Korea

lili05

Eugo,

Our group got 40 person.

Eve,

I didn't ski so still got extra $$ + we didn't got much time to shop, so i still got extra $$ to bring back & I changed the won back to S$ at the airport at gd rate 618, ha still earns!

eve21

Eugo
I changed at People Park centre, where Hong Thai is. Didn't take note of the name of the store. But it just in front of the main sliding door. A india guy will be sitting on a high stool.

eve21

Lili05
He didn't tell us the reason, I guess they unable book all of us into the hotel ba... Anyway Intercontinental is equivalent 6-star ba. So its ok. Intercontinental has underground shopping linked to the hotel, but didn't manage to shop as most shop closed when we reach hotel.

YES!! The "Tu Chan" shop is the underground one. Buy 5 get 1 free. Should be the same one.

rain_drop

halo,

thinking of gng korea for hm, anybody can recommend a good tour agency with reasonable package? Thinking of gng end of jan or beginning of feb.

lili05

Eve,

Our tour group not all youngster, so I guess tat's y he nv mention to go hard rock....
Actually all the 5 or 6 stars hotel is the same, nothing special as we all staying at std room....The hotspring hotel, the bathtub is dirty...even the shower is spoiled!
Our photographer wear a spec, very tall & young...he accepts all currency but best won currency becoz of the exchg rate.

eve21

eugo
Intercontinental is the best hotel of all... yes its near the ceox mall. Their hotel rating is something like their 5* is our 4*, 6* is our 5* lor...
Lili05
The hotspring hotel should be the Hanwah resort, condo style with kitchen, tatami room... Yes the one quite old. No hair dyer some more... I end up sleeping with wet hair... cos too tired!!

eugo

Eve,

Icic.. hopefully the tour guide will opt for Intercontinental instead..cos i have been to sheraton walkerhill le.. i got a call from my tour leader.. i asked her abt the pple in our group. she said age group is 20 - 30+

lili05

Eve,

Do u hv ur dinner almost everyday ard 8.30pm? Always reached hotel quite late in the nite....image the last nite, I slept at 1+ am...reached hotel ard 12am..

lili05

Eugo,

Exciting n exciting rite? Time drawing near n near....u ever been to korea during spring or autumn? Which is e best? I nv been to a country in autumn, hope to see the autumn leaves....
So ur tour group also mainly youngster....

eugo

LiLi,

yeah... very excited wor.. hehee.. i been to korea during Spring and winter.. now going to winter again.. my fren went to autumn.. she said very very nice... esp the scenaries... the colour of autumn...hehee.. weather cooling too..

lili05

Eugo,

Can find out for me if want to see those orange col autumn leaves, ard when will the leaves turn to that col? If nx time planning to go again may consider gg for autumn....

eve21

Lili05

Ya... our dinners were always ard tat time. Reached hotel almost 10plus, after bath & settle down & pack luggage (next day early in the morning gotta set off)... already almost 12am liao. The last day we reached hotel at abt 1am+. After bath & settle down & pack again abt 3am liao. Damn tired.... but enjoy. ;>

lili05

pupplelove,

U bought the ling zhi honey fr jeju? Do u still remember the 3 items, sheng mi,ling zhi & wu wei zi, wat r their functions?

puppylove888

lili
yup me bought the old man brand lingzhi honey at jeju
i need to check out the brouchure wat the 3 item u mention (hope still have)

me also bought the dong chong xia cou power form in seoul

lili05

puppylove,

u got the brouchure when u bought the items? We don't hv...now can't remember wat the 3 items gd for already....only remember the wu wei zi, drink already teeth white white...

eugo

Hello... I am back!!

So tired wor.. the schedule like very packed... Tour guide okie lah.. cos he is a korean.. chinese not that gd.. can't understand him well.. hehee.. thanks for all the information provided by all of u.... I bought most of my stuffs at Cheju's E-mart! I saw the E-mart at Incheon too.. but too bad when we reach there.. its closed at 9pm.. we went there at 9:05pm wor.. aiyo... overall.. this trip not too bad.. but i finally saw the hidden cost when i was there.. the rental fees of the ski equipment etc.. this package not really that cheap wor..

