Korea

sinkor

Hi summer,

Wont have the impact to S.Korea much lah.... dun worry! If really impact, i think i should be the one who more panic! haha.....

Wow Eugo,

You can remember how much does each meal roughly cost huh! haha.... for me.... all FOC so cant comment..... I only know my fav odeng is 500-700won! haha....

sweetypie

Has anyone travelled w Five Stars Tours. I am looking at their 7D5N winter tour costing about $1228 per person excl taxes.

Am planning to go early Jan.

Any info is appreciated.

eugo

Sinkor,

Yeah... some time i will note down the price of the food.. hehee..

I hope it won't affect S.Korea wor...

ahjo77

Hi Psyduckie

Would like to check on the additional meals , the prices u quote is indiviual or 2 pax share ?

Thanks a lot for ur info

psyduck

hi AhJo77

The price i quote is per pax. less than S$20. You can opt out of them if u not interested. but guess it's kind of hard if no one else follow u. then u will have to search for own food while others eat together.

sinkor

Hi AhJo77,

If you want to have a cheaper meal, can try the foods selling at road stall..... yummy! :p
415179.jpg

pearlmilktea

me going to phoenix park ski resort, 6d4n leaving 23nov by five star. anyone sign up for that during natas?

totally clueless about the exchange rate, weather and even food!!! was more of an impulse sign up.

is it really so cold? got a trenchcoat already.. or do we really need the thermal wear and jacket/parka? goodness. going to really look like Cartman (female version) from south park.
so sad! ! !

psyduck

hi vanillasky

i exchange S$500 for my 8D6N trip. should be enough if u not intending to spend on expensive stuff and not buying much gifts back. i spend nearly all my wons as i spend a fair bit on gifts and also the additional meals. i think S$500 worth of wons should be enough.

Hi Psyduckie,

Thanks! Me intend to change S$500 too. But my fren told me might have to buy the photos from the photographer and tip him (not complusory but they did give small tip). Didnt want to change too much as might lose out on the exchange rate if i change back...

Anyone going on 2 Nov with Hong Thai?

ying11

Hi Psyduckie,
I change $5oo for my husband and me for 6D4N in Korea. Do you think it is enough? Not plannning to spend on expensive stuff...

Do you think I should change more?

Can we sign our credit card at their supermarket?

ying11

Also,I will be going korea this Sat..is it cold cos I am just wearing long sleeve and bringing a jacket (cotton) type..is it enough??

ahjo77

Hi Vanillasky

Mi still in the midst of comptemplating between ASA, Hongthai and five stars to sign up with n wanna leave on 2nd Nov too.keke mi going on Honeymoon ..how abt urself ?

leeyin

yoyo...
I will be leaving on the 2nd Nov too!! with Chan Brothers... gee... heard the weather is COLD there already... my friend even say has artificial snow liao... oh gosh... i dun have winter wear lei... how???

ahjo77

Hi Psyduckie,

would like to chek in the hongthai tour , do u get to wear the korean costume to take pics ??

When going to mt Sorak , is there a cablecar ride? issit included or need to pay on ur own

Thanks a lot

psyduck

Hi Ying,

I think should be enough if u going on tour. If you scare not enough, can change S$100 more. i dunno if u can use your card at supermarket or not but at those ginseng shop sure can. but dunno how true my tour guide words are. according to him, food items package in korea sold in supermarket are not suitable to be brought over to singapore as the climate is different.

Vanillasky, you do not have to tip the 'xiao di' as they call him over there. you just buy the photos is considered very good to him already. a photo cost 5000won almost S$7. but the 'xiao di' really work hard to earn him $$ n the tour guide can just relax.

AhJo, we did wear korean costume n take pics. this is done at the kimchi school. however, the clothes are not really that fantastic.

We did not take cable car ride at Mount Sorak park. but there is over there. we only take a cable car ride at Yongypong resort at our own expense. you will need to check with the tour agency if it is included in the tour package. usually, it should be stated.

chipndale

Hi, am trying to see if we can do a F&E trip to korea end oct.. short notice ya! Wondeirng if anyone here has done a F&E and can share their itinerary with me? I have no idea where to start getting info! will it be difficult to base in seoul near the shopping areas and make trips to the amusement parks and jeju and mt sorak? do they have stuff like day tours such as that in australia?

