Kitchen cabinets

northeast

I have been to Classic Design and saw that their kitchen cabinet designs are quite nice. Notice that their top cabinet does not go all the way to the ceiling, is that the design or what as I also saw such design in some home and deco magazines. Or is it bcos it is a showroom, that's why they are not building it to the ceiling. Recently I have been to the newly launched EC - The Eden in Tampines, its kitchen cabinets is also like that, what do you call this type of design? Is it better to have kichen cabinets which go all the way to the ceiling? appreciate advice from anyone. thks.

och

hi northeast,

u're right, the classic showroom has high ceilings, that's why their cabinets cannot touch the ceiling. they hv 2 pricings: a lower price for 600mm n the normal price for 900mm. with the box-up at the top, 900mm top cabinets will go to the ceiling in hdb flats.

as for which is better, i think it's a trade-off. top cabinets that dun reach the ceiling r cheaper n make the kitchen appear somewhat larger n airier.

on the other hand, high top cabinets provide storage spaces n they r also slightly easier to maintain. my mum has cabinets that dun reach the ceiling in our dry kitchen. it's difficult to clean the top of the cabinets. grease accumulate n cockroaches hide there.

lilac

Anyone has kitchen cabinets with legs? Was thinking of doing my kitchen cabinets on legs, but not too sure whether the legs can take the weight of the postform top plus cabinets. Anyone has any advice? Is it advisable to do legs?

hi lilac,

i think quite good idea to have "legs" leh! esp if your cabinets are made of wood...my current one has no legs...the wood gets wet when i wash my kitchen floor...i think the wood are beginning to rot *eeks!*

och

hi lilac,

hving legs is a good idea. it's much easier to clean the floors under the cabinets, n insects + dust dun get trapped in those unreachable crevices.

u can get the contractor/designer to hv legs at shorter lengths apart. postform tops r light, but plates, pots n pans, oil etc r not, so ur worries abt sagging r valid.

but u hv to check the prices. i tried asking for contractors n designers to build my cabinets with legs. i was told that they charge according to per pair of legs! it worked out to be too ex afterall.

lilac

Hi KPO & och,

Thanks for the feedbacks. I was thinking of making legs for the cabinets but is holding back due to the potential sagging problem. The contractor told me there is not much differences in the cost as the legs are cheap. Metal legs costs more. Plastic legs are cheaper and comes with a plith to cover and can be removed when washing the floor. But I think if I ask them to put more legs, might incurr more costs. Need to check with them how many legs and if want additional, how much it costs.

I thought the cement base will prevent the cabinet base from getting wet and rot?

Do you all know anyone who made their kitchen cabinets on legs? Do let me know if you all have any info.

Time to go asking for different quotes on the cost of legs.

By the way, how much does cement base usually cost?

och

hi lilac,

i think i know what kind of legs ur contractor is referring to. sometimes, instead of using plywood to set the height of the cabinets, contractors will use plastic legs. but the plastic legs dun look very good, so they hv to cover the legs. and yah, those legs dun cost a lot.

cement bases dun cost > $100.

lilac

Hi och,

Asked some contractors and they quoted between $280 to $350 for cement base. I asked them how come so expensive, they said cos they said for new towns, they have to buy sand from haulage place and will cost at least $100.

Anyone knows wheter this is true?

Always thot tiles and cement to be cheap....

Is there any other types of legs?

och, what type of legs did your contractor quote you and how much?

twosix

hi lilac,

my kitchen cabinet is using stainless steel legs, with solid surface top. i did ask my designer if the base of the cabinet will give way after years and years, but he said no. the base is using thicker plywoods.

actually, using legs makes the kitchen looks more spacious. in time to come, if you need to, you can even use the empty space under the kitchen cabinet to store things!

och

hi lilac,

ur cement base is really ex. maybe cos u r not doing any other tiling works? i was, n my contractor gave it to me free. a few other contractors offered me the same deal as well. haulage do cost abt $100-150, but actually building the cement bases r dirt cheap.

the quotes i got said no additional costs for plastic ones. they din offer me other types of legs though. it's $40 per pair for stainless steel ones from kitchen specialists. these quotes were taken b4 the economy went spiralling downwards. maybe things r better now.

lilac

Hi twosix,

Your kitchen looks very good.

