Koh Samui

jowie

Hi Mo and Alhana

Just realised dat Bangkok Airways is the onli airline dat fly to Koh Samui, and the arrive time is 9+pm! Is tis timing you get? Wat a waste coz the whole day and nite is gone!
Most likely we might be staying 3nites and Bay View and 3nites at Tongsai Bay coz we can't decide between both after both your comments!
but seems like the the air tickets are quite limited

and worse, asiatravel.com doesn't have tongsai bay!!

Alhana...does all rooms at tongsai bay have bath tub wif a seaview? the pictures shown in websites doesn't state which kind of room have dat...

Hi Jowie,

Yeah, asiatravel doesn't have tongsai bay. My friend in Thailand helped me book the hotel so I dunno if any local agents do have this hotel in their portfolio. Perhaps u can try to ask Sunny HOlidays? they specialise in Thailand holiday packages.

Erm, the flight is only once a day?? Gosh! I didn't know that. I took it from Bangkok actually. Hey, alternatively, why don't u go to Bkk for a short shopping trip then make ure way down to Samui? That's what we did. They will definitely have more flights fr Bangkok. I've never been to Samui from SIN so unsure abt the schedule. Perhaps the other gals can offer suggestions?

As for our room, we did have seaview but can't really see from the tub...can see better from the room itself. However the tub was on the front porch (not the one w/in a private garden) I think that they mentioned all rooms will have seaview though..its just a matter of how much view u have. The room that we stayed in was the cottage suite. Most of the rooms are built into the hill, although the villas are closest to the sea, therefore they have the best view of all.

jowie

Hi Alhana

does the bathroom itself have another bathtub? will other people be able to peek at u when using the tub? and is tongsai bay incovenient to go to other parts of the island?
now i am getting more excited and probably will be shooting more questions!
6907.gif

i sent mani emails last nite to local travel agents and online hotel bookings...one of them reply saying cottage suites are fully booked

mo

Hi Alhana,

YAh yah...we were dog tired after all the walking too. And my hubby (bf then) also had to massage my feet...hahaha
So similar to your situation

Hey, we also stayed only within Paris and the furthest we went was also Versailles...hehe
We ate a lot of seafood, was sooooo nice, especially the mussles and wine, which is cheaper than their coffee...haha
but for UK, we just visited London, went to Stratford-upon-Avon, Bath, Warrick Castle and Stonehenge, that's all...didn't got to the rest...I guess too tired...hehe

Hi dingdong,
I've emailed u the florist contact already, hope u got it. Let me know if u need any others
Glad to help

Hi Jowie,
Yup, there's only 1 flight direct from Singapore and it's on Bangkok Airways, and the place is those propeller planes. But not to worry, my trip there and back was really smooth except u can feel more impact when landing due to the smaller size of the plane, generally very safe

As for the room, we told them on the internet booking that we are on our honeymoon, so they gave us the best room as we booked the highest end ones - Grand Deluxe (Seaview Villa). It's the only villa nearest the beach and quite private. To me, I liked the room and everything, it's a simple room with those bedpost bed with mosquitoe net kind(not sure how u call them...hehe), and as we were on honeymoon, they placed flower petals in a heartshape to welcome us, and also gave us a bottle of champagne and fruits. The toilet is pretty big, with a bathtub and the usual. I was quite happy with it. Nevertheless, I suspect that the room at TongSai Bay would be very much better as I've seen pics of it and they look really good
So, it's your preference. If u visited the Bay View Village site in Asia Travel, u would be able to see parts of the room, it's almost exactly like that. As for TongSai, I think Alhana has given a clear review too
So, it's really up to your own preference.
I think Alhana's suggestion to go to Bangkok first may be a good idea too
I've a colleague who's doing that and the package for 5D/4N was abt 600/pax, but in a 2 or 3 star hotel in Samui. She booked with a tour agent here. So, if u want some shopping, dropping by at Bangkok can be fun too...unless u just wanna relax and laze, then going straight to Samui be better, to reduce the hassle of travelling around. Have fun

jowie

Hi Mo

thks for your info

most likely won't be going to bangkok...budget and time constraint...juz tot reaching samui after 9pm is so wasted

grand villa issit those kind walk 10 steps out is the beach and can suntan right away??
just realised bay view village and tongsai bay is just beside one another hahaa...mayb i should look at resort on the other side of the island if i wanna stay in 2 resorts?? *faint*
we wanted to stay in 2 resort so dat we can spend the days out when in the cheaper resort and enjoy the luxury of the room when in the more exp resort...now i hope got air tix and tongsai bay are available....

mo

Hi Jowie,

Yup, the villa I had was so close to the beach that your door step is just abt right at the beach. If u want nice rooms, maybe u should really try TongSai Bay. Then on days u want to shop and walk, u could try the cheaper hotels along Chaweng, there are lots of hotels and resorts there

jowie

oh my goodnessssssss!!
i called practically every travel agency i could get hold of and non of them do Bay View Village and onli a few do Tong Sai Bay...they keep telling me fares not out yet but i wollied by the time fares out then no more rooms or air tix liao

Mo...do u suggest getting a Chaweng beach hotel and Tongsai Bay, instead of Bay View and Tongsai? Is Bay View far from the happenings at Chaweng?

