Koh Samui

beeque

Hi help,

We went there in late oct, so it was super low peak season, and we just walked in. Might have to book, since it was recommended by frommers. Its peak season now cos should have alot of ang mohs tourists...

Their service is very good, and i had such a good massage that i just wanted to lay on the bed and sleep...i almost fell asleep during the massage as well....wah....

cherry

Hi Jowie/Beeque,

Thanks for the info, my hubby still thinks that Amari is ex...hiaz...i'm looking at seascape now....looks nice with the photos and cheaper also, will staying 2 nights at Tongsai Bay be too much or just nice?

the tamarind spring is very nice but too bad, it's really a RETREAT, no tv, no swimming pool, no radio, no air con....hehe, i don't think we can survive the night without TV...haha

jowie

help...u can also try prana spa at tongsai bay, 6800 baht for a couple, 2hrs 30min including body scrub, steambath, honey bath and massage...got al fresco bathing area and tub...beri lomantic

cherry...2 nites at tongsai is definitely not TOO MUCH!!

i stayed 3 nites and still not enuff...the place is so relaxing...hai....

beeque

Hi Cherry,

If u are on a budget, u must know that food at tongsai bay is quite ex, and its very far from cheap and affordable eateries along other beaches eg. chaweng.

Spent only one night at tongsai bay, but was of course the best night ....breakfast was also very very good. and service is top notch! the waiters remember your table and they bring your plate of food to the table while u look for more...buffet breakfast is heavenly and i cannot forget their mangoes! They are so sweet and juicy!! Crave for them and tried to look for them in bangkok but cannot find....

I forgot, but is this your honeymoon? If it is, they will greet you with something special, like champagne....we got it when we checked into the hotel...and remember, each night, their staff will come to tidy the room up for you before u go to bed....so behave!!! U wouldnt want to caught unaware!!

angelia

planning to go K.Samui for abt a wk, sometime 2nd wk of Feb but couldn't afford to stay as lavishly as u gals (jowie, Mo & Alhana), budget too tight to stay at Tongsai Bay cos was planning to go Europe sometime in June/July

so was thinking maybe i stay in the cheaper standard rooms (Seascape Std Rm @ 1300 baht/nite) for 1st few nites, then stay at BVV Grand Deluxe Villa for last few nites.
<FONT COLOR="119911">
some things to check with some of you here :
1. how much does it cost to take a cab from airport to Seascape?
2. anyone came across Chaweng Cove Resortel b4? am deciding btw Chaweng Cove (CC) &amp; Seascape's std rm but price diff is abt $250 baht (CC is 1550 baht/nite). however, CC provides FOC airport transfer &amp; Seascape charges 300 baht for 2 pax.
</FONT><FONT COLOR="ff0000">
thanks in advance.</FONT>

jowie

angelia...300baht is reasonable, amari charged us US$11 for 2pax

i took cab to and fro tongsai and chaweng, it costs 200baht, distance is about the same from airport to seascape

help

angelia- do you need to book urgently? bcos i'm going next week and can provide feedback on seacscape. or can ask the gals here who went already?

angelia,
When I booked seascape, I told them that I din need them to pick me up from the airport... but they came anyway... so paiseh to ask them go back so we just pay the 300 baht lor...like kena conned but then at least got transport...

cherry,
2 nites at tongsai bay is NOT too much... unfortunately for me I only stay 1 nite...sigh!! miss that place a lot...

