Krabi - Pavilion Queen's Bay or Krabi La Playa Resort

zenn

Thanks alhana! We are not planning for shopping. Its more like relaxing trip. Planning for Island Hopping and good massage
Think $350 should be enough for 2 for 4D3N? Btw is the food there very x?

Wonder is Avid back from the trip?

I think avid's there this week. Food isn't expensive, unless you eat alot of fresh seafood. Still, definitely cheaper than eating in SG :p We had crabs, an entire fish, omelette, fried rice, veg and juice..and it came to ard S$30. Can't find such prices in singapore! Bear in mind that not many places take credit cards...tour agents and some small eateries usually take cash..so better to hv more cash on hand. Think $300-$400 should be more than enough.

zenn

Oh ok. Hope she can share when back.

Wow the seafood there really cheap ya! I believe you ate outside and not in hotel rite? Btw, the town is where you find all the makan area and massage? Issit walking distance to the town?

Sorry for so many questions ya.

Hi zenn
Yeah, the seafood in thailand is so much cheaper than in SG..and delicious too! I didn't eat in the hotel...only had breakfast there. Usually walk out to Ao Nang beach for my meals..and you'll see massage centres and nail palours there as well. As for Krabi town, nothing much to see there. There's a market selling food, night market and a small dept store..that's about it. And it's quite far from Ao Nang beach..definitely need to take cab or bus. I think Ao Nang beach is good enough lah.

zenn

Oh... so there are rest n massage centre at Ao Nang beach liao ya. I thought the beach is at Ao Nang Villa resort only haha Blur me! Thanks so much! Btw, the beach is also where you book the island hopping tour and where we take long tail boat?

angela_vin

Group of 4 r gg Krabi from 27/11 till 30/11, anyone can offer advice on the name of the tour agent to book for long tail boat and if it is more economical to rent whole boat for four of us shd we intend to go island hopping.

angela_vin

Hi Alhana,

can i ask if
a)the full day boat renting include guide, kayak meals, life jackets (cos my two children dont swim very well)but without snorkel set (we have ours)?

b) will the tour guide go along with us for kayaking?

c) Any cheap n good restaurant to recommend?

Thank you so much

zenn

Hi Alhana,
Is there any sea sport at the beach?

Hi Angela,
Do share when you are back. I am going early dec. Thanks!

Hi Angela

I believe you can rent the long tail to take you wherever you want. I don't know the cost though. Since you intend to rent it for your own family, you can probably negotiate the price. However, if you share the boat with others, the fee is usually fixed.

For kayak tours, the price includes a guide, lunch, water, life vests. You can choose to kayak w/o a guide, but that's probably not advisable, especially if you bring children along. Alternatively, you can just kayak along the beach, but that's kinda boring.

Zenn,

Not much to do at Ao NAng beach. It is nothing like Patong beach..so no jet skis, jet boats, parasailing etc. But it's kinda nice coz it's quieter and more laid back.

As for restaurants, I can't remember names. However, most of the food were good..we tried a few different restaurants and were not disappointed. Remember to try the pancake snacks sold at roadside stalls. The banana chocolate pancakes (like prata) are absolutely delicious!

angela_vin

Hi Albana

if the total rates for 4 of us is not much of different to sharing with others, i may consider renting the long tail just for our own, if not i will stick to share the boat with others.

We will certainly try the pancakes. BTW, can u recommend reliable and cheap tour agent for the following sport.

a) elephant rides
b) Kayak tours
c) island hopping tours (can we opt for these island tours - Railey, Bamboo island, Hong island, Poda and Tup island?) or alternatively u may offer some suggestion or recommendation.

Thks.

Hi Angela

Honestly, I did not even take notice of the tour agent's name. There are many tour agencies along Ao Nang beach, all offering the same packages at almost similar prices. In fact, you can book at 1 agency, and find out later that you are grouped together with tourists that booked at another agency..they just consolidate all their bookings together!

We took the 4-island tour, which consisted of Railey beach, Poda, Tup and snorkelling off Chicken island. That was nice. We wanted to go kayaking at Hong Island, but decided to kayak in the mangrove rivers instead. I heard Hong Island is very beautiful too.

chaoahbeng

just saw this thread and tot that if u pple should decide to go for the kayak in the mangrove river, u should be prepared to really us the paddles.

The kayaking trip is quite siong and quite a distance. However, the sights and scenary u get when they subsequently stop at a small cave during a break is worth it. I find that kayaking trip to be as enjoyable as the 4 island tour descibed by alhana above.

