Korea

sinkor

Hi mimi!

wow! so u are going to korea this friday late night flight? initially i also taking that timing but i postpone to go on sat 8am flight. Which airline you are taking?

So u are going with your hubby? how many days are u staying? For me, i staying in my in-law house, so not staying in hotel.... so which place u plan to go? :D

miso_888

Hi Sinkor

I am taking SQ, dont't tell me you also taking SQ...ha ha if you never postpone then we can meet on flight. Yes, going with my hubby last minutes change plan to korea as we wanted to go Tokyo but flight full. Will be in Seoul for a week. Actually, i have no plan yet so now reading this thread to see what to do. we will take subway or taxi to all those attractions. Maybe you have time can be my tour guide. hee hee !!!! How long will you stayed there ?

sinkor

wow!

I also taking SQ! aiyoyo...too bad i change to sat morning as need to have renioun dinner with my family on fri! okok....can u leave ur email here? i will send a simple itineary for u as reference (as last time i make for my friend).... i will be staying till Sunday 5/2... dun tell me we go back at the same timing hor! haha.....

brunch_brunch

Hi gals who have been to korea.

can i check with you all which it more worthwhile to go? Everland or Lotte world?

whats the difference between this two places of interest har? and the entrance fee?

and if the rides are open during this cold weather?

i am going somewhere in Feb 06. Going by free and easy.

Thanks very much in advance

brunch

eugo

mimi,

when I was there the temp there below 0. Things you can buy is THE FACE SHOP's product esp their face mask and seaweed ba. ^^

eugo

brunch,

Everland will be more interesting and fun than Lotte World. I went to both places... I prefer Everland. Cos its bigger than Lotte World and more rides.. yes.. all outdoor rides are available even during winter.

lili05

Eugo,

Our tour guide leaded us to walk on the grasses instead of the stairs,I only climbed up to half way.....stopped at the shelter with benches there...U go to the top? Wat's up??

miso_888

Hi Sinkor
I just done my phone check-in, have you done your phone check-in? Too bad if you going on Fri we can meet each other at SQ lounge. I taken my renioun dinner since 14Jan. My email is "[email protected]" No lah, can't afford to spend too many days as hotel cost S$210 per night. I will be there till 02Feb only. Can recommend good places for food ? ok i wait for your email.

Hi Eugo
Wow! below zero is consider very cold already. You see snow ? How to go to Cheju ?

eugo

LiLi,

Yeah... we climbed all the way up. The scenary very very nice... wind very very strong. ^^

Mimi,

Yeah I saw snow at Mt Sorak.

How to go to Cheju? I go by package tour wor.. our tour guide bring us there by taking domestic flight. If you are going free and easy... i think sinkor is the best person to ask wor. ^^

sinkor

Hi mimi!

wow! u win liao! i have been trying to call SQ check-in line since morning but keep engaging.... so i check-in online liao..... didnt expect that seem like the whole singapore are calling SQ to check-in...now i can image the crowd in airport from tomorrow onward! haha....

ok.... will email to u in few minutes time! oh...go to cheju ah... that time i bought a tix there (asiana airline) cost around S$200++.

wow! which hotel u staying? Hotel Sejong? or where? u book online? if i not wrong, the hotel didnt provide breakfast right?

lili05

Eugo,

scencary very nice har? Got pix to share or not? Ai ya, i nv climb up there....
U saw snow at Mt Sorak, so the buddha covered with snow?

eugo

LiLi,

Got.. but i didn't bring the photos to work. I will try to upload during the weekends..

Hmm.. okie.. i rephrase my word. It was snowing when we are leaving Hanwah Resort early in the morning. ^^

lili05

Eugo,

oic...was the snow heavy?
b.t.w did u buy the yougurt mask(in different types of fruits) fr the face shop (wash off type)? Gd or not? Initally wanted to buy & miss the opportunity!

lili05

Eugo,

ya ya, looks tasty...all sorts of fruits! Did u try any The skin food product? Now looking for 1 skin care products...

eugo

LiLi,

nope. But I find the Skin Food Product's packaging very nice leh.. hehee.. but I am using Biotherm skin care product so didn't try other brands one except the Face mask from TFS

lili05

Eugo,

Is Biotherm expensive? price range ard how much? The skin care product consists of what items? cleanser, toner? Anything for pimples?

miso_888

Hi Sinkor
Thanks for the email, very useful and detail. I have printed out and will bring it to korea. I will not go Cheju as is too costly to fly. I will be staying at Royal hotel. BTW, is the currency in korea better than sin? Here I Wishing you have a Happy Chinese New Year.

Hi Eugo
Hope i can see snow like you as i am fully packed with all my winter clothing. Wishing you have a Happy Chinese New Year.

sinkor

Hi mimi, mooniiie & all gals!

Wish you a HAPPY & PROSPEROUS NEW YEAR!!!
mimi..... u mean the currency rate? Change in singapore more better! So, hope u have your fun in Korea!

