Kuala Lumpur

Mao mao,
No way man..kekek.. i am on the main deck which only has 6 seaters & from the look of my pixs,u can already tell that is is very squeezy... so can u imagine those who sit on top? whahaha...

Starhill & KLCC quite near lor... BB Plaza things are more cheap also.. something like our Lucky Plaza or Hereen compared..

Transtar do not stop at Yong Peng, Konsortium does stop at Yong Peng & Yong Peng had already renovated till quite nice too...

chocsfan

hi sarah,
ooo i love pangkor laut resort, hubby and i were there couple years back. really enjoyed ourselves..
However, we drove from KL to there. I do know there's flight there, Berjaya Airline (domestic airline).
hmm..haven't heard of hotel maya..
Mandarin Oriental (MO) hotel is those 5 or 6 stars hotel..the standard should be very good (of coz price is quite exp ). I haven't stayed there but did eat at their restaurants there..really good food...yum yum.. MO hotel is just next to KLCC, 1 or 2mins walking distance.

mao_mao

skylar,
heehee...ic..ya lor, can imagine those on top lor...

That means transtar dun have any stopover lor...Is there any washroom on th coach?

Mao mao..
Transtar got stopover but they stop over at a place where there is only toilet.. nothing else.. not like the others which stop at Yong Peng where u can do some last min shopping lor..kekeke..

mao_mao

Hi skylar and suishi,
I am back =).

Skylar,
true lor, they only stopover for us to go washroom lor...

Suishi,
The 1st class coach is spacious lor...massage chair with individual tv, remote control for games etc...We were served with lunch and also tea and a pice of cake or biscuits.. not too bad...Hb and I and my inlaws felt that its worth the $$ to pay for something like this... Cos its abt 5hrs ride to KL, its not bery tiring when we reach KL cos we can do some massage anytime we want...Just press the button..keke...

But hor, try not to select those seats at the last row cos will feel dizzy and the aircon will blow directly on your head, bery uncomfortable leh...We were in seats 7 & 8 when we go KL...But coming bk was at the last 2 seats...controller was spoilt, cannot play games, aircon blow directly lor...seats slightly small at the last 2 seats...so guess its better to take the seats in the center...

Overall, we rate Transtar as good lor...Oh almost forgot, when we check in for the coach, we were led to a waiting louge at Golden Mile with aircon and drinks lor....so nice...heehee...

I was telling my hb that 1st time take the 1st class coach like mountain turtle like that...keke...

As for my hotel, Royale Bintang, it was GOOD =). Room was not as small as we thought, service was good...Location thumbs up lor...Bery near to times square, Lot 10 etc... There are some eatries opp the hotel, we tried the bak ku teh, nice nice....

bloomiey

As far as i know, Transtar First Class Coach doesn't stop for meals so probably they don't stop over at Yong Peng. But for Transtar Premium/SuperVIP they still do stop at Yong Peng.

skylar: Surprised that Transtar Premium served food and skipped Yong Peng... I thought only First Class Coach served food...

suishi

mao mao,
welcome back & thanks for sharing the info.

I might try Transtar First Class coach for my trip to KL in Jan, by the way how much do u pay?

Wat are the time slot for departure to KL & back to spore? Did you pick you up at Royale Bintang or next to Federal?

mao_mao

hi suishi,

you are most welcome =)...

I paid $58 to KL, plus $2 fuel and insurance charge lor...then paid $40 when coming bk , plue $2 fuel charge as well..

I am not so sure leh...tink u go to their website to check it out lor...

We have to go to Pusarayak Bus Terminal to take the bus when coming bk to spore...Its bery near to our hotel only lor, take cab only at RM10 lor =)...If u wan coach to pick up in front of Royale Bintang, tink I saw a korsortium double deck bus lor...u might wan to check it out too..

tingie

Hi mao mao, can i check with you, does the pasarakyat bus terminal looks unsafe to you? I am planning to take coach to KL from sg, the website says alight at this terminal. But someone told me this terminal is actually puduraya bus terminal which my parents are not very convinced as I will be going alone and the puduraya station is known to be very unsafe.

mao_mao

HI tingie,

The pasarakyat bus terminal is okie to me leh...when i arrive there, there are alot of taxi drivers there, they will ask u where u wan to go, then u all confirm a price and they will send you there lor...

bloomiey

Puduraya and Pasakraya terminal are 2 different places.
For those who is going to take transtar doubledeck premium back from KL, meals are provided on board only for return trip. Meals + Hot Beverage + Biscuits.

kite~

May i know hows is KL's shopping n food there? ex? roughly how much to travel by plane or coach? how long for both? Which hotel is highly recommended? Thanks.

stepford

Hi kite, try Concorde Hotel. It's within walking distance to KLCC and the pubs area. And there's a great massage joint called Montien in the hotel. 5 mins away is HRC and the rail station.

kite~

Hi stepford:
thanks. btw i wish to bring along my bb of 6mths. suitable? btw roughly need how much $ for a trip like tat? maybe 4D3N? thanks. ...

noxy

Hi Kite,

Shopping in KL, if it's shopping center, its about the same as that in sg shopping centers, some are slightly cheaper.

