Korea

sweetypie

Booked the 'All In' Korea winter tour w Hong Thai dep on 7 Jan 07. Price is $1249 excl tax p/person. Paid $1000 deposit for hubby and I.

Has anyone signed up to go on this date oso !

Understand if flying w Korean Air, there will be no individual seat screen. *Sigh* dun know how to pass time onboard.

Ying11, ya which tour agent you book with. Quite envy you!

tataneikr

Hi Jasline,

I'm going with HT on 31 Dec but not confirm yet as not more than 10 ppl.sad sad....

Hi Sweetypie,
yours is confirm right? Wah yours is cheaper than mine. Mine also All In 8 days $1399 excl tax p/person.

pebbs

I'm booked with Hong Thai but departing on 8 Jan 07. Last I checked, there's already 14 pax in my group so confirmed departure. Can't wait!! =>

sweetypie

Hi tataneikr,

Including hubby and I will be abt 17 pax. This gourp can confirm depart as need only 14 to go. Max number of pax is 30.

Hi pebb, you booked w Hong Thai too?

tataneikr

Hi Pebbs & sweetypie,

Are that mean my tour likely to be cancell as both of u depart later than me already confirmed?

Anyone here encounter the tour have been cancelled?

Can I just check, for those who went with Hong Thai, for 8 days trip how many days of tips did u pay? 7 days right? My guide told me to pay 8 days

ying11

I booked mine with Focal Travel.
Our size is just nice...19 Paxs.

To all those going Korea, have fun and be prepared to bring more winter clothes as the weather is very cold there.

ahjo77

hello

Jeff u also going on 2nd nov.....?? that means in this thread there is 3 p going with HT on 2nd nov ??

Mi going there for honeymoon ..cant wait t go there kekkekeke

leeyin

hi everybody!!
i shall be leaving tmr night...
hear from me when i back ya!!

ying...
v cold there?? scary lei... most of my clothes not tat thick lor... for 7days trip, i bringing 5sets of clothes nia... enuff ornot?
no one mention abt swimming gear... needed ornot? but hearing tat the cold weather just keep me off, and upon hearing got to wake up at 7am, i sian 1/2 lei... even when i working, also seldom wake up SO the early lei!!

xiaobone

Leaving tonight also... under hong thai. Hope to enjoy the trip without hassle. So how was everyone's exchange rate? dunno wanna change more as now they say need pay 8 day for the guide although 7days 6 nights there. so exta 5000won.

bibi38

About swimgear.. need to bring swim wear n also SWIM CAP if u are going to 100% waterpia.. else they ask u rent.. abt sgd $3 for cap.. hee

bibi38

Tips for tour guide n driver is FIX.. 2gether is 40k won... u need extra tips for tour leader from s'pore if any... n also there's a photographer student ..each photo abt $7.. consider tips him when u buy photos from him.

Wah.. so gd hor.. all flying tonight le.. maybe weather ve gone cold...

enjoy urself..

Oh ya, rem refer to the top thread.. i did post the wall socket.. in case u all need to charge HP n camera

sweetypie

bibi38,

Understand we are not able to use our mobile phone in Korea. They use CDMA.

Only M1 has the network but not Singtel and Starhub. So for me, I cannot use the phone there.

Did you rent one when you were there?

eugo

Hi Vanillasky,

Last time I went for 8 days tour. I only paid for 7 days.

Hi tataneikr,

I encountered my tour group not moving.. have to shift my tour date to earlier or later date. If you wanna cancelled the package, the travel agency will pay you back the deposit.

hiphip77

I just came back from Korea.

Sweetypie,

My phone is Singtel and can used in Korea. I heard that as long as your phone is 3G phone and your SIM card is 3G card can use. Mine is so I can use.

poshlim

Hi HipHip,
How's the weather in korea when you went? Temperature? Was it very cold? I'm going end Nov, and I wonder if long johns are needed.

hiphip77

Hi Jesslyn,

It was cooling on average though can be quite cold for me in the morning and night. But I'm always afraid of cold. I brought long johns as well but not required. I only wear long sleeve and a jacket (one that break wind would be better).

