Krabi - Pavilion Queen's Bay or Krabi La Playa Resort

focus

I am planning to go for honeymoon this year March. My actual date is 11th March 2006, then the following week is school holidays, i wonder will the price be very high during that week.

Possible to tell me if by flight to Krabi, which airline do you choose? What is the cost for 2 person? Which Agent to go to? Actually we prefer to do booking through an agent and they settle everything for us because my hubby and i really not good in planning overseas trips....Hee...aiyah its lazy lah... ;P Please help.. Thanks!

Focus

Only Tiger Airways flies to Krabi direct from Singapore. They are having some promo now...75% off fares if you book between now till 4th Jan. Must fly by 31st March I think. Check it out at http://www.tigerairways.com

If you want to go to an agent, I'm not sure if they will have Tiger Airways available. Last I heard, agents offering Krabi packages usually use Silkair and you hafta go via Phuket. I wld prefer to book on my own coz I will have more flexibility on dates and choice of accomodation. Plus you can find cheap accomodation on the net via some popular hotel booking sites. Not much planning required .. you just need to book airfare and accomodation here..then book your own tours when in Krabi itself. DOn't be so lazy lah..hehe.

As for prices, if you book on your own, you usually won't see higher prices just becoz its our school holiday period. The accomodation charges are dependent on the destination's tourism season. Maybe agents will charge a surcharge though..not sure. It's been a long time since i used a travel agent :p

zenn

Avid,
My trip was good. Tho was raining on n off we managed to go ahead wif the 4 Island Tour. In fact the first 1/2 of the day was pretty sunny -lucky-

Yes yes must try the pancake! We tried few favours but banana still the best. And yes should go for seafood cos so cheap there!

Eong,
I booked mine thro Asia Discovery. Not sure abt now but they had promo - pay 2nites n 3rd nite foc.

Focus,
You can book airline n hotel direct and arrange wif the hotel for transfer.

zenn

Avid,
My trip was good. Tho was raining on n off we managed to go ahead wif the 4 Island Tour. In fact the first 1/2 of the day was pretty sunny -lucky-

Yes yes must try the pancake! We tried few favours but banana still the best. And yes should go for seafood cos so cheap there!

Eong,
I booked mine thro Asia Discovery. Not sure abt now but they had promo - pay 2nites n 3rd nite foc.

Focus,
You can book airline n hotel direct and arrange wif the hotel for transfer.

Hi zenn

Welcome back! Sounds like you enjoyed the trip there. How was the hotel? Was it crowded? Glad you managed to get some sun...was it rainy during the rest of your trip?

focus

Dear Alhana and Zenn,

Thanks for all the info and suggestion!

Alhana, do you have the popular websites which i can book online?

Actually i am considering between Aonang Villa or Sheraton but i heard Sheraton is more expensive but more suitable for honeymooners...any suggestions?

Hi Focus

I usually go to these websites:

1) http://www.asiarooms.com;
2) http://www.resorthotel.net;
3) http://www.gothailand.com;
4) http://www.asiatravel.com;
5) http://www.precisionreservations.com

Alternatively, you can visit the hotels' websites..they sometimes have promo offers.

Yes, Sheraton is more expensive. It is also more secluded..I believe they hv their own beach. I think one of the gals on the board has stayed at the Sheraton before..she said that it was nice, but abit ulu. If you don't mind not being w/in walking distance to Ao Nang beach, and like the seclusion, then go for Sheraton. Since it's your honeymoon, why not splurge a little? Ao Nang Villa is quite old, and it looks more like a hotel popular with families. I wouldn't pick Ao Nang Villa.

zenn

Hi alhana,
Yup had fun! We had massage everyday and even rent a motorbike. Guess what? Its only S$6 per day! Hee Was raining almost everyday but on n off.

We went on thur-mon. First 2 days not so crowded but more guests sun onward. But overall not very packed.

Hi Focus,
Not sure abt the room but from the beach Ao Nang Villa looks very nice. The location is very convenient cos beach front. If I am going to go back again, will give Ao Nang Villa a try!

sweet_apple

Anyone know if it is still Monsoon season at Krabi in Feb '06? How much did you guys pay for the La Playa Resort? How many different types of rooms available? Which is the best? Sorry, so many questions.....

Nope, Feb is not supposed to be the rainy season. The peak period is actually from Dec-Apr, I think. Go to La PLaya's website to check out room types:

http://www.krabilaplaya.com/main.htm

If you can afford it, it'd be best to take the pool deluxe room which grants you direct access to the pool.

