Korea

rayrachel

Hi ladies.. i think it depends on who u travel with...

Did the frens whom encourages u to change to USD travel F&E or with tour???

I think that makes a diff...

Although I've only been to Korea once... we really didnt have to spend anything at all.. coz all entrance fees are paid by the tour guide.... and the only things we paid were for the souvenirs at the road sides... so USD is not needed..... but i think the exchange rate may be better if we can pay in USD at some places.. we didnt ask..and most of our tour people also paid in KRW..

You can bring some spares though...

Oh one thing.. we realised the rate at Seoul Airport is much better than Spore's rate.. we changed ours at 1:750 in spore.. i think it was like 1:760 at Seoul Airport.. minimal difference.... but if u want to, u can change some here..and some there...

rayrachel

Hi Princess..
I guess its subjective.. my fren who went loved their food..they are veggie lovers...
Both my HB and me are meat lovers.. so it was rather pathetic.. we had veggies and related food every day.. not to mention... Kimchi is never missing..

You can check out my honeymoon pics if u are interested..

PM me for the link..

We took almost every meal's food.. but we are from ASA Tour...so if u are on another tour or going F&E, it may be different kind of food..

lsling

Hi Annabella,

I intend only change abt 300 USD, partly for tour tipping and also due to poor USD rate now unlike Korean rate now.

I will heed Rachel's advise, change more Korean won for expenses instead.

rayrachel

Lynn> I've sent u the link..there're 1000++ photos.. so.. u just screen through la... for food.. u can see a few in the midst... lunch and dinner.. breakfast we took also... most of the days...

Ours was 7days in Korea.. it was ending of summer.. so weather was very much like in Spore..

Whats the current korea rate??

annabella

Hi Lynn,
Me too, I intend to change abt the same amount. My friend told me koreans also like to accept USD too, so for tipping, can give in USD, for some entry to visiting side/rides and some shopping, can also give in USD. And USD is more attractive than Korean rate, not sure if it's as attractive now. I just sign up with Wingo last sat(per my friend recommendation), going on the 26Dec and back on 2Jan. How abt u? when's yr travel date?

Hi Rachel,
Can I have a look at yr photo? [email protected]

lsling

Hi Rachel,
1 Sgd = abt 780 Won
Is the rate attractive? I haven't change yet, wondering will it get better?

Annabelle,
Me leaving 28th Dec & back 4th Jan, ASA holidays

lsling

Annabelle,

Have u prepared your winter stuffs or still sourcing?

Should u get better currency, can let me noe?
1 Sgd = 780 Won
1 Usd = 1.48 Sgd

rayrachel

Annabella> Mmm..if u are going by tour..by right u dun have to pay for any entrance fees...coz its all covered by the tour package...but it depends again how much u paid... we paid $1268 for 8days Seoul + Jeju... but it was more like 7 days there.. we took the flight on the 1st day 10pm...by the time reach korea already considered 2nd day..so i'll take it as 7 full days there..

have sent u the link..

Lynn> wah..thats good rate loh... my time was 1:750 only..cool....

annabella

Hi Lynn,
I haven't prepare my winter stuff yet. I intend to borrow my sis clothing. I haven't enquire abt the exchange rate, will do so when the date draws near. okie, will update you again.

Hi Rach,
Yup, mostly will be covered in the package, but we have one cable ride not covered in the package. And only if weather condition permits,then we will paid for the rides.

bluegal

Hi Lynn,
My departure and arrival date is the same as yours but i am with Hong Thai.

Now there's winter sale at Winning, i bought most of my stuffs there, you can go and take a look. http://www.winningmktg.com. I bought the 100% Pure Soft Wool long john, one good thing is they don't sell in sets, thus you can buy the tops and bottoms in different sizes whichever matches your body. Go to the Queenstown branch, it carries most of the stocks.

As for the exchange rate, heard chinatown or mustafa gives better rate. You may like to compare before you make your decision on where to change.

lsling

Hi Blugal,

U taking Asiana Airline too?
I have already changed my won 1sgd=820won last week.

How much did you paid for the 100% wool long john? Most prob me gonna buy 100% wool thermal for bottom & cotton thermal for top. Since I have already bought a down jacket.

bluegal

Hi Lynn,
If i remember correctly I'll be taking korean airline.
Oh where did you exchange the currency?
I paid $50 for the whole set. They are actually selling at $25/pc for the 100% wool.

piyo21

But hor although you can see such high exchange rates on website. It will be different from the shop that you exchange.

Yesterday, i ask it's abt 1:800won

lsling

Blugal,
I think for another $10-$12 more, u could have gotten Lycra+Wool mixture. Heard it is more comfortable, not so pricky. Wonders is it true?

