Krabi - Pavilion Queen's Bay or Krabi La Playa Resort

bruno

Hi there, can anyone advise me which hotel to stay. Rather confused by the reviews that i had read online on Pavilion. La Playa looks great but Pavilion after all is a 4* hotel. Is there any shuttle bus from Pavilion to Ao Nang Beach? Kindly advise as I will be going soon. Thanks alot!

Hi J

I stayed at La Playa last yr (june) and I loved it! The hotel was very new then so everything was nice and new. The pool is huge! That was one of the highlights of our stay...having a nice big pool to soak in, tan by, and hv drinks in (they have a swim up pool bar where you can order drinks while you sit in the water and just relax). I think Pavilion is more luxurious with more facilities. However, it's abit far to walk from there to Ao Nang..it is quite a climb up. If you ask me, I wld rather pick La Playa...and choose the pool access room (rooms where the balcony leads right into the pool). Still it depends on what you want. If you want beautiful luxurious rooms, then Pavilion wld probably be a better choice. La Playa has nice clean, spacious and comfortable rooms but they're quite basic. Still, it's a short walk to Ao Nang, has a fantastic pool, and good service. In either case, I'm sure you'll enjoy your stay in Krabi..it's a beautiful place with fantastic islands to see, activities to do. Have fun!

bruno

Thks alhana. Actually troubled by the distance between pavilion and ao nang beach. But isit possible to walk from pavilion to ao nang beach and the shops?

zenn

Hi J,

When you going and how much you pay for it?

Another highly recommended resort by Krabi thread is Ao Nang Villa but from website La Playa looks nice.

Do share after you are back ya

Hi J

I can see Pavilion up on the hill from La PLaya. Have not walked there before, but it does look quite a walk. Plus if you're walking back late at nite after a nice dinner and drinks at Ao Nang, it can be quite a drag..plus so dark too. Well, you can always take the tuk tuk lah. Walking from the hotel to the beach is probably easier since it's downhill

Ao Nang Villa is very popular with Singaporeans..so many of them stay there..hence I avoided it..haha.

zenn

Hi Alhana,

You must b a beach lover ya! Btw Burasari was full for the month of Oct and now I am considering Krabi since I been to Phuket few times.

Any comments on The Cliff? Seem like nice resort but not as convenient as compared to La Playa? Btw, is La Playa beach front resort?

Thanks ya!

pinkdolphin

Hi J,

I stayed at Queen Pavilion during my last trip, love that place!

Overall, i think the room and swimming pool is nice! From the room can see sunset... Can sit on the swing at the balcony to enjoy the scenery. oh... the dining place for breakfast is at the roof top, nice view too.
They have shuttle bus to and fro the beach so quite okie... Hmm... of course if compare, pavilion is a bit further. It's a quiet place for relaxation.

Hi Zenn

Yeah, hubby and I love beach holidays! To be frank, I prefer Krabi to Phuket. It's more laid back..but if you like to shop etc, you'll find Krabi woefully sad in that area. Definitely not on par with Phuket. But I loved the tours etc. Ao Nang beach itself is not nice at all..nothing like Patong beach. They don't hv any beach activities at Ao Nang (like no deck chairs, no vendors etc)...at high tide..the whole beach is covered by the sea water! You'll hafta go to the islands to enjoy beautiful beaches and waters. One thing you guys must try at Krabi..the roadside stalls selling the pancakes! The banana chocolate ones are to die for..much better than the one I had in Phuket. It's like roti prata filled w pisang rajah and smothered w chocolate sauce, and if you like, sugar and condense milk as well. B20 each! YUm!

I saw The Cliff on reservation sites. The resort look beautiful! But I think location wise it's not so convenient. La PLaya is not beach front. It's probably a 5-10min walk to the beach front. The more popular beach front hotels there are AO Nang Villa and Golden Beach Resort. The rest of the resorts by the beach look quite cheapo :p Avid reader (on the book club thread) is going to Krabi in Nov..think she booked La PLaya as well.

avid_reader

Hi J and Zenn

I have booked my hotel accomodation online (http://www.asia-discovery.com/krabi/krabi-la-playa/index.html) for my trip in Nov.

Hotel Name : Krabi La Playa Resort
City : Krabi
Rooms : 01 Double Pool Deluxe
No. of Night : 07
Room Rate : 4,500 Baht /room/night
Special Promotion : Stay 7 nights pay only 3 nights (Room only on free night)
Compulsory American Breakfast @ 400 Baht/person on Free night** ; 400 x 2 x 3 = 2,400
Total Price : 20,400 Baht
Include: Breakfast, Hotel Service Charge and Government Tax

Other than the location, the lure of the direct pool access from the room is just too attractive! Some of these pool access rooms comes with its own private outdoor jacuzzi too. Don't care that it's 3 stars.. the hotel looks pretty decent on photos. Not fussy so should be alright.