I went to Krabi in June 04. It was quite cheap..like $400 per pax for 6D/5N incl air tix (it was Silkair then). Can't really recall the room rates...the hotel had just opened then, so it was priced quite low, plus it was their off-peak season.

sweet_apple

I find the prices at La Playa too expensive, I'm being quoted by directrooms.com as follows :

Deluxe Room rate @ 4,300 THB x 1 room x 3 nights = 12,900 THB
Superior Room rate @ 3,980 THB x 1 room x 3 nights = 11,940 THB
Pool Deluxe Room rate @ 4,915 THB x 1 room x 3 nights = 14,745 THB

Any lobang for cheaper rates?

zenith

hi avid reader & zenn,
i'm interested to book my hotel stay at la playa thru asia discovery but may i know how do i request for the direct pool access rooms that comes with its own private outdoor jacuzzi?

Hi Apple

Did you check out the rates at the other websites i quoted? If you're going in Feb, prices will be high coz it's Thailand's peak season then.

sweet_apple

Well, the cheapest I can find is about S$400 for 3 nights stay. I think go after Apri price would be significantly lower..... so Feb not going liao...

babywong

Thanks to all the valuable info obtained fr this forum, we've juz came back fr a relaxing 6D5N Krabi stay at La Playa.Juz wanna share some info with whoever who is interested to go:

1) We took adv of the pay 3 Nites and free 2 nites promo offered on the website and we've indicated honeymooners when we book La Playa. Hence we spent abt THB13600 on accomo. The hotel was real nice to put rose petals all over our bed and in the bath tub! Real sweet of them!

2) We've fly by Tiger Airway. It was a short 1.5 to 2 Hrs ride. However we din know they would have wild wednesday promo so our advice is to check out any wedn promo. In the end we spent $300 on air tickets for 2 of us as we did not gotten the $1.99 promo.

3) For tours, we tried the following:

a) Kayat @ Bor Thor Mangroves THB1600/pax (we found out later tat another agent offered THB1200/pax. We can only blame ourselves for booking w/o checking out wif other agencies first)

b) Hotspring cum Tiger cave THB1200/pax (Not tat fantastic though the hotspring is realli warm and relaxing.)

c) 4 Island Tour @ THB600/pax by Big Boat (We found out tat u can choose Long Tail boat; Big Boat or Speed Boat and they only provide snorkel mask; life jacket but not the fins. U can rent the fins at THB50 per pair fr the shops out there.)

One thing to nite was tat one tour company can organise a few tours like 4 Island; Hong Island or Rainforest, so try not to book all tours with the same tour co (note not the same as tour agencies.) coz they would provide the same lunch for all the different tours for the whole week!

4) Try to save THB400/pax for the airport tax as we forgot abt tat and in the end have to change $$ at the airport.

5) For Food, we've tried Wong Sai which is the nearest seafood rest near the hotel. It was okay lah and the steam fish is quite good. We've also tried the nearest road side stall (the one wif a tweety bird sticker on her stall). It was also not bad. And of coz the must have is the Banana Chocolate Pancake at THB20 each.

Juz my 2cents worth of infor. Hopefully it will help u guys to plan better. Oh Bring loads and loads of sunblock lotion; sandals; mosquito repellents, etc and enjoy the holiday!

babywong

Hi Apple,

Our objective was to sleep, rest, eat and play. So it was quite alright for us. Ours was a Deluxe Room. We tried to book a Pool access with Jaccuzi but it was fully booked during the days tat we were there. There's no DVD player but u can actually rent it from the shops out there. We din tried tat so I am not sure of the cost for tat.

mage

hi all, I've actually booked a 3D2N to Krabi end April 06, by Tiger Airways, and will be staying at Krabi La Playa. But recently there are reports of underwater tremors in Andaman Sea. Is it still safe to go?

little_p

hi mage,

i have not been to krabi, so cannot advise on the tremors.

i am also thinking of booking la playa. can i know how much you pay?

ah_kat

Am going to Krabi end of this month to celebrate Hubby bdae..will be putting up at Lapaya too..any suggestion on what I can do specially for hubby?

cheepo

anyone going krabi la playa these coming 2 weeks?
will things be consider cheaper during the offpeak season????
any suggestions for a 3D/2N trip to krabi.. staying at ao nang beach?? maany thanks in advance

juz_dimp

hey cheppozz,
i feel like going krabi from 28apr-1may for cominglong weekend.

prize for 2 person is $278 +$78tax = $360+ /person
i saw from the website
u tik its reasonable..but the last day..must go to airport at 8am eh..
i feel like its kinda of wasted..

cheepo

hi Dimp

I am going there on the 28/4 as well
got my tickets from tigerairways on promo $180 inclusive tax for 2 person and lodging at la playa $160/ 2 nites..

so the estimated cost todate is around $340 excluding expenses already. We dont intend to spend too much on this trip .
You mention $360/pax , wats the iternary like???

ah_kat

Just came back from Krabi early Apr to celebrate hubby's bdae.

