Korea

lilieswhite

OG is having 20% sale on winter wear,sale ending tomorrow. I've bought my jacket(material is down+duck feathers, ironically made in Korea) thermal top, tights & heat pack. I spend ard $130 on the above items.

I've checked out wintertime, coldwear, John Little, all of the jackets r pretty ex like $100+ & above. With 20%, I manage to get my jacket at $80+. :)

lilieswhite

cerys, i'm going ard the same period as u but mine is 25-30 nov. weather is est around 3 to 10 degrees in city, -5 to 0 degrees at ski resort.

most winterwear shop advise to wear jacket + sweater + thermal wear.

I'll b wearing sports shoe, dun need to get hiking shoes if u dun wear it often cos too ex eg. timberland.

HammyT,

unfortunately my package is only going to Lotte world, i also heard everland is better.

lilieswhite

hi Lee Yan, I first went to the one at Chinatown to browse ard, found something that I liked but didnt buy cos it's my first stop. Later I went to John L, WinterWear & Cold Wear, I didnt see anything that I like & its too ex too.

Yest, I went to OG Orchard, saw the pc that I liked but dun have my size. To cut the story short, i went back to OG Chinatown to get all my barang, they have more varieties & stock. Most winter jacket cost ard $100+, with 20% its ard $80+ defintely cheaper!

Fyi, here is the info i got from winterwear. For less than 5 degrees temperature, you need to wear 1st layer thermal wear (I bought mixture of poly & wool), 2nd layer long sleeve sweater/clothing 3rd layer Jacket preferably material is down + feather.

hammered

Hello Cerys,

Dont need waterproof boots. No worries. Just ordinary leather shoes or track shoes will do. If you are going tracking, perhaps you may wanna get a columbia or Hi tec tracking shoes for extra comfort and ankle protection.

For clothes, dont have to worry. Just have an insulation inner layer like long johns or a 100% polyester jacket and make sure the outer layer is wind proof. This is sufficient.

Have a cap to cover the head and a scarf to cover the neck. This is impt as you lose most heat in these two areas.

Dont need to buy heat packs and woollen socks.

Bring loads and loads of moisturizers and lip balm.

cerys

Hi HammyT
Where can i get good and cheap thermal long johns? I've seen so many ranging from $25-100+..Wonder if those priced at 100+ are reli good.

i think every person has different threshold for heat. I went to Korea in winter '99 in leather shoes and couldn't stand still in the -20 degrees concrete ground! Luckily i brought my pair of track shoes but I paid extra 1,000won for the spikes to scale the melting mountains.

I can't live without a down feather jacket if the temp dips below zero. A polyester windbreaker is no good for winter. You absolutely must bring woollen/thermal fabric gloves. If you can invest in a good 100% cashmere sweater, it'll be good enough.

I believe woollen socks are important. You can buy them from Marks and Spencer. I also bring heat packs because I'm born 'cold'. A thermal flask to refill hot water is critical if you're touring on a coach for long distances.

Sorry, that was CNY 1998...I suppose late Jan? There were unusally strong blizzards that fateful year...our bus was late so we were standing at the carpark in sub-zero temps at the old Kimbo Airport. I got a fever when we hit the ski resorts, so I couldn't enjoy with the rest.

What pics do u intend to take? If you're going night-skiing, I suppose the night lamps are bright enough!

My advise is don't assume Korea is not cold. Korea is next to the Northeast China (Dongbei) just below Russia, and higher than Shanghai and some cities are higher up the latitude than Beijing. It can be very cold especially when you must walk a lot in the wilderness like Mt Sorak and go to the N-S Korean Border as a tourist!!!

Anyway, you can take lots of Korean white wine there to boost your body heats. Or try dog meat and Korean ginseng soups.

truffle

Hi, would like to know if there are any cheap korean motels with good location to recommend?

If i were to go F&E, what is the best way to travel out of Seoul if i dun drive?

Does anybody know what is the domestic fare to Jeju?

Is Busan worth going?

sinkor

Korea are in the lowest temperature during the Jan/Feb season. If you are going during that time, sure have to bring whatever thingy as yule mentioned.

As for Nov/Dec, the temperature in Seoul still ok and for me that time, heat pack, scarf, gloves are not needed. But for the sake of taking photo, i still wear scarf to take photo! hahaha....

