Korea

michell

jasminetea: ok...will bring anything there lah juz in case..
i think i bring along some biscuits too coz im choosy person in eating..my hubby told me Korean foods not nice, cold + spicy.. i have gastric, how can empty stomach go eat such cold + spicy foods? aiyah....sianz ah!

knowing: hehe...bring along own foods like biscuits, chocolate lor...juz in case if really cant eat their foods, juz eat tibits lor..wat to do?? i heard my tour guide told me they will bring us to eat steam boat wor...but not sure is the the same like joanne tried? got live animals!!

toblerone

Hi Jasminetea!

thanks for your response!

we went for our honeymoon last year Nov , this is our 2nd honeymoon.....hehehe.......actually wanted to wait till December and see snow....but wanted to catch the Spring time too, kind of indecisive:p Oh...got to see our budget too, my hubby has been nagging at me...cos' got to save up for housing reno and such

Oh...yeah, they do set a standard for the tipping. The last trip i went with them also like that.

Maybe we will try to book at the coming Natas fair with SA too, seems like their package are quite okay.

Me wanted to go Cheju too! i heard from my honeymoon friends that the scenery there are good as well, and it's known as honeymoon island

Yap Yap!! Pls share with me more on the itenary, thanks!

i am not very particular about food, so it should be quite alright for me, anyway just a week or so, right? I misses S'pore foodie too when i am in NZ, so come back put on weight....
imagine the food there are so meaty and i can't find a decent fried noodles:p

have a good day at work! cheers!

jasminetea

Hi Toblerone,

No problem!

Spring time is also a very nice time to visit Korea except no snow. But admitted that it was indeeda great experience to see snow
But then it was too cold too. Spring time weather may be more comfortable too.

Wow, so good to go on your 2nd honeymoon.
I'm also intending to plan one end of this year
But of coz, got to save up lor. Hey, I do intend to go NZ for my 2nd honeymoon... Hee maybe u can share me info on tt country??

Agreed that you should visit Cheju Island. It is very nice. Love the waterfall!

Enjoy your work too! Cheers~

toblerone

Hi Jasminetea!

actually 2nd honeymooon is just another way to phrase "i need another break from work"
actually wanted to pamper myself abit before saving up for housing and all the heavy burdens to come.......

I am most willing to share with you about NZ!
You really got to go with your hubby once again for honeymooon, the sceneries are spectaculars and very very pretty!
I went with SA too, so maybe u can look for them again this time round. of course if u and your hubby want to F&E, also pretty easy to travel around in NZ.

My recommendation is if u got time for only 1 island, go for the South island of NZ, u dun get to see those sceneries else where on this planet
we just love the place and dun want to go back to S'pore.......hehehehe.....

Alot of honeymooners opt to go NZ, as compare to Europe. Expenses are high but still okay, but u will definitely find the trip worthwhile.

Best time to go is Spring and Summer. I went during the Spring time and daylight is long, and weather is cooling, and quite cold. I wear 2 pieces with jacket. The wind is strong. Temp. around 9 degrees in Christchurch and get colder if u move to Glacier area.

North is around 14degree in Spring, also cooling. It is warmer at the north side.

Summer is a good time, long daylight and temperature is just right for travelling too. Their summer is not hot and heaty type.

I would say if u are looking into 10 days in NZ, a package would be 2.5k plus, and if u are not those who buy and spend alot, average 3.5k per person would be more than enough.

Let me know what u wish to know about NZ, i can share more with you

jasminetea

Hi Toblerone,

NZ was also my one of my choices for honeymoon. But as compared the price and expenses, we decided to opt for Korea finally.

Hey, do you think we can share more details via email on either Korea or NZ? My email address is [email protected]

Hope to hear from you.

Cheers~

toblerone

Hi Jasminetea

i just sent u an email!

hope to hear more from you too!

i agree the prices and expense as compare, nz is more expensive, but certainly worth the money spend, trust me.

aquarius_888

Hi Jasminetea

Your tour guide sounds like mine leh
You can still remember her name?

