Kallang/Whampoa Blk18&19@Jalan Tenteram

gundam

Hi Moon,
welcome to the neighbourhood. As Ryes has mentioned, most people are still in the process of renos (myself included) and like Ryes my wife and I won't be moving in till the later part of the year.

There is a serious problem with flooding in our block (blk 18) regardless of the intensity of the rain. As long as it rains it will flood. This is due to a fundamental design flaw of the stairwells. There isn't a floor trap for drainage at the exposed grill areas where the lift landings are...only below in the stairwell landing between the floors. The flooding tends to be worse on the units closer to the PIE side ie 132,134 in blk 18 cos the lift landing slopes downwards towards that side. Since this is a common area should a complaint be addressed to the town council or should this be taken up with the hdb branch office. Anyone got an answer?? Think if one person complains whoever's in charge won't bother but if we all get together then maybe someone will actually notice that there really is a problem.

Hey gundam

Do you feel that it seems unsafe standing near to the grills at the unit outside? At the staircase there? Normally is those concrete wall, but now it is those grills, I stand there, feel so scary...

gundam

Hi Ryes

Personally I'm not too bothered by it. Height wise I don't think it's that much shorter(or even if it is shorter) than the concrete walls you are used to.

Wrt safety you still have to go over it and not through it to fall off rite? Possibly the only thing there I can think of is rain can beat in and the ground at the area will be wet and slippery.

At the end of the day I don't think I'l be spending too much time at the landings. Standing at the grill outside my door have a great view of Block 19 and the multi-story carpark. Standing at the staircase grill, I have a great view of the PIE and toa payoh...I'll stick with the view I have in my unit.

Hey gundam

Safety is the biggest concern for my case lor, looks very not secure leh, just my personal opinion. Coz in future, kids sure play outside one, then I suppose parents have to "jia-ga" them...

But definitely the view is fabulous.

gundam

Hi daylight,

no, the flooding remains outside the units thanks to the kerb that we have going into the flat and the sloping lift landing. However I've seen pools of stagnent water which screams mosquito breeding ground at the stairwell area. Drainage seems to be the problem here.

Ryes,

I can understand your concern. There is a possiblity that young children may want to climb up the grill. I guess the only thing we can do as parents is to teach them not to go near that area?

I think coz of the wind har, when it rains, sure got flood hor...then how? Sweep the water?

joanne225

glad to know got so many neighbours. i m a blk 19er.... is the problem also the same for blk 19? arggghhh

oh yes ryes, i share your concern abt the unsecure railing, but i have seen scarier ones. the 40 storey flat in TPY looks even more insecure, and at its height, it gives me a strange headache when i walk near it the other time.

Hey joanne....

Yeah, i went to the 40 storey TPY one also. Even at my present level now hor, i look dwn hor, i get headache one leh...like will fall off one..& my heart will start pumping fast

joanne225

Ryes,

You are like me...fear of heights!! some more my hubby and I are tall, so half our body is exposed out of the railings. anyway, we will not walk near there that often, so never mind lor....

are u above 20th flr as well?

gintonic

I am currently looking for a contractor for my new nest but I yet to collect my keys. Therefore would like to ask if any of you can still remember the original colour of the following:
a. bathroom tiles
b. floor tiles
c. WC colour
d. kitchen wall tiles
e. kitchen floor tile colour?

If possible, can anyone out there take some picture of the above mentioned areas for me
I need these information urgently as I am doing the layout and the quotation for the reno.

Gintonic

slog

Hi all here,

For those of you who got your flats through the BE in November 2004, can I just ask if any of you recall if flats at Jellicoe Road were up for balloting too? Thanks

babyjoyce78

Hope there's still people here..
I getting my flat, blk 17, via the WIS. I find that this area is quite deserted and to reach the bus stop opposite the field is quite far.
Furthermore i think the structure lay out is quite bad. Have to crack my brain and think of how to design the limted area.

Anybody has finished renovating their flat? Can share with me their design or a rough layout of how they organise your kitchen,dining area, or living room, anybody do hacking like the show flat? Care to share?

chrislee

Hi all, my friend's sis has one unit in Sims drive, and she is considering divorce, but, she and the husband owns the flat for less than 5 years and is not going to sell to me. I thought of hinting to her to sell to me , so that I can enjoy the en bloc scheme and get a unit in Kallang / town area.
Think she prob didnt want to be levied for selling off the flat when it is less than 5 yrs.

inex

hi gin, I got 10+ flr.. paiseh, fh not comfy with revealing where we got..

anyway hows life living there?

gintonic

Hi Jean,

Tried to PM you but can't...

Well staying here is so convenient to towns and other parts of singapore except abit quiet in the estate....have you got your keys?

Hi neighbours...

Any one of you want to share to order mamy poko diapers or pull up pants at $14.90 each. The seller is providing free delivery with purchase above $56.90. Thought of ordering and then you can drop by my place to collect.

NTUC is selling $15.75 each. I am not sure if the seller is willing to give more discount if we purchase more or not. She did say is fixed price...

I'm purchasing now fr NTUC as they are having promotion. PUrchase $10 and above, get free pantiliners. Probably after the promotion ends, then will get from this seller.

If you are interested, can drop me a pm...

sagefleur

I would like to check with you all.

For Jalan Tenteram 4 rm units, what is the colour of the kitchen wall and floor as well as the colour of the tiles for the master and common toilets?

Hi Sage,

Kitchen walls are white and orangy colour. Floor i cant rem, coz i hack them all...

Any tenteram mummies?

sagefleur

I'm on #7

Now waiting for keys. Which floor are you on?

I'm now thinking whether to change my kitchen and toilet tiles coz I don't really like them but my mum and mother in law advise me to just leave it

inex

I'm on the 16th. in the midst of finishing my reno.

I hacked away my mbr toilet tiles... as for the kitchens.. better check carefully the wall-tiles.. my neighbour complain about her tiles being warped and hdb replaced her tiles with plain ones.

winterglee

i m currently looking for flats blk 16/17. any1 can share with me if there's any who owe loansharks or funny thing? because i heard from a friend there is a murder case b4, a auntie duno which flr like to sing ktv loud loud, etc. appreciate your kind feedback

keiho

AnyOne knw there was a murder case at blk 16 jalan tenteram on 2008 feb ? I was thinking to buy a unit there . After I gave 1k deposit I found out there was a murder
is any1 knw wat is the unit#16-??? no ?