knowing

Hi jasminetea

i am going on Feb 15
but i haven't booked yet

novlkf22

hi joanne and jasminetea

thanx for your valuable advice on the camera and many more. will bring my normal camera and i'm currently sourcing for a digital one. still dunno whether to buy the canon s45 or nikon 4300.

initially i am still wondering if i am too kiasu to bring along so much thick winter clothing. but not after reading your postings. cos' i also very scared of cold...

joanne

hi knowing
i think they will only go to Enxi's house if u did not manage to go the lamp post (the meeting place for the 2 casts from the winter sonata..)
cos it was snowing heavily when i was there.. and traffic is really bad.. so they change our iternary to Enxi's house.

hi nov
i think u just need to bring alot one thick jacket... then a few sweater, 2 sets of thermal wear... remember your ski gloves and winter cap. that;s should be enough... as u won;t have a chance to sweat.

regd
joanne

novlkf22

hi michell

will be bringing a digital camera and a normal compact camera plus xtra batteries. the batteries, like what joanne and jasminetea had said earlier will go flat pretty fast outdoor.

joanne

thanx 4 ur advice. this is exactly what i'm thinking of: 1 jkt, 2 to 3 sweater, 2 sets thermal wear. dun think will buy much things from Korea heard that the things are quite x there...

knowing

Hi joanne
my hubby dun feel like going Korea after his colleagues telling him hw cold the weather is after they came bk fm there

he is worried we cannot take the cold
moreover i have been sick since the past few days...

so do u think with those long johns etc is enough to prevent us fm getting cold or nt?

michell

Joanne: thks 4 ur adv! will keep myself prepare everything b4 go there, if not freeze till cant walk...
ok ok...will make sure put wet towel everywhere if can..
oh yes, i bring 1 sweather only leh, enough or not ah? is everything in Korea very exp? nothing worth to buy meh??

Jasminetea: thks 4 ur adv too! emm....im thinking of whether wan to wear the long john(leg) or not, coz i scare hot....but my flight is nite 1 wor...
aiyah, dun know lah...at that time c how lor..
im taking korean air too.....feel better after wat u said, not bad...hehe...

novlkf: yeah..i'll bring normal camera there, but bring more battery lor..as wat they said, battery run down so fast....err.....3 enough or not ah??

knowing: have u book ur ticket?

jasminetea

U are welcome
My flight was also at night
Anyway it is up to u lah. If u feel more comfortable wearing long john, do go ahead.

Admitted that stuff over at Korea are expensive. For me, I didn't buy much things also. Mostly are souvenirs for friends and relatives only.

But one thing tt is quite worth buying (to me lah) are the hair accessories. They are so nice and there are so many choices! It is not very expensive as compared to SIN
But due to time constraints, I only managed to buy 2 pcs only.

neon

would like to ask those more experienced ones, how would the weather be like in June, july, august season?

Thinking of making a trip there durin the period and so planning ahead...

possible to do a totally free and easy trip?

If so, how to book the hotel accommdation and stuff? can we like just book thru tour agency the accommdation, without the daily itinery?

thanx

michell

Jasminetea: thks! emm..im long hair, can buy many many hair accesories liao...hehe...

Knowing: sure will update u....but why u haven book yet?

joanne

hi michell
i think better bring along more than 1 sweater.. on the day tat it was -22degree celsius, i wore 2 sweater...but it is still very cold.
ya, the hair pins are really nice...but i only brought the winter sonata 's necklace and keychains. other than that, if u want to buy ginseng, do prepare more money... theirs is the 6 yrs ginseng... not like the normal ones..dun know how true lah... other than that... i think try not to shop on the first few days.. cos i heard from my tour guide the last day they will bring us to a place where u can buy all the things u can bring home.... my hubby and i bough a lot of sea weed..., crackers and biscuit.
they have one kind of biscuit which had gluttony rice and peanut as the filling... it is very nice... go ahead and buy.. not too ex as well.

by the way, u need any film?? i bought too many films, if u want i can sell u cheaply. outside selling $4++, how about i sell u at $4??i got about 10 with me.

knowing,
it is really up to u ... to me it is a good experience. my hubby really dun like it the first few days, he was so quiet due to the cold...he told me he is too cold to speak. (he wore lesser than me..) after the 3rd day, i encourage him to wear the scarf and the hat.. then he got no choice but to wear.. u know guys always want to prove that they are tough.

let me see whether i can download some pic to show u ..

regd
joanne

michell

hi joanne,

wow!!! the scenery soooo nice!!! feel wan to run to there now!
hehe...u & ur hubby so cute leh in korean costume! hehe...
have to pay or not for the costume? rent?

