Korea

jong2201

hi sinkor,

it's interesting reading Korea info posted by you.

I am planning to go Korea from 24th to 30 Sep 06 with my family on packaged tour. Just like to know what the weather will be liked as I am super scared of cold and i am bringing 2 young children aged 3 & 5 along.

I have ever been to Korea in early May 2000 and found the climate then okay.

Have been to a few travel agencies and one told me it's now very hot (can be hotter than S'pore), end Sep will still be hot but cooler than now. Another told me avg temp is around 20 degree celsius.

Just concern if it will be too cold for us to travel.

Hope to get some advise from you. Tks.

psyduck

Hi 7788,

which tour agency you looking to travel with? I am going on 23 Sept with Hong Thai. I think the weather shouldn't b too cold. should be like air-condition room in singapore.

sinkor

Hi am_blessed,

Thinks ASA holiday (from newspaper) tour also have these similar "ALL IN" package...maybe u can see see look look. :D

Hi rachel,

for temperature wise, really dunno how to answer leh.... if on end Oct, dun need winter clothing...just need those sweater or long sleeve shirt will do

Hi 7788,

for September, i not sure leh.... but i think will not be that cold/cool.... u better check with tour agent
I only experience in Korea is June to July which is super hot ah..... but for end Sept, i think will be just nice and wont be that hot and also wont be that cold as Dec temperature. So not to worry! :D

tge25

Hello..need some help!

any hotel to recommend? i planning to take a free and easy package...so korea walk walk...

heard JeJu nice place?

any places in korea is a must see?

sinkor

Choc,

If planning for F&E, will be very very expensive as compare to package tour. If you still prefer F&E, then you may consider stay in guesthouse.
Yes, Jeju is a nice place and totally difference from Seoul! If you planning to go Jeju too, then it is more advisable to use tour package and then extend a few days for F&E which is more worth.

psyduck

Hi Sinkor,

Is the two pin round type of plug used in Singapore the same as those that can be used in korea? or do we have to get an adapter?

am_blessed

have booked my HM trip to Korea at Chan Bro's in-hse fair this morning. 8D6N Ski Escapade after tax and Citibank credit card promo,the price is SGD1585/person (only for departure on 31st Dec). package includes: 2 night stay at 5*Ski resort (not YongPyong though...but it's alright to me coz budget is more important..kekeke..anyway most probabbly i'll just play with snow...and not doing so-advanced skiing..so to me it's doesn't really matter whether it's Yongpyong or phoenix..heehe),a full set of ski equipment and ski lessons, 6Breakfast 5Lunch 5Dinner, entrance tix to Everland, Lotte Big 5, ATV ride, and some other more attractive highlights.

Oh fyi, if you want to upgrade to Yongpyong Ski resort, top-up of SGD200/person is required.

psyduck

Hi Sinkor

I thought in your previous posting here, the picture u shown is the round type? i dunno if the round 2 pin type found in singapore is the same size as those used in korea. some of the adapters i looked at seem to be thicker. Kindly advice.

sinkor

really ah.....jialat...i think i mixed up liao...better follow the photos that i posted here b4! paisey!!!

Hi am_blessed,
Just curious, so which resort that did u go for it? :p

am_blessed

hi sinkor,
me not going to YongPyong. Instead, the ski resort will be either Phoenix/Hyundai/Vivaldi...depends on the availability of the room (tat's what they told me lah). will stay 2 nights there. hehee..any comments on these 3 ski resorts? =)

sinkor

Hi am_blessed,

Dun worry, no bad comments on these resort :p but if you stay in Phoenix, heard from friends that it would be better to stay in their hotel rather than their apartment.....

vonn

Hi Sinkor/Unicorn, saw in the previous thread that u have a list of info for korea? Can mail tat to me pls? My email [email protected]
And can advise me if the mall (MyeongDong) that u gals mentioning here, where is that place actually, Seoul?

And do u gals have any idea from Seoul how to get to Mount Seorak, is it worth going?

I will be going on a company's vacation sometime in Oct and staying a week at Lotte Hotel but it doesnt cover Mount Seorak, so i tot of extending myself to Mount Seorak.

rtan

Here are my few cents worth of skiing, especially the common one-day (or two night, whatever you call it it is the same) skiing in South Korea.

Honestly speaking, those tour packages that have seven days touring Korea and one day ski are a sham. What can you do in one day of skiing? It's like saying go learn diving in one day. Of course everyone gives up. You are given only 3 hours of lessons in the morning, then in the afternoon you go on the slope on your own, not knowing how to turn or stop properly, thus endangering both yourself and others on the ski slope. It's very irresponsible of the tour operators.

