Korea

linda

Hi val,

Dampening? hahahah...me used to it liao lor... He busy busy all the time...Wedding he came back from Saudi one week before hand okie?

I want to go see snow hopefully when I go (shld be first week of Dec) it will snow. U think it will? U going last week Dec? My hubby was there last year slightly before CNY, he says it snowed so heavily that his plane was the last to land...those flights after his have to go to other airports. And he can't walk in the streets cos too cold.... But I think maybe not used to it as he often in meetings so never walk a lot out on the streets. Should be fine to have snow fluttering down on you. I so hope that it will snow when I am there
I think I will jump around like monkey there! ^_* So EXCITED

I saw from the NET several places of interests all markets markets one can go via subway! So interesting. If you going later than me then me can come back and tell you all abt it.....

Thanks for typing the itinerary. Will look forward to it.
Meanwhile, it is back to look at papers and deciding how to go.....Sigh....

val

Hi Linda,

U must be very independent hor...I think me rely on my FH for a lot of decisions..hehe

Yup me going either last week of Dec...I dunno whether first week will snow anot...can chk with your agent lor Yah if I see snow I will also be very excited but dunno got strength to jump anot cos too freezy liao...wat I'm afraid is that the weather is too cold u end up feeling like you dun wish to go anywhere except stay in the room then it'll be too wasted liao..

So must rmb to tell me which place more fun and where got cheap bargains when you come back hor...

halo

anyone going Korea in 13Jan'03? looking for kakis here leh...anyone joining the same tour?.juz book my package with ChanBrothers yesterday.

pimply

The person I spoke with over the phone at Farmosa wasn't very helpful. It's by Thai airways, tha's why it's cheap. Heard there'll be a transit, so a bit troublesome. As for the @nights stay in HK, it'll be at some OOOluuu hotel.

I checked with focal travel.. I think it's about 1288. About 8 days tours including 2nights in HK.

rain

Hi,I'm going Korea on 2nd Dec.I signed the winter skiing package with City99 tours at $1328 for 6D4N.They are clever to use the scenes from popular korean dramas as selling points and that's why I took up.
Quite silly hor.Dun know if I've a chance to see snow or not,coz my colleagues say it's very unlikely.sigh...

may

hi all..i got my korea package from focal too at $1388 ( exclud $76tax) will be goin from 14-22 Dec
it's Best of Korea 8D/ 6N (includ Ski)
here's the places covered:
Seoul
Pusan-Dragon Head Mountain
Kyongju- Pulguska Temple
Cheju Island ( Honeymoon island)
Mysterious Road
Kyongbok Palace
National Museum
Blue House
Everland
Mt Sorak National Park
Ski Resort
Shinhengsa Temple
Namdaemum Market
Lotte World

Is my package overpriced? One thing, it covers 3 domestic flights and 6 hotels stay' and 90% of meals. I m thinking of bargaining it down as it seems there are cheaper packges around ( though they dun seem to cover Everland and Lotte World together). Do you think it's possible to bargain down the package price after paying a deposit?
anyone have such experiences?

linda

Hi <FONT COLOR="119911">Val</FONT>,
Independant??? No lah! I very 'teh' my hubby one...Sometimes I hang on to him like a koala bear and he will tell me the 'tree' is elsewhere.... But what to do? He busy mah.....
My date in going is not fixed yet, now that boss is not going overseas...might postpone it to end Dec *_^ see how.... Hubby suggest that we stay in with his associate there.
Then can experience true life in Korea.....

Hi <FONT COLOR="0000ff">Pimply</FONT>,
I called Newly Tours and they quoted me $1488 for the same thing over the Hari Raya long weekend in Dec.... Makes me think if it is worth it going over in the peak period...what you think?

Hi <FONT COLOR="ffff00">Rain</FONT>
Dec normally not much snow but according to hubby's associates there, he says this year weather a bit erratic and it is getting cold there so might snow early...hopefully we get to see snow
I told hubby that I am excited already...thinking of what to wear there....kekekekekke

Hi <FONT COLOR="ff0000">May</FONT>
Not sure abt the price...but from what I gathered $1388 is not too ex. How many days of F&amp;E does your tour involve? I think too much of tour-guided is boring.....and they bring us to all TOO 'touristy' places. I read that there is a big good market to shop...
And intend to take their public transport there...can experience it ourselves... Why not find out how much is the entrance fees to Lotte World and Everland?

linda

Just found,

Lotte World entrance fees is 23,000 won.
Everland is 26,000 won. All are for Full day all rides pass.

pimply

Haro,

actually chanbrothers and SA UIC have not too bad deals as well. It's 1388 for 8 days including two days HK.