Btw, how many sets did u purchased? Your trip also 8 days?

annabella

Hi Lynn,

My family told me cotton is good enough. Some might feel that the wool material will be tickish. 2 sets are enough. Make sure you have your jacket(must be able to protect you till neg. temp), glove, hat and cover up yr ears when you are there.

bluegal

Hi Lynn,
For the Lycra one right, it's more comfortable but the lady told me it can't be use for very cold temperature. So I go for the thicker material one. I only bought one set but am considering buying another set from other place. Just to let you know Cold wear at BHG having sale from now till 16 Nov.

lsling

Annabella,

Your family visited -0degree places with cotton thermals?

My parents are around mid 50+, do you think cotton thermals sufficient? Cos I really worried the tickish feeling might be uncomfortable for them.

I very "kiasu", bought down jackets for my parents already. Scared their tolerance not so good. Hee Hee!

Thanks for the advise.

lsling

Blugal,

I called up to check BHG, was told discount only applicable for winter jackets. Thermal & accessories not included.

Since I already bought my jackets, I will give that fair a miss.

Now, my priority is buying thermals only ... then my task more or less completed.

Yeah!

jall

hi...i bought my thermal wool with lyrca at Winning located at level 2 Marina Square cost about $64 per set. Last week i walk past there still have 20% discount storewide maybe you can try.

bluegal

Hi Lynn,
Went to the fair today, though the thermal wear does not have any discount but I personally think it's quite cheap. I bought another set at $33. I have not change the currency yet, we might change a bit this weekend then when the date nearer, we'll change again.

lsling

Blugal...

Oh, so the same $ as @ coldwear. Okie, will buy the thermals when my travel date is nearer.

U bought your winter jackets already?

bluegal

Hi Lynn,
Yeap prepare 2 jacket, not gonna buy the jacket again. if I find that my jacket not warm enough over there then will get one in Korea, heard there have more choices and cheaper.

annabella

Hi Lynn,

Yes. No issue. According to my sis, she put on 2 sets of long john, a vest (wool material), and a jacket (knee length), wear jean and track shoe. U need to have a hat (my husband said it's very impt to be able to cover yr ears too), gloves, shawl, and socks too. Always have heat pad with you too. She advises me to bring extra vest too in case it gets too cold. So these are the items that I’ll bring on my trip.

lsling

Annabella

U mentioned you departure on 26th Dec & arrive on 2th Jan ... = 8 Days

Weird huh ... my departure is 29th Dec & arrive 4th Jan ... = 7 Days
But I booked 8D6N tour how come end up only 7days hor?

bluegal

Hi Lynn,
My departure time on 28th is 10-11pm and my arrival is in the afternoon. Not worth it, 11pm till 12am, they consider one day. But think that's the norm for tour package lor, no choice.

bluegal

Hi Lynn,
Guess you need to check with your agency why you depart on the 29th and arrive on the 4th, that's really consider 7 days package.

annabella

Hi Lynn,

Is yr departure time slightly after midnight? If I rem correctly, they have an additional flight after midnight(when I went to ASA to enquire abt the Korea trip), which is prob why yrs consider '7D'.

lsling

Blugal,

How come your (Singapore-Seoul) 10-11pm but reach only afternoon?

Thought u should reach around 6am 29th Dec on Seoul?

lsling

Annabella,

Din realised till ASA shifted my flight timing 10.35pm (28/12) to 12.50am(29/12)...

The consider 28/12 as Day 1 of tour ... Haiz...

fly05

I'm new to this thread, i was thinking of going to korea for a belated honeymoon, but i was wondering which is the best timing to go?

Care to share with travel agency is better for korea tour group??

Kind of lost here as i have only been to Bangkok and Malaysia, i don't know much about travelling and things to take note.

Many Thanks in advance! ^_^

annabella

Hi Fly,

Same as you, I have been to Bangkok and Malaysia only...

Actually best time to go Korea (according to most websites) is the spring and autumn period …

When to go Korea? It depends on what you would like to see... the itinerary for Korea is more or less the same for the whole year….

I choose to visit Korea during winter, because I’ll get to ski, see the 'white' trees….

My travel agency is Wingo Travel Pte Ltd (a small agency, but they specialize in Korea tour and they only engage guide tour from the reputable agency in Korea). Their package is slightly cheaper than a few that I have sourced.

fly05

Hi Annabelle,

Thank you very much for your reply..

I have never seen snow before, it will be a good idea to go during winter time.. which are the months?

Regarding the agency you went to, where is it located?

lsling

Hi, need your advise.

Most prob I will be staying in Lotte World Hotel, is it very inconvenient for a family of 5 to visit N Tower @ nite?
Wonder do I need to split cab? Or can squeze 5 paz?
Would the distance be very far & ~ ? for cab I wonder?

Jus in case no additional / optional tours.

How about the nite markets? Really wanna maximise my time there.

hlt

Can anyone please advise me where is that particular The FaceShop that actually only allow tourists to enter to buy stuffs ? I going on free and easy..Need someone to tell me where is this place, so that I can find out how to go there..

rtan17

i am thinking of going to korea+jeju for holiday...has anyone book package tour to korea+jeju in jun? may i know how much did u guys paid for the package?...