Skiing requires at least five days (three days lessons, two days on your own) to be enjoyable. Furthermore, the best time to go is late Jan - Feb in the Northern Hemisphere, and late July - Aug in the Southern Hemisphere. Any other times, you are faced with unreliable snow, very cold weather, melting snow, or just bad man-made snow (which honestly cannot make it).

I have personally skiied in Switzerland (twice), Austria (four times or so), Australia (once), and South Korea (once). The absolute worst place to ski is South Korea; crowded and dangerous (all those Singaporeans on one-day ski package who have no clue how to ski and charge down the slope... it's not your fault I know, stupid tour operators), bad snow, and it's the most expensive place of all! It was expensive because even though we were there for a week, there is no weekly pass, we had to buy a pass for each day which was very expensive. Hope things have changed now.

Australia comes in second worst; crowded, unreliable snow, but not so expensive. Switzerland is expensive, but has reliable snow and is not crowded, and of course the fantastic scenery. Austria is probably the best; not that expensive, reliable snow, and not crowded because there are so many ski resorts in Austria. And the scenery is almost equal to Switzerland.

I heard USA is also not bad for skiing, e.g. Lake Tahoe area. Canada is not bad too especially if you go up into the Rockies; reliable snow and not crowded. New Zeland is worth a try too because it has higher mountains and is further down South. Never tried Sapporo yet, though my guess is that it might be very crowded.

mrs_goh

Hi dreamer
I am also planning to go korea in early Dec for a tour. Am also keen on the 8 day korea + jeju tour with ski-ing. Actually wanted to book at the recent inhouse promo but was advice by friends to wait for the Natas Fair (BTW, the date is 29 Sep - 1 Oct at S. Expo Halls 5 & 6A). Also, friends told me that Hong Thai is a better tour agency for Korea package.

Is it true, anyone?

sinkor

Hi Vonn,

Have email you the info....

Highly recommend you to go Mt Sorak esp Oct (autumn).... super beautiful! As for going there, I think can go there by bus, u may ask your hotel personnel to help out. Sorry that I cant guide bcos normally i went there is by car

As for Myeongdong, is not a mall, is a shopping area where there is lots of shops.... i feel that is a MUST GO!!!

khoosm

Hi, anybody got any reccomendations where is the best exchange rate for korean won in singapore? Or isit better to exchange in korea?

I'm changing about SGD$5000 to won. Any reccomendations?

hiphip77

Hi Sinkor and everyone,

Me and my husband is going to Korea on 23 Oct F&E. However, we've problem planning our iternary. Any recommendations of places or shopping? Hotels? Appreciate if you can send to [email protected]

sinkor

Hi hiphip,

wow! u going on F&E on 23/10 for how many days? so u planning to stay in Seoul only? or also planning to Jeju, Pusan, etc? fyi, staying in Seoul town area hotel will be very exp and normally didnt come with breakfast.

hiphip77

Hi Sinkor,

We will be departing korea on 31 Oct. Plane tickets bought already. But no itenary and haven't book hotel. Still thinking whether should go to Jeju. You think we should go? Also this Mt Sorak that you mentioned, is it a must-go place? The reason I choose this period to go becos I heard during Autumn, the scenary will be very pretty with the leaves all turning to orange color ... And also shopping!!! Any good reccomendations for good shopping places? Not the designer or branded stuff though.

Where do you reccommend we stay in Seoul? We actually looking for a place to stay which is accessible but it seems like will be very ex as u have mentioned? Our concern is also travelling. 'Cos it seems like from one place to another, like very far but I dun like the idea of moving everyday or so.

Any advise?

psyduck

Hi Bertbert..

You can try asking around People's Park. My gf recently change at S$1 to 610 won over there. but i not too sure which shop she change at. think it is one of the better rates you can get around. Can try suntec also on level one. sometimes it offers pretty good rate also. think u can try bargain a bit since you are changing so much.

bel_yeo

Any feedback on good rides, food & things to buy fm these places? Thank you.