Will appreciate any help and tips i can get! thanks in advance!

p/s : sinkor, I pmed u too!

ahjo77

Hi psyduckie

Thanks for ur info ...may I check how much u pay for the cable car ride in yongypong resort.

btw what can u do in the resort since its not winter ??
lastly is the sheraton walker hill hotel near tothe shopping areas ??
Did u get to go to the ladies street in seoul which is known as Sinchon street

Thanks a lot

Sorry for the many questions

bibi38

oh yeah, bibi is back...

Ahjo77,
YonggPyong resort's cable car cost 12k won ($20) ex hor..
Anyone wants to hear abt my trip?

sweetpea

Hi Bibi, sure we'll love to hear from you!
You went with Hongthai am I right?
I will be there on 23rd, and am quite concerned about the weather...how cold is it? Dunno what kind of clothes to bring there...

bibi38

sweetpea,
Yaya...with HongThai, same as Psyduckie..
Weather is cooling.. like our air-con nia (22deg in seoul) normal abit thick jacket.. only at yongpyong is cold.. if u go up the mt. nite abt 6-9deg.. but due to tireness, i stay indoor mostly. U sh be able to see "red red maple tre" when u go there..

I dunno where to start also...
In all, my trip din not follow the sequence of the meals n places to go is "jumper" up one.
My group ve 30 pple.. so we got a group leader (but he is very quiet type wont talk much, n he only do those checking into hotel) wonder if all group leader is the same.. wadever.
Tour Guide name is P_ _L.. can speak gd chinese...

ABOUT PRICING
At jeju, sh b go same place n eat.. sometimes outside will ve some souverniors push-cart.. (actually not v v ex as compare to those place guide bring u to buy)those hang HP de hp chain abt 5k-7k for 10.. 6k sh be at gd prices.. n hor EMART at Jeju which is opp Oriental Hotel (Guide will nt tell u abt Emart de). Like wad SinKor say... buy seaweed there.. is cheap.. As we follow tour, seldom got much free time to walk ard... clothing there not cheap.. At Jeju, the Sheng(1) Mi(4) (honey) not bad.. but they bring us to the folk village to buy.. abt $50 per bottle..

Den one of the meals, Guide will ask us top-up for live octupus.. abt $50(30Kwon) per pax.. i din try..

At YongPyong, taking the cable car is not included for this "ALL IN DELUX" pakage.. cost abt $20 (12K won).. is a 20 mins ride to goes up.. (see nice trees n a 800 yrs old tree) maple leaves.. Very cooling on top (Thick clothing needed).. i went up cos whole group wants to go.. (like genting).. nthing much.. coffee abt $8 (5kwon)

Last day, due to flight at 6+.. Lunch will nt included, hence intro sulpur duck.. cost abt $20 (12kwon) per pax. Not bad, but only duck in steamboat... In SG, can eat alot duck.. hee.. n is 4 person share one steamboat.. Also no choice, cos guide say.. can dun eat la.. but surrounding nth much.. n if u eat is like 7-8k won n food same as wad we eat since day 2.. no fast food around there.

Photographer (Didi).. guide will "SAI-GO" u say.. one person avg is 5 pcs of photos.. (BTW, i n hubby buy 3 pcs only, cos so ex! n gave him abit little tips)

Above mention are the hidden cost bah. so SGD 500 may not be enuff for 2 person..

Extra thing..
At 100% hot spring... they say towel provided.. but just like the size of face towel at the toilet (can use many, but damm cold).. Dun think of take from ur room, cos also very small only..
we reached there quite late, abt 5pm+(we din rent the towel)we soak like 0.5hr.. den clean n wear back clothing... from waterpia walk back to hotel rm abt 5 mins.. (still can make it la) Advise to bring one towel for one day use, or prepare to rent.. Oh ya... there got naked suana at toilet too.

2 Pin Socket.. a few hotel uses the socket plug hole is ROUND (not the 2 PIN)..the socket we buy is like abit Triangular shape.. so pls take note. Else cant charge ur HP or camera..

Oh ya,
Psyduckie,
at everland, we are given abt 5hrs.. den go to Lifestyle hotel instead of YongPyong Resort..

Lifestyle is real nice n got "high-tech toilet bowl" keke :p... Free Internet usage in the rm.. n also 42" LCD TV.. shiok :D n also jaccuzzi in bathroom.. (Din leaves the rm at all once stepped in).

