Korea

crys

Anyone been to Korea? I'm catching the Autumn of Korea this September (8-Day), and if anyone have any advice for me of this country, appreciated!

cooljet

We are also considering Korea in December, understand it's winter, anyone has any advice?

adeline

Hi, I'm also going to Korea end of Sept.
Heard that weather is pretty cooling around 15 - 20 degree celcius or so.
As 1 - 3 October is a major holiday in Korea, I worried many places will be closed. So still trying to check out what places of interests are still opened.
But I think if you are going on a group tour, they should have it all plan out.
I'm going DIY
Can check out this site :
www.knto.or.kr/english/index.html

sunny

Hi adeline

i will be coming back on the 1st Oct n me will be going with tour group. hmm..looks like it is going to be pretty cooling.

ahgirl

Hi Adeline

I am also going to a DIY tour - going to Seoul and Cheju-Do. How many days do you plan to stay there? Which airline are you using? Are you getting a goodwill guide to show you around?

adeline

Hi Ahgirl,
I'm going for about 8 days too. will probably juz travel around Seoul , thou very tempted to visit Cheju-do as well.
Have tried to book Asiana, but the seats are so hot!! So I'm using Thai Air instead
I have a few friends there so hopefully they will be free to show me around then.
When are you going?

ahgirl

Hi Adeline

I'm travelling on Thai Air as well, though there are stopovers but it is much cheaper than Asiana, Korean Air and SIA. I am going in mid Oct. Have u planned your itinerary already? If yes, care to share?

adeline

Hi Ahgirl,
what a coincidence!!

Actually right now I don't have a planned itinerary as I will decide with my friends when I reach there.
But here are some places, I will want to visit :
Lotte World
Yongin Everland
Namdaemum Market/ Namson Mt / Seoul Tower
Korean Folk Village
Some Palaces
actually wanted to visit Mt Sorak, but was advised against due to Chuseok; think not very convenient then.
heard cheju do might get windier than Seoul so get prepared since it's near sea.
Do share with me your plans too.

ahgirl

Hi Adeline

What is chuseok?

I plan to visit those place you mentioned. Hey, finally found someone who is interested in visiting the Korean Folk Village, I hope to visit there as well

I am still thinking whether to go Soraksan but the journey looks kinda fair and I think it is not worthwhile to travel by plane to Soraksan.

Anyway, I will visit the palaces such as kyungbokkung, musuems, Itaewon, Kangnam area and perhaps the Olympic Park.

I have contact the goodwill guides and hopefully they can help me plan a little. Where will you be staying? My accomodation in Seoul is not confirmed yet.

adeline

Hi Ahgirl,
Chuseok is Korea's National holiday from Oct 1 - 3 something like our Chinese New Year combined with Qing Ming. So many shops / attractions will be closed then.

If you want to go Mt Sorak, can also take bus - journey abt 4 hrs. If u want more info, I can email u.

Btw, which dates are you going ? I have some events info which is after Chuseok, maybe you can check them out but think they are out of Seoul. Can email you also, if its convenient.

I don't have a confirmed accomdation yet still waiting for my frien to check it out for me. will be 4 of us, so my fren suggested that we book a apartment instead.

yen

Hi danser,

I am planning going to Korea end of Nov or early of Dec. Which travel agent you go for? How about your tour? 7 or 8 days? include ski?

Yen

danser

Hi Adeline,

Thanks, received the e-mail.

Hi Yen,

The travel agent is Newly Tours. It's 6 days 5 nites plus 2 nites in HongKong. It incl skiing.

danser

Hi Kiki,

The airline is Cathy Pacific (CX). Will go HK later -- while on way back to S'pore.

ahgirl

It's a good time to go to Seoul now...the weather is cooling. Unexpectedly, Cheju-do weather is hotter than in Seoul.

claire

hi. anyone been to korea? thinking of going in sept. any advice on places of interest? heard dat the shopping is great there...care to share? thanks

sunny

hi claire,
i went to korea last sept for my honeymoon
nice place to go n yes the shopping is great. there is this big shopping mall filled with goodies. only thing is that they dun have fitting room. can shop for other items such as bags (lots of them !!), shoes n accessories
i think the place is call "Dong Ta Meng" (in mandarin). i book with Genting Holidays and their charges are very reasonable compared to other agency and service provided was good too.

claire

hi sunny, how's the weather over there in sept? it's autumn right...how's the view? i always tik dat it will be romantic wif those leaves...hee.

is there any prob wif the transport? cos am thinking of extending a few days to shop ard. i understand dat language's a barrier.

lotus4

Claire,

How many days you go??
How much you pay for the package??

