Korea

racherlle

hi pple!

I'm in Korea now.. just came back from Jeju island 1 day back.. now in Jeonju..
the weather is really good.. cooling.. but it can get pretty cold at night.. so it's advisable to bring a warmer jacket for those that are afraid of cold..
Cherry blossoms are not fully out yet in Korea.. I managed to catch them in Daegu.. very pretty!

Will keep you all posted

maple_leaves

Aiyo ... *Envy Envy*

Can u guys post some pics on Spring Korea over here..... I hv never been to spring... duuno hw the flowers would look like leh... hehehe

I tink it must be reali beautiful bah...

racherlle

hi sinkor..

the mountain you are referring to is the highest mountain in Korea right? I can't remember the name but I was told by our tour guide that there are only 50 days out of the 365 days which you can see the mountain top clearly which we managed to see! hehe.. You should still be able to catch it!

oh hubby went to Busan on 2nd April and the cherry blossoms were in full blossom there already
too bad I didn't tag along as I have to rush back for my year end closing but the pics he took at the Busan seaside were very pretty..

linglun

Hi guys, hope i can get some help here. I'm planning a surprise trip for me and my hubby this July and thinking Korea is a good choice. But i've never been there and do not know how to go along .. perhaps u can help.

How long should i stay there? I would like to relax and do some shopping, i heard the korean beauty products are pretty suitable for our asian skin.

How much shld the air tix and hotels cost?

Wat shld i look out for? Or rather where shld i not miss out in my iternary?

Thanks in advance !! heehee

princess_lee

I just booked a guided + f&e package to seoul..can advise which are the places i can go visit during my 2 days f&e? shopping there ex anot? clothing nice? are the ppl there helpful? the food there are mainly spicy? moi can hardly take chilli..

noscon

anyone can share more about their trip? how's the pple there? how did u get around the language barrier? Is it better to F&E or go on tours? thanks

noscon

S&H

I heard that from my friend too recently. That's why I tot maybe I have a more pleasant trip if I go on a packaged tour....

When did you go? Did you go F&E or packaged? Any good places that are must-go?

s__h

hi niscon,

i went package in 2006 october, winter time. i cant remb exactly where but the snow resort i went was great. Other than that, nothing much actually.
i went there for the snow

noscon

whats a good and affordable hotel that is near shopping areas and subway? i want to fne.

also hows the weather there in june?

racherlle

hi noscon,

personally I think it's better to follow a group tour.. Language is definitely a barrier there as the locals there do not understand even simple english so it's pretty frustrating to get around and also ordering food, buying stuff.. I went there on a package tour and stayed on another 3 days F&E before going back to Singapore..

yes, I do agree with S&H, Koreans are pretty rough.. so dun expect them to apologise when they bump into u.. I guess it's part of their culture..

sinkor

heehee.... cant help laughing u are saying Koreans are rough!!! YES!!! Although my hubby is a Korean, I have to admit that Koreans are super rough!!! They walked on the street as if very urgent and will "bang" on you w/o apologise!!! Is their culture bah.... I already get use.... just "bang" and move on... bo chap!
As for manners, in fact, they are well-manner BUT if you cant speak Korean and they dun understand you.... they will be shy and walk away... their behaviour will make you think that they are rude... but in their heart, they are very scared people asking them qtns in English!!!

Hi noscon,
If you want to F&E, then very hard to get a cheap and good hotel near the shopping areas.... as hotel in korea not cheap. You may consider staying in guesthouse which is good with reasonable price. But as what other said, it would be more economical to go on package tour and extend few days for F&E.....
for weather in June, is super hot day (hotter than singapore) and also raining seasons.....

powerpuffgal

hi.

any 1 stayed at the following hotels before?
i will be staying at these hotels,any feedback?
1)jeju pacific hotel(2 days)
2)hanwah Resort (1 day)
3)yong ping resort (1 day)
4)Riviera Hotel (2 days)

after the day tours ended,any recommendations on where to go on our own?suggestions of somewhere near the above 4 hotels??

keke

Hi I just came back from Korea, have some currency left, 330500 won. thinking of exchanging back to S$ at the same rate I changed at, the rate is not bad at 605. so that will make 330500 won = S$546.30.

interested, kindly PM me. Thanks!

necrosis

hi ladies...

i'm planning a korea trip in the 2nd week of aug..
will head down to cheongju (in chungcheongbuk-do) from incheon airport...
is it safe to not make reservations and just arrive there and find a bed n breakfast kinda deal?
oh...i'm not really into hotels...prefer to stay with the locals or hostels if possible.

after a night there, i intend to go to songni-san national park, hike...and again hope to find a room! :p

this applies to the 3rd place i'm visiting too....chungju (the lake place)...
any advice?

dorygal

Me & hubby planning for a trip to korea for skiing.

As this is our 1st trip, can anyone advise if year end is good timing for skiing?

Cheers/Dory

kiki2006

hi shimaro,

i juz booked with chan brothers at NATAS fair yesterday. me going early jan.
mine is 8D6N korea + jeju with 2N stays at ski resort. how abt yours??

joyz

hi shimaro,
you mean you are going with Hong Thai? hehe. we signed up with them too but going around mid dec.

shimaro

joyz:
yup....mus share share...where to buy winter items to bring there. heehee
your departure date confirmed?
mine not yet

kiki:
8D6N too with Hong Thai. one night stay ski resort.

kiki2006

hi shimaro & joyz,
yeah...let's share where to buy winter items cos tis is my first time going during a winter season.
heard fr the asst fr chan bros that snow starts end dec to early jan...is it poss to ski where the snow juz start???

hi shimaro, when will HT confirm yr departure date?
mine is tentatively 6 jan but chan bros will confirm again 2 weeks b4 departure.

shimaro

kiki:
is my lst time for winter season too.

think this time we mus spend quite alot on winter.

