Korea

my_rock_baby

Lotte Hotel Seoul is one of the best hotel I have stayed during my 8 Days package trip (with SA tour) in Korea. The room is big, with 2 beds (I think super single size). Toilet also big. The best is still the Deckson Spa Castle Hotel.

sheron

Tkzz MRB

ckim_sg

Hey guys,

How much does it cost to go to korea? Got budget constrain. 3k for 2 enough or not? For sometime in Feb or march?

my_rock_baby

3K for 2, u probably can go for those 6Days type. If u want 8 days (which includes Jeju, which is a MUST to go since the scenery there is nice), after adding in the necessary tax and tips, it will cost $1700++ per person liao.

sheron

i juz came back fr Seoul on F&E.
hotel and airfare cost us $3300 for a 4 days/3nites trip.
we flew on SQ and stayed at the Lotte hotel.

a very worth trip!!!!

sheron

ohhhh...in case you get sick of kimchi (like my hubby) do try the yoghurt fr RED MANGO, green tea latte fr KRISPY KREME and burger at KRAZE BURGER.

puppylove888

I presonally feel T-money is not necessary unless u really take a lot of trips and staying for more than a week...

why nobody talk abt sinkor fav guest house?
no regret for me and CHEAP..........

sinkor

Hi puppylove888,

ya...... the guesthouse really good..... somemore is in myeongdong location and near the subway! :D

Hi Sheron,

Red Mango is my fav too! and Baskin Robbin 31 which i have almost tried all the 31 fav of ice cream! As for Krispy Kreme, i love their donuts!!!! can eat non-stop! but for burger, i prefer the Scrimp (Prawn) Burger selling at Lotte Burger! :D

blurunicorn

Hi ppl,
I am currently in Seoul for business trip ..
Saw the nice food that u all were talking abt ..
Red mango, Krispy creme ??
Can share the add ??

sinkor

red mango is the yorgurt where u can find anywhere.... as long those shopping area or coffee cafe area then u can find it! for Krispy creme, i only know bundang have it....think their 2nd outlet if i not wrong is at apgujong....

psyduck

I am going to Korea on 23 Sept with Hong thai. Anyone has any idea on what the weather will be like over there at that time of the year? By the way, for the trip with Hong Thai, do we have to pay to go into Waterpia?

blurunicorn

Sinkor,
Thanks ..
I managed to find both Red mango and Krispy Creme at Lotte dept store over the weekend ..
Any suggestions for shopping or food ??

Psyduckie,
Shd be cooler by sept ..
Coz now is still very hot ...
Summer now ..

psyduck

Unicorn,

Hopefully Sept will be much cooler. So you got any suggestion on what else to see or eat over there? How's your business trip over there? good? got time to go shop and sightseeing?

blurunicorn

Hi Psyduckie,
I am working near Myeong-Dong so i get to shop there over the weekend ..
Pretty nice place to shop, din manage to cover the whole place over the weekend ..
Thinking of visiting the Seoul Tower and Coex Mall in the coming weekend ..
Work quite late every nite so oni goes for din with the local colleagues ..
Food wise is expv here, so be prepared ..
A simple meal can costs USD 8 to 10 ..
A better meal is abt USD 15 to 20 ..
The shopping here closes at 8pm ..
Visited Korea before, on tour, so not very keen to visit the theme parks ..

psyduck

Unicorn, what you working as? So how is it the working environment over there? your local colleagues got bring you to any special place? they should know some nice place usually not visited by tourist.

blurunicorn

Hi Psyduckie,
Been to the Gyeongbok Palace ..
I dun remember the spelling ..
Din really go alot of places coz worked till quite late every nite ..
But the local colleagues brought me to eat different local food ..
I am in the Accounting field and now assisting the branch in Korea for a while ..

sinkor

wow Unicorn!

So envy u that u are in Korea so I believe that you dun need to recommend on foods liao bcos have korean colleagues bring you around. Remember try their oden, and those food selling at the road stall hor!!! ask ur friend bring you to one famous kimchi chigae small restaurant (30 yrs++ experience)(very very old and small place) near Sejong Art Culture centre there.... yummy

psyduck

Wah Unicorn,

So good.. in accounting line still got chance to go overseas.. must enjoy yourself there and experience life over there with the locals.