Lotus4

claire

hi lotus4, i've not booked yet. not sure whether to wait for the travel fair...tik there shd be one coming up in june rt? how abt u?

blueskye

Anyone knows what season is it for Korea end Feb? We are planning to go there for honeymoon and our wedding is on 22 Feb 2003.

bb

Hi blueskye,
End Feb should be towards the end of winter. Pretty cold.

maybride

Went Korea early last Oct and it was in fact a bit early for Autumn. To catch those nice Autumn scenery, you should go in late Oct...

I heard Feb would be cold, probably close to zero degrees but the nice thing is...you will see snow falling from the sky

No problem on transport. Their subway system is quite easy to use. Language is the main barrier.

cold

I thinking of goin to Korea on 1 oct is it wise to go on that day?

Im a person who cannot stand cold anyone can advise how is the weather during 1 oct - 9 oct wat is the temperature???

N is it a peck period on that mth ???

jojo

Hi Cold...I went to Korea last year for my honeymoon...went there in Dec and it was brrrr brrr cold...
In fact, the first day there was kind of unbearable...but subsequently, once the body got adjusted, we kinda enjoyed the temperature...
Cold cold...in fact, we experienced -17 degrees Celsius...very shiok...

Meanwhile, have fun deciding.

cold

hi Jo Jo,

Do u have any idea of the weather during oct period ??

And where are the place of interest... ?

Im a person who loves shopping any place to introduce ??

ling

I went to Korea during this year's new year. it was freezing cold. Went with ananda package 8 days.

The food is ok only. The ski is too short. There is nothing much in Lotte world . if you have been to first world in genting highlands, it is something like this but bigger and more things. Everland is a must . also u can request for the hot spring (OUr group did not go there)

If you are going for shopping . you can go to nan ta meng (Namdaemum Market, Dongdaemum.) At night, the dongdaemun is very happening. You can buy a lots of accessories there. (set up stores)

For skiing , so tour groups is 5 hours some is 3 hours. so depend on your liking .

There are some other places that we went to but I can't remember the name.

Enjoy your trip.

kkot

Hi Cold

I went to Korea in mid Oct last year...it was kinda early to see the autumn leaves then. Late Oct would be just nice. The weather is cool - not too cold in the day (perhaps 22-27 degrees) but definitely colder in the night. This year, no public holiday falls on 1 Oct, so no need to worry. Hope this helps.

cold

Hi kkot,

Thanks for your infor. But i intend to go on 1 oct dun know is wat season and the weather? U may fine me asking abt the weather more often cos im a person who very scare cold !!!
Dun wan to go there and fall sick ...

And can recommend where are the places that are fun and romantic..
(since u had went there before).

And which agency shld i go for ??

Thanks very much

thedevil

cold, are u planning to go just Korea alone? actually i plan to go both korea n Japan in a single trip....but difficult to find an agency tt offers this arrangement...anyone can gif advise as what i can do?

kkot

Hi Cold

Oct is actually autumn, temperature wise is like being in an aircon room but with sunshine above you. Its not that cold compare to Korea's Winter. Pple in Korea are reasonably well-dressed especially the ladies. It's normal to see men walking around in suits too. So it's okay for you to wrap yourself up with clothes when you are there.

A bit tough if you ask me where is romantic...I merely walk ard on my own cos I was on a free and easy trip with my husband. I went to a number of places using their subway. It was fun. Their subway network is far more advanced than Singapore's. You may wish to go to Mount Sorak - heard it is nice. I did not go cos it takes 5 hrs to travel there from Seoul.

As mine was free and easy, I bought the air ticket from a travel agent and book my accomodation thru the net. You can get travel info from the KNTO (Korea National Travel Organisation. There are KNTO branches at major tourist spots such as Dongdaemun, Nandaemun, Cityhall Subway Station, Jong-gu. The staff are friendly and best of all, they speak English. Most koreans do not understand English including some hotel receptionists!

BTW, KNTO has a branch in Singapore too...at Clifford Centre.

kathleen

hi. my fren & i are keen to go korea for a few days just to do shopping. any idea which are the places i should go? i would like to get clothes, bags, shoes at reasonable prices

jojo

Hi Kat...we went to "Namdaemun"....apparently...they have more shops there that sell things we want than "Dongdaemun"...Not sure if I got the order right...but I went last year during Dec and didn't get an opportunity to shop since it was all winter wear.
Go check out from KNTO...
And ya...kkot is right....the Koreans have limited English capacity and all over Korea...there isn't a signboard with English words...so it is better if you checked out the places you want to visit over the web first.