lili05

Hi Eugo,

U finally back!! ha....packed hor....so heavy to carry all ur stuff fr cheju back to korea island hor, bought all the mask?...The Incheon emart, u mean the last hotel right? Wah, u reached the last hotel so early?? I reached there already 11pm+ to 12am! The nx morning when get to see the emart already 10+, gg to check out liao...
So, wat is the hidden cost? share share....

lili05

Eugo,

ya, sheng mi for constipation but still got other function rite? cannot remember....did u buy? The lady who introduced the items very cute, already 50yrs old still looks so young! She throw the honey on the flr to show us that they are packed with those polyfoam...very safe....but when reached home then we realised the other 2--ling zhi & wu wei zi's box inside don't hv those polyfoam! It's just those bubble plastic bag, so risky...lucky we didn't check in! And the wu wei zi, when we open, there's some leakage fr the cover!

eugo

LiLi,

Yeah.. very packed ne! but good things is that got enuff time to shop at Myeongdong.. bought alot of masks.. hehee..

I bought the Sheng Mi.. hehee..yeah lor.. that ajuma very cute.. hehee.. she keeps showing us her pass lor.. she mentioned abt her 2 seconds appearance in Da Chang Jin. hehee.
Wah.. so risky ah.. if not hand-carry dunno what will happen le hor..

Hidden cost like the ski equipment + gondola ride lor.. cost us abt 100+ SGD leh.. cos diff period of the season diff prices mah.. then the price HT mentioned during NATAS fair is much more lower than what we paid lor.. they said its optional becos some pple dun wanna ski mah.. but i think almost 90% pple will ski mah.. and since the rental fees is not fixed.. they might incur more costs if they include that in their package lor.. therefore they set it as optional lor.. food wise.. hmm.. not so fantastic.. if i compared with my previous trip.... cos this trip all pork pork pork.. only 1 meal with chicken and that's it. the ginseng chicken soup they provided not genuine.. that shop sells not only ginseng chicken but also bbq stuffs.. last time those places i went for the ginseng chicken soup only sells ginseng chicken wor.. and more tasty.. this is just my personally opinions. ^^

lili05

Eugo,

I thought u know the exact price of the ski equipt + gondola ride...u mean the ride price also vary due to season??!

How many hrs for u to shop at myeongdong?
Did u go to the underground shopping at cheju? Saw the skin food?

eugo

LiLi,

I thot i know too.. but the price HT told us vary from time to time wor..

myeongdong i think 5 or 6 hrs.

Cheju...nope... we keep on going to e-mart lor.. hehee.. skin food i saw it but din buy.. i only buy TFS and the eye colour from myeongdong clothings. the underground shopping fun?

miso_888

Hello Eugo, Sinkor & all

I am confuse not sure whether 3G handphone can be use in Korea ? M1 and Singtel told me "Yes" but Starhub told me "No".

Alternative, I am thinking of renting a phone
from one of the service provider but can I still receive sms ?

Could someone pls enlighten me.

lili05

Eugo,

wah, so long, 5-6hrs?! So ur schedule not so packed leh... the skin food, where did u see it? The undergroung shopping, nothing special, just the shops all underground lor...but i bought the face mask at the underground Face shop....lucky....

lili05

Hi Mimi,

I think 3G hp can be use in korea, but i do not know whether is M1, Singtel or Starhub becoz i saw a few of the tourmate using their hp...

eugo

LiLi,

I think I saw it at Myeongdong leh.. quite packed wor.. cos we woke up early every morning.. then go here and there wasted alot of time on traveling in the coach le wor..

lili05

Eugo,

I wonder how come u all got so many hrs in Myeongdong? so gd! So did u stay in the walkerhill?
How's e weather? Cold? See any snow?? How long do u stay in lotte world?
At the dragon peak, e wind very strong hor.....wat's e tempt at the ski resort?

eugo

LiLi,

Dunno wor.. maybe the tour guide cut down the duration for other places ba..

Yeah.. we stayed at walkerhill so I went to take the shuttle bus to the subway station then took the subway to Dongdaemun. Our schedule change abit wor... our 3rd night in Korea shd be in Yong Pyong but change to stay in walkerhill lor.
The weather was cold. mostly below 0. I saw snow when we are leaving Mt Sorak. We stayed about 3hrs at lotte.. but really very boring.. nothing much to play..cos too crowded.. i prefer Everland.. bigger and more interesting.