Had real fun there and end up spending around $800 to go snokelling & white water rafting etc.

Since I did my research here...like to contribute back some info.

1) White Water Rafting cum elephant trekking
Fun for the adventurous. Not very scary & for the non swimmers oso can go. You can chose the 5KM or 9KM ones. Believe only 1 agency offer this and there is only 1 place that u can play this. So, even if signed with other company, will end up meeting at the same place. It's a whole day event including lunch, visit to a small spring waterfall & elephant trekking in the jungle.

2)Snokelling at Phi Phi
Pls take the speed boat if possible as the longtail boat was quite slow & the sun is very very very hot! Was kindof regret that I did not do canone as not enough time. For those that had been to Redang, you will realise that the fishes & corals is not as nice at Krabi. Not much colours & variety.

The hotel was nice & bug & cosy. We did not get the poolside rooms as we reckon that it might be a bit noisy with the pool right outside.

Pancakes was really a hit & we had them everyday. Remember to try the Cheese & Tuna ones...yummy yummy!

Best seafood you can get at Tongsai - ask the hotel pple & they can show u the direction. Cheap & good!

363355.jpg
363356.jpg
363357.jpg

cheepo

Ah kat

i reckon you also stay @ krabi la playa??
how many days were you there??? wat else besides the beach and the sea??? u been to any inner land trips??

cheepo

Hi Kat
appreciate your help on the following

1) how much is the cab fare from airport to ao nang??
2) did you go to krabi town? wats the cost to catch a cab there ?? any thing interesting @ TOWN?
3)wats the approx cost for a decent meal @Tongsai?
4) advisable to rent a car/bike there??

skin

Hi, im plannin a trip tp Krabi on 3 May for 7 nights! Am def going to stay at La Playa, hear alot of good comments abt it!

I'm just wondering whether any one of you have stayed in the Superior room before, is it comfortable enough? Am thinking not to splurge on the pool access deluxe room since I would be out at the beach most of the time! The excess money can be spent on the activities such as island hopping, elephant trekking etc.

Then again, Im also tempted to take the pool access deluxe room, coz it looks sooo nice. Is it a private pool or a common shared pool?

Any comments abt the types of rooms? Superior, deluxe or pool access deluxe room?

There is a promo on pay 4 nights, free 3 nights. If I book the Pool Acess Deluxe Rm, do I get to stay in the same room for the 3 free nights or they will transfer me to the superior room? Any one knows?

Will be grateful for any comments, thankss!

ah_kat

Cheepoozz
I was there for 4 days 3 nites & putting up at La Playa.

La Playa is not exactly very near the beach & u will need to join the tours to go to the beaches.

We only have time to go Phi Phi island as one day was spend on travelling - reach already midday, so juz walk around the place & go massage. 2nd day went white water rafting. 3rd day went Phi Phi.

Did not take the taxi as we got pick up arrange by the agency. Believe there is a new airport for the budget airway...Plenty of pple waiting for tourist to pick them up. Just remember to bargain

We took the bus to Krabi town instead of taxi. Think cost 30-50bhat depending on the timing that u board. Remember to dont stay too late at the town as they will try to increase the price as it get later & con u to take the taxi claiming the the bus had stopped operation.

Nothing much in the town. Except for 1 shopping mall. But I spend a lot of money buying Bras & toiletries from this local brand - Oriental Princess. Very good product, the local version of crabtree & evenlyn. Try the Fangipani range...very very nice smell...tempted to ask u to help me buy back some.

4 of us went to Tongsai for dinner & order plenty. Fish, tom yam soup (Best), tiger prawns, rice, noodles etc and cost only SGD100 plus! This place is quite far from KLP (must walk towards Mac & go beyond) but tink one of the more reasonable price & nice ones.

Not sure abt car but bike might be good if u dont fancy much walking under the hot sun.

Hope all these is helpful.

ah Kat

sozky

Hi Kat, Min,

How much did u pay for your Krabi trips ? Is there any promotions going on ? I am planning a trip there. Thks...

ah_kat

I went via Tiger Airway. Think 300plus per pax. Not sure what promo they have now...u can check w LPY directly..sometimes they have stay 3nites, 1 nite free promo

skin

Hi Sozz,
I paid 10800baht($450) for the La Playa hotel for 7 nights. Now they have a promotion package, stay 5 nights pay 3 nights, stay 7 nights and pay only 4 nights etc! I will be flying by Tigerair, its $335+ altogether for 2 persons, but the airticket cost will vary depending on which dates you fly.