Feel free to ask me qns bah... Dunno wad more to say le... keke

psyduck

Hi AhJo,

The trip up the cable car is 12,000 won per pax about S$20. by the time we reach the resort was already i think not very early. rush to the small mart there to see if anything to buy before it closed. i think since it is not winter time, they won't bring u there too early as there isn't much to do there. cable car ride come in the morning.

Sheraton walker not really in town. it is not within walking distance to any place. there are duty free shops inside but no cheap. think they provide shuttle bus to the city or train station. you can check it up when u are there.

Yo Bibi,

so did u enjoy your trip? my meals also all jumble up but at least they cover all the meals they say they providing. i got a set of 10 handphone chains for 4000 won but there are different types.. so some mayb more expensive.

I bought all the photos.. think total 9.. burn my pocket.

So u went to Waterpia? disappointed not able to go there. how come u got so much time at everland? managed to use all your rides n see any parades?

Wah, lifestyle sound so good. too bad i didn't get the chance to stay there as it was totally booked. so stay at koreana which was in city area n walking distance to Myongdong.

cheryl_99

Hi bibi,

Thanks for sharing yr story! Can you post a picture of 2 pin socket as I wl charging thhe camera & handphone. I'll be travelling to Seoul on 11/14. Anybody can adv me the weather as wondering should I wear light weight or heavy jacket. Thanks all!

bibi38

Psyduckie,

Wah, at which part of the trip u get those hp chain so CHEAP.. great.. cheapest i got is 5k for 10.
Yeah, i was also worried when u say everland got 2 hours only.. but guide gv us dat long.. reached there abt 12+ n den meet up time at 6+.. Not much pple, i mean queue quite fast.. manage to use up all ride n go one round.. n took alot pics..

Cheryl,
I forgot to take the pic on the wall.. but i can take a pic from the plug i bring there.. i borrowed from the group leader the round type... U noe, its like.. our wall socket is sq n got hole.. but theirs got a deapth (round boader)... so the triangular shape plug cant go in..

ying11

Hi Psy,
Thanks. I think I may want to change more. I bobian..colleagues asked me to buy Kimchi and seaweed back for them cos its a tradition that we must buy something back from our travel.
I have one colleague who asked me to get some "huggies" relating to the Korea Show "Princess Hours"...I think I better change more.

So excited cos will be going this Sat. I hope its not too cold cos I am only wearing long sleeve + a jacket. U gals think its enough?

psyduck

Bibi,

I forgot when i got them but i know i was looking quite keenly at them but can't decide whether to buy or not. then the boss say sell me at 4000 won instead of 5000 won. hee.. i also took lots of pictures at everland even though time quite short. so wat happen on the last day for u since only leave korea at 6pm?

Ying,
if u going to the Kimchi school to learn how to make kimchi, they got sell kimchi there too. think is 10,000 won a packet. they will collect money first and deliver it to you on your last day there before u fly off. think they provide special packaging also. Didn't see many princess hours huggies over there except Xin's bear bear and Cai Jing's huggable which you can put a pic on the head.

bibi38

ying,

Sh be enuff for ur clothing... i sometimes morning also wear long sleeve nia.. o ya, if follow tour, bring a umbrella for in case.. i kana one day raining..:p

Change more $$ better.. there chg money only at bank.. moreover come back can chg back..

ahjo77

All
I finally sign up for the Korea ALL IN tour with Hongthai....but now kinda skeptical abt their services after hearing BiBi comments. hopefully mine will turn out fine ...

Wonder how much shld i change for the trip for 2 pax ....thinking to extend 1 day on our own in seoul but not sure if its possible a nt??

BiBi , hows the meals as per provided by Hongthai..??

ying11

Hi Psyduckie...
Wow, next time i look even longer and maybe I get 3000wons...heheee...

But i dont think i am going to make kimchi cos i never see it in my itinerary.

Hi Bibi..
Thanks for the reminder. Must take umbrella...

ahpooh

those who stay at sheraton walkerhill hotel b4,
can i check with you, is there any subway there?
is it convenience to go out at night or go out on the last day morning?

tataneikr

Hi Ahjo,
When u going to korea since u already sign up with Hong Thai. Mine is 31 Dec but havent confirm yet.

Hi Psyduckie,
Thks for sharing ur trip.

Hi bibi,
How about shopping at Myeodong+daedagmun? 2 hour also?

ahpooh

hmmm.... seems like most of the people here booking HongThai All in Package...

anybody book SA package (8 Days KESV), the itinerary almost the same with hong thai..

bibi38

Due to at work now.. i will say in general for those qns asked.. n my own comments..