Beeque,
I saw Tamarind Springs in the brochure...looks great too but in the end we went to Chedi Spa which is along Chaweng... nearer to go back hotel after a good massage... hehe!!

help,
remember to bring your own shampoo and shower gel cos seascape doesn't provide anything except towels.

angelia

help,
prob gotta book by this wkend. cos i'm worried it'll end up like my NZ (honeymoon) trip. we din book early so in the end couldn't go. so the Samui/BKK trip is supposedly my HONEYMOON trip... though planning to go Europe in June, but i'll better play safe, go Samui first but keep to a budget

jowie, mint,
how many days did u rent the jeep??

jowie

angelia...i rented onli the 1st day, for 1200 baht wif insurance...onli need it one day for exploring the island, 2nd day rented a bike to makan at further places, and the rest of the days we stayed at tongsai bay

help

hi gals, i extend my stay at papillon resort! trust that it'll be really as good as you describe.

angelia- usually the online booking takes a few hours to give you confirmation and if the deposit payment goes through, reservation is confirmed. but you'll need to coord the air tix and hotel.

help

hi orchid,

hubby decided that he has time to extend stay, but seascape is full. and we managed to book papillon at promo rates! hehe...

how are the islands off koh samui? are they worth going on day trips? now i'm spending a almost a week there...really dunno what to do?

beeque

When we were at KS, we booked a day trip to the Marine National Park (go for the jet boats, more ex but safe a lot of time and more freedom cos travel in smaller group). Went snorkelling, island hopping, sun bathing...very fun and carefree.

beeque

Another question for Mint and Jowie,

Where can i find lime leaves? Have been looking for them in NTUC but what i find is only laksa leaves...And the fish sauce, must i buy thai fish sauce?

Hi beeque,

I do see lime leaves in wet markets and supermarkets...but usually I take from my grandma's plant...she grows the lime tree...hehe!!

I have never tried the other types of fish sauce before...only used the thai fish sauce... so not sure...sorry can't help you there...

angelia,

No, seascape is not far from central chaweng...the minute you walk out of seascape, there are shops already and the shops are along a long stretch.

angelia

mint,
thanks. then i think i'll go along with Chaweng Cove Resortel instead of Chaweng Villa

decided not to take Seascape cos was hoping to try other hotel/resort so that can provide people here with more feedback &amp; they can hv more choices

angelia

hehe.. hubby says take the seaview or beachfront since this is supposed to be our mini honeymoon
so think will take the seaview cos beachview too splurging as we'll prob be out the 1st few days exploring the area or go on some excursions

jowie

beeque...lime leaves can be found in wet market, i dun find it at NTUC or shop n save...muz bear in mind to buy A LOT of lime leaves and tear it, so dat the taste will be strong...and lemon grass also need to cut into small slices, need a lot too

Jowie,

Did you manage to find the thai glass noodles to cook "pad thai"? Can't seem to find it anywhere leh....

jowie

mint...dunno leh, i dun cook pad thai...wats dat huh?? i forgot wat issit liao, onli know tom yun soup, fish cake and chicken fried wif basil leaves

piglet

we are thinking to go Koh Samui or Phuket in July for a short honeymoon before going to NZ in Oct.

read from postings regarding Papillon Resort @ Koh Samui. Sounds n looks interesting. Juz wondering if we can book this resort via any travel agencies in Singapore? Or issit more worth to book the tickets n the resort by ourselves? How much is the air tickets to Koh Samui?

thks.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">mint, jowie,</FONT>
wanna check wif u on the SITCA class. when u register, did u put 2 pax or 1 pax? i remember someone mentioned can bring 1 guest rite? the guest will sit there &amp; see only? or will also get to help to cook??

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">piglet,</FONT>
we bought the airtix &amp; book hotel separately. Bangkok Airways is hving promo for SIN-SAMUI-BKK-SIN tickets &amp; it's exactly what we wanted. go Samui, then BKK, then fly back SIN from BKK

the price they put on their web is $525 &amp; most agencies quoted us either $525 or $520. but managed to get 1 that quoted us $505 per pax. it's Famosa @ People Park Centre #B1

if u need a map on K. Samui (passed to me from <FONT COLOR="ff0000">mint</FONT>, which i find it very useful to help me select a hotel cos i can see which hotel is located where), i can scan &amp; email u.