I have booked the La Playa resort from this website:
http://www.resorthotel.net/thailand/hotels/krabi/hotels_location.htm

But I found out that Sawadee's price is the cheapest! But i have already booked the room, so too bad. You may want to book thru Sawadee.
http://www.sawadee.com/hotel/krabi/laplaya/

Cant wait, KRABI here i come!!

skin

ah Kat,

Ill be stayin at La Playa superior room coz the other rooms were fully booked. Did you stay at the superior room, any comments?

I realised that the tours are all rather expensive? Anyone of you have any good tour agencies/tours to recommend? And how much is it?

sozky

thks for info. Anyone tried the pool access room with whirlpool before ? Is it worth paying $$$ ?

cheepo

Kat

u mentioned a bus to Krabi town
where can i catch that bus??
any recommemed things to do there besides island hoping??and eating??
i am looking for more exotic tours!

zenn

Hi sozz,
I stayed in pool access room. As the name says it have direct access to the pool and I think the room is slightly bigger. Didnt view the rest of the rooms so cant compare.

Hi cheepoozz,
Personally feel its not worth gg to the town. Nothing to shop...

ah_kat

i think overall the rooms are pretty big at LPY. So dont worry...

The so call bus is like a pickup and there is no fixed bus stop. U can juz stop one along the road by flaging it down lor. Like what I said before, nothing much in town but u can still get cheap wacoal bras like in BBK.

I think most of the tour prices are similar. U can also go massage or back scrub if u want to do something else. The only thing slightly different wld be the white water rafting that we took lor.

ah_kat

yongee86

Hope you don't mind me butting in. I'm interested in going to Krabi for honeymoon and is quite at a loss what to do in Krabi.

I see that La Playa Hotel seems to be a very popular choice here. Besides this hotel, is there any other good and cheap hotel to recommend?

Can I ask what does island hopping do basically? visit a few islands for sight seeing? I will like to do many things but I only can have 3 nights in Krabi as we were thinking of going to bangkok after that for shopping. Or would it be better to concentrate just in krabi? What would be the recommended activities to squeeze for 4D3N??

Island hopping
canoeing
snorkeling
rock climbing
hotspring
white water rafting

hope you can give me some suggestions. 10Q.

Hi Antonia

There are many hotels in Krabi with a wide price range. As I've only stayed in La Playa, I can't comment on the rest, but you can visit http://www.virtualtourist.com (search for Krabi) and you'll be able to check out opinions on a wide variety of accomodation there.

Regarding the tours, the island hopping will take you to 4-5 islands depending on your choice. It includes snorkelling and lunch. Although the time at each stop isn't very long (ard 30 min to an hour), it was enjoyable. We went kayaking as well and it was fun. Be prepared for aching shoulders tho, esp if you're not that fit :p I didn't try rock climbing (not my thing) but it's very popular there. Didn't try white water rafting either as they say it's nothing compared to the ones you have in places like NZ and Australia. If you hv 3N, try the canoeing, island hopping and rock climbing. There are also sight seeing tours like going to the Tiger Caves and some shell cemetary, but I'd rather go for the sun and sea type of fun
If you want to include shopping in your vacation, head on to BKK. There really isn't much to buy in Krabi, save for the touristy stuff.

Hv fun planning!

sunrays

Anyone stayed in The Cliff before? It's also at Ao Nang, Krabi. Am considering The Cliff or whether to stay in Koh Lanta. But I'm not sure how long the journey is from Krabi town to Koh Lanta...anyone stayed in Koh LAnta before?

yongee86

Hi alhana,

thanks for the info. can i check what do you do at every stop of the island hopping? i should allocate 1 day just for island hopping?

What do you see at tiger caves? did you try the hot springs over there? any good restaurants to recommend? do you know if airasia from bangkok to krabi, they fly from bangkok international airport or I need to take the flight from their domestic airport to go krabi?

Hi antonia

For the island hop tour, you can snorkel, swim, tan and pretty much just do beach stuff at each stop. All the islands are kinda similar...beautiful white sand and clear water. Besides that, nothing else :p Well, you can (and should) of coz take alot of pics. The tour is from morning (think ard 8-9am) till ard 3pm. They'll give you packet lunch and bottled water..and some fruits as well.

Tiger Cave actually houses a buddhist temple. If you hv good stamina, you can actually climb the steps up the hill for a panoramic view of the surroundings. I didn't go to any hot springs. As for restaurants, I can't remember the names anymore (was there in 2004). The one thing you mus try is the pancake with banana and chocolate (they hv other fillings too but that was our fave)...it's sold at those roadside stalls.

