Korea

bluey

eugo,
the discount is 15% storewide so quite a good buy ba...as compare to usual....

wow like a lot of nice food there.. think i must start writing down the information liao le....

yodee

Yup, Red Mango Yoghurt is a must try. I am not a fan of yoghurt. in fact, i was apprehensive when i was buying it. But I read that sinkor strongly recommended this. I tried and i loved it. It is so much better than any yoghurt i have eaten in sg. Too bad, they don sell it in sg.

yodee

bluey,

bring one pair of normal socks for skiing. My tour guide reminded us to wear normal socks but i went ahead with my thick woollen socks. I ended up , with difficulties wearing the ski boots. too tight at the calves. (by the way, my feet is size 5 but i got thick calves. that could be one of the reason.)

puppylove888

eugo
yup the 30 cm ice cream is at myeong dong
located at the main street...tink is just opp myeong dong clothing
1000 won for normal favour
1500 won for yogurt lover

puppylove888

Lili
supermarket not say no give platic bag lah but must pay loh
for boutique they give of cos
rem to take more tester and esp catalogue as inside many sample

puppylove888

eugo
Migliore,Hello APM,designer club,etc all can bargain
just be nice to them
just keep telling them "pi sa da"...and then "sage sage"
korean are quite nice person although on the road u feel their behaviour are "rude"
have fun bargaining
but DOOTA 90% FIXED price (bullshit as can find same item selling cheaper next building)

lili05

puppylove,

the catalogue are placed there we just take or need to request fr them?

b.t.w wat is "pi sa da" & "sage sage"?

eugo

puppylove888,

hehee.. okie thanks! yeah lor.. they knocked onto you without saying sorry one.. but now I feel that is normal already lor.. hehee..

you mean can ask them for sample from those cosmetic shops? The Face shop have?

eugo

Puppylove888,

Pi San is expensive rite?

Sage Sage is asking them to charge us cheaper or give us discount rite?

riushiki

I'm going tomorrow hee hee :p

Travelling with Ana** but thk their service suck !:x

By the way, how do I call back S'pore ? Must buy IDD card ? Izzit ex to call from hotel ?

I will be staying at koreana hotel ...
Dunno good or not .. supposed to be holiday inn but guess they can't get the accomodation.

As for ski resort, will be staying at Phoenix Park. Is Yong Pyeong a better resort ? :p

Very excited .. scare it will be very cold :p But still feel very excited.

I will like to visit the war memorial park too :p

eugo

Riushiki,

Normally I will be a Singtel World Card @ $10 and i think got $20 and $50 one. Then you need to scrap the card to get the code. Each time you make a call, you need to key in the code which is quite troublesome. When you buy the card... there will be instructions given to you.

But 1 card not enuff for me so I ended up buying the phone cards in korea lor.. the phone cards are sold in hotel receptions... minimarts.. price is 3,000 won, 5,000 won etc...

Ski resort ah.. I prefer Yong Pyong wor.. been to Phoenix Park in Spring but still prefer Yong Pyong.. personally preference ba. ^^

riushiki

Hi EuGo

With the world card, I can only call from public phone izzit ? Can use hotel phone to call back ? :p Sorry har .. very 38 :p

So exciting hee :p

eugo

Riushiki,

hmm..not sure wor.. normally i go to the hotel's lobby public phone booth to make my calls.. sorry ah.. i can't help you on this. normally i dun touch the room's phone one.. more clear cut cos they might charge us if we make outside calls.

sinkor

Topokki - Rice cake
Oden - Fish cake in a stick and soak in the water (soup) which share with other people....

yodee

hotel room fone more exp. tour guide advised us to buy phone card from the convenience stores. public phone is very acessible. most hotels' lobby have the telephone booth. i think if u r going to call sg just to say that u r safely in korea, i think the 3000 won phonecard is sufficient.

sinkor

Hi Riushiki,

I have passby Koreana Hotel before!!! seem to be not bad hotel leh! its near the famous "chung gye chun" (something like a lake which recently opened up)...... u all can go there take a long walk. if not wrong, some parts of it already froze but really worth to take a look!

eugo

This morning I watched Arirang's news.. seems like its snowing in Korea again wor.. quite heavy wor..

lili05

eugo,

Is that so?! I'm happy to hear that it's snowing again but on another side will also worried....if too heavy may effect our tour schedules....quite troublesome too...traffic jam also....

eugo

LiLi05,

Yeah lor.. I am hoping to see the snow falling but also hope the snow won't affect the tour schedule cos I saw the news.. like very troublesome and alot of traffic jams here and there lor.

lili05

Eugo,

The weather so cold so if we bring our skin product there, like those gel or cream form, will it become harden or jam in the container cannot come out?

bluey

hi alynn,
thanks for info

lee yan,
have a nice n safe trip

Riushiki,
enjoy ur trip...

hi lili05,
i oso hope to see snow... similarly wish it would affect the tour...

eugo

LiLi05,

The gel/cream won't harden one.. don't worry..

