Kitchen cabinets

angy

I recommend KitchenCraft. I have recommended four of my colleagues to them.

Why I like about them?

They do their cabinents straight from the factory, their prices are reasonable and they used BLUM hinges for the kitchen doors and kitchen drawers. (BLUM hinges are from Germany and KitchenCraft have the BLUM equipment to install the BLUM hinges). Usually kitchen designers increase their prices if you want BLUM hinges but not from kitchencraft, they used BLUM hinges as a standard features.

Their factory is very very very far. Down at Woodland Loop. I just check their number, it is 7527762.

Why I like BLUM?
a. it last super long.
b. Say, in two years time you do not like your cabinet door, you can swap to another colour, no problems.
c. It can hold heavy weight.
d. It has a super long history og making kitchen hinges.

kitchenguy

hi angry..

i thought blum hinges nowadays are quite common?? Not all kitchen cabinents uses BLUM?? correct me if i am wrong. And what other kind of hinges would be the commons ones???

thanks ANGRY, i will call them and make an arrangement, BTW how much would it cost for a 4-room reasle 4s in bishan?? if you hve some idea plz share with me. thanks

och

hi kitchenguy,

a number of carpenters offer blum hinges (including classic n kitchencraft), but they r not all that common. a lot of companies still use locally made or other generic international brands of hinges.

orchid

I spent $3,678 for my kitchen cabinets - 20ft, L-shape. Really good job done. bought my own hob, hood, sink & tap.

angy

Hi kitchenguy,

I have to agree with och, BLUM hinges are not common among the carpenters. And to do it well, you need to have the BLUM drilling equipment, which KitchenCraft has it.

As for prices, I believe that the range is dependent on the length and what extra things you like to have. I believe the range is in the 3 to 4K range.

Why I like BLUM hinges?
First, I like to say that I am not in the hinges/cabinet line of business. I come to the following conclusion after a lot reading and from my past oberservations in my parents place on their customised kitchen cabinets/cupboards.

1. The hinge is the weakest link and is one that most likely to break first. What happen after three years and the hinge breaks? Can you find the same one and replace it? I can tell you, it is like finding a needle in a hyastack. But with BLUM you can. The diameter of the BLUM hinge is fixed. It is a two mins job. Unclip the door, replace the new hinge, clip it back, and it is done. How do I know, I have done it before.

2. I know that some hinges have this feature. Can you remove/unclip the whole cabinet door so that you can clean the inside? BLUM hinges allow you to do that. Why is this important? When you want to do area cleaning, you are not bothered by the doors, blocking your way.

3. BLUM hinges comes in many angles.
It can be 90degree, 110 degree, .....

4. Ask to see BLUM drawer system. You will notice that thickness of drawer base is much much thicker than a normal piece of plywood. Furthermore, if you do not like the front drawer cover after a few years, you can just as change the panel because it is totally removable. Do you notice that the base of the drawers are usually very thin and they then to sag after long term of holding heavy load.

But there is one thing you have to remember if you ever want to use BLUM system. Their drawer set has very low side panels. So you cannot stack things up high. You will know what I meant when you go and see the display set. My advise is to choose four drawers instead of three (which you can see in their showroom).

Do not take what I have to to say. Go and see for yourself and check out www.blum.com

kitchenguy

hi orchid,

is ur place 4 or 5 room??
how long does it take to do up ur kitchen?

do u use blum hinges?? do u used good solid top like corian?? or close to that?

hope u can tell me a little bit more of ur kitchen

orchid

Hi kitchen guy,

my place is 4 rm.
the installation itself was only a day. the rest took abt 1-2 wks. we used postform laminated counter top (wood grain), and white laminates for the doors. the cabinet over the sink had stainless steel drying racks. 2 of the upper cabinet doors (both sides of the hood) have frosted glass. the handles are silver & round, look like short rod.

sorry don't know what are BLUM hinges

kitchenguy

hi orchid,

can you recomend me your contractor or kitchen specialist?

k

Hi everyone! I was wondering which material is most durable for kitchen cabinets. I saw some nice wood finishes but I am not sure if it would peel easily if exposed to the kitchen oil and water too often... any advice on this?

banet

kitchen cabinet is divided into 2 portions:
1) kitchen top
That piece that covers the top
Durable: granite, solid surface (also known as cultured marble)

Even for solid surface there are many brands of different quality and cost.