Hi Joey,

I can recommend you a good guesthouse in myeongdong, if you interested, kindly provide me your email.

hmm.... for the best way to travel out of Seoul really depend on individual. You may try the KORAIL, but heard from my korean friends that not comfortable for long distance trip. So, maybe you can try travel by plane?

Last year Dec, I took Asiana domestic flight from Kimpo airport to Jeju cost around SGD200 plus. You may check with the airline.

As for Busan, no harm going, I went there to eat their seafoods only! hahaha...... When u go to Busan, you will surprise to see the Busan Korean and Seoul Korean really different kind/character.

lilieswhite

cerys

the price difference for the thermal wear is cos of the material.

if its 100% cashmere or 100% wool, it will b more ex but good for temp below 0 degrees. However, if its ard 5 degrees, you can buy those with mixture of polyester & wool.

For more infor, its good that you visit a winterwear shop cos they will explain everything to you.

Last weekend, i kpo went to winning at marina square, the sales asst is v friendly & provide a lot of info though i didnt buy anything.

she told me, get a down jacket (but abit bulky), can wear at ski resort with thermal wear (cos below 0 degrees), at city can jus wear jacket to keep warm. bring heat packs too.

yah, if you're going oct/nov, no need to be so 'wrapped up'!!! but if u r going jan/feb, make sure your jacket comes with hoods cos your ears could be knocked out by the cold winds. if u wanna look cute, buy ear muffs!

one more tip: people always forget that when they are indoors, the room is actually heated up. if you wear so many layers with thermal longjohns, cashmere, etc. you will sweat like mad when you're indoors.

Actually, u dun ski in down jackets and it's not necessary to wear themal too. Proper waterproof ski attire can be bought at resort if u want. They are usually fleece/gortex materials. I'm a skiier, so i know u sweat so much and tumble around so much that a down jacket can impede your movement. And dun forget the invisible UV light rays can bake u.

depending on ur itinerary, u may realise that it's better to wear a hip length overcoat than a knee-length one. In Korea outskirts, they have mostly squat toilets, so if you're wearing too long a coat, you'll have to pull them up. That said, try not to wear those too short jacket and a low-waist hipsters. Once ur tummy is not covered probably, you'll suffer from tummyache and diarrhoea.

all the best!

truffle

Hi Sinkor, would like to know the guesthouse. Pls email to [email protected]

Wow, the domestic is very exp! So you travelled to both Busan and jeju by domestic flight? Wouldn't that cost a lot? S$200 is round trip or one way? Did you book the domestic flight wif Singapore agents? or when you were over in korea?

Sorry for the questions but am planning for a F&E there.

sinkor

Hi truffle,

Have email you the guesthouse contact. :D

The domestic flight is a round trip Seoul-Jeju-Seoul and I bought when I am over there in Korea.

For Busan, I went there by car. If you planning F&E, I feel that it would be better to join a tour group and extend a few more days for F&E so that wont incur so much cost.

ppp

HI gals,

I will be going Korea from 28th Nov - 5Nov, may I know what should I wear n buy to keep me warm and what is the temparature like? many many thanks.

sinkor

Wow!

The way u sound like u calling my FH as he also Park! hahaha.....

Oh...dunno can disclose the guesthouse openly or not bcos in other thread when talking on the products and company email, one member kena being "kick out"! So scare i disclose here also will get "kick out" too... haha...

Back to square one, simply say i KIASI lah! :p

So u ahve plan all your trip schedule liao mah? When are you going to Korea?

mooniiie

hi sinkor,

forgot to ask you... any particular brand of moisturiser for face and hands you will strongly recommend?
coz some daily moisturisers which i've tried are not very effective, as i've very very dry hands =(
scared bring liao still not very effective, then can only wait till last few days of trip then can buy when we go shopping =)

puppylove888

sinkor
ohh jialat me post another forum URL and now cannot edit
die liao tis time, dun know kenna kicked out or not

anyway Park is really recommeded by many
(jus curiuos are u the singaporean who write the long comment in their web site)

trip comfirm liao
nov 27 to dec 7

join tour package for comprehensive coverage and the rest is F&E

anybnody know whr to get nice nice leather jacket in SG?
WinterTimes expensive nvm but not so "trendy"
coldwear no have leather coat

winning all light coat

any more?

sinkor

Hi mooniie,

For face moisturiser, i use Aristry brand and hand moisturiser, i use a normal brand, think is start with "N"... forget liao...