Hi Jowie,

Yup, the bathrooms also have tub so u can bathe indoors if ure worried tt pple will see u :p And the bathrooms are huge!!! The outdoor tub is mainly for u to soak n relax. Pple can see u if u stand up though :p But honestly the tourists there are mainly caucasians and they won't bat an eyelash if u guys decide to do naughty things out there :p EAch suite is built such tt u can enjoy privacy so dun worry abt pple seeing u. The most u'll get a shock when room service or the chambermaid comes by unannounced :p The suite I had was not v close to the beach though. It's built into the hill so must walk down some steps to the beach itself. They also have beachfront villas which are right by the pool..but not so much privacy coz their balconies overlook the pool..if u soak nude the whole world can see :p Think those are meant more for families. Yes, tell them ure on ure honeymoon too! See if they can give u a good room at a good rate
Even cottage suites will have different sizes..think mine was a normal one. The one u see in the website shld be the bigger suite..dunno if price is the same but tt room looks nicer!! But our suite was really huge. Had the 4 poster bed and sofa set, coffee table and still lotsa room to spare.

If u want to get out, its easy. Just tell the main desk tt u want a cab n they'll hail one for u. Its also easy to get cabs back to Tongsai, so no worries there. If ure adventurous, u can even hire motorbikes or jeeps in town and drive ard ureself. Saw alot of pple doing that when we were there

mo

Hi Jowie,

Bay View is about the same area as TongSai, nevertheless, it's easy to get to the town area. Take abt 15-20 minutes car ride and u are right in the heart of town. Just have to tell the front desk u want to go to town and they will arrange transport for u almost there and then. It cost only abt 50 baht per person per trip, so that's abt S$2.50. Usually, they'll drop u at Chaweng Buri Resort at Chaweng itself, and u are already in the heart of town
Then, when u want to get back to the hotel, just go back to Chaweng Buri and there's the van there waiting to pick up passengers. If the van is not there, u can always call the hotel up to get transport, and it's still charged at 50 baht per person. So if u do stay there, do remember to bring along the hotel card with the phone number in case u need transport.

jowie

Hi Alhana

The more i see you describe, the more i wan to tongsai bay!! we are tinking of hiring a car for a day to go around, do u have any idea how much? when we at phuket, as our resort is far from patong beach, the cab costs us quite a bit, even more expensive than here.

Hi Mo

tks for the transport advice!
do you tink its more advisable to stay at chaweng beach resorts since i am quite firm on staying at tongsai for the last 3 nites? coz bay view and tongsau side by side...will i be siao to stay in both??

mo

Hi Jowie,

Yah...I think a bit siao to stay in both...haha...nah, just kidding

I guess in your case, since u wanna shop and go to the happening beach, it's good to stay at Chaweng to experience the happening activities around there. Then can relax at TongSai Bay since the rooms are nice with a terrific view and outdoor bathtub...I've seen the pics, they look really terrific

Hi Jowie,

No leh...I didn't chk out the price of the jeeps there. Do any of the Ko Samui websites give such info?

Anyway its ure honeymoon, so dun worry whether siao or not lah
One thing good abt Chaweng resorts is tt they are really close to the beach..which I think is what u want. And like Mo sez, its amidst alot of activity, which will be different from isolated resorts like Bay View n Tongsai. So u get the best of both worlds!! Only thing troublesome is much check in and check out..but that's no big deal really.

Hi Mo,

Hehe..guess we both have similar holiday experiences! Think I visited most of the places u went in England too!

jowie

Hi Mo and Alhana

Have spoken wif my FH and we decided to get a Chaweng beach resort and tongsai bay. Since both of u went before, any Chaweng beach resort look nice and near to the beach??

tink i am going to freak out over all these travelling things! on top of this samui trip, i also need to take care of my family travelling to Sabah for wedding dinner there!

Hi Jowie,

Hmmm..honestly I only walked through Chaweng Regent which is quite ok. Didn't really pay attention to the rest. Some r quite crappy (ie no frills type of resorts) but they are targetted at budget travellers. Hehe..no need to freak out lah. I think planning holidays are fun actually
The Chaweng Regent is along the beachfront too. Its not those multistorey hotels...its made up of individual units cramped together leading out to the pool which faces the beach.

mo

Hi Jowie & Alhana,
The jeep rental is abt 800 baht for the whole day. That was the price quoted at Bay View Village, it should range thereabouts.