However, try to go with a 'hardowrking' partner who is willing to row. I went with my wife and had to do most of the rowing...sibei siong for me ah!!!

honeyjul

Hi Angela,
I will b staying at sheraton, will probably take the same plane as u. =)

Hi Alhana,
May i know whether is the 4 island tour a one day affair? And the kayaking a one day event as well? then i will try to maximise the activities that i want to do for the trip.

Hi Honey

Yup, both are listed as 1 day affairs. They end at around 3-4pm. For the kayak tour, the kayaking itself lasted the whole morning (around 2hrs). Next came lunch, followed by a trip to a natural spring for a nice cold dip. Like Ah Beng rightly pointed out..kayaking can be siong. I'm proud to say that I managed to paddle most of the way..but I think hubby was really doing all the hard work..haha. Paddling in the mangrove was quite tough...we got stuck on a number of occasions as the waterway thru the mangrove trees was quite narrow. Nevertheless, it was good fun. Get ready for some seriously achy shoulders :p A massage after that feels really good though!

zenn

Hi zenn

From what I know, the 4-island tours usually go to the same islands. If you don't want to go on the 4-island tour, you can just go to the beach and check out long tail rates to go to individual islands. Alternatively, you can rent one just for yourselves. Yeah, if you do that, no lunch and equipment provided as you're dealing just with the boat operator.

Man, I still hv my notes from my krabi trip. Here's some info on boat rates:

One way from Ao Nang to Railay Bay: B50
Return from Ao Nang to Chicken Island: B2,500
"" Poda Island: B200
Half Day Boat Rent: B800
Full Day Boat Rent: B1,500

Please bear in mind these rates were taken last yr!

Hong Island (not the same as Koh Hong in Phang Nga Bay) is abt 25km from Ao Nang. You'll see quite a few agents offering tours there.

Chk out the islands/beaches here:

http://www.goingonline.net/krabi/beach-island.html

zenn

Hi Alhana,

Thanks! Think its better to stick to the tour.

If we do not intend to kayak, any other things to do at Hong Island?

zenn

Hey do you guys bring along water proof camera or just normal digi cam? Issit safe to leave the camera on the boat while we go snorkelling?

Hi zenn

You can snorkel there..and just laze about and get a nice tan
Bring a beach towel to lie on coz these islands don't have deck chairs. And bring a good book!

I brought a normal camera. If you want to take underwater shots, then get a water proof one. It should be quite safe to leave it on the boat. We did! I put my camera in a zip lock bag whenever we were not using it...afraid to get water on it. We also bought a waterproof bag at Ao Nang beach. Very handy..just dump everything in and close it up..no need to worry abt stuff inside getting wet.

kei_ko

you can get waterproof bags in Singapore from watersport or diving shops... would be cheaper than getting in tourist spots. the bags comes in various sizes and colors
they are more reliable than ziplock bags and more suitable for diving and snorkelling

I had both the waterproof bag and the ziplock bag. I placed my camera in the ziplock bag before putting in into the water proof bag. Sometimes we dump damp things into the bag, like towels etc..so zip lock is still a good primary protection for anything that is especially fragile.

zenn

To those who just went to Krabi, hows the weather there? According to weather forcast it seems to be thunder for this whole week?

avid_reader

Hi Zenn

Sorry for not writing soon. Have been so busy at work since back from Krabi trip.

Good sun only for the first few days of my tirp. Got back to sg on 21 Nov and it was raining everyday from 17-21 Nov.

Alhana, La Playa's great! The room we had was the pool access + jacuzzi room (the control switch is with the reception -- need to call them to switch on). It came with a DVD player!!! My hubby said we'll go back next year!

Zenn, I see that Alhana has covered all the info regarding the 4-island tour. We went on the 4-island tour too. Chose the longtail boat. Can book with any tour agent 'cos everybody will eventually group together. Think it's under Baracuda Tour. It was ok 'cos the weather was great.

Actually the highlights of our trip is joining in the festivities of the "Loy Krathong (Festival of Lights)" - whereby we light up "hot air lanterns" and floating flowers to put on the sea that nite. Also the GREAT FOOD and being able to sit in the jacuzzi to read all day! Love the hotel! Not forgetting those delicious pancakes too! Banana pancakes are my fav!

avid_reader

I forgot to mention how much we LOVE going for massage EVERYDAY during my 8 days trip (ok this is exaggerating.. didn't go on the last day when flying back lah)! Oil massage, aromatherapy massage, body scrubs (black sesame / green tea), pedicure & manicure. Love it!

zenn

Hi avid,

Welcome back! Ya the hotel told me its been raining. So sad. Hopefully weather is gd if not ve to give up 4 Island tour.

