Kuas in Hong Kong

ccteott

You can go to 'Shanghai Street'

There is also this building called 'kam to' in Prince Edward that all HK brides go to its right opposite of 'Fa Yuen Street'.

You can take the train to Prince Edward station, it's quite easy to find as there are all the bridal shop on the first floor of the building already

Happy Shopping !

ccat

hi gals, thanks for the tip

are the kuas SIGNIFICANTLY cheaper there?
rental here is almost $280-300.

kkyko

yeah... for cheap Hk kuas, don't expect good workmanship... they are all made in china... my friend got one reallly cheap from hk and it really looks like red satin material sleep wear... X)

macjames77

In HK, they charge the kuas by the number of times the kua have been rented.i.e the more times it is rented the cheaper it will be.

I rented mine for 7 days (they charge rental by day) at $210. considered very cheap.
Very much depend on luck. Overall, the kuas there are nicer & can be cheaper.

zinnie

I am from Hong Kong, just passed by this forum to check out pre-wedding photos in Bintan.

Here is the biggest and oldest Kua shop in HK:

http://www.koonnamwah.com.hk/index.html

It does both rental and purchase. Price fom HKD$700 up to HKD$3XXX. It depends on the type of kua you choose. Hope it helps!!

xiao_pink_bao

Hi Zinnie,

Try clicking on the link but the page can't be found. WOuld you be able to provide me with the location of the shop? thinking of going to HK to purchase kua also but duno whether it will be cheap or not.

kayemoss

I bought my kua recently from HK in Shanghai Street. Shanghai street has 1 shop selling kua as compared to many years ago. I suspect most of them had moved to the "Jin To" shopping mall. I din went to the one that zinnie recommended.

My kua costs HK$1,388 approx S$280. Its a brand new one but its a beaded one... Not those sew with gold & silver threads thus its cheaper. I was being quoted HK$3,600 for a brand new gold & silver threads kua.

myspencer78

Dear brides-to-be,
I have a piece of Kua for Sale which I just used it once for my AD one month ago. It is a tailored made beaded Kua from Hongkong with very good workmanship.
Any one interested please email me at [email protected]. I can send you some piccies to view the Kua.

snowiee

I recalled someone in the forum posting that there is a shopping centre in hong kong dedicated to selling all sorts of wedding items

does anyone knows where is it?

snowiee

hi thanks kaye!

u been there before?

do they sell wedding accessories like wedding lamps etc and kua shoes and stuff ?

kayemoss

Hi Snowiee...

Yup, they hv everything under one roof.

They sell wedding lamps etc.. Mainly for Cantonese & Teochews wedding customs. I got my Kua & kua shoes at a shop in Shanghai Street coz the stuff sold there could be more expensive.

snowiee

hi kaye,

so the things sold at golden plaza are more pricey?

shanghai street got cheaper stuff ah? which shop in shanghai street?

How much u paid for your kua shoes?

kayemoss

Snowiee,

I got my Kua and kua shoes at this shop at Shanghai Street. Its the only Kua shop left there.

I paid HKD$100 for my shoes. Its embroidered with gold & silver thread, its flats. It matched my kua perfectly.

kayemoss

Hi J Tham,

I dun hv the contact no of the shop but i know that its the only kua shop located at Shanghai Street in HK, Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon.

chunz

hi kaye.. i happened to go n see ur photos.. may i know where u got the pair of snoopy? n how much does it cost?? thanks a lot..

kayemoss

Hi CSC, i got my pair of Snoopy from Golden Plaza, HK. It costs approx HKD$300+, about SG$60.

Its not cheap but i like Snoopy so I got that one! Now, its sitting at my store room gathering dust!

eileengan

Halo all,

Anyone hv lobangs where have UK 20 KUAs? Looking desperately to rent 1, not MTM. Had tried The Red Wedding & HOE liao...but sigh

I will be grateful if anyone can help.

Email me at [email protected]

Eileen

whyy

I had opportunity to go Hong Kong and managed to buy my kua there! It's a Queen qun kwa with more silver and gold thread embroidery at HKD1000 (S$182)and I am a size UK14 gal. so the deal wasn't too bad even though I didn't bargain. I was quoted $200+ to $300+ for my size in Singapore as my BS do not have kua rental in the package.

Bought it at a ground floor shop at I Do Centre next to the famous Golden Plaza at Prince Edward MTR area. can check out Golden Plaza as there are a lot of shops there too. Very Tanjong Pagar road feel. ha ha. go in afternoon as they opened ard noon/1pm or later.

otherwise I also went to the famous KoonNamWah which is near to Kansu Street/Temple street. Quality is very nice but very expensive. quoted me a normal embroidered red kua with no golden/silver thread for hkd7000! But fun to check it out.

also tried a shop at Shanghai street. was cheaper when they quoted me a hkd2000 before bargaining. for a gold/silver embroidered kua.
No. 523 Shanghai Street, MongKok +852 2385 0187
(behind the new Langham Place shopping centre/hotel at Mongkok)

2 other shops recommended by Hong Kong friend but didnt have time to check it out. Shanghai street is very long and the shops are spread out, unlike the Golden Plaza where its all crammed into 1 building.

1. No. 361 Shanghai Street (Yau Ma Tei MTR)
+852 2780 3007

2. http://lucky688.com/
+852 2787 9708
73 Kimberley Road, New Landwide Commercial Building, 2nd floor, suite 202
(Kimberley Road near to Tsim Sha Tsui)

marryinghim

Anyone interested? I have a Kua that can fit up to UK size 12 or 14. Length is adjustable. PTP of top is about 18'', waist band fits waist of about 28-29''.

Latest embroidery design from Hong Kong, it is very pretty with gold and silver 3-Dimentional embroidery of Phoenix and Dragon with scallop trimmings.

Too bad it is too big for me, letting go at discounted price. Bought it for near to S$2K.