ok ok....will go buy more sweather...for my hubby hor, he also wan to pretend very "man", no need to wear so many clothes, but after i tell him all the incidents that u all told me.. haha...he a bit worry liao.....

film? ok...wats brand u have? u have 10 rolls ah?
so many leh........ 400 speed or??

dun mind e-mail me at [email protected] ?

joanne

hi michell
the film i have is from kodak ISO400. if u want to buy lesser than that, no prob.
btw for the costume, it is free of charge.. as long as u eat in that restaurant.
try to download a few more scenery for u
which ski resort are u staying in??

regd
joanne

15578.jpg

joanne

this is the seafood dinner we had... my hubby and i simply hated it.. cos most of them are live sea animals.. which mean they are still alive .. look at the the plate with the octopus.. its legs are still moving although they have cut it up

15579.jpg

joanne

saw the white thing on my hubby's jacket?? it s the snow..
cannot really see the the falling snow from this uploaded pic. this is everland where we saw heavy snowfall

15596.jpg

knowing

Hi joanne
Thanks for sharing w us yr wonderful winter photos in korea
me feel like going nw ha ha
but my plan may be change due to budget problem
n nt sure if my hubby can tahan the cold or nt
cos we 2 v scared of cold one
i will try to convince him

Hi michelle
rem to wear more clothings huh

michell

hi joanne,

wow! ur pixs sooo nice!
when c the snow more exciting!!! eee....but the seafood there i think i wont dare to eat....how ah? do they have others foods to order besides these seafoods??? i hate leh...
i told my hubby liao about the film, maybe we take 5-6 rolls, any discount? discount some for me lah can??
i wanna c more pixs leh..can e-mail me at [email protected] ??

knowing: hi hi....go & book ur tour lah...dun wait liao....when c all these pixs u not exciting meh??
bring more clothes lor......i will bring more more........hehe......

joanne

this is one of the hotels that we stayed ,we dun really sleep on bed but mattress on the floor.. believe it or not the floor are all heated up...so u will feel warm sitting or standing on the floor itself
15692.jpg

knowing

Hi Joanne
DId u go to Carribean Bay
is it a place worth going

Hi Michelle
will try to persuade my hubby to go
so did u check w yr agent for the resort stay
will u stay w another couple in a resort
or u have yr own hotel room?

michell

Joanne: Im staying at Sorak Hanwha Resort & Ski Resort...do u went there b4? how is the environment there?

knowing: im staying at Sorak Hanwha Resort & Ski Resort lor.....dun know how is it look like..
Oh yes, im also staying at New Rasung Hotel..
heard b4?
i chk with them last time, they said we have our own room which 1 couples 1 room lor.......

joanne

hi knowing
in fact i chose to opt out the carribean bay... cos wanted to enjoy the ride in Everland.. but i regretted.. cos heard from my friend carribean bay is not cold as i thot it would.. it is rather cosy.... and there is this ginseng bath which u should go for it.... all the water are heated up to about 30degrees.. so not cold at all... it is really a break from the cold weather outside.

hi michell ,
i did not go to Sorak.. mine is with Yong Pyong... heard that YOng Pyong is better...
ya the other thing.. u got to get use to the room condition over there - whichever hotel u are with... u can hear alot of noise one...be it from the floor above urs or the toilet... it will all make alot of noise... so dun worry....
although some hotel are haunted... but til now as i heard from my tour guide, nothing ever happen...
regd
joanne

novlkf22

hi michell

sorry for the late reply. i think 3 batteries enough lah because when u change one, u put the other in your pocket to keep it warm and then reuse it again when the one in the camera runs low.

joanne

do u hv to share room with other tour mates at Yong pyong? cos' i hv to share with another 2 persons.

michell

hi joanne,

u meant got this hot shower bath at everland? nearby which entrance?
huh? haunted!!!
oh my god! after heard wat u said, i really scare when i reach there i cant sleep.......
im very sensitive person, while my hubby is an easy sleep person......
how lah...

hi novlkf,

its ok..
i had decide bring 3 batteries there & bring 5 rolls film speed 400 ....think should be enough kua???
oh yes, ur tour guide did tell u have to share room with 2 other persons meh?

joanne

hi nov
i need not share rooms with any body thoughout my trip...

hi michell,
not really shower, but swimming pool.. something like the sunway lagoon in malaysia.. except the water is warm... and there is sauna there as well... and the ginseng bath.
i think no need to worry about that thing lah... just dun be over sensitive... i think sorak dun have lah....
but really all the rooms we went to have a lot of noises... but not from those things... but their "noise filtering" system no good..

regd
joanne

michell

hi joanne

glad heard u said all voices came frm "human & system sounds", if not i think i'll crazy there!