Hi Mooniie,

GONG XI FA CAI to you too! is your AD over? send me pixs hor.... Cheers!

miso_888

Hello Sinkor, Eugo & gals

I am back from korea. Yes, change more $$ in singapore is much better than korea.
I have so much fun in korea the weather is damn cold. No problem to travel on Free & Easy. I took the subway(MRT) everywhere I go. They have English signboard. No need to join tour package.

Places visited :
Coex mail - take photos and see see look look didn't buy anything there as the price seem to be very costly.
How to get there : Get off at Samseong Station,
Take Green Line 2

Dongdeemon Market - many shops open all night
Mordern shopping malls such as Migliore,Doosan Tower (Doota),hello apM,Freya Tower etc...
How to get there : Get off at Dongdaemun Station on line 1 or 4 or Dongdaemun Stadium Station on Line 2,4 or 5.

Myeong-Dong - like our orchard road, shop there everyday is walking distance from my hotel.
How to get there : Get off at Enljiro 1(il)-ga station, Green line 2

Insa Dong - Art gallery, house deco etc.
How to get there : Get off at Anguk, Orange line 3

Shinchon Fashion Street - quite similar to
Myeong Dong (Orchard road in singapore)
How to get there : Get off at Ewha Womans University Station or Sinchon Station on Green Line 2

Munjeong-dong Rodeo Street - is popular for those who looking for discounted famous international brand eg. Addias, Puma etc... but is more expensive there but some limited edition design don't find it in Singapore.
How to get there : Get off at Munjeong Station on Pink line 8, exit 1

Lotte World - spend one day there. Very crowded and need to "Qup" 1.5hrs-2hrs to go for one ride.
How to get there : Get off at Jsil station, Green line 2

Tried the korean Bath - (Public Bath)open 24hrs
First things first, you undress, and stuff all things have to put it into a locker. Then you put on a t-shirt and short. You can go for hot/cold sauna rest and relax on the higer floor where man or woman can be inside watch tv or drink. Then you go down to a lower floor which everyone got to be naked,rinse off or do a quick soap up and rinse then choose the pool (hot,warm or cold) of your choice. It was really nice experience and i enjoy the bath and remover all my dirt. Then you can opt for oil massage after the scrub. prices is $35,000 won + S$6,000 won entrance fee.

DMZ tour - DMZ Tour (a half-day) S$46,000 won per person.
Board bus at hotel → Head towards the DMZ → The Third Tunnel → The Dora Observatory → The Dora Mountain Train Station → Imjingak Tourist Site → Return to Itaewon or city hall.
is a good experience to walk thru the 3rd Tunnel but no photos is allow as is military area.
Must bring your passport to go on this tour.

Bought many :
Laneign skin care product ...really cheaper than singapore.

sinkor

Hi mimi!

Really glad that u enjoy in Korea! I was sick in korea leh!!! argh....... but still ok lah.... wow! u really tried the kroean bath! nice hor? but if not wrong, before go sauna, u have to bath, rinse and shower and scrub clean clean, then go sauna, after sauna, go bath the first procedure first as more effective for our skin....

too bad that i still didnt able to go DMZ yet as my hubby cannot join the tour as he is Korean! argh.... will one day to go there with friends liao! between, u able to see any snow? i only able to see little snow in bundung on thursday nite.....

miso_888

Hi Sinkor

ah ya!!! I did not follow the procedure, I just go sauna, watch tv, go sauna again then go to the warm pool 15mins and wait for my turn to scrub. After the scrub, i added the oil massage. The lady wash my hair and face and put a some cucumber onto my face "cooling". Very nice feeling I wish singapore also have something similar like this and not so costly as going to SPA. I tried all the korean food and I was very suprise to see the resturant menu only sell one type of food also and can survive.

DMZ tour Korean also can go. My coach member also have 2 korean lady accompany with their "Ang Mo" boyfriends" they showed their korea passport at the check-point. I am sure you can go with your hubby next time.
No, I didn't see snow in seoul but wish to go maybe in Dec.

I skin very dry... many red spot. I also sick, maybe of the hot weather in Singapore cannot take it. When are you going korea again?

sinkor

Hihi mimi!

ya....korean can go DMZ but until one area where is very near the border, Korean are not allow to go....

i agreed with u that the sauna is shiok but too bad singapore dun have.... think we are shy to be naked and walked around bah......kekeke....

i got sick bcos eat raw shell thingys... skin very dry too so applied alot of moisturiser....esp the last few days... temperature is -8 to -10 deg...

I think I am going to korea during the mooncake festival as is a BIG THING in korea as most korean will return to their homeland to celebrate...

viavia

Any hotels with reasonably good location and price range around S$120?

Prefer hotels not motels or little inns as I am going with family.

Hi all i've just booked an 8 day trip incl jeju at the natas fair yest. Departing APril 15..

Can anyone advise wat is the temp then? i know its still spring..& was advised by travel agt to wear a windbreaker esp in jeju which can hv quite strong winds..