Meal with HT - avg. almost steamboat at every meals.. (seafood the worst).. my chinese dinner not bad, got fish. (seldom see fish de)

WE din go DongDaMen.. At Nandameng (also beside myeodong bah) Time given is 2.5hrs..

Last day of trip, went to Amethyst jewel n Ginseng.. den lunch n den goes to a supermarket for last min shopping (not really cheap as compare to EMART bah)

At sheraton, i stayed n Zzzz only.. din goes out..
Btw, We did see SA Tours pple same at eating place.. so staying place sh be abt same too.. (cos i recognised the tour guide, when i goes to SA IN-House fair)

Dun think ve much time to go out in the morning.. always wake quite early.. abt 7am..(everything is planned mah).. but night sh ve if u are CHIONG type.. for me.. i always Zzzzz :p

ahpooh

heard from the news that may not be able to see maple leaves become red this year as the weather very very abnormal......

anybody back from korea and in korea now can update the latest news about maple leaves?

eugo

Jules,

I heard Savoy Hotel in Myeongdong not bad. Once you step out of the hotel, its the shopping district.

charlene,

The hotel provides free shuttle bus service to the nearest subway station. But only till certain time. You might want to check the hotel's website. But you might need to take a cab back to the hotel wor.
You can alight at the Gwang Nara station and take subway from Gwang Nara Subway Station (Purple Line)

sinkor

Hi maymay,

Ya.... friends from Korea said that this year maple not that beautiful as before..... but doesnt mean wont bcome red bah....

I also heard this yr's weather very abnormal. I was worrying that when I leave on 2 Nov, it might be too late to see any maple leaves liao. But when I was at NATAS, the ASA tour guide told us this yr's winter CONFIRM come later. He said so confidently till I find it hard to believe. Then the Chan Bros Korean guide told us that by 2nd Nov, most likely not much maple leaves liao. Sooo many different saying regarding the maple leaves.

Hi AhJo77, so u gg with Hong Thai? Which date? Me not on honeymoon, just gg trip with my bf.

Only left ard 2 weeks till trip and Hong Thai never call me to make full payment and attend briefing...

psyduck

Yo Vanillasky,

i think you better look at your invoice when you pay the deposit. there should have stake when is the latest date that you have to pay the rest of the money. they may not have a group briefing but they give u a very brief briefing when u pay up and someone from HT will call u up about 3 days before the tour to confirm everything and also brief u.

ahjo77

Hi Vanillasky

I am going on the 2nd nov too ...guess we will see each other during the tour ...kekekekkek =)

wonder how are we going to regconise each other kekekekekekke

dreamer17

May i know how much do u guys pay per person for a 8 day korea winter plus skiing trip? i planning to go in Dec 06 but not sure which agency to follow...any recommendations?

thank you...

ahjo77

Hi vanillasky

Ya we are in the same tour and i had make the full payment when i book liao...keke cos lazy to make another trip back to make the payment.

xiaobone

For Hongthai "All in" package in NOV 2. heard there is 22 ppl going. Anyway, anyone know where are the spots to shop after dinner? Some of the hotels Stayed like dun have shopping nearby. Sheraton Hotel for example a bit far from the shopping hotspots. Is it easy to get from hotel and go shopping and back?
Anyone know what is the best rate and where to change Won?

ying11

Hi all..
I just came back from Korea. Overall, had a very good tour guide and our group itself is very fun. Seoul itself is not fun at all but luckily the group itself is very fun, we crack a lot of jokes. I did not go to Jeju.

Our tour guide treated us to sashimi and beer on one of the days. We drank till quite late at night. Our tour guide which he proclaim is the top 10 tour guide in Seoul. Everywhere we go, other tour guides bowed to him. Hehehhe..and we were treated like VIPs. At the end of the trip, the guide bought for us a gift (soap in a very nice box) which costs around $7. We do not know one another at first but after 8 days, all of us can click so well. And we exchang emails so that we can plan for a trip together next time.

To all those going, pls note that Korea is very cold now. When I was there, temp was around 8-9 degrees. Very cold.

Food and shopping in Korea is very expensive. We spent around $700 just only on small gifts, photos, tippings and food. Seaweed per pack cost around $15. A mac meal is almost $12.

So, be prepared to spend....