As for dry hand, if really cold, i put moisturiser and wear glove then can liao..... so far my skin and hand can tahan the dryness but lip cant... i keep applying lip gloss over and over again! hahaha....

Hi puppylove888,

dun worry, wont be kick out so easily one.
No, I am not the singaporean who wrote the long comment as I didnt ever try staying there before.... is my friend highly recommended me this place which i share to you all! yupz, heard from my friends that Park is really "famous" to singaporean esp those Korean star (BYJ, LBH, RSW, etc) club fans everytime stay his guesthouse....

as for leather jacket..... really no idea leh... in korea also seldom see people wearing leather jacket leh... oh ya! u can try at the shop near the singtel & OCBC building at the shenton way.... really forget the shop name.. can anyone can help?

summersnow_ger

to puppylove888,

Leather clothing not too sure. But Zara sure have nive trench coat. Cost around $100 plus to $300. depend on design and preference. if u r looking to invest in a nice one, can go there to take a look.

diamond42

Hi Mooniie,

Suggest you go to get Laneige in Korea. Their moisturizer: Water sleeping pack plus, water bank essence are a MUST for intensive moisturizing.

I also want to go korea so now here collecting information.

diamond42

Any kind souls here going to Korea in Nov, Dec willing to help to buy Laneige back? The price is 50% cheaper compared to here.

miso_888

Hi Diamond42

May I know how much are the Water sleeping pack plus and water bank essence selling in Sin. 50% discount is a lot. Beside these 2 items what are other product is good. My korea friend is coming to sin tonight, i am also checking if she could help me to buy. Will it be cheaper to buy from Seoul airport ?.

puppylove888

mimi
cosmetics item is the onli cheap thing I can tink of in korea
remember my first trip their nearly buy the whole shop over there
imagine gingeng face mask onli 1000 won a piece, not talk abt thosee korean branch mask 300-500 a piece onli pianzzzzzzzzzzz

sinkor

Hi mimi,

For my understanding that it is better not to buy in the airport bcos place like in Myeondong, they will give some discount if you buy alot of products in their shop so it is much cheaper.

Hi puppylove888,

Yes u are right that cosmetics (Korean brand) is very cheap compare buying in singapore. but SEAWEEDs is also cheap in korea!!! somemore there are many kind of flavor and so delicious! Much better than Jap seaweeds! I even see Japanese also buy in cartons back to their country! heehee.... i also one of them... last trip i bought almost 2 cartons of seaweed back to singapore! :p

mooniiie

hi sinkor,

thks =)
the brands available in s'pore?
how effective is it compared to nivea? or the marks and spencer hand lotion?

for the korean seaweeds, are all brands nice??
or is there any particular brand that you would strongly recommend?
coz i had tried some korean seaweeds from frenz which are very salty!!
have to "fling" the salt off the seaweed before eating which i find very troublesome hahhaha

hi diamond42,

Laneige is a korean brand?
tink i've seen it somewhere in s'pore before, but not very common rite?
you have personally tried it and it's good?

coz i've tried natural source's sugarcane moisturiser... it's very good in the beginning, but now it seems like i've gotten "immune" to it liao... not much effect anymore except that my skin feels smoother after application.
so when are you going to korea?
with which tour group? =)

diamond42

Hi mimi,

Yup! Water sleeping pack plus cost $42 in SGP and water bank essence cost $69 in SGP but buy in korea is only $20++ and $30++ for each. So it is confirmed 50% cheaper! Buy in airport slightly more ex BUT still a lot cheaper! Go and call yr friend to buy! So envy that you can get yr friend to buy
I have to wait till when i go korea then i confirmed buying the whole shop products back. Haaa....haaaa.....

Hi mooniiie,

Yup! Korean brand and it is GOOD especially their hydrating products. Available in Isetan outlets and also robinson.

sinkor

Hi mooniiie,

THe aristry face moisturiser is buy in singapore. but u really not to worry, can use your normal moisturiser as usual.

as for seaweeds.... they have tonssssss of brands! initially i went to buy, i shock bcos the seaweed department are quite big and really dunno wat is nice...

If you follow tour, ask ur tour guide where is E-MART in Seoul. E-Mart is like GIANT ot CARREFOUR in singapore. There are many seaweeds counter and some more can try one. so u have to try one by one to find your favorite flavor one!