2) cabinet
the rest of the cabinet
Durable: plywood

banet

bortei

hi banet
what abt laminate top?
what will be the difference in cost betw solid surface and laminated top?

i_did_it

Hi scone,

Lacquered has different meanings to the carpenter.

What do you have in mind?
1. Do you want a shinny finish like those in the furniture shop selling chinese rosewood furniture?

2. Do you want those in IKEA type where you buy a coat of varnish and the more you most coats put on it, the more shinner it will be?

3. Do you mean the lacquer on Japanese typed kitchenware?

Tell me what you are looking for and I can tell you the pros and cons of it.

scone

hi I did it:

Have u been to Space Furniture lately. I'm referring to those BBItalia furniture in the show room there. Or if you've visited CLASSIC kitchen, it is the first kitchen on the left as u walk in the showroom at Tanjong Katong Complex.

I do not mean (1), (2) or (3). I want to have those 'acrylic' or 'coloured glass' effect. Have u seen black CHANEL cosmetic counter cabinets? Yeah, that kind of effect...

Pls advise. Much appreciated...

i_did_it

Hi scone,

I think I know what you are referring to. It is definitely not lacquer.

What you want is actually (if I am not wrong) is some sort of gloss plastic like material over wood.

I have only seen it once at IMM long time ago. I actually made enquires about it but did not go ahead with it.

Sorry canot help you

binbin

Dear all, can someone help me with advice on whether to go for solid surface or postform table tops for kitchen cabinets?

SS is much more expensive, and supposedly more hardy. But another ID told me Postform is actually more durable and does not leave a Mark if you place a hot pan on top, while SS does.

is this true?? pls help, as trying to sign up with one ID by end of this year.....

Thanks so much in advance.....

may2003

binbin: the latest style is solid surface top. no doubt it is more expensive compared to postform table top but the look is completely diff. The solod surface top gives the kitchen a classic look. i think u shld consider ss. it i sso much affordable now. in fact corian is having promo till the end of the year. it is selling at $98 psf for limited color range while other brands ss is selling av. 87 psf.

hope this information helps.

val

Hi binbin,

Wat may said is true...SS looks nicer...I also went for that too. I thot postform is really outta our generation but in terms of durability, I'm not sure how to advise you cos haven really started using my kitchen yet. But...I thot watever top, it's always better to have a stand or a wet cloth beneath the hot pot before u place it? Otherwise leave it on the stove lor. Just my thots!

experienced

postform surfaces are just laminated solid plywood, which is same as the doors. when hot work or pans are placed on it, i'm not sure whether the laminates can withstand the heat.

if you buy solid surface, then must get full acrylic ones. the scratches on them can be polished away using chemicals (i can't remember whether it is thinner or something else). corian is the better one, as compared to malaysian made, korean made etc.

i chose Indian Black Galaxy granite for my kitchen top. it is solid, more scratch resistant than SS, water proof, heat resistant etc etc.

maya

I wld like to give another view in support of postform. Yah, maybe it's used by my mom's generation bec my home kitchen has that insted of SS. It's true that you can leave hot things on top w/o it having a stain. My mom always place the hot stainless steel coffee pot on our table and I don't see any mark at all.
But I can understd that SS may look more solid than postform. Why not have both? That's what my mom did too. She basically had those areas near the sink in SS which she does her heavier stuff (chopping) and the majority was in postform. I'm thinking of doing it the same way too for my new place.

orchid

Hi bin bin,

I used postform because they're cheap & they last quite long - at least 10-15 years - which would be time for a renovation. they also come with lots of colors, designs & feel. i got one with a very nice cherry wood look.

i feel that unless you plan to live in your current HDB flat FOREVER, go for the postform. the next buyer might decide to break down your Solid Surface top to make way for his own kitchen design.

binbin

dear ladies, thanks for all the feedback. they are really useful.

can last so many years ah? orchid and maya, i din know postform is so hardy?
that's good to know...but glad that they are....coz saving money is important now hor?

may2003, Val and experienced...sigh....i have to admit solid surface look really beautiful, nice and solid. would like my kitchen to look nice too....
may2003, u said corian is 98psf? what about postform? how much psf?

well, i will discuss with my FH and tell him these comments...then we see how....
thanks again gals!

orchid

Hi binbin,

Yes, can last that long. i did alot of research through the net, spoke to my contractor (who's a friend) and my uncle (in the building business).

and you know what?? they even have designs that can make your counter look like solid surface! saves you at least $1K!! you can spend that money for other furnishings in the home - or longer honeymoon.

maya

Hi Orchid, you sound very familliar with postform. Can I check how sturdy is postform if I want to chop/pound things on it? Worried that it may not w/stand that kinda pressure. But I don't want to everytime chop/pound food on the flr so was thinkng of part postform, part SS.
Your advice?

binbin

orchid... really? how do i find such designs? got recommendations? can i ask my ID to source for such sources?

jjuan

Hi Orchid,

Can postform withstand the heat from the cooker hob? My fren says that it may not if we cook alot and the top will warp/curve after a few yrs. But then again, solid tops are so prone to scratch-marks that we wonder if it is worth to pay extra $1k+ afterall.