knowing

Hi Michelle
same as u i v scared of Ghosts one
my hubby also v easily fall asleep one

HI Joanne
the hotels got TV or nt
i like to on TV whole nite thru during hotel stay one leh

throughout the trip, do u go to hot springs where hubby & u cannot be in the same place one?
I going w hubby only so worry if i have to be at one place alone & he in another :p

joanne

hi knowing
there are TV there.. but most channels are korean shows.. except there is this "star world" from the cable vision over there... i watch it almost every night.

i did not go to the hotsprings... heard the outdoor hotspring is not open during winter..only the indoor one is open.
dun know how true.

the other thing... u wont be left alone without ur hubby lah... not a chance .. unless u are doing skiing.. he ski here u ski there loh...
regd
joanne

toblerone

1) any idea if it's a good time to visit Korea in April?

2) can anyone tell me which is a better agency doing tour to Korea?

3) how much do we need for 1 person for expense in Korea, say about 6 days tour?

4) what is the best buy there for gifts or soverniors?

i am thinking of booking the tour in NATAS 2003 held in march, would it be too late?

thanks in advance!

jasminetea

Hi Toblerone,

1) April is Spring time
Accordingly to my tour guide, it is a very beautiful season. Should be a good time to visit Korea.

2) I feel that SA tours is good as I had booked mine with them. I feel that their package is very comprehensive.

3) As our tour package is guided tour, most of our meals are included in the package. Total, my hubby and I spent $1.2k which includes all gifts for friends and relatives, some snacks and drinks in between and all other expenses.

4) Dongdanum got a lot of souvenirs but tt's the only shopping centre I went, so I really dunno whether tt is the best place to buy souvenirs or gifts.

Hope the above helps.

toblerone

Hi JasmineTea,

thank u so much for the fast response

u went with SA? when? is it Fun & Lovely trip?
sorry for asking so many question :p

So April is Spring! Wow....then should be able to see many flowers blooming......

How's the tour guide for the Korea tour? is it from SA itself?do they expect any tips from you?
i heard tipping is a must.

i think 1.2k is quite reasonable, right?
May i know what's the normal meals they provide?

Hey, your clear explaination really helps! thanks!!!

knowing

Hi Joanne
Thanks for ur info
Lookin fwd to my korea trip
hopefully the group will confirm go
cos till nw nt 10 pax yet
tt's y i haven't booked

michell

knowing: i heard my colleagues told me the hot spring got such place u mentioned, guy 1 side & gal 1 side...coz all have to naked mah..so separate lor....eee.....pai seh leh!!! dun know they got any couples room or not leh hor? if not alone very sianz lah...and seeing all stranger without clothes...feel damn "weird"!

joanne: oh yes, wanna ask u 1 Q, do we have to pay tips to the tour guide? how much have to pay?
its depends on ourself or they fix the price?

jasminetea

Hi Toblerone,

Mine was a really enjoyable and fun trip. Everything was very smooth for us too.

The tour guide is not from SA. She is a Korean who can speaks very well Mandarin. She is from a tour agency from Korea itself. Yes, tipping is complusory. SA tours has already given us a list of tips we had to pay before we go on the trip.

Well, for the meals, they bring to us to quite a few varity from Chinese to Korea to Western and even Seafood. But their style of cooking is different from us. So u may or may not like the food there.

For hotspring, there is no couple room at all. All ladies and men are separated. The feeling is very weird. But once you are there, you will feel different

knowing

Hi Michelle
Yahloh especially we only go w hubby will be v sian if have to go to different hot springs rite

Hi Jasminetea
Which pkg u took fm SA UIC
Winter Sonota one?
so in the hotspring have to go alone ah

toblerone

hi JasmineTea,

Happy to hear u enjoyed yourself so much

is it your honeymoon?

So how much do we need to cater for the tipping?
can u let me know, thanks!

my last trip to NZ need to do tipping too, but they did not told us before hand, so did not exchange enough for cash.

May i know how u feel about the food there? is it delicious?

michell

hi ,

jasminetea:
ok ok......then must try the diff..
facing all stranger without clothing..really weird! especially alone....

about the foods, did they bring us to eat some live seafoods? if we wan to eat cook 1 how ah?
if cant accept the live 1, no need to eat lor in Korea?? then i must bring instant mee cup there liao..

oh yes, tipping around how much ah?

knowing: yalor...feel very sianz alone in hot spring...maybe we can try to know some gals there lor b4 go to hot spring....so at least got friend mah...but still feel strange leh..u look at me, i look at u....EEEEEEEEEEE YAK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
do u like to eat Korean foods? myself i hate! now i worry is the foods there...i scare i cant accept the foods there, die liao! must be hunger till siao!!! i hate to eat live foods....!!

jasminetea

Knowing,

My package with SA Tours was the 8 Days Korea Discovery.