&amp; if u eventually decide to book airtix &amp; hotel separately, try these links posted here :

http://singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/3/15293.html?1042184437#POST234356

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">prices are very competitive, cheapest being the 1st link but not all hotels/resorts are listed; ehotelbooking might offer u a BEST OFFER which is slightly cheaper than what they posted on the web
</FONT>

angelia

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">piglet,</FONT>
forgot to add, maybe u can try priceline. think only BKK airways fly direct to K. Samui &amp; it's 8:10pm flight.

interested

Hi angelia,

May I know the $505 that u ve quoted is it for air tix only? Or how many days. Thanks.

angelia

interested,
it's for air-tix only. we're booking hotel stay thru the web.

btw, the air-tix is valid for 14 days from date of 1st flight. but we're only going for a wk, so no prob

orchid

Hi angelia,

I took the class at SITCA as well. when you register, just register and pay for 1 pax. you can bring along 1 guest - the other person gets to help too!! (at least that's what my hubby &amp; I did)

so you prepare &amp; cook at 1 space, food portion is more than enough for 2. then everyone eats together.

If you register for 2, both of you will get your own food preparation space and end up with food enough for 4!

Hi interested,

I got my return airfare SIN-SAMUI-SIN for $360 per tix from Misa Airways.

help

i'm back from koh samui and sun-burnt!

the beach massages and spas were gooood. i went to a spa in Lamai, less than $100 for two people...hehe.

shopping is a pleasure too, no hard selling and friendly ppl. in fact, they are quite 'bo chap' in that they won't pester you to buy.

went to SITCA too! their biz is so good the class is full. hope to try my skills someday.

angelia

help,
hey, can feedback more on the resort u stayed?

how many days were u there huh? lazy to read previous postings

help

angelia,
I stayed one week.

Papillon - near airport but not near Chaweng beach which is the central area. less convenient. the resort style is Flint-stone like, different from usual hotel.

Seascape - at southern end of Chaweng beach. i stayed in new hotel wing, so everything is brand new but some reno going on in the new hotel wing.
towel, soap provided.

i actually prefer enviro of seascape. in fact, i like the breakfast there. if u haven't book hotel, then i suggest you book hotels at chaweng beach. for me, i have to walk from south beach to north beach to shop around. nevertheless, there are taxis to bring you around instead.

which hotel did you book?

angelia

help,
thx for the feedback

i've booked Chaweng Cove Resortel &amp; Bay View Village. Think CCR is quite near Seascape. Din wanna book a resort so near the central Chaweng Beach cos i was worried it might get too noisy at nite, cos my hubby is quite an early sleeper

curly

Hi angelia, so how was your trip? You mentioned that during the cookery class, only your hubby did the cooking. I remembered Orchid said that both she and her hubby were involved.

I will be going next month and had booked the class. I think my hubby will be happy to leave me alone, however, my MIL and her friend are coming too, so it might be boring if only one of them gets to participate.....

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">curly,</FONT>
actually i oso wonder why they say both of them were involved, maybe i din ask them properly or din get them clear. anyway, i was standing beside him and taking pix &amp; notes, while he bz pounding, chopping, etc.. din really help
but guess u can ask them if ur hubby can help u as well. or maybe can rotate to prepare the dishes.

Roong said they'll be moving to the new site (a few shops away but nearer to the main road) which is bigger nez mgh. lucky u, can cook at a spacious and prob more oil-free kitchen
do rem to bring ur cameras along and snap a few shots to share with us

curly

angelia, I had just checked with Roongfa and was told that only 1 person is allowed to participate and you can't take turn......

curly

hehe.... already decided to let my hubby do the cooking since he's not allow to do it at home. as for my mil &amp; friend, we will let them decide.....

angelia

curly,
so we'll be the same
but i let hubby do the cooking cos he likes Phad Thai.. so i thot let him learn himself then can cook for himself in future, then "shun bian" cook a portion for me lah

poison ivy

Anyone just came back from Koh Samui?
Would like to find out abt the health check at the airport.