Hi Alhana

I am counting down to my trip! Can't wait!

Hi Avid

Wah..I just mentioned your name and you've popped in here so quickly! Hehe. I'm so envious! Yes, you must dish about your trip once you're back! And show us pictures!

avid_reader

Alhana, my eyes lighted up when I saw the topic of this thread
Don't be envious you can plan a trip there again. My hubby still cannot get over the fact that there will not be much shopping in Krabi... hahahaaa.. he's the shopaholic while I'm more concerned on looking for good food when on holidays :p

Heh..that's strange..teh guy wanting to shop more than the girl! My hubby actually loves shopping in Thailand, whether BKK, Phuket etc..more so than in Singapore. So hv u guys decided whether to rent a car to drive to Phuket for a shopping jaunt? There's a small dept store in Krabi Town where you can buy wacoal bras. There's a small Swensen's and KFC outlet there. Also hv night markets with alot of food stalls etc..can try that out since you like food

zenn

Hi avid,
Wow 7days so shiok! Remember to share when you are back. Btw, which airline did you book and how did you arrange for the transfer to hotel?

Hi alhana,
Pandan me, what do you mean by visit island? There are activities in other islands?

My hubby most likely cant take leave this mth. Might ve to postpone the trip

Hi zenn

Aww..but take heart that it's still the monsoon season this month, so perhaps postponing the trip will be to your advantage. The weather's supposed to improve in Nov-Dec.

There are many islands you can visit...we took this 4-island tour that included snorkelling. The waters were so clear, and the sand very white, fine and soft. However, the stops can be quite short..like maybe 1/2hr to 1hr per stop. You can actually just hop on a long tail boat and hire them to take you to an island and leave you there for the whole day .. of coz they will bring you back to Ao Nang :p You can soak up the rays, picnic, snorkel, swim.. The islands are not inhabited, which is actually nice. No touts to hound you..and you can just pretend you're on a deserted island for a couple of hrs. However, when I went, it was the low season, and there weren't many tourists, so it was really nice. Not sure how crowded those islands will be there during the peak period.

HiZenn:

If you're going to Phuket, you'll have to send a day to visit the islands...I just came back from Phuket last week.

My hubby and I loved those daytrips around the islands like Maya Bay (Leornado di Caprio's The Beach was shot there), Phi Phi Don, Phi Phi Ley, Hin Klang, Monkey Beach, Viking Cave, Pileh Cove, Khai Nok Island ...

For just THB1,200 (about S$50) per pax, you get pickup from your hotel to the pier; snorkelling equipment; 6-course Thai lunch + free flow of coffee/tea on Phi Phi Don which has been partially rebuilt after Tsunami, and free flow of drinks & snacks/tropical fruits onboard. Optional: You can pay extra THB50 for every pair of flippers if you find treading water tiring.

Like Alhana has described, you'll feel like a mermaid swimming in a large turquoise aquarium populated by colourful fishes and sharks if currents are not strong. You can feed the fishes bread and the monkeys bananas. Don't forget to take pictures underneath the waters with a disposable waterproof camera like the one I got

The last stop is Khai Island, only discovered less than 10 years ago. We were given 2 hours to laze on the beach, enjoy free drinks and fruits, snorkel, swim or simply, ride the waves.

If you're going to Krabi, there'll be another set of tours to other islands like Yao Yai, Hong Island, Chicken Island, James Bond Island, etc.

You can sign up for fishing tours to catch marlins too!

good Luck!

And, by the time you see this, you would have missed the Tiger Airways $1 Krabi one-day promotion on 12 Oct.

avid_reader

Hi Alhana

His shopping doesn't bother me as long as he doesn't pressure me to buy something as well! I get stressed out when I absolutely "have to" buy something. Hey thanks for those info on Krabi. Have not made any plans yet for the trip so not sure if we are renting a car to drive up to phuket.

Hi Zenn

It's a 8D7N trip. Managed to get the $9.98 base fare air tic from Tiger Airways quite some time ago. Taxes & all came up to about total of $200 for 2 person. Am arranging transfer directly with the hotel cos it's cheaper. Err.. don't tell the travel agent that though. Just say that you will take a cab.

bruno

Hi PinkDolphin, what is the time schedule for the shuttle bus from pavilion to ao nang beach. How about the staff and the accomodation there? Seems like quite a few ppl is complaining about the service and rooms on the review that i have seen.

zenn

Gd morning gals,

Hi Alhana,
Oh didnt noe now is still monsoon. Nov onward will be a better time to go?