Everland themepark
Anmyeondo Ocean Castle (Aqua World)
Ski Resort (either Phoenix Park Or Dragon Valley YongPyong)
Nami Island
Myongdong shopping Street
YangJu Daejanggeum Theme Park
Dongdaemun Market
Daejanggeum Korean Traditional Culture Experience Center
Korean Entertainment Hall of Fame
Lotte World Adventure Park

bibi38

sinkor,

Can u email me also.. for those info u got... thank very much..
(anyone hu rec'd from sinkor, also can email me .. thanks urgent)
Email : [email protected]

I leaving on 8th oct liao .. with HONG THAI

sinkor

Hi bibi,

My info is more suitable for those F&E style... but will send to you for your information......
so envy u all...going to Oct soon whereas i have to wait till CNY!

ying11

I just booked a tour with Focal Travel, 6days Korea + 2N free Hongkong..departing on 21 Oct. May I know what is the temp at that time?

psyduck

Hi everyone...

Me just back from the korea with HongThai.. Had quite a good trip. would like to share something with you all.. The weather is nice and cool now. Night time do not really need a jacket to travel outside except if you are at YongPyong where it drop to 10 degree when i was there.

There was no tour leader that went with us even though we got 25 people in the group. so it was all left to the tour guide from korea. our tour guide was a overseas chinese living in korea so he was able to speak good chinese. However as he did not usually take tour group in korea and without a tour leader, there were time in the initial part where he did not know what to do as certain things were usually handle by the tour leader.

For those taking the Hong Thai all-in-package, you may have to spend an about an hour or two to wait for your domestic flight to Jeju. there are not many shops in the airport for you to shop around especially if you go immediately to the departure area. you may want to consider surfing the internet using the free internet there.

If you are staying at Jeju Oriental Hotel, there's an Emart directly opposite it. Walking further down will be Tapdong Street where you can do some shopping. You will be able to find Red Mango Yogurt and Baskin Robbins ice cream there. there's an underground shopping area where you can find The Face Shop.

Most of the tourist attractions in Jeju in our itinery do not required much time. an hour would be sufficient. Songan Sun Rise Peak is one you should go for. try to climb up to the top. It offers very good scenery but be prepare for a good exercise. the teddy bear museum is also very nice especially with the latest additions, teddy bears from the korean drama "Gong". You can also buy the teddy bear "Alfred" which Xin Jun has in that show from the shop there.

At everland, the tour guide took us on two of the rides out of the five free rides given. the safari ride was great especially when if you happen to see a lion trying to do something to the lionness.. Hee.. However, be prepared to be given not much time there. we had around 2 hours on our own. Luckily the queues were not too long so we were able to get all our three other rides. the tour guide may advice you to use one of the free ride for the ride on the cable car back to the top where the exit is but you can try walking up on your own as you tour the place. with the short time there, it pays to do some homework on the rides which you may be interested in by visiting the theme park website so that you do not spend too much time wandering around deciding which ride to take.

At YongPyong, you will have to pay the trip on the cable car ride up to the top of the mountain also a filming site of Winter Sonata. it will cost 12,000 won per person. We were unlucky not to be able to go to Waterpia as it was closed for maintanence work to prepare for the tourists from China during the golden week. we were instead taken to a much smaller hot spring in another hotel.

Similarly at Lotte world, it pays to do some homework as the time allowed there could be limited. we were given only 2 hours there. For Namdaemum and Myongdong, we were also given 2 hours which is quite limited so you may want to see if you can find your way there at night after checking into the hotel. we were lucky in that our original hotel, Lifestyle was fully booked so they put us in Koreana Hotel which was quite closed to Myongdong so we were able to make our own way there at night. However, both shopping areas were closing by 10 plus.

At Sheraton hotel, the tour guide will teach u how to get a souvior at the casino. However, there isn't much else to do there at night. The ginseng and Amethyst shop are required by the korean government. If you want to buy anything there, be prepared to spend a bit there. the prices are listed in US$ and could cost a few hundreds. Also bring along extra money cause the tour guide could offer to bring you to some place for those meals not included in the package. for us, he brought us to eat Sabu sabu and sulpur duck. be prepared to eat lots of pork for each meal till you get tired of it.

Hope this provide some info for those going to korea.

sinkor

Wow psyduck,

So u are back from Korea and can see that u have a great fun.....
But.... 2hrs each for the lotte world, Yongin Everland, mandaemum & myeongdong abit short leh....
So did u go dongdaemum??

sinkor

HI bel,

Are you planning to stay at Ocean Castle?? Its not in Seoul leh (need 2-3hr bah).... I didnt stay or even go Anmyundo before.... Know that that area is industrial area (like Jurong Tuas) but for the Ocean Castle... really no idea

Yongpyong is well-know place..... not cheap too... can stay there for 1-2 days sufficient liao.... unless u want to ski everyday...
also not in Seoul... near Mt Sorak and Gangwon there. By car, need 3-4hrs bah.

