MANGO... all outlet i sapu and must survey cos every outlet carries different and sizes no more, die die go another outlet...
heheh.. just being kiasu for a day lor...

OSMOSE oso not bad leh when they cut down to 50%.
especially office wear and dresses..

vvn

delinbb,

same same! mango must go to orchard - they have one whole road of more than 4 outlets, so dun need to settle for 1 size bigger or smaller!

delin88

oso include inside ISETAN (scotts &amp; wisma), centrepoint de le... countless now to mention total mango in orchard. keke ....

save money $$$$ now, Close 1 eye, month of may liao... wahahahahaah

pinkhippo2002

I bought a purple siphon blouse from Osmose before. Very good review from hubby

I like pastel &amp; bright colours. MNA is pretty nice too, carry lots of pastel colours

delin88

tat time (OSMOSE) after xmas last year, all their D&amp; D and Xmas party dress was on sale... Alamak me so happy liao. Bought 2 dress... so cheap after 50% discount.
the best OSMOSE outlet is at Wisma basement, the staff there very good service.
I dun like to go OSMOSE Far East Plaza, the staff there bit haolian... keke

delin88

Chill Grace... u sound sad de le...
its true, no money sianzzzz better stay at home... !!!
to escape from all this things.. keke

tyra~ellen

hi delinbb,

so soori, today bit busy, i have to run errand.
i read ur replying email to me. thanks

I've read abt your posting on the catwalk issue and shoes fave at chatters and your tailoring dress for D&amp; D that you buy the material at Arab st. Sounds interesting!!

ask you about leggings? is it now still in use?
and which is appropriate color to wear now? and the stockings the thin wan too? where to find dat?

Thanks all for posting here!
Lets share ladies thread here okay!!!

delin88

Hi Tyra,

Now as in still in fashion of wearing long leggings and i preferable in black.
Dun wear the 3/4 as the trend has stop liao. Unless u wear it on weekend but not on weekdays to work.

How abt skinny jeans, do you have 1?
Oso now in fashion...

Stockings the thin wan, u can find assorted colors at Bugis Street.

gracelourdes

delinbb...hhahaha...cannot buy n buy lah...once the engine start, damn hard to cool down...hahhaa...used to remember those days when i was siao, i can buy 5 pairs of shoes in 1 go...haiz...those were the days...hahhaha

i tik ah, even now before i want to buy anything, i need to lose weight first lah...getting fatter n fatter...too lazy to exercise...

anyone here got motivation tips?? hehehe

delin88

Grace, a bit of motivation for you:-
(Btw i eat a little portion of evry meal, make it 6 times (small portion) equivalent to 3 big meals a day.)

Cut calories
A gram of fat contains twice as many calories as a gram of carbohydrate or protein. Reduce high-fat foods in your diet, choose lower or fat-reduced options, use cooking oil and spreads sparingly and remove excess fat from meat.

Include lower calorie options in your diet, such as fruit and vegetables. Bulky fibre-rich foods are also a good choice.

Try switching from white to wholemeal bread, or choose a wholegrain breakfast cereal.

Think about portion sizes
Portion sizes have increased over the years, especially when it comes to ready meals and snack foods. This means we're consuming extra calories, but we adapt quickly to eating bigger portions and don't tend to feel fuller as a result.

Downsize potatoes, pasta, rice and fatty and sugary foods, and super size fruit and vegetables.

Watch what you're drinking
Cut sugar-rich drinks and alcohol, and instead choose water, tea, coffee or artificially sweetened drinks.

Sugary drinks add extra calories to your diet but don't make you feel full or satisfied.

Keep a balanced diet
Remember the principles of a balanced diet - include plenty of fruit and vegetables (at least five portions a day), unrefined foods with more fibre, lean meats and low-fat dairy products.

Get active
Becoming more active doesn't necessarily mean sweating it out in a gym. Instead, try the following:

Choose activities you enjoy and try to spend more time each week on these
Incorporate more activity into everyday life
Buy a pedometer and increase the number of steps you take each day

inix

Hello

I didn't pay a single cent for the soles. They were fully paid for by the army.

But if I'm not wrong, I think its more then 200+ per sole. Each last over a year, and you can bring it back to the Podaitrist <-- I think thats how its spelt, to "repair it".

But I think its a good investment

Hi, has anyone chanced upon a military dress in olive green at Mango ($99)? I saw it at the Centrepoint outlet but then it was gone after I went back there a week later...

delin88

Doll,

Call and check with the outlet, whether they still have stock on that dress.
hmmmm, i find that Suntec and Scotts Outlet more dress...
skali down there have....
I dun tink they finish so fast..if it in a wk later.

Delin, I am still hesitating big time on that dress as it requires ironing and pressing haha. Though I thought I looked good in that piece, the amount of ironing kinda puts me off some. Do you buy something that requires ironing?

delin88

errrr... i just buy if i find that cute little dress really puts me ON.
i dun care of the ironing part.
Mayb can consider dry cleaning, for dress quite cheap $3-$6 i guess...
if not u wash hand the dress, so wld not look too crumple...

90% of my stuff requires handwashing and some ironing, actually...see how it goes then, if I chance upon it I will buy. Out of sight, out of mind for now

By the way, do you buy from VS?

pinkhippo2002

I bought a dress from Chomel. When I tried in their dressing room, it was flare &amp; loose.

But after washing, it clings on to my skin.

Ironing doesn't help either. What can I do to bring out the same look again?

delin88

Pinkhippo,

tats mean the quality not as good leh...
not worth it man... it shrink!!
totally change after washing...
how much u bought?

vvn

pinkhippo,

did u wash according to the washing label? may be u need to dry clean it or something?

vvn

doll,

if u have a lot of dresses and skirts - u can try buying those steam standing iron like those shop assistants use. it's quite fast.

or else just handwash which gives less crumples?

pinkhippo2002

it says dry clean or hand wash

it's siphone material, very nice, can wear to formal dinner

cling means it shrinks?
aiya, must dispose liao, haven't even wore once

delinbb,
usual price $169, I paid slightly less than $100 after discount

delin88

even CHOMEL accessories not good de le...
i bought the earring it tarnish liao..
so ex, yet so easy to throw away!

delin88

No, havent tried (VS) yet. One of the lawyer here buy direct from there US maybe and they flown the thing here to office address.
she show us leh... very nice.. but ex lah..

i only have 1 set of (women secret's)
Now mostly the outlet close liao.
Mayb no sales. Lastly i bought at Centrepoint.

Yes, VS items are all very exquisite and unique (since not easily available). That is why I don't mind paying a little more to import the pieces myself. Hey, now the currency exchange between US and Sing dollars is in our favour, so not bad at all!