How much is the 4 island tour?

Hi Yule,
I saw the $1 promo but it's for weekday only. Wkends rate are quite high. Tiger having 25% off promo again n I realised the weekends rate is better than the $1 promo.

Hi Avid,
How much is the transfer from hotel?

zenn

Hi Avid,
No wonder its more worth to book direct wif the hotel

Hi Alhana,
Did you pop by Ao Nang Villa when you were there? As compared wif La Playa which is nicer?

Hi zenn

I only saw the exterior of Ao Nang Villa when the coach dropped people off. It looks like your average hotel resort. However, since I nvr stepped inside or saw the rooms, I'm afraid I can't comment. I think there's a thread somewhere in this topic about Ao Nang Villa..you can go check it out. In terms of location, it's definitely better than La Playa since it's right at the beach. The only reason why I didn't pick it was becoz it was so popular with Singaporeans. True enough, when the coach was dropping us new arrivals off...practically 3/4 of the tourists dropped off at Ao Nang. As for La Playa, hubby and I were the only ones from that flight that stayed there. In fact, since it was so new when we stayed there, it felt like we were the only ones in the whole hotel. I think they only had a handful of rooms occupied, and most of the days we had the entire pool to ourselves :p

As for airport transportation, you can just grab a cab from the airport to Ao Nang...think it costs THB500/way.

Nov-Apr is supposedly the best time to visit Krabi & Phuket..it's th NE Monsoon season, which is supposed to be cooler and drier. You will see that hotel rates go up markedly during this period.

I think the 4-island tour cost us B300 per pax, inclusive of lunch, water and fruits, and snorkelling gear.

pinkdolphin

Hi J,

Hmmm... regarding the shuttle bus schedule, i can't recall... :p
Think it's every half an hr? Maybe u can email the hotel to check.
As for the staffs, they r very friendly and service wise very good.
I enjoyed my stay there and no complaint.

bruno

Thks pinkdolphin! Email then oredi. Hope the hotel is good!

Think la playa had to wait for my next trip to krabi.

Thks all!

Hi Zenn

I think 4D/3N is better..at least you have 2 full days for day tours, and 1 day to laze in the hotel and strroll around Ao Nang n Krabi Town. I was there for 6D/5N last yr..and it was just abit too long..but I dreaded going home too :p

zenn

Hi Alhana,

Ya I agreed too. Look likes the earliest date available is early dec. Now waiting for my hb to get his leave approved.

zenn

Is Tiger Airway the only airline that fly direct to Krabi?

We ve more or less finalised on first wk of dec and Tiger Airway is having promo of 25% if book by 18 Oct. I wonder should I book now cos Tiger Airway seems to ve alot of promo?

Hi zenn

Yes, Tiger's the only airline. Silkair used to fly there, but they stopped after the tsunami disaster. Since Dec is the school holiday period, I think it's best you book early to avoid disappointment. Also, promo rates (like the $1 fares) are usually limited to a fixed number of seats. Once those promo seats are sold, the rest will be at normal rates..and the closer you get to the departure date, the more expensive the fares will be.

zenn

Hi avid,
Did you book wif Asia Discovery or Royal Exclusive Travel? Or are both the same? I been liasing wif the latter and in the mids of making my booking. Like to find out are they reliable?

Also, they quoted me $600 baht each person for the transfer which is supposed to pay direct to the hotel. Is this the norm?

Hi alhana,
Thanks for all your sharing. Will go wif La Playa cos Ao Nang Villa is full on my travel date. Anyway since the beach is nothing great no big deal to stay in beach front.

Like to clarify, the pool deluxe is access to the pool and not to private jacuzzi?

HI zenn

The pool deluxe access rooms hv steps leading straight down from the room into the water. There's a small gate at the base of the steps which you can open to access the main pool. W/in the gated area, I think there's a jacuzzi/whirlpool switch. It's not a jacuzzi tub, ala those you find in banyan tree suites. See this site's description:

http://www.thailandvoyage.com/hotel/Krabi/krabilaplaya/room.htm

Make sure it's the pool deluxe ACCESS rooms. I think they categories some rooms as pool deluxe, which only means that these are deluxe rooms facing the pool..not those with direct access into the pool.

avid_reader

Hi Zenn

Yes Asia Discovery & Royal Exclusive Travel is the same. I liaised with Royal Exclusive Travel as well for my bookings. We have already received via email the hotel voucher after making payment by credit card.