Jowie,
Good choice
TongSai is a must-stay...actually, I saw the TongSai rooms before I went on honeymoon, but the pics came from friends forwarded mails and didn't mention which hotel. So nobody knew where it was other than being in Koh Samui. I couldn't find it either, so in the end just chose the resort that I knew on internet. Now that we know where it is, we will go there the next time
For resorts along Chaweng, just try the net again, I'm sure u'll be able to find something there. Like Alhana, I also just walked through Chaweng Regent and some other crappy-looking ones...so can't really comment much. Nevertheless, I've heard good comments about Chaweng Regent, but it's also more expensive.

jowie

Hi Alhana and Mo

tks beri much for all these info, if wifout both your help me now still blur blur
6949.gif

tink chaweng regent is out coz too exp...now me finding someting like bay view...i realise dat altho prices online are low season in nov, but local agent are charging high season coz its school holidays!
6950.gif

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Jowie,</FONT>
i not here to contribute lah.. m here to chase u for ur contact no.....

mo

Hi Jowie,

Glad that u have a better picture now

That's why it's better to book via internet rather than through the agents here. Not only will they charge u for high season, u are also paying a fee to them for the coordination. Internet booking is really very easy and since I've tried it, I can safely say that it's not bogus

BTW, how did u do the smiley face with the question marks??? Don't see any in the emoticons list.

jowie

Angelia hahaaa will email to u right away!

Mo...those smileys you din see in the emotions lists are found from the net. When u found an icon, save it to your hard disk so that u can include them in your postings...to post an icon type <FONT COLOR="ff0000">image{icon description</FONT>} with "\" in front of the word <FONT COLOR="ff0000">image</FONT>
After u post the message, it will prompt you to browse for the icon, so that u can attach to the posting....try it, quite fun once u get used!

orchid

Anyone been to Pappilon Resort?? Looks not bad... and i'm not looking for the 5 star type. It's at the north end of Chaweng Beach, abit further from the noise. Was wondering if it might be inconvenient to get to the central area once in awhile...

mo

Hi Orchid,

Actually, I was trying out Jowie's advice...but didn't work...hahahaha

jowie

Hi Mo

Probably you can go to "Getting Started" at the menu on the left side of yr screen and go to "formatting documents" for a clearer picture...mayb my instructions a bit blur hehee

crayon2512

I am interested in going Koh Samui for the resort stay..had check out the website of Tong Sai Cottage..wow..they cost abt S$375 per nite.. tat is really exp.
I am not sure if i had looked at the right one u gals are refering to?

Hi crayon2512,

the one i stayed (which we were talking abt) is called The Tongsai Bay. Is this the resort u meant? They have cottage suites if that's what ure referring to..

And if it is the right one..yeap its expensive. One of the most ex resorts on Ko Samui methinks.

jowie

Hi crayon2512

u can try www.sawadee.com, their price is cheaper at $333.60 wif exchange rate baht to S$ @ 4.17

when will u be going? FYI, local agents dun hv price beyond Oct, the resort dun sell to public in nov due to their partial reno, and onli a few online hoteliers do tongsai bay

Alhana...now i become expert even before going heheee

Hi Jowie,

Hehe..yeah! By the time u go, u'll probably be really familiar with the place!

How is it? U managed to book Tongsai Bay in the end? remember to let us know how ure stay went ok?

jowie

Hi Alhana

Haven't book yet, most likely next week, still waiting for a local agent to quote for Amari resort for the 1st 3 nites
will sure let u gals know after i come back! heheee

jowie

Hi Alhana and Mo

Need yr advice again. As I book airtix and hotels separately, i am not given free transfer, and sawadee.com quoted me for one way transfer airport to resort at baht 430 per person. I find the price a bit steep coz it's around S$18 per person
Do you tink it will easy to get a cab at the airport? we are arriving late at nite(after 9pm), i scare sekali no cab at dat hour.

Hi Jowie,

If there are flights still coming in at those times there shld be cabs readily available. I had free airport transfer, so didn't have to worry abt this.

orchid

We just came back from our honeymoon to Koh Samui. Instead of taking a package with the travel agents, we decided to DIY and booked airfare from Singapore and booked Papillon Resort from the internet.

The resort is excellent! The resort is set in a very beautiful idyllic garden. Every bungalow had a front porch. We took the beach front bungalow at a price of 1600 Baht = S$64/nite. the price included all day breakfast and free airport transfers. so no matter what time u get up, 1st meal of the day is free. We get to select from up to 7 breakfast sets. Cos it is French run, their croissants are excellent! the view from the restaurant is really awesome.