Hi toblerone

Korea is definitely worth visiting!

aquarius_888

Hi Joanne

Both our korean tour guide is Bonnie and think Jasmine has another korean tour guide by name of Joyce.

BTW I saw your photos and they seemed exactly like the place we went. The seafood, the warm chalet etc

jasminetea

Hi Joanne,

Yup, Aquarius is right
My tour guide is Joyce who is a Korean. She studied in Taiwan before thus her Mandarin is very very good.

gracian

hi, thinking of going to korea during oct03. any pointers to note? anyone been to korea during oct, pls share your experience with me.

btw, which travel agency is good? heard horror stories of certain agencies.

michell

try Wingo Travel Agencies... not bad.

i went Korea on Feb... their service not bad. the tour guide is a Korean guy but he can speak Mandarin very well.......

cubby

hi karyinn,

i just went to korea early march this year. they had a long winter this year so its still snowing when i was there. we even had a chance to try skiing. me and my FH had a great time at korea!! thou its abit short...6D4N.

it is not advisable to go for free and easy in korea unless u have frens in korea who can take u around. most tour agency do not have free and easy packages as well due to language differences.

hope the info helps!

karyinn

Hi Cubby,

Last Dec, i went for the winter tour by SA. It's really fun.. I want to go again, but i don't want to go those wonderland.
I want to go for the two shopping area and the ski resort that's all :p

dawn

hi karyinn,

i went free n easy with my hubby last oct. he was there for biz trip n so we have to book our own hotel when we extend. the hotels waere really expensive.

language i dun think it's too much of a problem. some of the restaurants has staff who speaks mandarin. (immigrants from china) the transport wise, should take the train 'cos it is really cheap ! i can't remember how much but both my hubby n i feel the rides are both comfortable n cheap. the seats r in velvet type unlike singapore.

as for shopping, i prefer namdamun (spelling wrong i think) than dongdaemun (spelling oso wrong).but if u go winter, there is nothing to buy. when i was there, it is already autumn n so there is no summer clothes for me to buy. but still managed to find a store clearing summer clothes which is really cheap.

gracian

anyone thinking of korea in oct?? Chan brothers and SA tour are promoting korea tours.

hubby is worried about tour agency cancelling tour as min 10pax is not met. anyone has this unfortunate experience before?

melly

hi. we r planning to go korea next mth to catch the maple leaves. wil be going on a grp tour. can anyone share roughly how much i shd bring for moderate shopping spree there? we dun ve much shopping time though since there's no free & easy day, so guess there's only a couple of hrs for shopping b4 the tour guide brings us elsewhere. & howz the food & weather in sept? cooling i suppose, so wld juz a sweater do?

gracian

hi melly

you joining the tour with SA? we are also considering them, hoepfully can book with them later.

do share your experience with me after your trip. we are planing to depart on 9th oct.

if you or hubby like Fila products, everland if the place to buy them. cheap and stylish. my fren tot that can get cheaper in other place...so disappointed. she also suggested that one bring enough cash, cos that will be lots of stuff to buy and can't charge to credits. she went to korea about 3 years ago, maybe things changed but please please share your experience with me...

thanks thanks. enjoy your trip!

melly

hi gracian, yup, i've bked wif SA. we've changed our date to 17oct supposedly the best time 2 catch maple leaves (crossing fingers). hee...guess u gotta share wif me ur xperience now. did u bk wif SA too? how many days? we took the 7D one.

hi gakusei, i tik it shd b summer, might b a bit warm??

karyinn

I went to Korea Last Dec.
You can bring along Singapore dollars.. the tour guide will change with you :>..
And yes, alot of stuff to buy. Remember to try the pancake selling along the street. It nice.. coated with Brown sugar :>... the lady even give me addition ..

melly

hi karyinn, did u join the tour or free n easy?

i m going on a grp tour & mine's bringing us to dongdaemum & shincon fashion street for shopping only. so i wan 2 noe wat wld i miss in nandaemum & myongdong. wat diff pdts r there bet nandaemum & dongdaemum?

karyinn

I join SA(UIC)... i think for Korea tour, SA(UIC) is the best.
I have colleages signed with Chan Brother, Annada, Commonwealth... compare to their, our is the best ;)...
Nadaemum and dongdamun is just opposite if i am not wrong.
This two long street is enough to shop liao.. no need to go other places

karyinn

i didn't go to shincon fashion street .. no time.. but i am going to Korea again next april.. will conquer those places i didn't go :>

stitchstitch

Hi Karyinn,

Yours the winter sonata package or winterland package? I am asking for friend who's interested in either one of these packages.