On the transfer, doesn't matter who you are paying to right? If they say pay direct to hotel, then pay to hotel lor.

Yes I'm getting the pool access room.

> Total night : 07
> Room type : 01 Pool Deluxe (direct ot pool) Room rate : 4,500 Baht per
> room per night Offered Special Promotion: Stay 7 nights pay 4 nights 3
> nights free of charge on room only **Compulsory American Breakfast @
> 400 Baht/person on Free night** ; 400 x 2 x 3 = 2,400 Baht Total :
> 20,400 Baht
>
> Include: Breakfast, Hotel Service Charge and Government Tax.
>
> The cost of private transfer from Krabi Airport - Krabi La Playa 1,300
> Baht per one way. If you required, please let me know again.
>

zenn

Hi avid,

Like to double confirm - I remember you mentioned 1300 baht for 2 person round trip and not ONE way rite? Did you book the transfer thro Royal Exclusive Travel too?

Also you booked the $1 Tiger airway but after tax is around $200 for 2 person?

Just curious when are you travelling?

avid_reader

Hi Zenn

Like I said before, I booked the hotel pickup directly with the hotel and not travel agent since it's cheaper (travel agent charges 1300 baht for 2 person ONE WAY whereas hotel charges that same amount for round trip). My 8 days trip is in mid Nov.

I booked the Tiger airway tickets in early Sep. It was the $9.98 base fare deal

CHARGE AMOUNT TAXES TOTAL
Fare Class P 19.96 0.00 19.96
Taxes & Charges 80.50 0.00 80.50
Taxes and Charges 20.00 0.00 20.00
Fare Class P 19.96 0.00 19.96
Taxes & Charges 38.50 0.00 38.50
Taxes and Charges 20.00 0.00 20.00
------------------------------------------------------------------
TOTAL 198.92

zenn

Hi avid & alhana,

I have just make my booking for dec and will be staying in La Playa! Thanks for all your help and sharing

Avid, remember to share when you are back ya. Btw, the hotel quoted me $1200 baht for round trip.

avid_reader

Hi Zenn

So you have booked air tickets as well? Good for you!

Oh, sorry for the confusion. Hotel quoted me 1200 baht for round trip as well. This really nice lady by the name of sandy. It is the travel agent that charges 1300 (650 per trip x 2).

mexx

Those going to Krabi might want to consider staying at Sheraton Krabi. There's a promotion with amex card at only US$65 + taxes.
Extremely cheap for a 5* deluxe hotel. Booked it for my trip this weekend.

Any reasonably priced spas/massages to recommend? Need to be in nice, clean surroundings, hotels or established day spas preferred. budget about S$50-60 per person.

zenn

Hi Gem,

Which amex card promo are you referring? My friend is going in dec tried calling AMEX and search thro their website but dun see this promo.

Can you provide wif more details?

zenn

Hi Avid,
How's ur stay in Krabi La Playa? Do share when you are back!

Hi Alhana & Avid,
Any recommendation of gd massage in Krabi? Did you try the one in the hotel?

Hi zenn

I tried the one in the hotel...oil massage and facial. It was not that great..not as good as what i had while in BKK. My colleague just returned from Krabi...she stayed at La Playa too. I think she did her massage elsewhere..will ask her for the details.

Hi zenn

Sorry...forgot abt it! She couldn't remember the place..said that it was some massage place located near a hotel that's a short walk from La Playa. Think the hotel was quite small..looks like an inn rather than a hotel. Price wise..not too ex...like BKK prices.

zenn

Thanks alhana! There is nothing much to do in Krabi rite? So how much do we need to change?

For island hopping, did you book from the hotel? The package is either Long Tail boat or speed boat. Is long tail boat gd enough?

Hi zenn

Depends on what you want to do. If you want to shop, there's really nothing much to see in Krabi. I just bought a lot of cashew nuts. Their veg chips are very nice too. I think we changed ard $500 for a 6D/5N stay, and we did have money left over.

For island hopping, I booked thru a tour agent. they hv many along Ao Nang beach..just walk ard and get quotes from them...the prices shld not be too different. Our was a Long tail boat (which broke down for ard 10 min on the way back :p). 2 of my colleagues just came back (they didn't go together tho)..1 took long tail, the other speed boat. the one who took long tail..hers also broke down..haha. If you want to get to your destination faster, n thus hv more time to spend at each drop, then get the speed boat. If you don't mind puttering ard the sea, then long tail's fine. I did enjoy the long tail. I guess it depends on whether you want to splurge