By the way, many feet is your kitchen cabinet? How much does it cost? Does the stainless steel legs cost more?

lilac

Hi och,

I'm not doing any other tiling work. Maybe that's why got "ka cai tao" by the contractors.

Thanks for your info.
Hopefully the prices are cheaper now.

Is haulage clearing of debris or referring to sand?

och

hi lilac,

i think ur contractor is charging u for both, since u r not doing any tiling work.

rolly1

Hi twosix,
mine is 314 series.
By the way, just curious, on the left hand side of ur photo, I noticed that u have fixed the cabinets. Thot that part is the wall of bomb shelter? hmm... I always thot that the cabinets cannot be fixed that due to the restriction on the drilling?

So where did u place ur washing machine n fridge?

twosix

hi lilac,

thanks for the compliments.

the legs are included in the pkg, so dunno how much each leg costs.

total, about 42 ft (top + bottom). with the solid surface top, total to be $8k+.

twosix

hi rolly1,

the walls around the bomb shelter can be drilled, but these walls are very hard, but still drillable, this is what my designer told me.

cola

Huh...just my two cents worth..you better check with HDB..I heard from a contractor that you are not supposed to even put a small puncture into the whole wall of the bomb shelter. Always good to check..if not later more troublesome.

julie

Hi all, I would like to know what is the average cost for a kitchen cabinet in a 5-rm flat. My contractor quoted me about $3500 for my kitchen cabinet (up and down, and about 5m long) and another $2000 for the LG solid surfacing. Is this expensive? Appreciate any comments.

vanda

Hi Julie,

My friend just did up her kitchen cabinet (5 rm Exec). The cost came up to abt $3000 with normal top. Solid surfacing is always more expensive. But... the normal counter top works pretty well and can last up to about 15-20 years. So you can save the $2K for something else.

lonewolf

Hi Julie

That's roughly what I paid for my kitchen cabinet. I also did solid surface top which cost about the same too.

I think the choice of kitchen cabinet top would depend on frequency of use and your desired look for your kitchen. If you are not too particular about the look and dun anticipate heavy cooking, you probably can consider having normal laminate for your kitchen top. Else a solid surface top would be more durable.

ordos

my contract quote me $1740 each for kitchen top cabinet, bottom cabinet and solid surface work top (didnt mentioned what surface is using)
expensive? (1740 x 3)$5220

julie

Hi lonewolf, I'm anticipating heavy cooking, so I guess, no choice, have to get the solid surface top. May I ask, what kind of wood do the contractors normally use for the kitchen cabinets? Are there different kinds in the market, or is it standard?

dap

Hi Julie

I think the quote you've gotten depends on the number of feet. I got a quote for 33 ft top and bottom cabinets at $3,430 and $1,870 for solid surface top (17ft). So it's about the same as your quote.

me

Yes, the charge by foot run. Not the type of flat. Average is about $200 pfr (top and bottom).

My mum and I cooked a lot, and we only had a normal laminate top. It still looks fine. I think that it is not really necessary for solid surface tops if you look after the counter well. I also wanted one, but could not afford it, and since it is a want, not a need, I decided not to get it.

meg

Anybody know what is the difference between imported door, solid wood door, laminated door and postform door for kitchen cabinet? Which is the most common one?

jjk

how long does it take for a contractor to do up kitchen cabinets, with solid surface top & postform doors? 1 week, 2 weeks, 1 month or more? anybody know?

kk

I like to know this too. So that i know when my renovation will be completed. I heard carpentry works very fast. Think maybe 2 weeks?