My recommendation is LAVER (dunno spell right or not) flavor and SESAME Flavor. If didnt passby EMART, u can also buy at the lotte or hyundai shopping centre supermarket. Price is reasonable... I also dun understand y seaweeds in Dongnaemum (Doota) is selling expensive and somemore not nice one, so u be careful. Another important things to note when buying seaweed is to check the expiry date!

Normally those seaweed with alot of salt can last quite a long time (several months) and those little salt may last only 1 month.

cerys

To those of you who are shopping for winter wear, Winning is having a sale. Look out for the ad in today's Straits Times

puppylove888

moon
U can check out price of some cosmetics in MISSHA and FACESHOP in Sg
note the packing,serial no. and get it in seoul
U will be shock on the price

cerys
Winning is having sale long time already
Agree is cheap,down jacket $48 can get liao, but design wise a bit 80's

summersnow_ger

Just to check.. for those who went skiing in Korea b4, does the ski suit provided come in various sizes? cos i'm quite fat n have a v heavy bottom. Afraid tat cannot fit in the ski pants they provided. den dunno how.. hehe..

Also, do we need to do a lot of climbing when we go Mt. Sorak, cos i read somewhere in other forum tat they mention about mountain climbing, v steep n slippery.. n i'm v afraid of steep route, is it tat scary?

mooniiie

hi sinkor,

thks for the recommendations =)
will keep a lookout for that!
by the way, can wear the usual track shoes/running shoes to korea?? can tahan the coldness?

hi puppylove888,

i haven't tried MISSHA and FACESHOP products yet.. but my fren told me the eye mask is very good =)
maybe will give it a try then hehhehehe
can get in any shopping centre? or roadside stalls?

puppylove888

moon
FACESHOP and MISSHA is everywhr esp when U in MyeongDong can easily spot it

SignZzzzz still cannot find leather jacket shop in singapore
Think have to get it in seoul liao

mooniiie

hi puppylove888,
i'll check them out when in MyeongDong =)

hi sinkor,
wat kind of thermal pack is it? where to buy?
i've got the osim heat pack for the eyes... is it this kind you are referring to?
can put in our jacket pocket to keep warm?

sinkor

Hi Low,

Sorry that didnt reply u much on the information u needed! I am going to Korea this month end and will try to go to Korean wholesales markets (eg. Munjeong Clothing Market) to shop if have the time. So will keep u informed..... but according to my FH, korea office jacket suits are expensive.....

Hi mooniiie,

I not sure of the osim heat pack. This thermal pack is like a BIG tea bag and only feel warm upon tear off the plastic bag. Normally it will remain warm for few hours. Can buy in any winter clothing shop. These thermal bags have diff size which caters for hand use, foot use, body use etc....

bubble_low

Hi Sinkor,

It's ok. So u r going 2 korea this mth. Do let me know any cheap shoes or bags avail. in wholesale mkt. I would also like to go korea nx yr for shopping.

I'll be going NZ end of this mth. Happy holidays to u!

jasermine

halo, any kind soul out there??

ned some help...really clueless abt gg to korea. get abit confused after reading so much comments.

anyone know whether is it better to go F&E or follow tour to korea. mayb plannin to go korea just after xmas for honeymoon. will it be very cold by then?

any advise on wat to bring like clothings etc (cos me cant tahan cold but my HTB like the idea of gg to see snow)

will the day be short for korea in winter time? and can share with me where n wat to do while in korea as well as any accomodation to reccomend?

thkzzzz so much....

chamonique

Hi Jasermine,

Personally I think if you are going for your honeymoon, just save the hassles and book a tour package. After your wedding, you just want to relax and have a romantic honeymoon rather than busy planning a F & E trip. Furthmore, language can be a problem unless your or your HTB can speak Korean.

If you prefer to have a mix of guided and F & E package, you can consider CTC 8 days winter ski. There is a free day at the ski resort and 1 free day in Seoul for shopping if you like. I have just booked their package : P

jasermine

hi chamonique,

hmm..ok. tink i will make a trip to CTC. will be gg for tis sat chan bros fair. so when r u leaving for korea? and hw much did u bk for the CTC pkg?

puppylove888

Jasermine
CTC package okay but their SKI resort is Pheonix Park not Yong Pyong ...thats the reason I did not choose them

CHan Brothers?think twice b4 booking from them lah...

If U really F&E....go for 6 days package and extend 3-4 nites on ur own for "relax" shopping

just my 2 cents worth