Kallang/Whampoa Blk18&19@Jalan Tenteram

takishi

Mine is on 11 floor. What about you? Have you started looking for ID?

Actually, if anyone one of us are looking for a particular furnitures or any services for our home. Hope to see it posted on this thread, so if anyone thought of getting it as well, we can ask for discounts if we buy together mah. hehe, can even try to waive delivery charges. Well thats just my opinion.

virgo78

we are on the 28th flr. we may have to save up first before moving in. Alot of monthly expenses at the moment. We may not even move in so early. Just buy the shell first.

takishi

WOW,so shiok. The view up there is great. Which side are you facing? I think you can don't install air-con liao. At that height and in our location, confirm very windy.

virgo78

takishi, but im not sure if the flat faces the afternoon sun. And by the way, how do u know it is windy?.. Cos' all the windows are facing one direction so we won't be able to feel the wind at all.

takishi

Well, i cannot be 100% sure, but i have been there couple of times and the wind are quite constant. Our block of flats are built facing south, if your unit is facing the CTE and facing North if it face the blk 16 or 17. Sun rise east to set west. Hehe thats what i observe, and if you open your main door and windows. We should be able to get wind.

anyone of you got keys liao?

I've just got mine today.

Very quiet and the letterbox is FULL of flyers

takishi

Congrats, so did u went in to check your unit? Which blk/floor are you on? Actually what number did you drew for the ballot? Still waiting for my turn leh.

gundam

Hi all.

Finally after waiting forever got an appointment to sign the lease next week but only after my wife shot out a strongly worded email regarding the long wait.

Out of curiosity; Rainne: how long did it take for u to sign the lease, collect keys and I presume apply for utilities on the day itself?

takishi

Got my appointment too.... finally!

Hi RX-78-2,Will you be going straight to open the door to your flat once you get your keys? Any 'procedures' you be observing when you do so?

gundam

Hi takishi,

Yes we will be going to the flat on the same day just to do inspection for any defects. No particular "procedures" that we would be following on that day itself...It's not like we are actually moving in yet.

takishi

Today i went to my flat around 4pm, Blk 18. It was raining quite heavily for about less than 30 mins. Rainwater was pouring in from the opening at the staircase beside the refuse chute. As there was no drainage, the floor in front of unit 134 & 136 was covered with water. The other two units were spared.

If the heavy downpour were to go on for hours, i think the whole common area will be wet. Just so happen to be there to notice this problem.

Any solutions to these kind of problem? As this effect the residents of the whole block, will the branch office look into it?

Hi Rx and takishi,

apologies, I didn't see this thread! Have you both got your keys already? When will you guys get keys? It took me about 1 hour to sign leave, collect keys etc. We didnt' apply for utilities that day, as we intend to apply only after we start renovation in May.

Apparently, the defect form states that you can report defects 7 days after collection of keys OR before you start renovation, so we are taking our sweet time to check for defects. Found lots of hollow tiles in the bathroom.

Takishi, Rainwater was pouring in from the opening at the staircase beside the refuse chute (is this outside unit 134?)

Are you both taking the 85 sq m too? I feel that the whole living/dining area is very dark, perhaps due to windows only along the living room and not the dining area...

gundam

Hi Rainne and takishi,

Got my keys and went down yesterday at around 2pm, wasn't raining yet at that time to check for defects. Very windy during the day, direction from the south east (units 134,136). Stupid gas and water door in the corridor is stuck! So can't turn on water to check if there are any water/drainage probs.

Returned again at night with parents/in-laws in tow. Water seems to only be at the staircase outside 134, 136 appears to be dry already at that time. Wind at night comes from the other direction. Oh well. At night is when we start to use the aircon anyway
yawn.gif

Rainne, I got the 5 rm flat.Felt the 4 room really quite small esp bedroom. My wife made the exact same comment about the dining area being abit dark, living room for us is fine, windows being further out. Maybe cos the 4 room flats living room is recessed into the block??

Hi Rx,

I suppose you are either the unit 134/136. I am either the other 2 units. I tot HDB got provide you the gas and water door? I managed to open leh.

OH boy, the bedrooms are terribly small indeed, have to make do....

oh the living room is fine, but it's the dining area lor. dark dark, I intend to put lots of lights, dun like the dark dark feeling.

gundam

Hi rainne

Yes u r right in your assumption. Yes HDB does provide u with keys to the gas and water door but it so happens that the door lock is jammed. As such there is no way we can open the door to get to our water main to turn it on.

My wife and I didn't exactly check all the tiles but the few that we did seemed fine...now reading yr comment makes me wonder if we should go back and knock on every single one of them! Did u knock on the kitchen tiles as well? How were they in your unit? As stated above, those we checked seemed fine. I guess we have to be more persistant in knocking on all the tiles

HI Rx,

har, door lock jammed??? Better inform HDB to drop by to take a look ah.

Ours worked fine.

For the tiles, hardworking FH knock on each and every single tile. We only managed to knock the 2 bathroom. Kitchen will do it tomorrow. and final check on bathroom once again too.