For us, we're very HK "siao", so die-die must have HK in the package.Hee...

I checked with city99 but find them a bit too ex. And I ever booked a tour to Thailand with city99 last year. No offence here but majority of the people in my tour group were either chinese nationals or Malaysians. Quite different frequency..

may

hi pimply, hav u booked your package with SA or chanbros?

For me, I 've been to HK with my hubby, so we are looking for "pure" Korea trip
Focal have packages includ Thailand or Korea at lower prices too..

aquarius_888

Hi May

I juz came back from a 7days 5nights Korea trip and I think I paid $1107 inclusive of all airport tax (sin, korea international and domestic). We went to Cheju, Pusan and Seoul and I must say that we really enjoyed ourselves a lot as SA Tour Guide is good and we had a good foreign tour guide too.
I think the package will be more expensive now becos of the school holidays.

hf

Hi aquarius 888

So how is the weather at Seoul now? Me also going to Korea in Dec (first week). Can share your experience?

Me first time going to winter, very excited.

aquarius_888

Hi HF

The season now is autumn to winter and when I was there the temperature can go as low as -2. So winter should be way much colder. As I went to a few places, there will be a change in the temperature. Some of the places are not as cold but Seoul is much colder than the rest.

Think you should prepare gloves, thermal wear (dunno spelling right or not :p) and thick winter clothings.

I enjoyed myself a lot and if you have the chance, visit their hotspring. Very shiok!

linda

Hi Aquarius888,

Did you take the subway train there in Korea? U have a map or something which I could borrow? Have decided to do a DIY Korea trip myself for the 3 days my hubby has to attend meetings....

aquarius_888

hi Linda

No leh cos ours is a guided tour and we dun even have the time to go around on our own. Not too sure about the subways but I do know that sometimes you can find maps in shopping centres like Shinsegei (chinese read xing1 shi4 jie4)

And also the tour guide advised that the taxis there like to practise our singapore 'share-a-cab' so dun be surprise if you take a cab and find them stopping halfway to ask other people where they going cos he can earn more this way.

besse

hi gals...

need to check, is it easy to get around on our own via public transport in korea? was thinking total f&amp;e trip ... wat abt accomodations.. anyone can help??

Thanks in adv

sweetcorn

Aquarius888, where is the hotspring located? You went yourself or it was part of the itineary by the agent?

How long did you take for your hotspring and is it separate man and woman?

aquarius_888

hi sweetcorn

The hotspring we went to is very near to mt sorak. Can't remember the name but it's part of the itineary.

We were there for about 2 - 2 1/2 hrs. Men and Women separated but of course cannot wear anything when you go in to the hotspring. At first most of the tour members all paiseh
but when you go in and see all the naked women, you juz dun care liao.

linda

Hi aquarius

Really??? Yee...so dangerous if I am alone then...what if the cab driver pick someone else up and it is a bad guy???? That's why I prefer to take the subway no matter where I go and it is such a good way to migle with the locals there.

I read from the net that most major sightseeing places are near subway stations that's y I decided to go along with hubby while he is there on business. Then i shop till I drop lor...kekekekek

aquarius_888

Hi Linda

Oh no... your hubby gonna burn a bit hole in his pocket. kekeke

Not too sure of the subway cos I think the station names are all in Korean wordings?

sweetcorn

hi aquarius_888, so yours was in the tour pkg. Mine is not going to Mt Sorak, maybe thatz why don't have hot spring.

Anyway, me also don't know if I dare to go hot spring. If go with friend, weird and pai seh to see other others. Kekeke. I'm going with FH, then he will be in male and me alone in female, lagi boring. Though the thots is fresh. He He.

linda

Hi Aquarius,

My hubby burn a hole???? heheheh...I only use his credit card but I pay for the bills leh.... Hopefully he will give me some "makan money" hehehehehhe

Subway names in Korean but is all colour coded. The names is of english alphabets mah.....

Wow! So by the time Jan got Snow?

aquarius_888

Hi Linda

I see I see!
Think if there are english alphabets then should be quite safe. I think snow should be about Dec onwards till Jan so if lucky still can see snow

I think he will sure give you 'makan money' but food in Korea quite expensive though.

green

Hi Linda

So you won't be joining tour right?

Is Korea an easy place to walk around free and easy? Though got communication prob, but is it ok?

Me thinking whether join short tour, then extend on our own or what....also tempted to join SA Winter Sonata tour....