Yeah.. strong wind at Dragon Peak and we managed to make our snowman there! ^^ Temp at Ski Resort is only abt -4 to -8. not that cold lor.. disappointed ne!

lili05

Eugo,

Our third nite also stayed in walkehill, but damn tire to move as we reach there already 10pm+....u still got time to go Dongdaemun yourself! U still know where to take shuttle bus...we all really don't hv time to explore this hotel at all!

Still can make snowman at the Dragon Peak? wow! When we reached there, we went out & being blown back....my hands so cold until I can't do anything, went out to take 1 or 2 shots & ran back....actually my trip to korea didn't really touched the snow...

Temp at ski resort only -8? So tat period we went more colder..nite -17.6, daytime -11.1
Actually where is myeongdong clothings? We didn't walk very inside...only stopped at the big shopping centre & a few shops further, tat's it....did u manage to go Namdaemum?

sinkor

Hihi Eugo!!!

wow! u are back liao! so fast...heehee.... is my turn to go on sat at last liao! haha.... so did u buy any seaweed? try the Red Mango? or those street stall at Myeongdong?

Hi mimi,

i think the 3G phone that M1 & Singtel mention is it W-CDMA which is not common in Singapore? You have to check clearly with them... as for LiLi mentioned, i think the tourmate is using the rent phone...

as for sms service, i not sure whether it can be use. but renting a phone to korea also not cheap leh... maybe u can try using phonecard? FYI, u also can rent a phone when reaching korea incheon airport... i think u can look for more information at SK telecom website....to compare which is more cheaper. :D

eugo

LiLi,

Myeongdong clothings is near to the cineplex.. I din go to Namdaemum wor.. only concentrate on Myeongdong.. hehee.. time not enuff leh..

Yeah lor.. last time i went during Dec.. i felt colder than Jan.. but dunno why.. all the weather charts etc.. and other forums posting.. pple said heavy snow in Jan wor.. is it becos of global warming? Last yr I went during Spring and it was like Summer leh..

eugo

Sinkor,

Yeah back le!! wah.. fast hor... yeah I did!! E-mart got alot wor! hehee.. I tried Red Mango and Baskin 31 Robbin Ice Cream.. and the tall/long Ice Cream at Myeongdong.. Yummy!! ^^

lili05

Eugo,

This round u saw snow right...
too bad nv got a chance to go up Mt. Sorak! We only hv 15mins there.

This Jan seems not so cold as I saw the degree not so low...

Too bad i nv got e chance to try red mango & baskin 31 robin ice cream! I saw baskin 31 robin at cheju,chun chuan...nv try....by the time i saw it again I was having cough,therefore cannot take...
I took those normal ice cream at cheju.

eugo

LiLi,

Yeah lor.. if not i will be very very disappointed ne!

Yah.. I also felt that too.. not as cold as i have thot.

Hey I tried the baskin 31 robbin ice cream from Cheju and Chuncheon wor.. hehee

sinkor

Hi Eugo,

good good..... i cant wait to makan korean foods there!!!

Hi LiLi,

nevermind, next time if u going to korea again, sure have chance to try.... :D
btw, Bangkok also have Baskin Robbins 31 too, u can give a try but still feel taste in korea much better :D

miso_888

Hi Lili05, Eugo and Sinkor
Thanks for your feedback. Last night went to rent the phone.

Sinkor
I am travelling this week, coming Friday. BTW, which hotel are you staying ? Really wonder how the weather there now. I'm going on free and easy.

Eugo
what clothes to bring since is not that cold.
Did you wear long john + cotton or wool blouse with winter jacket ?

eugo

sinkor,

Gd for you wor... I missed the food le... haiz... hope to go there again.....

Mimi,

Normally I wear a t-shirt(1st layer), wool sweater (2nd layer) and my down jacket (3rd layer). For bottom, I wear long john and jean or just pant made of cotton. That time i went not that cold.. not sure if now its getting colder or not leh.. i think you better check the temp ba.. in case you go there and its cold.. ^^
Forgot to mention the day i touched down.. its the so-called 1st day of the 4 warmer days. They said the weather in Korea is 3 cold days followed by 4 warmer days. And Jeju is not as cold as other part of Korea.

miso_888

Hi Eugo

yes, that is a good idea to wear t-shirt (1st layer) if not very hot cannot take out the wool sweater. what was the temp when you were there? Also,what product is cheap in korea that is worth buying as compare with Sin?