Most of the hollow tiles happen to be at the top.

gundam

Hi rainne

Yah, my wife called HDB branch office today. They insist that we turn up with our keys to make sure that it's really the lock that is condemned and not that we recieved the wrong keys.

We have to go down again and this time bring a small step ladder to reach the top tiles. Prob only can get it done on sunday after I get back then contact HDB on mon.

Hi Rx,

When are you starting your renovation? If no hurry then you need not report to HDB ur defects so soon.

gundam

Hi Rainne,

Now we are in the process of trying to settle on a reno contractor. Hopefully can start by end of next month. Plan to finish before the chinese 7th month.

After which we'll slowly furnish the house for when we move in after the AD in nov. After paying for the flat there is now a big hole in the pocket so gotta split things up.

takishi

The accumlation of water is more in front of the unit 134, not too sure if the same on every floor,i guess got to depend how strong the wind is blowing the rain through the opening.

On the contrary to Rx-78-2, my gas & water door cannot be lock. Entering the flat, just walk thru. can find the kitchen floor tiles not lay properly, kitchen window stuck, wall tiles grouting chipped in some areas. Just wonder what else will show up if we check more carefully. And according to my friend who stay at blk 16, the floor tiles in the toilets are dirtied easily and the stains are hard to removed. Something like its porous and the dirt gets trap on the surface.

baby_joan

I'm actually staying in Blk 17... opp ur blks. I got my unit early last yr during the massive walk-in selection. We were always wondering when u guys r collecting ur keys cos that means it's time we made our curtains...haha. Currently only reno done but still lack of furnitures.

Takishi: I faced the same problem with my electrical & water riser doors. So I wrote it down in the defects list form and submitted to HDB. FYI, u have to pass HDB a set of ur house keys for them to rectify the defects. In the end, they changed my riser door locks and gave me the new set of keys.

Have you all found ur reno companies?

HI Rx and Takishi,

Was at my place today and met my neighbour upstairs and also diagonally(#134). Went in to see #134 as well, as they have finished the floor tiles and now half way thru kitchen cabinets.

HI Joan,
Seems like Blk 17 and 18 are really close to each other.

baby_joan

hi Rainne, your neighbour so fast ah.. complete part of reno liow
they get their keys so early ah
which floor r u staying at and facing where?

my unit in Blk 17 is actually facing blk 18 directly..thats y we now must do curtain liow.. hee

I chose the unit facing Blk 17.
surprisingly they got their keys much earlier than us I suppose, that's why they were able to do their renovation earlier.

hi virgo,

yeah, victor smthing. You interested is it? The owner's brother highly recommend his contractor to us, as this contractor has renovated 4 of his relatives house. I can't judge this guy but from all the praising from the owner's brother, I would say the contractor should be good. but then, Fh has already decided on our contractor.

virgo78

so who is your contractor? mind sharing your quotation?... by the way, u know the name of the renovation company that they recommend?

Hi virgo,

I am probably gonna engage impress21. The total cost of the renovation would come up to about $23K which is within our budget. You can always email to Impress and state what you want and they will send their quotation to you.

Yeah, I have the name card of the renovation company but it's at home. Will post it up when I get home yah.

When are you guys starting reno?

hi virgo,

neighbour's contractor is :
victor aluminumn construction
Blk 1085 Eunos Ave 7A
#03-18
henry Lee

virgo78

Hi Rainne, can share with me the quotation (the breakdown of the items)...? thks.. can i know the reason y u choose impress21?

Hi virgo,

seriously, write to Impress21. I think getting quotations from them directly is much better. Moreover, you are staying in 5 room flat right?

Reason choosing impress is good review from forum(you can see the thread under impress21) and henry is very patient, and does not pressure us to sign on the spot.

virgo78

k thks rainne

By the way, anyone in whampoa area felt the tremors on monday midnite??.. i can feel the whole house swaying abit.. n i saw on channel newsasia tat one caller from Jln tenteram actually called in & comment on the tremors felt in her flat..

where is your present home virgo.

I was sound asleep on the tremor night, but my parents felt the tremor. In fact, everytime got earthquake, we will feel our building swaying one, so I think jalan tenteram sure will experience the swaying too since it's so near to my current home now.

blessing

Halo Guys!

Wow u guys get yr keys tat early. We only got our keys yesterday. Lots of bird feathers at all the window sills n a bird leg...wonder if HDB can remove...mine in blk 19 5rm. seems like everyone here is in blk 18.

Nice to get to know neighbours here!

Anyone getting married tis yr?

joanne225

saw the thread here and decided to leave a msg

i just booked a flat at blk 19 under the current WIS...20 something floor...facing towards blk 20...anyone can advice hows the view up there? wonder what we will be seeing...

just thot of meeting new neighbours and sharing ideas..

tuesday

I'm your new neighbour to be. But I'm on the low floor cos Q nos was quite far behind.

How is it like staying at Tenteram?

Hi moon,

welcome welcome...not sure if most of the people here on board have shifted in or still under renovation....

For my case, we wont be shifting in so early, prob in sept or so...

Am still doing renovation now..mine's 4 rooms, budget is abt $25K, hopefully lesser lor..

Yeah, seems like when there is heavy rain, even the level that I am at hor, the water will splash in and flood abit one....