Korea

joyz

hi kiki,
yeah mine will be a night flight too, guess it's best to catch up on the sleep. =P
i think the flight should be around 6-7 hours?

ong

Hi shimaro,

CTC is cheaper then HT that's y i have chosen CTC. I bought the 7days package for $1399 including insurance and Taxs. I am going there for ski so don't mind the full day ski. First time ski so i might need longer time to master it

Kiki,
I am also taking Asiana flight also first time not sure if it is good. Bascially is my first time to korea.

Anyone else going with CTC?

kiki2006

seems like everyone got a good deal for yr korea package. my package is 8D6N $1388 plus $285 (insur & taxes). i shld hv sign up on 1st day of natas fair.

this is my 1st time to korea too. seen fr other thread that asiana air is considerably newer than korea air. hope the planes and seats are newer too.

shimaro

Hi kiki,

How come Chan Bros charge u $285 for Asiana Air taxes?
On the NATAS fair, If I didn't remember wrongly, I was quoted:
$253 Asiana Air by CTC,
$290 Korea Air by HT,
$288 Korea Air by SA.
The flight timing almost the same.
Depart 10-11pm from sg and
depart 3-4pm from korea.

Or is it becos your Jeju domestic flight is better?

I checked with SA,HT and CTC... they all cant provide me the timing of domestic flight to Jeju.
They only mentioned is morning flight.

yuuri

Thanks for sharing bout Fook On. I went today liao (haha so kiasu)...bought ski gloves for 5 bucks a piece...also got quite nice leather gloves for $18.90....thermal socks at $19.90 for 2 pairs.

Kiki,
Surprisingly my package price is cheaper than yours! Mine is $1368 - $15 (discount $30 per couple for first day natas) + airport tax. Mine also Asiana.

Ong,
I almost went with CTC cos' their 8days tour was $1269 only (excl airport tax) but realised their itinerary was very basic, so went with Chan Bros.

Shimaro,
Every agent charges different for the airport tax due to their own estimation. Usually they will tell you that if fuel charges increase, airport tax will increase. Airport tax is determined by the airport and not the airline. Chan Brothers did tell me that if airport tax is more than $285, they will have to collect extra, but if it's less they will refund.
Also for the Chan Bros itinerary, there is a flight to Jeju, and another flight to Daegu (maybe there will be a difference of airport tax there?).

kiki2006

hi shimaro,
huh...anyway thanks for letting me know abt the taxes. as what yuuri said, chan bros package consists of 2 domestic flight to jeju & daegu. but i am not sure whether domestic airports impose airport tax or not. i juz checked my booking form and the sales asst had actually written "Subj to Changes" next to the "airport tax & insur charges" column. think i'll chk with chan bros again.

hi yuuri,
yours is CNY package and yet mine is still more exp than yours...hmmm i feel abit overcharge leh. can i chk with u? did chan bros charge u $285 too?

yuuri

kiki,
yup airport tax is also $285 for me. Dunno why your package more ex than mine also! Early jan is that considered peak period?

kiki2006

hi yuuri,
most prob becos u booked early hence enjoyin the lower rates.
dunno leh...i tot once sch holidays over, shld be considered as off-peak period.

hehe...me tmr going Fook On to grab sale items.

shimaro

kiki & yuuri:
Sorry, din know Chan Bros have 2 domestic flight. that shld be difference.

Yuuri:
But for wat i know, different airline charge differenly for airport taxes.
Not sure does the airport taxes consist other component like airline fuel charges.
cos last yr i was told by SA if upgrade to SQ, the taxes will be difference even thou going to the same country.

yuuri

ong,
I asked yesterday and they said it's while stocks last...go asap!

shimaro,
Could be different airport tax for different airlines. What I was told is that they are only collecting the tax on behalf of the airline so in the end, everyone should be paying the same tax for that period of time regardless of who you book with

kiki2006

dun worry abt the airport tax. as wat yuuri said, everyone shld be paying the same tax for the same period.

wow while stocks last only huh...then i'll go grab smthg at the Fook On sale tdy.

ong

I just went Fook On just now because it's near my office. Ya the winter stuff are very cheap but felt that not much to choose from and the designs are not nice.

For me i din get any thg from there.

kiki2006

me too went to fook on tis evening.
agreed with ong, the winter stuff not much varieties to choose but very cheap lor. can't find any down jacket i like. but still grab a few pairs of socks, gloves & hat.

yuuri

Heard from other forums that if you go skiing trip, your tour leader will psycho you to buy the ski gloves and ski goggles there. Is it true? In that case, must find ski goggles before going ah?

kiki2006

hi Yuuri,
the sales asst fr chan bros said rental of ski suits and equipment is included...
not sure does the rental includes ski gloves & goggles anot.

yuuri

kiki,
They told me exclude gloves and goggles. That's why I bought my own ski gloves...but not sure if it's a must to wear the goggles or not..

yuuri

kiki,
nope..haha that's my first question to every agency when they mention the skiing. So I actually noted it down on the itinerary that no gloves, no mask! lol! Bought the 5 bucks ones from Fook On...but I also heard from other people that actually the ski gloves are not v necessary.