Anyone been to SUNBI TOWN FOLK VILLAGE? it's showed on channel U with fiona xie & ben ong. CTC says they are the exclusive agt for this place so me & hubby quite looking fwd to it

Also in my itinery its namdaemum & myongdong for shpg. wat is the diff when compared to dongdaemun (which i only know its a bldg) :p

hi starlet yep i booked from ctc , i got the itinery for hong tai
both also good but hubby prefers to exp. the 'korean way of life' so we chose ctc. $1288 per pax not incl. taxes so u goin 1 day before me

hi jess i think june will be summer time. heard jul / july will be very hot ley.

irene_crystal

hi everyone, i hv also booked a tour package w chan bro at $1348 per pax incl jeju too. But i will departing on 6th Apr 06. hope to watch the sakura... anyone knw what is the temp by thn?

truffle

Has anyone visited the filming location of Full House? Planning to go there but heard that the place is very rundown now. If that's true, maybe will not waste time going there.

sinkor

truffle, u mean u planning to go "Full HOuse" by yourself or tour package included? my friend did go there my herself and she mentioned is a very "tough" journey leh.....

truffle

Planning to go there on my own. I know it's not easy, but it's a free and easy trip and i do hope to visit that place. When did your friend go there? Can you help me check wiith your friend if the place is really that different? I stumble upon a forum, someone mentioned that they found unfinished food in the cupboard, some litter here and there, the place not as nice as in the drama.

So if it's really like what's been mentioned, then i won't go there already..coz as said, it's not easy to go there and i do not want to waste my time.

sinkor

truffle, my friends went there alst year April and she told me not that dirty during that time as got caretaker to take care the FULL HOUSE.

bluesea2

Hi, going to Seoul on business trip next mth. Am sure will hv some free time to shop around, where do u u buy those grade AAA bags/wallets? First time to Seoul, need some tips, thanks!

woof

hello pple,
i m tinking of travelling to korea in early june...any comments? quite keen in CTC 8daes + jeju and wif the KTX train.....
pls advise me..

Hi ppl,

I will transit in Seoul on my way to Canada and was thinking of spending 3 or 4 days there. Anybody can recommend places to stay, things 2do and places to visit? Thank you so much! =)

miso_888

Hi beary

I stayed at Seoul Royal Hotel - South Korea.
This hotel is located at Myung-Dong (like our orchard road or ladies market in HK). Busy street,till late. Also is near to the Subway & i have no regret in staying there.

As for where to go or visit, you can read my earlier post as above.

hi d woof i just got back from korea..bump into another SG grop that went on the KTX train..i heard they are disappointed le..but i m not sure why though...

hi mimi hee i also stayed in royal hotel.yeah very central location..though i find the room abit cramped. Besides this..all is good

woof

hello sushi,
tks for the info..i thot the KTX train is exclusively fm CTC onli...
well i ended up signing wif SA tours.....
so hw's ur trip? good?

eugo

anyone of you heard of T-Money? I read from some websites. if we purchase the card right, we need to pay 11,500 won which consists of 10,000 won for the card stored value and the extra 1,500 won is for the card amount. Any idea if we refund the card right, we will get back the 1,500 won as well? Thanks!

hi d woof, u r welcome. i m not sure if the KTX is excl. from CTC..how come u didnt sign with CTC in the end?

yeah my trip is good
it was snowing..we were thrilled.

miso_888

Hi Sushi
Lucky, my room is at the corner room so is not that small. Just nice for both of us.

Hi Dwoof
if you have not book, better go on free and easy can see more things. Join tour group only bring you to those tourist attraction and must wake up very early. My sister did join tour group, share with you her experience, her tour guide bought them to one of the Ginseng Shop say is cheap US$400 per packet, end up their group didn't buy anything from that shop. The tour guide face turn black and told them off "You make me lose face" you guys came and see never buy. Her group very angry after she passed such remark. Her group decided not to give the tour guide any tips. But on the last day, early morning tour guide knock at their door for tips and is compulsory.

Hi Eugo
http://www.t-money.co.kr/jsp/pub/eng_kscc/T_what.jsp

hi mimi i tot standard room is all standard size..got big n small huh?

as for goin F&E or Group i feel a mix is good cos of the language barrier its not ez to travel alone esp if u are first time there. The good thing abt grp tour is u experience diff places over the whole of korea, trpt u dun need to worry cos u hv a driver & tour guide. Food is taken care of. I dun actually understand the TIPs part though. I also paid tips..n think abit ridiculous to ask for THEIR STATED AMOUNT.
Isnt this included in our tour fare? Even if i want to give tips, i thought its fair to give wat i want to give .

Hi mimi,

Thanks for the info! =) How did u book the hotel and how much is the rate? I went to their website but the rate quoted there is very exp! almost $300 per nite..

woof

hello mimi,
which tour agency did ur sis follow? i've oreadi booked liao...leaving in early june....

sushi,
din sign up coz my hubby prefer SA itinery...