Sinkor,
Any advice for anything special in Korea in September? Any idea what gifts to get for friends and relatives?

blurunicorn

Sinkor:
I think i will give sauna a miss ..
Not enuff time to shop liao ..
Hee hee ..
Have u been to the Seoul Tower ??

Psyduckie:
Juz happened tt the branch here needs some accounting assistance ..
So I am stationed for abt 3 weeks to provide assistance lor ..
Will be back in SG by the end of next week ..

sinkor

Hi Unicorn,

Ya, been to Seoul Tower.... nice scenery.... but now summer time dunno how the scenery esp Seoul got heavy pollution and air "foggy".... u might give a try to go there since just open after the renovation! wow! u shop alot huh? haha.... normally go for good and cheap thing, shop at Dongdaemum around midnite is the best! as for shop for foods (like seaweed, orange tea, etc) to buy back to singapore, go to their supermarket as price is much cheaper than u go and buy in a shop. :D

Hi Psyduckie,
you are going on beg September or end September? if end september, u might (but OCT best timing) able to see the beautiful autumn Korea! haha....
as for gifts for friends and relatives, i not sure for u. for me, normally i bought cartons of seaweeds (diff kind) to give them as Korea seaweeds is the best! haha.... if want souvenir, normally people will buy the korean dolls magnetic. if for girl friends, can buy the ginseng masks, korean brand cosmetic for them too....for aunties, can buy orange tea or ginger powder for them

blurunicorn

Hey Sinkor,
Wat is the best time to visit the Seoul Tower ??
At nite or the morning ??
Will be asking my colleagues to bring me to dongdaemum after work ..
Almost finished walking the whole of Myeong-Dong and helped my frens to buy their cosmetics ..
Will be gg to Nandeamum mkt tomolo ..
If the weather permits ..

psyduck

Hi Sinkor

Me will be going on 23rd Sept. Still waiting for my tour group to be confirm. hopefully no problem cos need one more person to reach the min number of 10. The seaweeds u mention can't be found in singapore? How's the price as compared to those korean ones found here?

Unicorn, what about some tips from you what to get for relatives and colleagues?

sinkor

Hi Unicorn,
visit seoul tower huh....go for the evening one so that u can see both daylight and nite time scenery! haha.....
so u going to Namdaemum.....good place to buy some souvenir like those magnetic korean dolls

Psyduckie,
if u following tour, normally ur guide will bring u to buy the seaweeds which is not so nice and exp! the seaweeds i mentioned i think can be found in korea supermarket in singapore but much more exp (maybe 30-50% more?)

psyduck

Sinkor.. Any brand n flavor of the seaweed to recommend? can show some pic? where would then the best place to get them?

blurunicorn

Sinkor,
I walked to Nandaemum today ..
The souveniors r cheaper there but then the seaweed are quite expv ..
A pack of 18 small packets costs ard KRW 20,000 leh ..
Abt sgd 35 liao leh ..
So i din bother to buy lah ..

sinkor

Hi Psyduckie,
as for brand, i have no idea as everytime i went, will buy diff kinds of brand. if u have chance to go their supermarket, EMART (very famous and cheap) or Hyundai supermarket, then there will be some samples for you to try.

Unicorn,
in fact, seaweeds selling at Dongdaemum or Namdaemum is SUPER exp as they are selling to tourists mah and somemore not delicious.... go to the supermarket like EMART, really worth to buy from there as they have many variety to choose from! even those Hyundai supermarket seaweeds even selling much cheaper than namdaemum and dongdaemum! haha.....

Note: EMART is like singapore version "GIANT"...

psyduck

Thanks Sinkor..

You are a valuable source of Korean information here.

Have you been to Lotte World and Everland? Any idea what is fun over there? or is there anything special to get there or eat there?

By the way, anyone going to Korea can go to the Korea Tourism Organisation website and request for a travel guide from there. they will send to you within days inclusive of some brochures of events in Korea. No need to go buy or borrow out dated ones from the library.

blurunicorn

Sinkor,
So where can I find E-mart ??
Anywhere in Myeung-Dong ??
I think i need to find some foodstuffs to buy back for colleagues ..

