Korea

speedtest99

hi ms_pi,

yes, they will allow, but subject to availability. they will need confirmation from airline on the seats. extension fees of around $100 will be charge by the agency.

pongpong32

Anyone free and easy there before?
Thinkinh of extending my place for shopping.
Any recommendations on which hotel is good?
Which shopping area is good? Thanks.

pebbs

Just came back from Korea with HT, our skiing session was in the morning about 10am till noon then we went for the gondola ride up Dragon's Peak.

Overall HT's itinerary was ok, not that much rushing around and we managed to finish everything so the last day was quite relaxing.

Only complain was (like some others in this forum) we had a korean local guide who was very pushy with the ginseng, cordyceps etc. Very obvious attitude change when not many of us bought from those shops.

harpie17

Hi Jace,

We are going to Korea in late March this year. We had just signed up with HT yesterday. Went to a couple of travel agencies a few weeks ago to check their prices out and in the end decided to sign up with HT. Heard quite good reviews from friends on HT and most impoartantly they have a confirmed group which is leaving in late March 07. Their price is also quite reasonable.

sinkor

Hi Speedtest,
Yes, Dongdaemum is closed on monday!

Hi Ms_pi,
Korea hotel is very exp and most of them come w/o bf.... i could recommend u to stay in guesthouse...which is much cheaper!

rae

Hi Da Wife!

hubby and I are planning for a Korea trip in late March too. Can share with me your package with HT? how much is it and the itinery? Thanks
Kindly pm me.

I tot of joining SAtours and I called them this morning but their itinery for late March is not out yet.. so they can't confirm with me..

anyone did Korea F&E?

maple_leaves

Hi hanakimi,

I m new to this thread... I went to korea in Oct 2006 w SA tours.. Veri gd service n makes the whole trip reali enjoyable n memorable trip... we went to seoul + jeju.
Not recommended for Korea F&E esp for 1st timer... language is a problem n ur trip will be more expensive than those u sign up as a package.. but if u went korea b4 & onli wan to go to a specific place then F&E will of coz be better...

By the way, if u like chillie, pls remember to buy some chillie sauce tare.. coz cant reali find tat type of hot spicy type in korea like wat u can find in SG... hehehee

maple_leaves

oops sorry to mention, I went with my mum & sis last yr.. (tats the autumn season then) and is planning to go to spring korea for my honeymoon...but nt confirm yet.. hehehe

reality

Hello Elaine,

I'm thinking of going korea with my friend in May. Which time of spring are u looking at? Im looking for agencies and HT is out. That leaves CTC & SA tours.

Any more recommendation?I hope to get the shortest tour and extend my stay by 2 days.

BTW, would appreciate greatly to anybody who could provide infor regarding tour in korea. Thks!

rae

hi elaine,

thanks for sharing..
guess I will stick with SATours for my trip!
very excited!! in 3 weeks time

maple_leaves

Hi reality,

Sorry for the late reply... Spring.. mayb in June or July bah... But everything nt confirm yet... By the way for the extended 2 more days... I had 2 team mate tat time also extend their stay.. n they staying in Inter contiential... Beside the Comex in seoul... i rem the tour guide say tat hotel loctaion nt bad... can access to everywhere veri easily... N i rem tat also hv shuttle service to go to the airport when u r checking out.... At least u dnt hv to take cab mah..

Oh ya.. if the tour guide is ok ... u see if can take his hp number n can call him up if something happen.. at least hv smeone who knows hw to speak ur language n korean mah...

maple_leaves

Hi rae,

Wah.... u going in 3 wks time ah... so envy ...
Oooo i miss korea...

Oh ya.. jus a small tip.. If u like those small korean figurine, pen, pencil, bowls n small sourvinors... Try to look for those uncle n auntie who hv a small van selling all thses... normaly their van will park near or downstair at the restaurant tat u jus had ur meal.. U can buy things fm there which is cheaper compare to those u see in shops... hehe... the tourguide maynt be happy to see u do tat coz if he bring u to other shops.. he can earn commission one mah.. hehehe

& then if u use 'The Face shop' mask... stock it up in korea... it is so much cheaper tare.. i regret nt buying much before i come back... eg. normal price in SG is abt $5-6 per piece compare to korea its only like SGD$2....

kkjc0517

hi elaine,

that time u went wif SA tours,how much was it for 8days korea and jeju?what are the things we should buy from korea?

hi pchosg,
that time u went wif chan brother,how much was it for 8days korea and jeju?i am considering between chan brother and SA tours

maple_leaves

Hi cool,

Yes... tat was 8 days korea +jeju the package is abt $1500+... cant reali rem lor but i m sure nt more than $1.6 for package.