Are you going on F&E or package? Where in Korea u going? How many days?

sinkor

for weather wise....best to check with the weather forecast as Korea weather really unpredicatable..... last here this time is very cooling but now is very cold and still snow.....
haiz.... weather also go "haywire" liao...haha

hiphip77

Hi Sinkor,

Thanks for the info you have provided. Was a little disappointed that we didn't really get to see a lot of the autumn foliage. We even went to Mt Serok but most of the tress are still green. Maybe we are early? However, when we went to Everland, the trees are in shades of red, orange and red!

Is it snowing now? I didn't see any snow. Maybe the snowing is not at Seoul or Jeju island.

sinkor

Hi hiphip,

dun need to disappointed.... at least u still see little red shades of trees

as for snowing..... its snow on Monday (6/11)... think at certain part of seoul....

poshlim

Hi HipHip,

Thanks, I just did a check on weatherchannel.com, and temperature in seoul is 3 degrees!

I will be going with Chanbrothers on 24 Nov on guided tour itinerary 7 Days Winter Ski Delight. The package includes Nami Island, Yongpyong Ski Resort where we'll be staying for a night, Yongin (Everland)& Seoul.

Will be flying by SQ, and I thought ChanBros is the cheapest compared to Dynasty Travel & SA Tours. Have you been to any guided tour with ChanBros?

hiphip77

Hi Jesslyn,

Nope, I never been to any guided tour with ChanBrothers. Went with SA and CTC. I always thought that ChanBros are more expensive than these two.

We tried to go to Nami Island but are unable to get a tain ticket.

We went to Korea F&E and the food is expensive there. So my husband and I agreed that going package tour is cheaper than going F&E. But F&E, you can control the pace and itenary, more freedom.

Hope you enjoy your trip to Korea.

leeyin

yoyo EVERYBODY!!

i just back from Korea for a few days already. I am the few who witnessed the First Snow in Seoul on 6.11, while coming down from Winter Sonata Resort (duno the exact name la)... and the newspapers says that that is the first snow in Seoul!! So exciting, as tat is the 2nd day of my birthday... coolzzz...

to everyone who is gog over... be packed with hot packs on hand as i am freezing cold ma... even a theraml pant inside the jeans i also feel cold... erhmmm

and also dun forget abt the flu jab, which I din take...haiz... so i fell ill lor...

leeyin

ya,
but we din TIP the driver lei... My group is only 12pax. no singapore tour leader, luckily.... so save on that TIP also... and the korea tour guide keeps on reminding us not to spend the TIPS away...abit of irritating...brought it up to my hubby, but he seems ok...

and also, though my tour guide is young, friendly, and helpful... but still feels not experienced enough... din even mention SULHUR DUCK, which I saw in this forum, though i will not be interested.. but at least can mention or bring it up, to see whehter we wants ma...

poshlim

Hi Leeyin,

Just out of curiosity, how many layers of clothing did you wear? Is winter jacket (those puffy kind of jacket) necessary? I am leaving Singapore to Korea on 24 Nov and I do not want to bring too much or too little.

Also, anyone has any idea where can I get fake prada/ LV's in korea?

bunnypop

Hi Jeslyn

I am thinking of going to Korea for my honeymoon after my AD in mid Jan 2007.

Is it very cold by then. How many did you have to pay for your 7 days package with Chan Brothers ? What does it include ? Thanks

poshlim

Hi HL,

For your kindest information, January is the coldest period for Korea. If I'm not wrong, it's usually below zero degrees!

The tour package which I have booked is a 7D Winter Ski Delight. I paid $1,606 inclusive of airport tax & it's by SQ. For your information, the same package do fly by Korean Air & Asiana Air as well, and it's usually cheaper by $100-$200. Please take note that Korean Air flies around 1 a.m., and Asiana flies around 10:30 p.m.

Highlights of the package include:
1. Stay at 5 star Holiday Inn Seoul Garden
2. Follow the trail of Korean TV drama serials, visit
- MBC Studio, the filming site of Dae jang Geum
- Nami Island, the filming site of Winter Sonata
- Yongin Everland, the filming site of Red Bean Lady
- Lotte World, the filming site of Stairway to Heaven
3. Visit Changdukgung Palace, an UNESCO World Heritage site
4. Stay 1 night in Yongpyong ski resort with ski lessons and rental ski suits & equip. included
5. Tour Korean Folk Village
6. Dongdaemun Market & Comex Mall

Anyhow, I attended ChanBros briefing yesterday at Grand Plaza Park Royal Hotel, and the tour guide informed us to wear at least 3 layers of sweaters + a jacket + beanie + scarf etc. She was in Korea last week, and she needed that much of layers!