Psyduckie:
I oni bought souveniors for colleagues tt are close, will buy some snacks for the rest ..
Bought souveniors for frens and family lah, not relatives ..
Working trip, not for leisure lor ..
Hee hee ..

tge25

Hi to everyone...

I planning to go korea Honeymoon with my hubby ...

any comments on SA tours? i saw advertisemnet quoting 798 per person...

I planning to go in early Nov 06..any idea wat the weather is like?

psyduck

Ha ha.. Unicorn.. working trip also can try to enjoy yourself also. take the chance to experience the working culture there which you won't get to experience on holiday trips. Got any other type of snacks to recommend?

Sinkor.. any other type of snacks to intro?

sinkor

Hi Psyduckie,

Yes, went to lotte and Everland before. It is really fun.... and the Q not that long so u have the chance to take those rides.... So if your tour package included that, just join in and have fun! :D....but for eating? i dun think so there have any special foods, mostly are those fast foods....

Hi Unicorn,
MyeongDong dun have emart leh.... maybe u should ask ur colleague where is the nearest emart... I think I did mention in my previous post...at the same time, you can go http://www.emart.co.kr/index.jsp to check their price range.....

As for introducing snack.... there have many DELICIOUS snacks!!! must buy and try! normally i bought is the octopus snacks (pink packaging)... u can buy a small packet and try and then decided which to buy! haha..... Oh ya, in korea, really famous choco pie but i tried b4 and not my taste leh! :p

Hi Choc,

Go korea in early Nov is the time when they are turning from autumn to winter..... but if u are lucky, still got the chance to see the autumn leaves. as for tour, i cant comment as i never go to korea by tour package....

tge25

Hi sinkor,

I planned to go right after my AD, which is 1st of Nov till maybe ard 5-6 Nov....

hmmm...winter time ah... any idea how many degree?

Grrrrr.... must be cold ah.... hahaa

blurunicorn

Choc:
I had been to Korea on tour packages twice, once in Autumn (early Nov) and Winter (early Jan) ..
Autumn is very beautiful as u get to see difft shades of color in a single tree ..
And magnify the impact with the whole park of trees ..
Spectacular is the oni word to describe ..
And the fotos turned out to be very vibrant ..
As for winter, everywhere is white and snowy ..
Loved the iced-cystallised tree branches ..
Very nice ...
Winter can be as cold as minus degrees lah ..

Sinkor:
I will look look see see tonite lah ..
Shd be trying my luck to leave early so tt i can go dongdaemum ..

Psyduck:
Will ask my local colleagues abt wat snacks to bring back to SIN ...

am_blessed

Hi choc,
u interested in taking SA tour? me too keep on looking at their website yesterday, i missed out their in-hse fair =(...is the price listed in their website is still valid if we book now, i tot it's the price during in-house fair only.

but anyway, my fren who went to Korea last april wif SA tour said he's satisfied overall. but it seems their price is not the cheapest though. have u compared wif Hong Thai (most ppl in the forum used Hong Thai for tour group to korea, and Genting Holiday is the cheapest).

btw, may i know wat's the itinerary like for $798 package? My HM is in end of Dec =)

eiggam

I'm thinking of gg Korea this Dec (early Dec). I checked with Hong Thai, 8D6N price is ard $1700+++ with taxes (can't rem the exact amt)per pax.

will it b v cold in winter? is the tour with Hong Thai really v rush?

Hi sinkor, rem me? ;) we chatted before..

tge25

Hi maggie

Ur package so exp ah...1700!

OMG.... i onli prepared to pay 1k per person...if too exp then maybe i just go to nearby countries for a short getaway...

I am not sure abt the current price for SA...

but it seems attractive...last weekend i was unable to go to the fair... ;(

maybe this weekend go see see look look got any bargains bo

psyduck

Maggie,

Check with Hong Thai whether there is any discount. they usually give some discount for the first 10 pax.