Things shld buy ah... hummm... Ok when u in Jeju, u mst rem to drink their orange juice... Depending on indivdual .. i quite like it lor.. hehehe
U dnt hv to go their n buy branded... eg, addidas, Nike, etc.. It is actuali more expensive tare... Actuali overall, the things in korea is actuali more expensive than SG ... But of coz i gd thing... u hv to neg one lor... even in shopping malls...
Their shopping areas in seoul, Dongdameum.. is open until 3-4am in the morning... so u mst reali go to those 'pasam malan' street to shop...Mst REM to neg hor.. if nt sure ganna 'chop' one... They hv lots of imitation gds for bags, clothes if u like lor..
Oh ya, fr me i m nt a 'kimchi' person.. i gt sick of kimchi on my 2nd day.. so u may wan to bring some instant noodle bowl tare... heheh

maple_leaves

hi cool,

normali for jeju, the package will also include going to teddy bear muesume, But hor normali they will only give u 2 hrs tare.. so dnt waste a lot of time in the shoppinng area... Tats where we r 'trapped' coz eveyting to us is like so cute, so cute, so cute, then end up didnt hv enough time to outside n take more pictures of the teddy bear..

Tat time the 1st nite we had was in jeju... 1st nite normali quite carefree one.. but in jeju there is this basement shopping area, which is like mayb fm orchard to somerset this long stretc, shops tare will be something like far east plaza type...cheaper as compared to seoul...so if u see it nice then can buy lor..
But for this basement/underground shopping area, u mst rem where u go in n try to go out fm the same entrance/exit.. coz everywhere looks the same n dnt be like us to loss our way lor... it took us like an hr before we can find our way back... but tats reali a fun n trilling experience...

kkjc0517

hi elaine,

for the bargaining,how much do we need to bargain down wif them?50%?heard that for korea,when u bargain,the person might scold u 1?
do korea have some brands like japan's burberry blue label etc?what is the name of the 'pasar malan' street to shop?there got 7-11 etc to buy cup noodles?in jeju the basement shopping area is called what?is it near to the hotel?what time it close?sorry for asking so many qns,very excited

sinkor

안녕하세요!
wow! long time didnt log in here and can see Korea still popular

I am going back to Korea soon...... hope to catch their "sakura" there but think abit hard as i going there one end march to early april.
Cool, bargain in korea is minimal....50% is impossible! U can try asking for discount from them but if the sales said no, then u better take it else korean rather dun sell you anything.
Korean have many 7-11 and family mart, so not to worry..... but if u are in jeju, there is a e-mart which is like singapore "giant" so u can shop around there....in seoul, there are alot of e-mart but i dun think it is near ur hotel location.
But it is highly recommend to try korea snack there rather than eat instant noodles..... :D

kkjc0517

hi sinkor,

what are the things u would recoomend to buy in korea?any labels like japan's burberry blue label?for bargaining,how much to bargain wif them?i not good in bargaining 1

maple_leaves

hi cool,

Hahaha... i can sense hw u feel... i felt the same way too when the dates r drawing nearer & nearer... heheheeh
Hmmm i m nt too sure if there is somethig like burberry blue label... For the question tat you have ask on the above.. i will go hm n check the stuff again then post up here for u hor...

Ya i agree with sinkor, 50% nt possible lah... See hw u bargain lor.. some ppl can bargain, but some just simply say NO esp when they knw u touist lor... Mayb u can just ask if can cheaper lor tell them u hv little $$ left n flying off tml liao.... hehehe... at least we tried this excuse once.. n it works... Shhhhh... oops... hehhee

Talking abt snack, u can try the 'fry nian guo' chillie one... reali tasty lor.. !! & this long fish cake in a staty stick which some special sauce one.. dunno wat is it call lah.. but u will sure to find it every where...

maple_leaves

Hi cool,

Replying to some of ur questions. ok the 'pasam malam' is still known as Dongdamum... these streets are just beside the shopping ctr likes Daota, Moonglia (cant rem the spelling)... For the underground/basement shopping ctr... i tink if u ask ur tourguide they will knw liao... well.. its quite near to hotels as well; for they also hv to depend on which chotel u staying also lor... Closing time... no so earli... abt 12am -1am.. I m sure u will be tired b4 they close lah... hehehe...