malcolm

hi jjk and kk
My experience tells me that a normal kitchen cabinet normally can be installed during the second week, but the solid top has to be measured on site after the base of the top is fully installed. And after that the solid top will take about 5 to 10 days. Hope u r satisfied with my answer.

jjk

Hi Malcolm Tan, so from measurement till the final touch, it should take about 2 to 3 weeks in total, am I right?

cartman

hi jjk

my contractor did my kitchen for me in 3 weeks. if you do no need to hack ur kitchen flooring, i tik it will be shorter by 3 days. malcolm is rite that they can oni measure the solid top when the bottom cabinet is up. however, u can save time by requesting them to put up the carcass of the bottom cabinet first (which take abt 3 to 5 days oni), measure 1st and get the solid top people 2 do it first and at the same time the carpenter to complete the cabinets. hope u get wat i mean.

malcolm

hi jjk
It should be around there. And always ensure workmanship. Remember. And I always think it is good to measure on site, after they install. Cause what is 5 to 7 days? The kitchen u r going to live with it for a good 10 to 15 years. And because I think on site, there r certain finishes, like corners and joining of cabinet. And even the hob and oven need to be install on site. My opinion is to still measure on site, it will be much better.

ly

Hi Malcolm Tan, since you're such an expert, I'd like to seek your advice on this. I saw some small crack lines on the laminate of some of my postform doors, along the rounded edge of the doors. Is this normal for postform doors or is it because of the material I selected? Or is it poor workmanship of the carpenter? The laminate I chose has a bit of texture on it.

malcolm

hi ly
Well, u go on, but I am still learning, Hahaha, Anyway, any crack lines on any laminate is a defect. And it has nothing to do with the texture of the laminate. Furthermore, its not 100% the carpenters' fault. Cause the doors r machine press. Anyway, r the doors near the sink and its always towards the left top hand corner of the door? If it is, its the postforming process that creates this problem. Avoid, using postform, front profile of the table top, it tends to let the water or liquid to damaged the door or even lenghten the table top depth. It will solve some problem.

kitchenguy

hi ppl,

I am wondering how much will it cost to do up the entire kitchen cabinents??

how abt ur experiences?? ranging from 3I room flat to 4S room flat???? places like bukit merah and bishan???

Anyone one recently do up their kitchens as well?? any good and reliable contractor to recommend?? thanks..

kk

kitchenguy,

My opinion is go by per ft basis.
My id charge me $100 per feet for all carpentry works.

kk

kitchen guy,

i kind of remember i have send u the quotation! ur email looks familiar to me.. kekekeee...

can u recall my id is darwin interior?

och

hi kitchen guy,

i brought my mum to look at classic's kitchens recently. classic did my kitchen. i like their work, which is why i introduced my mum to them. my mum is booking with them too. classic has 3 ranges of cabinets that cost $198/ft (top n bottom). they r giving away 1 set of long blum drawers (can take up to 50kg) n a set of wooden pullouts free now. if u purchase their solid surface top (2 ranges, corian at $98/ft, another at $89 or so /ft), instead of the pullouts, u get stainless steel dish rack with roller shutter doors, a set of edged glass doors.

kitchenguy

hi och,

where is classic's kitchen showroom???

is there anywhere i can have a look at their range of cabinents???

thanks och

kitchenguy

hi kk,

where is this darwin interior??? can tell me their office??

kk

kitchen guy,

below is the contact:

Sales Executive: Patrick Quek
Co. Name: Darwin Interior
Pager: 93148689
HP: 96792934
email: [email protected]
Add: 810 Geylang Road #01-107 City Plaza S(409286)

och

hi kitchen guy,

classic has its own showrm at:
blk 845 geylang rd #03-56
tanjong katong complex
It's open on m-s fr 12-9 n su fr 12:30-8:30. u can look for felicia leong at 67474119.