Last one, why tour usually no SQ flight one???

joanne

hi linda and sweetcorn
which day are both of u going??? and which travel agency did u sign up??
mine was on 1st jan 03. it is with SA(UIC) tour

regd
joanne

val

Hi ladees,

Me finally booked to go Korea for honeymoon liao!!! Hurray at least settle down another thing liao...Departing on 3 Jan 03...anyone same day as me?

sweetcorn

congrats, Val! finally sette your honeymoon, can concentrate on other things liao. which tour gp are u with? how many days and cover where?

hi Linda, Joanne, mine is with Chans, departing on 8 Jan. Anybody in this tour gp??? Ya boy, heard that the tempature a bit siao siao recently, can go down to -10 or now. aiyo, what did you gals prepare?

sharon

Me also going to Korea, heard that the weather is very coooold. Better equipped yrself with lots of warm clothing. Is there anyone departing on 27/12 with SA tours? I am pretty excited to my departure and will be staying 1 n 1/2 days at yong pyong resort where winter sonata is flimed.

joanne

actually i heard from the agency that in jan.. it might not be snowing... cos it started to snow early this yr.. early by a month.. so will end early as well.. i really pray hard i can see snow.

anyone knows how much should we bring along with us so that it is enough for food.. and etc..

anyway i yet to prepare.. will only prepare when my wedding is over..

regd
joanne

val

Hi sweetcorn,

Yah at least now can put my mind on something else now. I'm with City99...it's a 8 days (6 nites) tour, covers Carribean Bay, Lotte World, Mt Sorak, Yong Pyong Resort (2 nites stay), 1 nite stay at Sheraton Walker hotel (or resort I can't rmb), honey bee show and stuff...the rest I can't quite rmb...cos dun have to package with me at hand. Actually there's another package for 6D4N but I thot was too short and only 1/2 day stay at the ski resort so I took this...abit far from my wedding day but quite ok with me lah...

I haven prepare anything yet..but I did request the agency to let me have the list of things required..hmm...must bring long john..lipbalm, babyoil, hmm..leave-on conditioner? heard your hair will be quite dry over there...

joanne, is it true? Not snowing in Jan? Oh gosh I hope the snow will wait for me....

crayon2512

Hi Val
I went for the City99 package too the last time when I went Korea. Their package is quite good. Have they confirm your tour yet? As they operate alone, normally wil require certain no. of people then can start tour. Did u get your package at $1388?
For Sheraton Walker hotel, its a 5-star hotel..and they have casino there. I went in Jan last time..its very cold.You have to remember to bring thick clothings,scarves and gloves.At the carribean bay, they have a hot spring in the out air..u need to bear with the cold and walk over..
I am sure u will enjoy your stay in Korea. Did your package consist of water pia?

val

Hi crayon2512,

Oh glad to hear that!!! I'm looking forward to the trip. Yes the tour is confirmed...and booked them at 1388 excl taxes. Ya waterpia also incl (plus those Big 5 tickets). Me also going in Jan...Did you see snow last yr? Are there any chances for shopping at the end of the day? Me &amp; hubby like to go shopping leh but heard my colleague say by the time the tour end for the day, the shops normally close liao...

For the hotspring, got unisex one issit? if not my hubby and I will be separated like so boring...and after immersing in the hot spring, do we have to take a bath there? Or we can go back to hotel then bath? I wld prefer the latter leh...and oh ya normally the ppl there wear those normal swimsuits or those bikini type?

Just side-tracked abit...Are you the one living at Bt. Panjang?

kkot

I went on a DIY trip - 9 days in total - last Oct. It was fun! I think those who are adventurous shd try DIY. Taking the subway is easy, at least not too problem for me. The station names are in english. Communication would be more problematic. It's really fun and challenging! Took the Thai air, and had to stopover at 2 countries - Bangkok and Hong Kong. Came back only had 1 stopover @ Bangkok...

crayon2512

Hi Val,
Yup. I am the one staying in BP..send some posting at Senja forum.

Carribean bay is somethin like Jurong East swimming slides.(near chinese garden one)
The one at the carribean bay is unisex..u soak in with your swimsuit on...they have toilet there for you to change..but quite pai seh..coz the gals wil just strip naked and walked around..i find quite embarassing..their toilet is okay..got hairdryer and free towels.

For the water pia.i think..their jacuzzi separate the guys from gals. They have many types of jaccuzzi pool for you to choose : mineral salts, different temp..at least 38-40 deg onwards. Waterpia got lots of sprinkling water for massage purpose. For shopping, they wil bring u to those black market shops to buy nike,DKNY, LV etc..and we went to Namdaemun for shopping..they got lots of shops.