Food, in general, i do find them cheaper. except for this fantastic big prawn noodle that cost me 70 ringgit. my fav dessert stall is there, nice, called 'maad toh lau' (i dunnoe how to speak cantonese)

Travel by air, cost about 400 bucks with taxes (return) , time take 45 mins for the flight. BUT flight doesn't make sense cos:

Check in - 2 hours in advance
Flight time - 45 Mins
Arrival, time for clearance - say 15 mins
Travel from KLIA to city - by car 1 hour, by train about 30 - 45 min

Total time taken - about 4 hours

Bus, costs about 70 sgd return, takes about 5 hours per trip (from sg to the city center)

Hotel, Concorde is good and cheap, near to the clubbing area too! hee

but i love marriott there, cos its situated on the shopping street, bukit bintang and its near to my fav dessert stall and the 70 ringgit prawn noodle that serves only ONE piece of prawn

stepford

Hi kite, I'm not sure what special needs a baby would command cos' I have none myself. Sorry, not much help here. We were very comfortable in Concorde then, the massages and the fact that it's very accessible to many places. How much to bring? I'm not sure cos' I usually pay for most stuff by credit. Surprisingly, skincare stuff is cheaper in Msia. Take Shu Uemura, it's cheaper by a good SGD10 to 15 for some items. Also sometimes there are sales. Bought several items from Mambo at KLCC then at average SGD20 apiece! Not old stuff but picks of season.

kite~

thanks for ur info n help. I m stil considering cos bringing along a bb is not easy

Btw anyone of u self drive to KL? How's e route there? heard its quite messy? issit easy to drive n safe?

noscon

Anyone took airasia from Senal Airport to KL? or Msia airline from Senal airport?

Can share costs and time it took for cab/bus to get to Senal? thanks

How long for SVIP coach to reach KL?

lovelytulips

hi...

i stayed at ritz before, but not westin.

ritz is good!!!! they auto upgraded my room (maybe cos' it's off-peak) and the service is impressive.

it's also near bukit bintang, very near lot 10.

noxy

behind marriot, there will be another street (i think its called jln tun razak) walk along the this street, you will find a dessert shop called 'maad toh lou'

You can try out this dessert shop.

Located directly behind this dessrt shop, there's this old old coffee shop which sells big prawn noodle. one plate of big prawn noodle with ONE big prawn cost about i think 70 ringgit, serves about 2 to 3 pax....yummy...

The small shops around the big prawn noodle area are nice. Look out for beef noodle and bak kut teh. (can't remember which shop exactly)

cho

i'm intending to travel to KL between 4 May (aft work) and 6 May to visit my bf who's seconded there..

besides coach, anyone knows which airline i can go to book airtickets?

so far fr Zuji, cheapest is by JAL ($244) but e plane leaves at 7.50 and i end work at 6.15..

any advise? thanks!

marnie

Cho, there are flights on SIA and MAS and Emirates from 8pm onwards - you may try those. But the prices are premium for travelling out on Friday. FYI.

Personally, I find that travelling by plane to KL is pretty much an expensive affair. You have to take the "shuttle" plane service. Then you need to spend about RM50 at least to get into town. The whole SIN-KUL journey will take about 3-4 hours, give and take.

I go KL at least once a month. I usually take the coach to get there in 4 hours. I get off work at 6pm and still manages to get on the 6.30 First Class VIP bus that stops at Pasar Rakyat.

Hi Cho,

JAL is indeed cheaper, think they are currently having some promotion. For one way to KL, I just book for my client at abt $173 including taxes.

You may want to check Sri Lanka, shld be cheaper than JAL but not sure abt timming from Sg or if they fly from sg to KL but my client just took that from KL to Sg for abt S$130++ with taxes. Much cheaper than MAS and SIA. Feedback from client is quite postive.

If you do not have a lot of bags, taking the coach is a gd idea. it takes more or less abt the same time as plane, cos like Idyll said, u need to reach the airport say abt 45mins b4 flight, if u taking the shutter, u still need to go earlier to buy tics, sometimes u may even have to wait (unless u buy confirmed tics), boarding time, flying time, from KLIA to city abt 45mins to an hr+ depending on traffic. Try Transtar VIP coach, very comfy n not too ex at abt $60/pax. BUT......if you are bringing a big lugguage, do not take the coach, very likly to run into problems at the custom..if u noe what i mean. unless u are very willing to give coffee $

cho

thanks for ur recommendations! will check them out.. so far from Zuji only JAL has vacancies.. =)

as i'm traveling alone, my mum and bf are not for the idea of me taking coach.. (1st time traveling alone) lol..

anyway, thanks so much!

strawberry_love

we stayed at Berjaya times sq. Room was big than i imagined. its has a living area, mini kitchen. it's bathroom n toilet r separated. we stayed on the high flr lvl 38, view was gd. Staffs were smiley n friendly too.

To me,Berjaya times sq is convenient to shopping malls like Lot 10, Sungei wang, pavilion via walking distance. If its rains, below the hotel is a shopping mall,won't be a wasted day stuck inside yr hotl room.

joey888

I'm going KL this coming National Day.

Can anyone comment on Federal Hotel? Also, is The Curve worth going? The Curve, 1Utama and Mid Valley, which one good to shop. Thank you.

verang12

I would like to know if there is any late evening bus from KL to Universal Studios, Singapore? Which KL Bus service is to Universal Studios.What time it reaches universal studios.

Secondly as I will be visiting both Sunway Lagoon , KL. and Unversal Studios, Singapaore, Can somebody inform me is it Ok to see both the places, or one can avoid one .

zyza

Hello,my first time to travel to malaysia for a visarun.What is the best and cheap way to travel from Krabi (South Thailand) to Kuala Lumpur(Malaysia) by bus.How long does it take and how much does it cost in Thai Baht.
And how far is the thai embassy from the busstation,what are the prices from taxi or do they have tuktuks or motorcycles like thailand?Can i get a double entry tourist visa in kuala Lumpur?I am dutch.Thank you so much for helping me out.