I went to Mount Sorak...very scenic and definitely worth going.

Hope I have been able to help.

kkot

Yup, Namdaemun and DOngdaemun are places for shopping. Those are the 2 biggest shopping areas in Seoul. LOTS of clothes, bags and shoes but somehow, I find that Korean fashion is different from Singapore. They are more formal.

jojo

Hi Kkot...I agree with you totally. Even the ladies there dress up to go to the market....in high heels and LV....I told my hubby I felt like an "ah soh" compared to them. They are immaculately dressed and groomed.
Their fashion is more for office wear and work wear. Of course they have casual wear as well...

Kat...have fun shopping!!!

jojo

Cold...so sorry, I missed out your question. Not too sure what the temperature is like in Oct...but when I went in mid Dec, it was really cold....first day I was there, it was -11 Degrees Celsius. If you are afraid of the cold, then you may want to check out the internet for weather forecast. I think it should be Autumn and would feel as if you were in an air-conditioned room.

If you are really scared of the cold, then Dec is a no-no period...cos the wind is really bone-chilling.

may

oh gosh I am very afraid of cold and have booked my trip for mid dec. how???? Can give me good advice to stay warm and healthy? my package includes 3 domestic flights and 6 hotel stays.. scared I fall sick after these travelling... I m lookin fwd to seeing snow for the first time though..Can i chk with Ling how much is your package of 8D with ananda? dunno if my package is overpriced? mine is $1388.

pimply

I'm also thinking of going korea in december. I checked out one agency, Farmosa, it's offering only 1088 for 8 days Korea/HK. Do you all think its a good deal?

Btw, any idea which hotels are good? good shopping in korea??

linda

Hi pimply
Is there still space available? We want to go korea too and hubby will be there earlier than me for a biz trip and his associates will show us around....But I prefer DIY....However I called several agencies, they are fully booked. Air flights alone cost $900+ for Korean Air and Asiana. TG with an hour stop over in BKK cost $585 exclu tax.... So much diff!

Your Korea/HK trip sounds fun and $1088 sounds reasonable. So far, I read that Korea has good shopping. But Dec is winter so fashion prob diff with ours.

Wanna talk more abt it?
email me at [email protected]

val

Hi pimply and Linda,

Me also planning to go Korea in Dec leh...Pimply your package is 8D/6N issit? Travel by which airline? Does it include skiing? Can list down the places they offer anot?

Yesterday I went to a travel agency in People's Park Complex who told me they specialise in Korea tour he really gave us a very good intro and description to us abt Korea...unlike the other agents jus push the leaflet to us to read...maybe when u list down I can help u with wat he highlighted to us? Linda, the agent told me for winter if we want to shop can prob jus go for the shoes and bags lor...

linda

HI Val,

Great! Thanks for the offer. May I know which agency have you gone to? My hubby is too busy to go with me and I need to sort these myself.

I read the Net several places to go. I especially like market markets...Not really into shopping malls. Yah, I hear there are many bags and shoes there.

I am excited abt the weather, wonder if Dec would be REALLY cold?

If you go to www.chanbrothers.com they have a list of several tours there, you can look see look see. You may want to share the itinerary u have.

val

Hi Linda,

huh that's very dampening right? Tat time my FH even ask me to buy the dining table myself also...I got so mad..where got like that wan...maybe guys are like that lor...the travel agency I also ying ying push him to go with me one...Erm..I can't remember the name liao City99 or something...it's at the basement...They have two outlets side by side each other (separated by a walking lane) If you want, can ask for him lor..He is call leong something...I think they call him leong...in fact while in the shop there's one lady who's actully his customer to collect her tix but since he's attending to us he apologise to that lady and ask his colleague to talk to her....and another instance is his colleague put a paste-it note on his table saying they receive a call from a customer asking him to wait for him as they are coming.....I think maybe he has got a personal touch in his service that's why people are asking for him erm...btw, that was the 1st time I met him so not really got commission or wat just felt that his service needs to be commended..

The weather for Korea during Dec - Feb is within -15 degrees to 15 degree...and coldest I think is end Dec, Jan...I'd be going during that coldest period...gee....me very scare cold hehe

I do not have the itinery with me...it's at home...I type it out on Tues, can? Cos me only access internet during working days...Hurray Mon holiday....can go and look see look see again...if got gd offers must tell me ok?

Wah me very long-winded