Dun worry, the guide will give u time to shop. They wil also bring u to Ginseng shop..to ka u..my korean colleague told me these shops sell the ginseng more ex..can get cheaper elsewhere. I only buy ginseng sweets and soap. =)

I went that time..no snow..all the snow had become ice..

crayon2512

Another thing 2 add on,muz try their ginseng chicken and their BBQ..yum yum.Also their pear juice...very soothing for the throat..

Take note: The Koreans are rather rude..coz they will just bump into you without apologizing.even though they are in the wrong be it guys or gals.
We had experienced it b4.

aquarius_888

Hi crayon

Agree with you on the part where you mentioned that the Koreans are rude. It seems like even though there's sufficient space for them to pass through, they choose to knock into you.

val

Hi crayon2512,

The toilet in the carribean bay got no cubicles to change meh? How come they strip in front of you? Is it near to hotel? Can we choose to walk back to hotel to change?

Huh at waterpia will be separated? Like very sian leh like that...Hmm..glad to hear got some shopping...Tat time you go got summer clothes to shop for? Namdaemun u go during your free time after the tour? Wat time the whole day tour normally ends? The lady at City99 say our hotel is not very near (10 mins taxi ride prob). Cos we also wan to do our own shopping. Erm...wat is the nightlife in korea like during winter...shops norm close at wat time?

Yah yah I know tat time I went HK they also bring us to those jewellery shop ask us to buy but we not interested so din get any..then the tour guide like abit unhappy...hehe is it very paiseh to not get anything? cos if we know definitely very ex then why wanna waste $$.

Huh snow become ice liao? Oh no...I wanna see snow leh.. Linda, can update us when snowing starts? Normally last how long huh?

crayon2512

Hi Val,
The toilet got cubicles and curtain to cover. Think they are just used to it...walking naked..coz all women. U can old, young women doing that. Think can walk to the hotel - mount sorak. where u wil sleep on the floor..like japanese style..or on the bed. They have warmer under the flooring. We din sleep on the floor..too hard...we slept on bed..warm the blanket (by putting it on the floor) then sleep.if not,bed too cold.

For waterpia,..2 types of jacuzzi, one- only ladies, the other- mixed. I went for the mixed..coz not used to naked.Nothin much to buy there..coz all winter clothes.I went with the tour..they brought us go shopping. I bought all the accessories like shoes, bag, souvenir..but no clothes. We din go out at nite..for shopping.coz things not very cheap there. They wil bring us to Hard Rock Cafe.

Yup. We din get to see falling snow...someone in our grp even joked abt it..saying they will scrap the ice and throw it over us..and make it like falling snow. Can see snow at the skiing place..but not falling type.

sweetcorn

Hi Val, yours seems interesting huh. Covers Carribean Bay, Mt Sorak, mine didn't. Yours got go cheju?

I also keen to shop but heard things there are very expensive! My tour pkg also didn't inlude tour to dongdamun, guess have to arrange ourselves on our free day.

You are departing on 3 Jan right? Maybe we may see each other there huh! I'm departing 8 Jan. Aiyah, can't ask u for tips liao...

omega

just some info for those of you who are going to korea since i just came back last thursday. The weather is getting colder earlier. No rain for the 8 days we were there (went on the SA Tours' winter sonata). It snow on 2 days we were there... light snow though. But along rural roads, you are starting to be able to see trees covering slowly with snow. Quite nice though i think it will be even nicer in december when everything will be covered with snow.

If you go to yong pyong ski resort, and go to the mountain peak, that place is covered with snow last week and snowing. very cold place as its 1450m above sea level. On the whole, its a great trip... weather was pretty good considering we managed catch some snow in november time.

if you want to know the weather forecast, check weather.yahoo.com, its pretty accurate.

have a nice trip

val

Hi crayon2512,

Wah gd idea abt the warming of blankets on the floor but after some time it will become cold again isn't it? Oh..I still thot dun wan to waste the night time mah...can go outside to walk and shop...

sweetcorn,
erm..I'm not very sure abt Cheju...dun have my itinery with me at the moment..you have one free day by yourself? I think mine only half a day leh...aiya if not near shopping area then very sian still have to take cab. Yah I will be departing on 3 Jan and returning to S'pore on 10 Jan..but not likely to see each other lah...cos I dun even recognise you...I was thinking if we are in the same tour then gd lor hor..Hmm..my sis going to Korea this weekend...when she returns I'll provide more tips that she gave me lor...