If you're taking internal flights, it should be from the domestic terminal. However, both terminals are located w/in the same bldg.

yongee86

hi alhana,

okie, thanks alot. now doing alot of research on activities in order to better plan my activities. everything sounds so interesting and how i wish i got the luxury of time to do everything!

i hope weather will be good coz i'm going in june and I heard tat june is their off peak season coz of monsoon.

Hi antonia

I was there in June and the weather was fine
It did rain but it was only slight drizzles that ended very quickly. Most of the time it was hot and sunny! The rainiest mths are actually Sep & Oct.

yongee86

hi alhana,

oh, you went in june? that's good to hear. i hope i will be able to get good weather when i'm there. i'm going to book la playa resort as well. there is some attractive promotion now. now I have to hunt for hotel for bangkok.

skin

Was in Krabi in May for 7 nights, although 7 nights are enough, but my bf and I wouldnt mind staying longer! La Playa rooms are very spacious and comfortable, they have starworld tv prog, so could watch some movies on tv at night.

I went for 2 island trips, Hong Island and Phi Phi Island which no doubt r beautiful and have clear turqoise water.

Most Phi Phi Island tours r by speedboat and they will bring u to at least 6-7 stations(i.e. beaches) within half a day, so u're just staying at one beach for 45 mins then have to be on the run again. I felt we were spending alot more time traveling from one beach to another. My bf and I didnt really like such an arrangement coz we prefer relaxing at "ONE" beautiful beach longer. Generally, Krabi snorkeling isnt fantastic.. so I wouldnt recommend snorkeling trips too often. Once is probably enough.

If I had a choice again, I would take a taxi boat ($7 one way) to Phi Phi island and just relax there for the entire day without stress of running from beaches to beaches.

We also rented the scooter for 2 days (i.e. 250baht for 24 hours) and venture outside of Ao Nang, it was alot of fun!! But try to find your way back to Ao Nang before it gets dark. The first night we lost our way and it was 830pm(damn dark already), we had to stop along the way and ask for directions back to Ao Nang. Fortunately the Thais are friendly and helpful.

As for massages, forget abt the Aromatherapy/oil massages which are more expensive! Go straight for the Thai Massage or foot massage which costs 250Baht($8) an hour. I would recommend the palor "Banley" and "Palm Tree"(not sure abt the name too, but has a "Palm" in the name).

The Ao Nang beach is horrible, nobody goes there except for first timers who dont know where to go. Do take a long tail boat to Railey beach which is 20 mins away. Railey beach is not fantastic, but its alot nicer than Ao Nang. I found Noppharat Beach to be quite nice too.. Its not too far away, but i cant describe how to get there.. we went there by the scooter which is abt 8 mins away from Ao Nang.

novia

hi hi!

I just came back from Krabi yesterday. Have some comments:

Accommodation:
The Cliff @ Ao Nang
Only one word to describe our stay: FANTASTIC!! The staff were extremely friendly and I was impressed when they could remember our names. Only 20 rooms and 1 suite in the hotel so very personalised. Their outdoor toilet was very nice and the rooms very cosy and romantic
Highly recommend this hotel to stay.

Food:
Tried street-side stalls and I have to say, the phad thai and banana pancakes were fantastic! Esp the latter. Yum yum! Hopefully I can recreate the pancake
Went to eat seafood and it's good and cheap, esp the fried fish with thai sweet chilli sauce. Their signature dish. Can't really remember the name of the restaurant anymore but just ask the locals for recommendations. Can't go wrong!

Activity:
Spa - went to wanalee spa. Not too bad, paid SGD$57+ for 3 hour heat massage, foot reflexology and heat spa (detox). Cheap and good! Ambience nothing great but then you'll be closing your eyes most of the time anyway. There's soft spa music in the background somemore

Island tour - went on the 4-island tour. Not too bad, except that I got stung by a jellyfish!
Rained a little too cos this is rainy season. The islands are connected during low tide so it's quite cool to walk from one island to the next in the middle of the sea

Elephant Nature Trail: This one's nothing great actually, you sit on the elephant and it walks VERY SLOWLY into the forest (which is nothing great). One round and you're out. Quite boring I find.
Shopping: Ok, compared to Phuket and Bangkok, Krabi has not much shopping. But then again, you won't be going there to shop right?

I was there for only 2 days and all I can say is that you need at least 3-4 days to see Krabi. We didn't get to try rock climbing, go to Tiger Cave, Mangrove tour, Eco-Tours, visit phi phi etc.