kiki2006

yuuri,
haha i oso bought the $5 gloves from Fook On. but i guess they are more for keeping warmth right. for skiing, must be thicker and water-proof one is it???

yuuri

kiki,
Maybe there were different $5 gloves there...the one I bought, the woman told me is for skiing. Very thick and got some leather strip across the palm there for the grip...and it's waterproof

shimaro,
wintertime got warehouse sale now?

kiki2006

hi shimaro and yuuri,
i went to winter time outlet at jurong entertainment ctr yesterday. quite disappointed as there is only 10% disc for selected items only (e.g. winter accessories). according to the shop asst, winter time may be hving promotions late oct.

has anyone went to the warehse sale at macpherson outlet? hows the sale like? thk u!

yuuri

Thanks for the review kiki,
Aiyah so lousy ah, the sale....thanks for informing us. Then don't have to make a wasted trip.
Any nice scarfs though? I'm looking for those colourful stripey types

kiki2006

yuuri,
dunno leh...maybe the "real" warehse sale is at macpherson outlet ba.
quite many varieties of nice scarfs including the colouful stripey types.
i suggest if u wan to window-shop round, most convenient is town area cos marina sq (winter time and winning), and suntec (cold wear). last sat i went shop shop and find that wintertime has the most varieties and nicer winter items too :)

mrs_goh

It seems like most of you booked from HT or Chan Bros. I have booked mine from SA during the Natas Fair too. At that time I was comtemplating between Chan and SA. Finally decided to take up the 8D Korea Discovery + Jeju. SA is not cheap and the prices amongst other agencies are not much different, though HT is indeed the cheapest.

Anyone went to the MacPherson Warehouse Sales? How is it? Is it worth making an effort there?As this is my first time to Korea too, my family and I need to buy everything from scrap. Any one knows whether the Fook On closing down sales at People's Park Complex still on?

shimaro

just went to Macpherson...like wat kiki mentioned abt 10% off winter accessories. quite muc variety.
there is some $68 and $88 downjacket but mostly either left those Small size or colour not tat fantasic.

Mrs Goh,
yup....mus start everything from scrap. me too

mrs_goh

Hi Shimaro

Thanks for the feedback on MacPherson sales. Don't think I will go there then unless can't find anything that is reasonsable. :)

mrs_goh

Hi Elaine, Cool and Reality

I understand that you have booked from SA as well.

Which hotels did you stay during the tour? I heard some hotel do not provide bath towel. Do you encountered this with SA tour? How is the trip, is it good? Is the tour leader helpful? And lastly how is the food? Do you have any recommendation that I should try?

jong2201

Hope somebody who has just come back from Korea can enlighten us on the weather there now.

I will be departing for Seoul this Thur (4 Oct 07)with Chan Brothers for 7D Farm Experience. Bringing my 2 young boys along and so am worried about how cold it is during autumn.

darling_angel

Hi 7788, i just came back from korea on last mon. The weather back there was steping into autumn period. It felt like we were in the aircon room temperature, about 24-25 degrees. Better to bring along a jacket with you. =)

cloe

<font color="0000ff">7788,
You'll be flying tomorrow right? Can you let me know your experience after you've came back as I'm taking the same package too (going end Oct). I'm travelling with my mum and 17 mo tot. TIA.</font>

jong2201

Hi ariel - thanks for the update. think it should be progressively cooler in korea now.

cloe - okay will try to update when i am back as it will be my peak period at work then. no promise.

elven_princess

I bought a winter padded jacket (salesperson told me its for 10 degress to 0 degrees) at the ZARA KIDS dept. Its $54, &amp; color is gorgeous! Chili red! They have brown, khaki green, blue as well. I think most ladies here should fit into them quite well, cos i took the 2nd biggest size there (ages 11-12). The largest size (13-14) is selling fast, so go down &amp; take a look quick. =) BTW, im not the very petite kind (height 1.66m, weight 50kg)but was pleasantly surprise that i could fit into their kid sizes.

elven_princess

Hi Mrs Goh,
I was at the Zara Liat outlet. If im not wrong, only the LIAT &amp; Vivo City outlet has kids section. Great world i cant rem got anot. =)

jong2201

hi cloe,

pls. pm me for details of my recent korea trip with chan brothers if you are still keen to know. i am very busy at work now so no time to type it out. can speak over the phone though.

annalouise

i got mine winter jacket at OG people park at $38, pure white , very nice..
btw, i travel with SA &amp; is very satisfied with their svc. all hotel provide towel but some hotel charges for shampoo.

tinkylover

Just a word od advice. Please change your currencies in Singapore. Here, the rate is about S$1 to 615 won. There S$1 only 590 won.

Also, the winter jackets there are every expensive. S$300++ for a simple jacket from a normal shop. Do bring more clothes as temperatures at diff time of day can vary by 10 deg cel.

s__h

i agree singapore is one of the best rate in the world...

but when i was in korea in 2006, i saw the rate at the airport to be better than here...

times may have change or i saw wrongly

anyway, singapore $ can be accepted in korea ...just the rate no so good loh