How was the other places like everland and lotte world?

As for the ski lesson - how do they conduct it ...in groups or ??? How long is the lesson?

Sorry to ask so many questions...thanks...

karyinn

Mine is winter Sonata Package.
It's a wonderful tour.. the only thing is .. everyday not enough sleep

Everland and Lottle world is very nice.
For Lottle world i didn't get the chance to see and try the game because is 1 jan. many ppl..

As for the ski lesson, the tour guide will conduct in a group.. is very easy.. as long as is SAFETY no 1
...the lesson just 15 min lor..
That time our group have around 40+ ppl..very big group

Pray hard you will get the same korea tour guide as ours. He sang very nice winter sonata song
...and is a very very responsible tour guide..
The UIC tour guide is "lousy"...

stitchstitch

Thanks Karyinn!

No worries about the sleeping time - she's okay with 4-5 hrs sleep! I'll relay the message to her, thanks for replying to the queries.

gracian

hi melly

mmm... i will be share my korea trip, departing on 9th oct and arriving 14th oct.

did you extend 1 day in seoul? tot that the autumn trail is 6D?

karyinn, can ask how much Won you brought to korea? thanks

melly

hi gracian, we took the 7D discovery tour (cheju+seoul). did u bk wif SA too? i was pretty worried when i read in some other threads abt bad xperiences wif SA but now am quite relieved after reading karyinn's feedback. we intended to extend 1 or 2days to do some shoppg @ 1st but the htl stay+air tixs r pretti ex, so we decided not to

karyinn

I brought along XXX won = S$500 (forgot how much in won)^^
and bring along S$300 cash ...

That time when i went, the korea tour guide really sooooo nice.
There's a girl injured her leg during sking.. she hospitalise for one day. This Korea Tour guide.. company her the whole night.
And he carry her whenever we went thou. The girl said she would like to stay at hotel until the day come back to SIngapore. But the Korea Tour Guide insist to bring her along.. because she have paid for the trip.. he must bring her along.
Nice right..
He carry her up down restaurant. Updown Bus.. updown itenary. Until the last second day.. the tour guide said.. lucky you all are going back tommorow.. orelse he will collapse hehe ...:p too tire lor...

karyinn

melly,

It will be good if you can manage to extend one day.
Because i VEryyyyyyyyyyyyyy regret never extend. Seoul is such a nice place :>

melly

hi karyinn, i m cross'g my fingers...hope i wil get ur tour guide
my parents' one was so gross (not wif SA). he wld bring them to the tourist spots & disappear for a long time...even went salon to shampoo & set his hair!

we calculated the cost of xtension...was really ex & the sales staff too discourage us to xtend. per nite htl stay is $300, air tix for one pax $150. per nite xtension for two wld b $600. wow!

we r bring'g S$700 & 've changed $700 into won. shd b enuff for shoppg yah? anyway dun tik we've much shoppg time too rt?

karyinn

huh $300.. geezeeeee .. which agency?
You can take the 8 days with one day free and easy in Seoul ah...
That time we caculate 7 and 8 days just $95 different!

kohtan

Hi Karyinn, what is your tour guide name? I just came back from Korea in July and my tour guide is very nice too. He also sang very nice winter sonata song. He would try to bring us to as many places as possible within the time limit
His name is Novel. Yours?

chemson

Hey kohtan,

Forgot to ask you.. the tour agency u booked with.. do they have other Korean tours that dun bring you to the drama serials places... you know lah.. my hubby dun watch these serials... and dun want him to get bored..

gracian

hi melly

i tot that you booked the same package as me, 6D autumn trail. i think SA should be ok... have not seen any bad comments(mayb i have not been surfing SB for long time).

karyinn, dun know how much won to bring. hubby a bit "miao". anyway our fren gave us some won for our wedding dinner(instead of S$), about S$200 worth of won. we are worried that it will be very confusing as there are so many zeros...

i heard from frens that it is better to extend another day in seoul, lots of places to see and shopping. mayb next time...

stitchstitch

Another question from my friend ....