U can go to the library n look for this book call : 'Subway Seoul' veri cool n useful guide for korea... But its all in chinese... I bought it along w me to korea tat time as well...

Hi Reality,
This book is also gd for u.. Coz if u extend 2 more days, they will teach u hw to take the train n at which station to drop to gt to ur destination... Hope this help..

Oh ya, one more thing to add, if you guys intend to call back SG, ur hp MUST be a 3G phone before u can call back... n frankly the charges r nt cheap mah..

reality

Hi Elaine,

Thanks for your tips. Have booked with SA tour for 8 days with jeju, so wld not be extending. Cos it seemed quite expensive, and being 1st time there, wld be gd to hv a guided tour to more places. Going in early may, but still awaiting confirmation.

reality

To all who are looking for agencies:
Focal and Wingo seem to hv the cheapest pkg, after going to a few for comparison. However, I'm nt too sure if they are popular for korea tours. CTC and Chan bros bit expensive. Hong Thai pkg is average, but said they charge $50 for credit card paymt.
On the whole, SA itinerary and price seemed alright.

sinkor

Hi Cool,

Things that recommend buy in korea is korea cosmectic lor... super cheap! haha..... for clothing... korean only fancy overseas brand....
and wat i have mentioned long time ago, can buy their seaweeds, orange tea, their tidbits...

As wat Elaine mentioned, 'fry nian guo' chillie is call tokpokki.... and the long fish cake is call odeng....which you must give a try... esp the odeng soup!

for bargaining skill, think ur tour guide will teach you how to speak in korea asking for discount. Remember, when they said no discount, u have to accept it! even korean people there seldom ask for discount....

reneylle

hi gals..

i'm planning a trip to Seoul in april.. most prob would be extending my trip.. would like to know how much will it cost from my hotel to the airport via taxi?? I would like to have a rough estimate.. I've asked my travel agent but they do not provide airport transfer.. is it very expensive?

kkjc0517

for those who travelled wif hong thai,what r the hotels u all stayed in?good?how is the food provided?will all the meals be provided by HT and all breakfast at hotel?

sinkor

Hi Reis,

Yes, taxi drive from Hotel to incheon airport is exp. For my case, from Bundung (a new town in seoul) to airport cost S$160 for one trip.... but since hotel is normally at the central should cost around $100 for a trip bah!
I would recommend you to take their bus service which specially go to aiport.... think cost around $10 and the bus is available in major hotel and much more convenience.

kkjc0517

hi sinkor and elaine,

i booked my tour with SA,8 days :>any 1 noe where are the laneige counters in korea?what are the laneige pdts recommended to buy?heard that korea is cheaper,roughly how much are the pdts?
can check if korea have a ladies' street like hong kong to buy stuff?what is it called?

sinkor

Hi cool,

I not sure on tour group arrangement as normally my trips are F&E so i cant comment the laneige counter. But there is a cosmetic shop called "HUE" at myeongdong selling laneige and many other brands. Normally i will buy from there for my friends...... is around 30-50% cheaper.... and if u purchased alot, HUE will give u alot of samples and free gifts!!!
ladies street that kind of "market" , think is Dongdaemum (youngster) & Namdaemum (more on aunites). Myeongdong is like Korea orchard style as tons of youngster....

kkjc0517

hi sinkor,

what are the places u would recommend us to go and eat in korea?cos the 8 days,only 6 breakfast,4 lunches and 3 dinners are provided.
any thing which are a must try in korea?any fats food restaurants in korea which are better than spore?cos that time went japan,their mos burger is better than spore :p

sinkor

Hi Cool,

If u are talking on fast food rest.... can try Lotteria!!! i like their prawn or scrimp burger!!! yummy.... mac i eat is the same.... KFC, i think their is better! haha....

korea many foods u can try.... along the street, u can try Odeng, topokki, Fried Odeng (like a hotdog in a stick), etc...