Hey where did you go for massage and how much?

avid_reader

Hi Zenn

Went to this massage place called Banlay (or something like that). Cannot remember spelling.. so sorry. It's very near La Playa. After coming out to the main road, cross the road and walk straight towards where the shops are (you'll pass by an art gallery). There are a whole rows of massage places there.

Depending on what massages you do, i think it's abt 250-600 baht per session.

avid_reader

Zenn, does your room comes with jacuzzi? It's fantastic.. this jacuzzi thing! It's joined to another big pool. You may also want to check if your room comes with DVD player? We didn't check and was pleasantly surprise that there was one in the room. You could borrow DVDs to watch from the hotel reception. They have a whole box of DVDs for you to borrow for free. We contributed like 10-12 DVDs to the hotel when we left. Hmm.. hope the hotel staff will not take them back home for herself (since she initially thought that we were giving the DVDs to her). Like what Alhana said (not sure if it was on this thread), the room is really clean. We slept so well throughout the whole trip.. which is rare 'cos usually don't sleep so well when in foreign places/hotels.

Gotta tell you not to have high hopes of good breakfast at the hotel. Food is mediocre & someone needs to teach them how to do sunnyside up eggs.. :p Other than that, I absolutely love the hotel!

zenn

Thanks avid! I look forward to the massage hehe You only try Banlay thro out ur stay?

You mean ur room comes wif jacuzzi? I only know mine is direct to the room. Errr issit the same?

avid_reader

Zenn, we did go to check out those more expensive spas.. went in to look at the place, check out the price list etc. But in the end we chose the cheaper alternatives. We went to Banlay everyday.. the price just keep getting cheaper cos we asked for discount for being such loyal customers! But I think it all depends on individuals. I've friends who prefer to spend more 'cos of better ambience etc.

Pool access is not the same as pool access cum jacuzzi. As I book for my room many months before the trip, during that time they still have the jacuzzi rooms. These rooms are always fully booked during peak season. They only have a total of 6 jacuzzi rooms.. the jacuzzis are located outside which integrates to the pool. Not all pool access rooms has jacuzzi. I think only room 112 to room 117 are the jacuzzi cum pool access rooms.

avid_reader

Zenn,

Abt food.

There's this restaurant near the hotel which we went for 3 nites. When you come out to the main road, turn right & you'll pass by the Tourist Police post (yes, the hotel is VERY near the police). The restaurant is just next to it. Don't remember seeing restaurant name.. there're little steps leading to the restaurant. The tomyam & stir fry fried kangkong (they call it morning glory) was quite good. Food is quite cheap too. Cash only.

We also went for seafood at Tharra Kitchen. Took the tu-tu there for dinner. It's about 10mins (of very breezy but very dark - cos not much street lighting) ride. Usually the driver will ask you what time you intend to come back as there are no tu-tus near the seafood restaurant. We arranged with the driver and he came back to pick us up in 2hrs' time. I think it's 40 baht per way. Foodwise, depending on what you order. We had prawns, THE BEST STEAM POMFRET (with chilli & lemon/lime) we ever had, stir fry morning glory, crayfish, shellfish, etc etc. We are such greedy pigs.. order alot of dishes. Think it cost us 750baht which I think it's still cheap considering that amt of food.

Also tried the pizza places opposite the beach. Hmm.. it's so-so only. We also ate at roadside stalls... further down that restaurant near the Tourist Police, there are 2-3 roadside stalls. We packed food (fried noodles, fried rice, pork cutlet, vege) back to hotel a couple of times. Dirt cheap and quite ok.

avid_reader

Abt shopping.

Haha... what shopping!!??? :p

Went to Krabi town. There's only 1 shopping centre there called Vogue. Nothing to buy..... only bought some foodstuff back from the supermarket there.

Hi avid!

Man, your descriptions make me wanna go back again! Glad you liked Krabi, and that you liked La Playa
2 of my colleagues went recently, about a month apart from each other..both also stayed at La PLaya coz of my recommendation, and they loved it too! They also prefer Krabi to Phuket, like me. Sigh..I feel like going again now..but going to HKG instead (leaving this Friday). Planning to go to Krabi next yr during the off peak season when it's cheaper and less crowded. Hehe..so you love the banana pancakes too huh! I had one almost every night!!

Zenn,

Don't see avid mentioning that it rained everyday. She said the weather was great leh. Now's not the monsoon season in Thailand, so even if it rains, I doubt it'd last long. I was in Phuket this time last yr, and even tho I saw the weather forecast say 'thunderstorm', it didn't rain while i was there. In fact it was dry and hot! Don't fret ok? I was there during the rainy season last June, and even though it did rain, the rain clouds passed over quite quickly and it actually made the heat more bearable. When I went for the four island tour, it was raining quite heavily as we were making our way to chicken island to snorkel..quite a fun ride with the rain lashing in our faces..by the time we reached the snorkel point, the clouds already went inland and we were blasted by the sun..hehe.

honeyjul

I juz came back from Krabi few hours ago and it was GREAT!