I will update you on the weather when I return on 01 Dec.

zeny

jesslyn

it is up to individual. I went in Jan this year and i do not need that much of clothings but it is better to have except clothing in a bag whenever going out ;)

poshlim

Hi Niu Niu,

How was the weather in korea when you were there? Very cold? Did you wear any thermal wear & how many layers of winter clothing did you wear?

am_blessed

May I know whether I can buy Laneige product in Dongdaemun market? Is the price for Laneige product standard in Korea, or certain place can get cheaper?

I think Sinkor ever suggested a shop name "HUE" in Myeongdong, but unfortunately my tour won't make any visit to Myeongdong.

Thanks in advance ^_^

weddinstory

would like to know if i m overcharged. I booked a 8D tour package to korea seoul + jeju island this mid dec for $4100 for 2 pax with ASA . please advice. my friends said i m overcharged..

tour delights
Yongduam (dragon headrock), horse riding, mysteriousroad, tapdong street, jeju island, songsan sunrise, seongeup folk village, tangerine farm, teddy bear museum, submarine tour with complimentary photo taking, sunset view at Chakwi-do, daejanggeum theme park,mount sorak , kwon kumseong fortress, shinheungsa temple, Sokcho abai village, cruise onthe river, Daemyung Vivaldi ski resort with skiing equipment andattire, vivaldi aqua world, Everland Big 5 , Dongdaemon market, Gyongbok palace,presidential blue house, shinchon fashion street, amethyst factory,tongchunghacho shop, Lotte World with admission ticket, teddy bear museum.

please advice.thks.

poshlim

I'm back from my Korea holiday. Weather was very very cold, around 0 degrees. I was lucky to experience heavy snow falling on me when I was at both Yongpyong Ski Resort and in Seoul city. The korean tour agent was very professional, friendly & caring guide and he took real great care of us.

am_blessed

Hi Jesslyn,

Me also will be going with Chan Brothers end of Dec (take the 8D ski escapade). How's the hotel & food given in CHan bros itineray?

Hi Weddin,
$4100 sounds quite ex for 2 pax. but not too sure since your itinerary includes few items that I've never heard before, e.g. submarine tour with complimentary photo taking, sunset view at Chakwi-do, daejanggeum theme park,mount sorak , kwon kumseong fortress, cruise onthe river.

poshlim

Hi am_blessed,

Hotels provided are generally ok. No complaint. My hubby likes the Korean food provided, and food is generally ok too. But I must say the services provided by the Korean tour guide is marvellous. Even the photographer is great, & he does not pester us to buy all the photos which he had taken for us since day 1.

divinec

hi Jesslyn, can u help me out here, how many layers of clothing do you need when you were there? I'm gg on the 10th Dec and I'm terribly afraid of cold!Any must bring? Thanks!

poshlim

Hi Divine,

Temperature was around 0 degrees when I was there during 24 Nov - 30 Nov. I wore pure woollen thermal wear, woollen socks, 2 sweaters & a solid down jacket. This was warm enough for me. Understand that now Korea is minus degrees, so be prepared to wear more than me. But bear in mind, once you reach the restaurants & shopping malls, you'll feel very hot as the heaters are on.

speedtest99

hi Jesslyn,
Nice photos you have, guess must be very cold.
I understand that you went to Dongdaemun Market & Comex Mall, how much time was allocated for your group to shop there?

milochia

Hi tataneikr,

i had just booked with HT last sat for their "ALL IN" 8D korea leaving 31 Dec. The grp is cfm cos they alrdy got 18pax when i booked for mine...yipee

poshlim

Hi Speedtest99,

Thanks for the compliment.
We were at Dongdaemun Market for 2 hours. As it was a weekend, the whole place was super crowded with shoppers! For Comex Mall, we were there for 2 hours too. Quite a nice place to shop.