Hotel Riviera, I didnt stay before too! haha...but from the map can see that near subway so convenience.... its near the COEX shopping centre. For me, things selling in COEX very exp... but as long u have subway nearby, u can shop anywhere liao! :p

psyduck

Yo Sinko

I agreed that the time given to us at those places a bit less but that's something you will get if you go with tour group. but luckily for everland, i managed to cover the whole area. just walk faster and target rides you are interested in. I took the ferris wheel and the eagle fortress. also managed to see a parade. i think having a feel of what sort of rides one is interested in before going there is important.

Didn't managed to go to Dongdaemum cos too late to take a train and too far to walk back after my own walk to Myeongdong at night.

A note to those going on tour package, dun expect to b given too much time at theme parks and shopping areas unless it is promised ahead that certain amount of time will be spend there. so do some homework first before u go.

sinkor

Hi Psyduckie,

Glad that u still enjoy the trip despite of tight time schedule! Nvm, next time then u go to Dongdaemum! heehee....

psyduck

Thanks Sinkor, mayb next time i will go free and easy cos most of the tour package go to similar places. then can have all my time at places i want to spend more time at. so will u b trying to explore other areas in korea when u got time? mayb u can tell us more attractions that are outside the usual tourist attractions.

sharky

Hi everybody,

I'm going to Seoul from the 6th-10th of Oct... Got some questions to ask. Hope someone can help...

1) It's supposed to be Autumn time. Is there anywhere within Seoul city itself where you can see Autumn leaves? We don't have a chance to go to Mt Sorak so would love to find out if there was such scenery in Seoul itself.

2) I thought Myeongdong, Dongdaemun and Namdaemun open till very late at night (ie. 3am)? How come the shops were closing at 10pm? Or am I wrong?

3) Do we have to pay for rides in Lotte World? Is it included in the entrance fee?

4) What time does the sky turn dark now?

5) Is there anywhere where we can try their traditional clothes and take photos? And do we have to pay?

yypp

Hi Psyduckie,

Can i know how much you paid for your package? How many days?
Are the meals and hotel provided by hong thai good? how much you spend there?
i am planning for a trip to korea on f&e but my hubby prefer tour. so now still considering whether package or f&e...if package will be considering the package from hong thai cos heard they do quite good korea tour.
but on the whole is it too rushing?
how much tips do you have to give at the end of the trip?
erm..how much is your sha bubu and sulphur duck?
Sorry for asking so many questions....

sinkor

Hi Psyduckie,

In fact, i didnt go to some of the tourist attraction before. Most of the time, I will stay in Seoul or the most went to Gangwon or Pusan for 1 or 2 days only. Ya, from the itinerary offered by the tour package, most of them are similar and I didnt try tour package before.
Now my aim is go to DMZ but no chance leh but no one company me
haha....
If talking about attractions in korea outside usual tourist attraction, i feel that their "attractions" is their culture and lifestyle! If you have a chance, go and try to have a 100% F&E which I believe is more fun :p
I went to Korea alot of time in F&E style (bcos in-law stay there mah), dunno y, still like there very much! haha....

Hi Kat,
during autumn time, not necessary must go to Mt Sorak to see the leaves..... think namsan park and watever park can see liao! even when u are on the way to Yongin Everland, the road side have tons of tree with Autumn leaves! so not to worry!

As for Myeongdong & Namdaemum, they closed by 9-10pm. For Dongdaemun, is open from late nite to early morning. Please note that Dongdaemum is closed on Monday....

For Lotte World, u have to depend on the tickets u buying..... can check out there. If u have korean friend there, they can have certain discount using their certain local credit card.

hmm..... sky turn dark.... sorry i cant advise bcos i went to korea before is end oct or during winter time...

Traditional clothes i also no idea. Think someone there who go by tour package can advise you.

ahjo77

Hi Everyone

I am planning to go Korea for honeymoon in first week of Nov..but was wondering if it would be end of authum and not much things to do there ...

IS nov still in their authum or winter ?

bel_yeo

Thanks, sinkor! Those i listed are what CTC provided. Btw, they only include Everland Admission ticket. For the ride, we got to pay by per ride or Big3 or Big5? How much huh? What rides are must try for family (including a 7 yrs old)? Thanks. Ohh... I am going during X'mas period.

sharky

Thanks Sinkor! You've been really helpful...