Am_blessed.
Look out for the newspapers daily. there sure be offers every now and then especially all the tour agencies gearing towards the market for the year-end travel. think Natas fair going to happen in Sept. can look out for more offers there. think you should increase your budget especially if you going in Dec as it is the holiday peak period and if you really want to enjoy.

Sinkor,

My package include tickets for rides at Everland and Lotte World. Hopefully not too many people so that can maximise the rides. went to Universal studio and Disneyland in Japan before but too many people so didn't really enjoy a lot of the rides even though the admission ticket covered every rides.

sinkor

Hi Choc,

My mistakes...... early nov still consider autumn bah bcos last year i went to korea on end oct/early nov and still have autumn leaves! :p
Weather that time is cool in the afternoon and cold (not very cold) in the nite time...

Hi Maggie! of course still remember u! how are u getting on? :D

Hi Psyduckie,
went to japan disneyland before..... so far everland and lotte world Q not as horrible as japan disney.....so not to worry! :D

eiggam

Hi choc & psyduckie,

the price is so high cos it's the peak season and sch hols. the actual price is 1400++ already, then add the sirport tax $200++ so abt S1700++. Then the entire tour will stay in 5 or 6 star hotel hence the price. Is it considered ex? I checked with the other thread on Korea in Winter, seems that last yr ppl also paid ard this price..hmm..

Hi sinkor,

Yep, i'm good.. wedding over liao.. now planning for HM lo.. how r u?

am_blessed

after i did research in people's park complex yesterday, i realized for dec, the price for Winter Korea package is ard $1700. Genting Holiday is the cheapest (ard 1.3-1.4K) but they give only 3* hotel and only 2 hrs to play ski.

hi maggies,
do u plan to take 8D "all in" korea deluxe? i read from the postings last year (dec 05), they said it's quite rush..esp for shopping & theme park.

Btw, I have questions to ask:
I am comparing two itineraries...dunno which one to choose. Both are 8D 6N packages.
Is it worth it to top up SGD100 more for: full set ski suit+gloveses+ski equipment & add in decksan spa castle for 1 day & can watch "wedding in the snow" performance?
But as a result, I will lost the visit to Chuncheoon Nami Island (but the itinerary said subject to weather condition anyway) and Chuncheon Myongdong.....in replacement oto Decksan Spa Castle? Which one more worth it?
Thanks for all your advise ^_^

sinkor

Hi Maggie,
Me too, wedding already over and honeymoon (Maldives) also went liao.... now planning dec'06 or feb'07 trip to Korea & US.

dreamer17

i am planning to go korea in early Dec for a tour. can anyone advise me on which tpur agency is reliable and good and reasonable price? I am planning for a 8 day korea + jeju tour with ski-ing, anyone know roughly how much will it cost per person inlcuding all taxes?

also will it be cheaper to book during the NATAS fair?

eiggam

Hi am_blessed,

Yah, considering taking the "All In" package and also read the last yr's thread about it being v rush. Still considering lo.. will talk to my hubby again see if it's feasible or not, cos we're more used to free and easy packages. If not, maybe go NZ or Australia or just nearby countries. I'm v scared of bitter cold.

Hi sinkor,

How's Maldives? Had fun? I haven't had the time to go HM yet cos i changed my job right after my wedding and my hubby is a teacher so can only go holidays during sch hols.. So mafun..

Hi dreamer,

U may wanna check out the in-house sales now cos read from another thread the in-house sales cheaper than NATAS but NATAS got tie-up with credits cards for more freebies. Can just ask around first ba.

sinkor

Hi maggie,

ya, so far so good holiday in maldives..... aiyoyo, so that y u are going for your HM this nov/dec right???

Hi am_blessed & maggie,

If you all scare that the ALL IN package is very rush, y not extend a few day F&E by yourself in Seoul?

am_blessed

Hi sinkor,
yeah...can consider to extend too.

Hi maggie,
Hong Thai will have in-house fair this sunday....hopefully they have good deal. dunnoe y, some lucky gals from the last yr thread can get 1.4K for 8D "all-in" package. How abt Chan Bros...their in house fair is coming soon too. but they're not so specialized in Asia tour...as my fren said

Hi dreamer,
ur departure date is ard the same time as Maggie...so good =)