Are there any optional tours (agency SX)?

She wants to get the KRW prepared in case ...

karyinn

hi KohTan...
My tour guide name is Novel :D too.
we have the same tour guide!! heheh
He is very nice right :>...
Is the photographer Eric??

Hi Gracian,

I think you bring along $300 worth won money enough liao...Bring along S$300 .. if u need more then .. just change with the tour guide

And yes... Soeul have sooooooooo many places to see.. just the two street of shopping will shop till you drop.. try the hair salon there :> should be good

Hi Sally,

I don't get what you mean leh ??

melly

hi karyinn, we bked wif SAtours. it's pretti ex tis yr compared to previous yrs i guess cos my sis had the same package as me but she paid only $828 abt 2yrs ago at the travel fair. i paid $1128 for 7D, $1238 wld b for 8D, wif one free day @ cheju not seoul, datz why i din take dat, plus there's no mt sorak in the 8D one.

hi gracian, we bked @ the SA travel fair. there's no 6D autumn trail then leh. does urs include cheju?? how much u paid for urs? saw in the ad yesterday it's only $888! feel so cheated leh...i paid so much more for juz one more day.

stitchstitch

Hi Karyinn,

For example, sometimes the tour guides might arrange for some optional local tours at your own expense - which are out of the package. She was told there will not be any optional tours but optional meals so she wanna check if the info given to her is correct ... because some agencies ...well ... in order to make the package $ look attractive, omitted these optional tours in the tour description ..

Sorry for bugging you with so many questions .... thanks...

Sally

karyinn

Hi Sally,

Usually, when you go by tour.. you won't have time to go for optional tour leh. That time i went with SA.. everyday have 5 hrs sleep only. My hubby end up fall sick at the last 2nd day due to lack of sleep hehee... Because he is "SLEEP GOD" :p..
If a agency told you can op for optional tour when you reach there.. i think the chances is VERY VEYR SLIM.. unless you don't want to go with the group on this day and go out yourself.
But i think not advisable lor.

In our group, there are a few girls went out themselves at night when we were in seoul. They went out for night shopping and supper. And the Korea tour guide got give them information how to go and how to come back.. but didn't bring them out lor. Because he is not suppose to do so.
What kindof optional tour you want to go.
Don't worry, i always likes to answer questions :>

Hi melly,

Yours is expensive i guess is because you going to Cheju. Going Cheju have to take domestic flight.. that's why expensive :>..
Next April i am going Korea again.. but don't think will go Cheju. Because i have many other places want to conquer :p

kohtan

Hi Chemson

My tour agency is City99. Understand from the tour guide that if you book through City99 or SATours, you will likey end up with their local agency which from my experience (as well as Karyinn I assume) the tour guide is very good and very responsible.

Don't worry about the drama serials places, 'cos it's the scenery you are looking out for. For me, I only watched Winter Sonata and my FH didn't watch any single Korean serials before, but we enjoyed our tour very much (except for the bad weather lah).

kohtan

Hi karyinn

Just as suspected, we have the same tour guide
He's the best tour guide I ever had. When I showed my Korea trip photos to my bro and my friends, they were envious. They didn't enjoy their Korean trip the last time they went there, 'cos their tour guide brought them to eat miserable same food everyday and they have to top up a lot of money to enjoy some services like hot spring, shop for branded goods etc. They were simply sick of Korean food and dare not wish go back there again. But I enjoyed it so much and I find the food very nice. I think it's all thanks to Novel
'cos sometimes we told him that we would like to try Gingseng Chicken again, he will arrange for us again