Korean resturant, u can try BBQ pork, kimchi chige, bundae chigae, jajung mian, tofu chige, bibimppab...

if like western rest.... try Benniggan!!! i love it!!! its like singapore swensen but much much better!!! haha....

for dessert.... must ear RED MANGO yogurt, baskin robbin 31 ice cream, Crispy Donuts...

maple_leaves

Hi Sinkor,

Wah.... u actuali tried so much food in korea ah... Yap I agreee... I tried Lotteria too... Its nice nice!!
For the Fried Odeng... I tik its potota outside bah... By the way, there is a stall in Vivo city also sells thses Korean Delights like the fried odeng.. But hvent tried before... Going to try one of these days to see if can bring back some memories...

Cool,
Yap i tink Lotteria is more popular than Mac in Korea bah... You must also try their ice cream like those Ma Ma shop one... Veri nice lor... Cheap also... I rem hving Strawberry n Mango one... Wahh... Nice lor...

sinkor

Hi Elaine,

haha...I need to go back Korea at least once a year as hubby is Korean so of course ate so much of their foods......

fried odeng is like a thick fish cake taste wrap with seaweed or many other things....
for the vivo city... (i think is harbourfront).... i tried before...not nice one!!! dun waste ur money!!

sinkor

Hi Cool,

Fast food price in korea.....is slighty exp than the price in Singapore..... in fact, in korea, everything exp than singapore except their local cosmetic and seaweed!!! :p

sinkor

Hi Cool,

I cant advise which brand of seaweed is better bcos normally i went to EMART to buy all diff kind of brands! :p Their seaweed section alone is so big that I cant decide wat to buy and just anyhow grab!
but i know if u buying seaweed from Dongdaemum, it is super exp and not nice.... i rather recommend u to buy from their supermarket like EMART, Hyundai supermarket, lotte supermarket if u got the chance to passby.

Other things to buy... i recommend Orange Tea.... really nice... and their korean tidbit crackers, cuttlefish, chewing gum, etc... Pai sey...i only buy foods there.... :p

Oh...their clotihngs and bags are nice too which can be found at Dongdaemum.... :D

sinkor

Hi Cool,

u going to jeju? there is a EMART there..... near those hotels... i cant remember the name :p
in seoul, there is alot of emart but more on neighbourhood location.... Hyundai supermart is at hyundai shopping centre lor.... appeujjong got hyundai shopping centre... lotte supermarket also at lotte shopping centre and maybe u ask ur toud guide abt it.... if i not wrong, normally the tour guide bring u all go and buy seaweed will be more exp....

kkjc0517

hi sinkor,

i going to jeju,any nice recommendations for jeju island?what is special to buy at jeju?i was thinking of buying the seaweed on my own at the supermarket instead of thru the tour guide,scared i ask tour guide,tour guide will say i will bring to a place to buy seaweed later...

milochia

can buy seaward at E-Mart ...
E-mart is just directly opposite Jeju Oriental Hotel..interesting to see their supermart & they got a shelve w/ variety of favour. Sometime the promoter let u try b/4 purchase. The shop tt guide brght us to on last day, px is more EX & leave u no choice cos last day liao..so better to buy some along the way.

sinkor

Hi Cool,

ya...there is a EMART near oriental hotel! go there and buy your seaweed as Milochua's mentioned! As for those promoter let u try, please take note of the expiry date as they are mostly fresh and little preservation so the expiry date will be quite near.

maple_leaves

Wah Sinkor,

Envy envy.... u can go korea once a year.... The orange Tea is it the bottle syrup type tat u hv to add water type? I tried it in korea too... Tats reali nice... I also saw some retailers selling tat in SG recently...

Hi Cool,

I tink buying things in Jeju is much cheaper than u buy them in seoul.. Tat time when we were tare.. we bought most of the food stuff in Jeju...

sinkor

Hi Elaine,

dun need to envy....how about monthly i will be "broke" on spending those air tickets!!!

ya... the orange tea is the syrup with the orange skin that kind.... i saw taka selling it.... not cheap in singapore....

Hi cool,

I cant remember the brand of the orange tea.... think only 2-3 brand available.... maybe u can buy 2 diff brand to try? :p Orange tea is good for health but i cant remember wat is good...:p

annalouise

i am so happy that everyone enjoy in korea.
i be going next week & really excited.

thnaks for all yr info & tips..