Pls advise!

Thanks a lot!

:>> JJuan

orchid

Hi maya,

chopping is no problem. i haven't needed to pound anything yet.

Hi binbin,
you need to check with your contractor for the catalog. depends on the brand of laminate. i specifically asked for the woody type. had to look through like 4-5 pages of laminate samples - they have many types.

Hi juan,
my mom's kitchen is doing OK so far. no warping. already abt 10 years.

cherubies

Hi Orchid,
may i have your contact for your kitchen renovator?

Hi kk,
can i check if darwin will do just kitchen reno?

any other recommendations????

kk

Hi Cherubies,

I am not too sure. But i dun think they will reject on the part on just handling kitchen reno. Perhaps u would like to call and ask?

ryooki

Hi, I just got quotations from 2 ID companies and I found that their kitchens are pretty expensive like around $235/ft. The materials they are quoting me are for laminates with ABS trimming. And the solid surface is like $90 pfr. Is that expensive??

By the way, is doing up a kitchen 17ft bottom only enough??

secret_garden

Is there anyone out there in the market that specialises in kitchen cabinets or uses imported/quality materials?

anyone has done up their kitchen using such kitchen specialists? or any ID firms that does durable and quality kitchen cabinets?

secret_garden

Is there anyone out there in the market that specialises in kitchen cabinets or uses imported/quality materials?

anyone has done up their kitchen using such kitchen specialists? or any ID firms that does durable and quality kitchen cabinets?

ah_cat

I have engaged Kitchen Classic to do my kitchen & wardrobe. Very impressed with their work & quality. You can check it out at their showroom at Tanjong Katong Complex.

secret_garden

Hi cat,
can i have the address?
who can i look for?
which country are the cabinets and stuffs made in?
how much did you spend on the kitchen cabinets? wardrobes? what's your dimensions like?
any pics? :p

orosalind

Kitchen cabinet specialist can try Classic. My grandma's and my mum's hse all done by Classic. V durable. But price a bit ex lah.

ah_cat

Hmm.. can't rem my kitchen length but it should be around 30+ ft. I pay around $6k+ for my solid surface top kitchen & $3k+ for my wardrobe. They are made locally using Blum System.

Sorry, din take any pics but it's quite similar with their show room. They have at least 4 kitchens for you to see.
If interested, get Jack to give u a free quote with no obligation.

secret_garden

hi rosa,
thanks! i will go check them out over the weekend

apart from them any other kitchen specialist u know of in the market?

och

hi secret garden,

i also had my kitchen done by classic. there's also corten (in imm) which is abt the same price. there r a number of kitchen specialists in park mall, e.g. kitchen culture etc. but those r ex.

aeina

Hi Secret Garden,
I know this reputable firm that do italian kitchen under brand of Binova. http://www.binova.it/

I love the kitchen design but i don't have the budget for it. Nway, the contact of this firm is as below :-

Cheng Meng Furniture Co. Pte Ltd
3 Kallang Pudding Road
Singapore 349308
Tel: (65) 6745 9900 Fax: (65) 6748 8395

secret_garden

was wondering if any of you have heard/used of kazz designer kitchen?

hi aeina,

how much is the price range for this italy kitchen?

okipoki

Need your advise !! Does your contractor charge you for your top hung cabinate on the portion where your hood is ?? Mine is a chinney hood where nothing is done at that portion. Eg: Total length is 13ft for top hung and if excludes my hood, it should be 10ft. So your contractor should charge u 10ft or 13ft ??

huggiez

13ft becoz they will still have a piece of wood behind the hood so that you dont see an empty patch of wall tiles

okipoki

Hi Connie,

Thanks for your reply, I dont have any wood behind the hood except my stainless steel backing which cost seperately. However, there is a 8" wood to cover my pipelines only.... How ??