Hi zenn,
There's no thunderstorms there, however there are short drizzles during the day. but it lasted for awhile only. Even the guide told me that the rain here at this time of the month is juz passing rain. goes away very quickly.

Dun go to Wanalee spa at Ao Nang, i went there and was badly tortured. Also, my guide recommended me to this seafood space called Wang sai seafood restaurant near La PLaya hotel which is TERRIBLE. expensive and the food is juz so so. In the end, we did not venture out to Ao Nang and Krabi town for dinner, we juz stayed at our hotel Sheraton for all our meals.

La PLaya location is good. Juz outside the hotel there is alot of shops. Sheraton is very secluded and away from the shopping area.

zenn

Hi alhana,

Avid mentioned it was raining everyday from 17-21 Nov. But glad to noe that 4 island tour can continue as per normal.

Hi honey,
Welcome back! Glad to noe there is no thunderstorm. Was so worried when I checked the weather forecast.

Any other things to share?

avid_reader

Hi Zenn

My apologies! Should be that it was raining from 18-21 Nov. On Thursday 17 Nov we went for the 4-island tour and the weather was really hot (I'm burnt!). I remember my hubby was saying on Friday 18 Nov abt those pple who are arriving for the weekend will be disappointed with the weather cos everyday rain during the weekends. It's not thunderstorm.. just drizzle. But then the water got too cold in the pool.

When it rained, we spent quite alot of time at that Banlay massage cum hairdresser place. Both of us got a haircut too. Even my hubby went for manicure & pedicure + foot scrub. :p The food massage is quite good too. We also watch alot of DVDs (if your room comes with DVD player, you should be able to borrow "Feels Like Heaven", "Proof", " 40-year Virgin", "Wedding Crashers", "I-Robot", "Being John Malkovich", "Flight Plan", "House of Flying Daggers", "Deuce Bigalow", "The Big Lebowski", "Osama" - foreign film from the hotel reception (provided they don't keep the DVDs to themselves!) And of course, make sure you bring along a good book.

Hi Alhana

Wow you're going HKG this Fri! Can go shop shop shop! Have fun!

zenn

Hi avid,

You must ve contributed those CDs to them ya hehe Hey is there a gym in the hotel?

So excited now hehe

honeyjul

Hi zenn,

we went for the 4 island tour as well, and it will be really good if u bring along some sunblock. It was cloudy when i went for my tour, there's no visible sun at all but i still got burn terribly.

I went for the Kayaking but only for half day. as what alhana said, u must really have stamina to canoe. I dun tink i have stamina to, my hubby is doing most of the work. But its worth going for the canoeing trip as they will bring u to different caves to see amazing limestone features. Since my kayaking is only half day, i only went to 2 caves. but it is sufficient for me already. i am very much exhausted after that.

avid_reader

Hi Zenn

å‰äººç§æ ‘,åŽäººå‡‰ï¼

I think I saw a very small gym room.. must remember it's only a 3-star hotel. Oh there's a "children's corner" near the stairs.. it's real pathetic. It's really a "CORNER" with nothing there except for the rubber mats. :p

By the way, there's a mini-mart called PK mini-mart (or something like that) just next to the hotel (when you walk out from the small road). It's opened till quite late and that's where we get our water, beer, drinks, tidbits etc. They sell some handicrafts, etc & books too. It's really convenient.

zenn

Hi honey,

Where u booked and how much you paid for the 4 island tour and kayaking? So its safe to go even tho its raining?

angela_vin

Just return from my krabi trip, personally i dont find the food at Wong Sai expensive cos a meal for a family of 4 for us(my 2 children big eater) cost only S$54.00 for: fresh live snapper, fresh live crabs, fried vegetables, fried white prawn, 2 plates of fried rice with crab meat, 1 plate of fried glass noodles with crab meat and drinks. We had 3 sumptuous fresh seafood meal during our 3 nights days in krabi which we dont find it expensive comparing to our local and msia of course it has to depends what u order and how they r cook. They may not very very nice but they r fresh and not too bad though.

Shd u wan to shop for some tidbits, i would advise that u go further down to some of those mini-mart at Ao Nang rather PK mini-mart cos they cost B5-50 per btl/pk more for some tidbits and drinks! As for the pancakes, its a must must eat! we love and ate the choc pancake everyday! heard the mango not bad too.

My children love the hotel - LaPlaya very much, love the room cos direct access to the pool so convenient and fun for family esp with kids beside its not crowded and most of the time we had the pool just for our own!