Btw, is there anyone who's there right now? Can help me check the exchange rate for TWD to Korean Won there?

rastpiggy

hi psyduck,

wow...thanks for giving so many info here. btw, how much u spent for ur 8days trip in korea, cos i have no idea how much to bring there.
how's the shopping there? any sales on? sorry for asking so many question.

sinkor

Hi AhJo77,

If begining of Nov, still consider Autumn bah...last year i went on end oct (30/10) to early november.... so still consider autumn...

Hi Bel,
wow! so CTC provided to go Ocean Castle? Is it new itinerary??? didnt heard b4 leh..... so when u go there and must come back tell me how it is...
As for Big3 or Big5, really have to depend on your timing.... if whole day, no harm take Big5 to have more rides... as for rides, i not sure leh as i played those happening one...dunno kids can or not. :p so u going during xmas.... thats great! but remember Yongin Everland is outdoor theme park, so wear more....

Kat,
for exchange rate, can go to korea bank checking. Korean dun have money changer one.... they only can exchange in bank... and the rates not that good.... but for TWD to WON, i not sure the rate is good or not.

hi sinkor

See you here again... hee...
I'm going to your husband-land for my Honeymoon leh...

Just booked a package with SA Tours at $1699 (inclusive taxes) 8Days + Jeju. Very expensive hor? My friends told me i can go to Japan at this price liao...so sad...

psyduck

Hi YyPp

My package after $200 discount for 1st pax and $100 for 2nd pax was came to avg of $1515 each. We leave on Sat night/ SUnday early morning and leave korea on the following Sat evening at 6. but heard the korean airline may be changing the flight time back to singapore to noon time. so you maybe left with less time in korea on the last day.

I personally think the meals are pretty ok except for one chinese dinner and breakfast which was as usual not too good overseas. the places we go to eat think basically cater to tour groups. you can see lots of other tour groups coming and going at those places. if you are getting any souvinors, you can easily find them outside the eating place. they will be stationed there to wait for u. The hotels are pretty good but they may not be always centrally located if you are thinking of doing some touring around on your own at night especially when you are in Yongpyong, Hanwah and Sheraton.

Personally, i don't find it too rushing but of course at certain places the tour guide could have given us more time and at times the tour can be made more compact. most of the times we will end the day pretty early with dinner around 7+ and after that would be free and easy. We also usually wake up at 7+ and assemble at around 8. If you are thinking of doing lots of shopping, you may want to consider extending your stay so that you can shop all you want.

The tips is standard for Hong Thai. For this 8 days trip is 40,000 won per pax, about S$67. The sabu sabu cost 11,000 won, about S$18 and the sulphur duck 13,000 won, about S$20. it's your choice whether you want to go for these additional meals together.

Kat,

The leaves are starting to change color at lots of places. but of course the scenery at some places will be better than the others.

With regards to the rides in Lotte world you can check the pricing on its website. think they will have passess that allow you unlimited rides. personally, i think everland is more beautiful as it is mainly outdoor and lotte world is mainly an indoor theme park. but the characters in Lotte world is cuter. go register with the korean tourism organisation website. think got discount coupons for admission tickets to somne of the theme parks.

The sky starts to turn dark at 6+. by 7 would be dark already. We did wear the traditional costume at the kimchi school where we learn how to make kimchi. at Incheon airport departure area, there are counters for you to wear a traditional costume to take picture free of charge i think.

Sinko, next time i will at least try some free and easy time. especially the shopping n mayb theme parks. always can't see the night time performance at theme parks during in the tour package cos always have to leave early. hmm.. experience lifestyle and culture would be fun. time to start saving up for future trips.

Bel, you can go check up the websites of the theme parks. it will give you an idea of the prices and also you can see wat rides there are. they will also advise what rides or show would be good for family to enjoy.

Rachel,
I almost spent all the S$500 worth of wons which i brought there. cos spent a lot on buying gifts and also the additional meals and cable car ride. also spend the extra S$ i brought there cause brought an amethyst neckace for my gf.

The shopping there is ok but not cheap. the clothes are good for slim girls. did not see any sale over there but there may b this week cos they are expecting lots of tourists mainly from china.

ahjo77

Which travel agency provide good itnerary for korea tour ..currently mi looking at hongthai, ASA, Five Stars, New shan package...so far all going to everland except for ASA which go to both but lotte world is admission tickets niah...
Out of the above mentioned ...New shan seems more economy

Sinkor :

Which agency u jion last year ?