The resort is slightly away from the main Chaweng shopping so we don't get the noise. It's only abt 10-15 min walk along the beach to main Chaweng.

The resort staff and management showered very warm hospitality. They know us by our name and they come and ask us abt our day etc. They also arranged snorkelng trips for us, they have their own motorcycle rental service (150Baht for a day), and kayaks for rental (150Baht for a whole day. we paid for 1 day but took for 2 days since we only went out 1 hr each day).

While we were there we visited the other 'package deal' hotels (eg. chaweng regent, central chaweng resort etc) but found that they were too commercialised, too built-up, too impersonal and too crowded.

I would really recommend this resort to anyone who wants a quiet, relaxing honeymoon or get-away. We stayed there 5 nites for the same price that we would've paid for 2 nites if we took the package.

Check them out at: www.papillonsamui.com

jowie

Hi Orchid

U sound like u enjoy the trip! I will be going Samui in Nov for honeymoon, is there any places there which is muz go??
i also book separately, hotels i book is Tongsai Bay and Amari Palm Reef, have u seen Amari?

orchid

Hi Jowie,

Yes, I saw Amari. Looks good from the outside. the normal resort type.

U shld go for a full day snorkelling trip to Koh Tao. It's really beautiful. The cost is abt 1300 - 1500 Baht per person. They pick u up from the hotel at abt 7:20am, u go on a pretty big boat, comes with lunch.

And, for an interesting experience, u can sign up for Thai Cooking Class at SITCA (Samui Institute of Thai Culinary Arts) - featured on BBC. I signed up for it and we had a good time. U pay for 1 person, and u can invite a guest with u. We learnt how to make green curry paste, then cooked green curry vegetables, pad thai (the thai fried noodles), and coconut fish soup. then everyone gets to eat together (only abt 7 students per class, each student can bring 1 guest). It was very very yummy and we got to learn the 'secret' ingredients, and got to interact with the rest of the students. Check them out at: www.sitca.net

jowie

Hi Orchid

Do u know of all these interesting places after u reach there or u do research before going?

orchid

Hi Enid,

My airfare was $360 return on promotion with Misa Travel. cheapest i could find at that time (http://www.airfares.com.sg). i think it's $400 now (not incl. airport tax).

You can check out sawadee.com &amp; buy directly from Bankok Airways - $372 return (not incl. airport tax) http://www.samui.org/airport/#BKKAIR

1 tip: there's a little shed just outside Samui Airport. the one on the right. they serve REALLY YUMMY beef noodles soup. only 30 Baht!! don't worry, they're clean.

orchid

Hi Jowie,

so sorry, didn't see the thread earlier.

I did abit of research before i went &amp; asked my friends who've been there.

You can book the snorkelling trip at the hotel.

Booked the cooking class online with SITCA (http://www.sitca.net). needed to book in advance cos of the limited size.

enid

Hi Jowie,

Did u enjoy ur trip ? Where did u stay and how do u book ? Planning to go next Jan/Feb.

jowie

Hi Enid

yups! i enjoy samui beri much! we went there for 7 days, 1st 3 nites stayed at Amari Palm Reef resort, which is located at Chaweng beach, and the last 3 nites stayed at Tongsai Bay.
I booked my hotels from www.sawadee.com and air tix from local agents.
Jan/Feb are good mths to go, me went in nov...monsoon but luckily, the weather is not too bad

enid

Hi Orchid,

Saw that u stayed at Papillon Resort. The price is pretty attractive. Is it convenient and the rooms are clean ? Do u hv any pix ? thks

jowie

Hi mint...amari is nice too, it's a 4 star resort, clean room, and their pools are nice...quite a lot of people staying there coz their restaurant is quite full during breakfast...and they are located almost the end of chaweng beach, not to rowdy like those in central chaweng, but onli need to walk less than 5mins and you will be in places where there are more people...the rental of jeep wif insurance also cheaper than outside by 100baht...onli problem is their staff, dun really know english and i have prob telling them about half boil egg!

oh another ting i like about them is they have guards helping to stop traffic when we are crossing the road to go to our rooms...the rooms are separate blocks from the main lobby...good service

nero

Orchid, the standard bungalow u booked ... did u specially request beachfront or are all of them near to the beach? If so, $64/NITE is definitely worth it.. in fact, might consider upgrading to mini suite if I go there. All sea-facing? tx

orchid

Hi enid &amp; nero,

I booked the large bungalow since it was only 1600B (abt $68/nite). i specifically requested beach front. the suites are all by the beach. it's really nice, convenient &amp; the staff are nice. every bungalow comes with a little porch. my bungalow didn't have a bathtub, but that's alright for us. not sure if the suite does. my favorite was the breakfasts!!!

for pictures &amp; description, u can check out their website on: http://www.papillonsamui.com.