HT will confirm the departure around 2-3 weeks before departure. But if your departure date had already 10 pax going, most of less already confirmed. Mine not yet...still have 4 mths to go.

Btw, did u get free gift from Korea Tourism Board at NATAS fair. I chosen the bag, feel that the quality not bad. Seem is waterproof.

yuuri

Kiki,
I booked the same tour as you, but I'm going around CNY period...also went to Natas to book...and talk to so many people that I also forgot what's in the chan bros package...which ski resort are we going to?Do you know?

I chose the passport holder from the Korean booth. Quite nice.

kiki2006

hi shimaro,
for my departure date, both my fiance and I are the 8th and 9th person. guess nos of pax shld be ok. but chan bros said if response is too gd and exceeds the nos of flight seats they hv book, they may change our departure date (+ or - 1 day). most worried is pricing cos our departure date is Sun hence cheaper.

hi yuuri
wow u are going during CNY. must be more exp right?? i am not sure which ski resort but saw from other forum tat chan bros's package doesn't go to those famous ski resort.

aiya i am not aware of the free gift from Korea Tourism Board. only gotten free gifts from visa booth and chan bros.

joyz

hi shimaro,
my trip should be confirmed. the tour has already got 16 people after we booked the package with them. they did not mention anything about not confirmed... hmmm. how come yours isn't confirmed? they told you that? or you mean we gotta wait about 3 to 4 weeks before the trip to confirm that the trip is on?

to kiki and shimaro...
oh got my down parka at wintertime... a set of thermal wear too but i guess i will buy more thermal wear so i will not stink. hehehe. haven't got the rest. hmmm. it's also my first time experiencing winter. guess winterwear is gonna be another set of expenses but i am excited. wahahaha.

shimaro

joyz:
yups I am excited too. Guess we need to spend at least $200 per pax for the winter wear.

Mine still not yet 10 pax for the date so cant confirm departure.
As kiki mentioned, once 10 pax is almost confirmed departure just that date msybe +/-one day.

kiki:
Chan Bros shld not increase the package price. Cos u had already made the booking and paid the deposit liao.

joyz

hi shimaro,
yeah i think so... from what i see, we might be spending around 300 per person but well it should be an enjoyable trip!
ohhh there should be more people booking so don't worry... =) when will your trip be?

ong

I am going to korea on 26 Dec 07 with CTC, and the trip is not cfm yet coz there is not enough ppl yet.

Would like to check anyone going with CTC ard this date?

Is CTC service good?

yuuri

kiki,
Did you get washing powder from Chan Bros? lol!
Yah CNY abit more ex lah, but bo pian, I only free during that period of time.

Will need to shop for winter wear as well!!!

kiki2006

hi joyz...agreed tat we'll be spending a few hundred bucks on winterwear but still excited abt the trip :-D
i am thinkin of bring only 1 down jacket then buy another one in korea. anyone has any idea is it cheaper if buy in korea???

hi shimaro...i rem i saw their package there r diff in prices for fri and sun flight but i forgot to ask chan bros if we r given a fri flight, who is bearing the diff. but hope like what u said, the travel agency shldnt charge us.

hi yurri...i got a korea drum keychain and two mini bottles of The Face Shop skin prodt. actually wanted the pair of soft toy but out of stocks (i booked on the 2nd day of the fair)

hi guys n gals...this forum is getting more active...and seems like everyone of us is very excited on our upcoming trip to Korea! (",)

shimaro

Ong:
Hi5! We having the same surname. heehee
actually i m comparing CTC and Hong Thai for korea. But in the end decided Hong Thai cos i dun like the feeling of full day ski.
I think CTC is only agency taking Asiana Airline...heard that better than Korea Air. so shld be no prob.

Yuuri,
me also ..cant get away on Dec. So chose Jan.

Kiki:
yupz...excited! In my mind now...all is Korea.

But same as u wondering whether will it be cheaper by buying down jacket from korea.

Saw from another thread that Winter Time is having warehouse promotion soon.

Anyone went to korea before can advice does Jeju Emart sell down jacket? the prices and variety?

joyz

hi shimaro,
ours is around 1.8k per pax, probably because we booked for the peak period. i heard that the jackets there can be more exp. not too sure as well.

shimaro

Joyz:
I believe your package is more exp becos is a school hoilday period and confirm departure date. u mentioned your departure date have 16 pax.
Unlike mine, still hang ard in air.
U taking Korea Air too?

Yuuri:
if i nt wrong, down jacket inside consist of feathers. which keep warm better.

joyz

hi yuuri,
that is because mine is during the school holiday period. i supposed it's peak season rate.

hi shimaro,
yeah we are taking Korea Air too. =)

jong2201

hi folks,

just to share with you that Fook On at People's Park Complex #02-11 is having clearance sale as they are closing down.

Do note that the stocks are left-overs from their recent closing down sale when they vacated their south bridge road shop.

However, you can still comb through for bargain items. Price is slashed as much as 70 to 80%.
Sizes are running out but they still have quite a good stock of gloves (ranging from $3 to below $20 for a pair of leather ones) and wollen socks (buy 1 get 1 free).

Worth paying a visit before you head down to Winter Time, Cold Wear or Winning Times but do note that payment is by cash and NETS (only for purchase above $40) only.

Happy shopping!

kiki2006

hi joyz/shimaro/yuuri,
u all taking korea air. seems like only me taking asiana air. has anyone flew by asiana air b4? any comments?

hi 7788,
wow thanks for yr sharing on Fook On sale!