Thanks Omega, huh so gd at least u manage to see snowing...I think by the time I go there stop snowing liao...a little disappointing...

Erm..gals who've been there...can let us know which are the popular shopping centres/areas so that we can make a trip there if we are nearby? Dunno whether there are subway to take nearby my hotel...can experience also mah...

crayon2512

Hi Val
After warming the blanket,can sleep liao...won't be cold coz got body heat.There is nothin 2 walk and shop..coz no shops.

The meals they serve maybe buffet..but the food quite cold..not hot at all...when u r there, u wil get wat i mean.

Enjoy ur trip!!

val

Thanks crayon2512. Hmm...I think I kinda know...Korean food like kimchi is served cold...maybe I might not be very use to it...cos I like food pimpling hot...

sunshinznana

Hi Sweetcorn
This is the first time I post any message here but have been reading most of the posted notes here all these while. I juz booked the Chan Brothers' 8day Korea Ski package departing on 8 Jan03. Going for the predeparture briefing at Fook Hai on 30Dec. Will you be there? See you ard. Guess we hv to start guessing who's who..heehee

may

hi all! I juz came back from my 8D/6N trip from KOrea on Sunday. IT was fun!! I saw snow for the first time. Just to share some tips for you guys:

1) When you go to Cheju island, they will bring you to a folk village where a korean native woman will narrate in korean the features of their folk homes. She is very interesting but towards the end of the folk trip, she will "sell" her honey at 25000 won per bottle after an entertaining prsentation. I believe her honey is good stuff but you might regret if you buy cos you can find the same thing at shops outside at lower prices.

2) Same goes for the ginseng shops. They claim to have 6-yr ginseng products you can't find elsewhere. But you can still buy those at airports etc at lower prices too.

3) Everland was fun, try the Snow Buster &amp; suspended coasters! TRy viking at Lotteworld!

4) Shopping areas and what is worth buying:

a) MyDong- Color Lip glosses at 700 won each! Get it at Cosmetic Shops. They give out free shampoo / cotton wool samples for any purchase. The Body Shop there is slightly cheaper than spore. They have international brands there like Nike, Espirit etc.

b) Dongdamun- Go to Doota! A big shopping centre with 10 flrs of shopping and each flr sell different things, like bags for 1 flr and women clothing another flr. Each flr got >20 shops. Diamante Hair accessories there are interesting and cheaper than in spore. You can try bargaining there too, abt 10% off is reasonable. Their prices are quite reasonable. Oh yes, you can get metal chopsticks there at a bargain too, 2 packs for 5000won ( 10pairs altogether).

c) Namdamun- like flea market, sells a lot of sundries. Old women abound there with stacks of notes as they prey at tourists who need forex exchange.

5) SNow!!- try snow skiing, very fun! I went to Daemyung Resort and stayed in a chalet -style room with kitchen &amp; cooking utensils all provided. Went to supermart and cooked our own dinner ( dumplings and ramen noodles) very fun!

6)Mysterious Road- see how come water can trickle up-slope at this interesting rd.

7) Dragon Rock at Cheju ISland- very windy! nearly got blew off by the winds, so exciting!

8) Songsan Sunrise Peak- beautiful volcanic crater &amp; scenary, can try horse-riding if u r lucky!

9)Cheju Island- sashimi feast for only S$45. Fresh, live seafood. Eat wriggling octopus and jumping prawns at the restaurant near the big tidal beaches.

10) Mt Sorak- beautiful snow scenes come alive! try throwing snow balls!

ok, that's all for now. Oh yes, their food is good, free flow of meat, vegetables, kimchi, noodles or rice, lotsa variety and nutrition...
they serve plain water at every restaurant with tissue box too. Their stone rice is yummy! (something like claypot rice in spore but better)

enjoy urselves guys!

oh yes, try the toilets at Incheon Airport! they got advanced plastic covers on their toilet seats which you can press a button for a fresh sheet b4 u use the bowl. so cool! also got etiquette bell- sounds of flushing to cover farting/shitting sounds.. heheh.

joanne

hi may
glad that u enjoyed ur trip.. i am looking forward to mine which is next wed.
did u happen to see snow falling from the sky?? did u bring any camera there?? what kind of camera did u bring?? did u wear contact lenses?? any thing i should watch out for ?? sorry so many questions for u ... i am really nervous.. as it is my first time going to a winter country..
thanks in advance

regd
joanne