Toblerone,

Yup, it was my honeymoon trip.
For my case, the total amount of tipping was USD40 per person. This includes tipping for tour leader, tour guide and driver.

Well, basically I'm not a very fussy eater.
So I did manage to eat the food there. But then, to be frank, it is not as tasty as in Singapore. In fact, I quite missed the food here when I was there. haaa.. I didn't eat much there, just enough to fill my stomach. As I went in Winter time, cold weather makes one feel hungry easily, so have to eat lah.

Michelle,

I don't eat live seafood either.
That time, when we went to eat seafood, there was a steamboat besides for us to cook. The Korean eat most seafood live, but for us, we cooked everything before we eat. Did you booked with SA tours as well? If you did, I'm quite sure they will bring you to eat cooked food most of the time. We only went to eat seafood once in my 8 days.

Michelle and Knowing,

Let me share a bit more abt Hot Spring
To admit, I wasn't feel great abt Hot Spring before I went. The day before I was still debating whether I should go or not.

But the tour guide insisted tt we try it out lor 'cos it is something which cannot be find in SIN and somemore included in our package.

So I got to give myself a lot of encouragement to go haaa.. Anyway, in the end, I went. Most of my tour members are also couples. So somehow at Hot Spring, most of us (the ladies) would group together and chit chat at the Hot Spring.

No doubt, it feels weird. But surprisely, down there, no one will stare at you at all. Some Singaporeans would wrap themselves with towels and in fact, by doing so it is even more eye catching.

The end result was Hot Spring was really relaxing and comfortable. Made your skin really smooth.
That was really a big experience for me.

michell

hi jasminetea,

thks 4 sharing so many experience with us......
ok...will try to relax myself 1st b4 go in the hot spring.....hehe....
do we have to pay in hot spring? like massage or?
oh, i never sign with SA lah...i sign package with Wingo Travel..i think u never heard it b4 lor.. i'll ask them whether they bring us eat live/cook foods.......if live, i kick them!

jasminetea

For our package with SA tours, we don't have to pay for Hot Spring itself. But if we want additional service like scrubing and massage, got to pay. I don't know how much though 'cos I didn't go for that.
Actually not enough time for that too in our case.

But for your package, not sure if the Hot Spring expenses is covered? U may want to check it up first. I heard from my tour guide that it is rather expensive if we were to pay by ourselves.

michell

hi jasminetea,

ok..will ask them..but if im not wrong, they did cover the hot spring except the other services..
not sure yet..will call them up & chk again...
so we have to bring along swimming suit there or juz short pants only? and we have to bring along own tower , shampoo and etc etc?

jasminetea

Swimming suit is only needed if u wish to swim. For hot spring itself, there is no need for swimming suit or even short pants. U will change out everything at the locker before u go into the Hot Spring.

They do provide towels there for you to use, but if u wish u can bring ur own one.. But shampoo, facial cleanser etc, you hv to bring it in as u will need to shower first before you can come out of the hot spring.

Very difficult to imagine right? We were all very blur too when we were there.

Cheers~

toblerone

Hi Jasminetea,

once again, thank u so much for the details

hey, the USD40 per person for the tipping seems alot, make sure the tourguide, tour leader and bus driver must provide good service huh.....hehehe.......

how much did u pay for the package for 8 days discovery in Korea?

we wanted to go for a 5 days or 6 days in April cos' not much leaves to take. Do u think it is possible to see much in such a short while?

Can u share your itenary with me? thanks!!!!

knowing

Hi jasminetea & Michelle

I v choosy abt food & i dun think i like korean food cos most of them spicy

hopefully can get to know some gals over the trip
so can go hot spring together..

so far the date i am going SA doesn't have 10 pax yet nt sure they will confirm going or nt

there's one trip by Focal travel to korea n stop over at HK after korea
but then the resort stay is share w another couple one...
anyone try Focal before?

wow the tipping charges alot huh
if both of us means US$80 loh

jasminetea

Hi Toblerone,

Ya, agreed that the tipping is quite alot. But that was the "standard" set by them. The tour guide will asked tt amount from you. For our case, the service tendered was good except for the tour leader whom we find him a bit blur and bo chap type. But we are thankful tt the whole trip is smooth

My package was $1,318 exclude taxes. We booked our at the NATAS travel fair in Sep 02.

Hmm.. 6 days trip is okay, but I think it may not covered Cheju Island, the Honeymooner Island? Both my hubby and I like Cheju Island very much as we find it very peaceful.

Will share with you my itineary tomorrow as I do not hv it with me now.

Are you going for your honeymoon?