Normally I will hand carry those important items with me ^^ and its advisable to hand carry them

Take note of the battery life span in cold weather. You might need to charge your camera's battery also every night. Because the battery will be flat very fast in cold weather.. one way to conserve battery life when you think your battery is going to flat soon is to switch off the LCD screen.

lili05

Eugo,

Tks for ur info, so the charger I will hand carry too....too bad tat my camera don't hv viewfinder, so i can't switch the LCD off if i need to take photo

bye bye....need to do some last min packing....c ya~~

puppylove888

Lili
u are rite abt the korean translation
get a simple phrase book else oredering is a pain in restaturant, esp those wit onli korean word...but maybe not needed if u not extending free and easy

have fun wif SNOW..............u will not feel cold as u will bzi throwing snow ball ard

puppylove888

eugo
wat i know is every boutique will have catalogues for grab
korean also as kiasu as singaporean..so u tink cataloges is put on counter for grab?
must ask lah....some sales will reluntant to give some vali talkative like talkin to u in their broken chinese and u replyin in broken korean
vali fun...

eugo

puppylove888,

Icic.. okie thanks! Can you tell me roughly what stores got catalogue? I mean the brand names.. thanks again! ^^

puppylove888

eugo
most boutique have catalogue
for clothing catalogue will show latest fashion, tis one no sample of cos
for cosmetics FACE SHOP,MISSHA,AMORE,etc all have

summersnow_ger

I'm back from my trip. so fast.. haven't play enough.. haha... Korea still quite cold now. but i think as long as u get a good jacket. body will not cold.. hehe. it snow on Xmas morning in Seoul.. White Xmas!! So Happy!!! HT tour got stay in Sheraton Walker Hill Hotel? I went to the casino there. The hotel really v class n nice.. argh.. too bad my package didn't stay there.

The snow sledging in Everland is really fun!! haha. feel like going again... i bought 1 yr supply of masks back from The Face Shop. haha...

summersnow_ger

Hi Eugo & Lili05,

Heavy snowing is really quite bad. My tour guide worst experience is stucked on the road for 18 hours due to heavy snow fall n the bus cannot move at all. end up they spent the nite on the bus. He said got 1 tour grp even worse. They spend 4D3N on the road cos the whole road covered by snow.. den when the road clear. they straight away go to Incheon Airport.. v poor thing..

eugo

Lee Yan,

Welcome back!! wah.. envy ne! hope that when I go there I won't have this problem! 4D3N OMG... all the $$ gone down to the drain lor..

puppylove888

lee yan
U join HT also?who ur tour guide?
ya me stayed sheraton walker during my last trip

u buy 1 yr supply of face mask?me too...but mine was not from face shop as I tink is still exp...maybe bcos "branded"...anyway still cheaper than singapore

summersnow_ger

puppylove888
I join Genting Holidays. The hotel is not as good. but not bad la.. the last hotel i stayed got jacuzzi in the room...

how's sheraton walker? Thinking to join those package involve 6 star hotel stay next time. heheee......

summersnow_ger

eugo,

when u going to korea? have fun.. i feel like going back to korea again... nice place... but the old folks there quite rude.. they not onli knock into u , they push u away when it is crowded!!!

puppylove888

lee yan
how's genting travel svc?their package px quite attractive but not many plp give comment so nvr try...

sheranton walker claim to be 6-star but dun expect too much...just a normal 5-star to me
wow jacuzzi in the rm?which hotel is tat?so must have a romantic moment wif ur love one

eugo

Lee Yan,

Me will be departing on 12th Jan ^^ hehee.. everyone comes back with the same feeling.. hehee.. yeah.. u need to get used to it lor..

summersnow_ger

puppylove888,
i haven join other travel agency b4. so cannot do a direct comparison. But overall, i would say its really value for money. For my package, its 7D5N Spa & Ski package excluding Jeju. I paid $1079 + 200 tax. at first was 160 tax, but later 40 increment in fuel charge. For the first 2 night, we stayed at Seorak Aquaworld Resort. There got different jacuzzi n hot n cold bath, ginseng bath. Got outdoor hot bath also. Really v shiok when try the outdoor hot bath. The room is those sleep on the floor tradition korean room.

for the next 2 night, we stay in a 3 to 4 star hotel with bathtub, 1 hr drive from seoul. the hotel was not bad. it come with air humifier. the last night stayed in Noblesee Hotel. This hotel quite good. Impress with the jacuzzi in the toilet.

going out now.. cont' later

sinkor

Hi Lee Yan,

fyi, old folks in korean are no. 1 koran.....means that they have alots of powers (even more powerful than policeman). Their culture is respect the elder... they said ONE, no one can say TWO...haha....

lili05

I'm back last nite....sick already....will talk later...
Lee Yan, wow, snow on 25 Dec morning?? We went back to seoul only on the nite, so nv see e snow! Only managed to see a light ones at nammi Island.......ai ya....