Justice of Peace-Prof Yu Shi Ming

trina

Hello, it would be nice if you babes could email me your JP as im having prob lookin for 1. As im having my rom on the 09/09/2009 its kindda a hot date. And i didnyt expect that the JPs will be booked so early. would appreciate your help.

pekochan81

Hi! I'm new in this forum too. Anyway, I ROM-ed on Dec'08 and we had Prof Yu as our solemnizer. Frankly speaking, he is indeed very different on phone and email. Like those "no-nonsense" kinda person. But in person, he is awesome! Very jovial & humourous! It makes the whole atmosphere very light-hearted and close to our hearts.

And our soleminization was at 12pm, he was punctual and infact came earlier when my friends were late! He actually don't mind waiting for them to come. And he is able to conduct both in English & Mandarin.

zerochristy

Momo's Girl> We got Prof Yu 3.5 months before our ROM date. You can try now if you want but I think he will ask to call back 3 months before.

pinklolli

christy> when is ur ROM date? i think i saw u in the other thread too.. anyway i just recently got prof yu to pencil in my request. =p

after reading this thread, my confidence bit shaken. hahaha! just hope he dun dua me! on account i was one of his ex-students. =s otherwise will be nightmare to look for another one at the last min.

if my memory serves me well, he's quite nice actually.

zerochristy

Pinklolli> I ROMed last year Sept. If Prof Yu say he pencil down your request he will likely take you on your ROM date.

Yap he is quite nice one... since you meet him before and his ex-student

superfamous

Pinklolli, dont worry, i was his ex-student too and had absolute faith in him

when did you graduate? i took quite a number of his modules so it was a good thing that he still remembered me :p

pinklolli

not superfamous! > i graduated in 2006 from real estate. actually i did not really remember his lectures. =p but his name rang a bell so i connected it to him. i prob did not take many of his modules. hahaha!

so what did he taught?

superfamous

i graduated from a different year so he might have taught different modules year to year.

did mostly valuation modules with him, i think he taught one property management module too

zerochristy

Found out that always people asking for emails and contact no¡­ which is previously given in this thread. I assume some are lazy to look for it or did not read the pass post or some really dun know. So now have decided to re-post all the information again.

Prof Yu¡¯s information

Prof Yu Shi Ming is under ROM website list as below:
Grassroot Leader
West Coast CC

Email: [email protected] or [email protected]

Contact no. 64672092(H)/ 68743401(O)/ 97366131(HP)

Photo: http://www.rst.nus.edu.sg/ProspectiveStudents/index.html

loewe79

happypinkbuttons > Prof Yu is gd.. He is very nice and professional.. He is my Jp for my ROM last Sat.
As not all the guests understand English, he still translate in mandarin.
I liaise with him via email. He is bery efficient .

oct_09_bride

Looking for a JP that doesnt require us to read out vows.... jus say 'I do' and 'I will' that's it.. Any to recommend?

Prof Yu is out for me as he is not avail for my wedding date in Oct 09.

jenic

my wedding is in Oct09 and now embarking to look for a JP after my ideal one is not available. Any recommendation?

Need help.. many thanks!

mayshalws

Will Mr. Yu mingle around with guest and bring some humours when he conducting the event ? Cos I don't want the overall event look over formal and tense..
Usually will he join for the dinner once the solemnisation done ?

loewe79

mayshalws> he will mingle with guests b4 the ceremony. he is humourous too..no worries.
well..he din stay for my lunch as he gt another solemnisation to conduct after mine.

mayshalws

Loewe: Thanks for your feedbacks
He bilingual in English and Mandarin rite ?? Cos my HTB n me only speak but can't read Mandarin. Well most our guests only know Mandarin.. Faint liao...

loewe79

mayshalws> yes he is.. haha, my husband oso dunno how to read chinese . But its okie.. he will ask us which language we prefer and we dun nd to read anything. just say "i do" only. He will be the one doing the reading.

mayshalws

Loewe: Thanks for your feedback.. Mr. Yeo is one of our shortlisted JP. My HTB and me will confirm and invite JP in early OCT. Hope it's not tool late

amethystcs

i just had my solemnisation recently by Prof Yu. Just like to comment that he did a wonderful job for me. He had been very prompt with his emails replies. On the actual day, he was very punctual and guide us well through the entire process. The whole ceremony took about 15-20 min. Definitely highly recommended.

smilydia

hi amethyst

i read from other forums that Prof Yu will only attend to request booked 3mths earlier. Is that true? How long before did you book him?

odie24

Hi Lydia,

I will be having Prof Yu as my JP. He is very strict about the booking only 3mths prior to the date of ROM. I tried emailing him very much earlier but he told me to write to him again 3 mths b4 the ROM. So i did as he said and wrote to him 3 mths b4 my ROM date and he agreed. Just drop him an email. He is very prompt in his replies. Hope the info is useful to you.

summergem

Hi, I just had my ROM solemnisation with Prof Yu as the solemniser. He is very gd which i find. He is relax and patient, coz when he arrived, the buffet set up is not ready yet, but he dun mind instead ask us to relax and i even forgot to take my hand bouquet, and forget to put the flowers petals on the rom table. he even help us to put the flowers on the table.

Very nice man...

jiening

hi all, can i ask a very weird question?
How do you pronounce 'Yu'? 'Yu' as in 'you' or fish in chinese? dont wana greet him wrongly.

has anyone invited him as a JP on a weekday afternoon before?

drizzles54

Prof Yu has also agreed to be my JP on 17 Jan 2010, which is 2.5 mths away. He is very prompt, replied my email the very next day already. But his reply is really short and sweet kind. Cos' first email, I asked if he cld be our JP. And he said yes. I also asked abt the language cos' I m not sure to do it in Eng/Chinese. Parents + Parents-in-law dun understand English, frens are mostly Eng speaking... I am more comfy wif English but parents n parents-in-law only understand Chinese... *headache* he said he is ok with both languages.

Can I chk with u ladies, mostly u all did Eng/Chinese? Is the vow in Chinese very difficult? Cos my Chinese is super pte ltd... cannot really read
But I read frm a comment that Prof Yu is doing the reading? Can any kind soul advise how Prof Yu conducts the ceromony? Cos I asked him in my 2nd email, if we wld meet up a few days before the ROM (so that I can understand the flow of ceromony), but he said no need to meet up. Dun wanna keep disturbing him with so many Qs so hope u gals can advise mi here...

Many tks in advance...

summergem

Hi drizzles54,

You could choose either in english or chinese or both. I choose the vows in englishe coz i find reading in chinese abit weird.
Prof Yu read each sentence and you speak after him. Your HTB will say the vows first. Prof Yu will translate the vows in chinese after that but both you and ur HTB no need to speak after him for the chinese parts.
Hope it helps

penny81

I just like to express my thanks to prof yu for conducting my wedding on 8 Nov 09. Prof Yu is very prompt in replying email as well as arrving on time on the actual day. I had my ROM in chinese cos both parents cannot understand english. Very simple- just need to read after him. Nice man to have as ur solemniser.

angelbrides88

I am also considering Prof Yu. Can i check... we will email him to check his availability on our date, then fax him the consent form after that is it? Pls advise.

penny81

Hi all. not to worry so much. i have not met him b4 my wedding. First i email him whether is he available on my date which is usually 3 mths b4, then send consent form then register online. 3-5 days b4 just drop him a reminder. Prof yu is a very punctual person. So i believe the min respect we can give him is to start on time. He is a very nice guy so no worries. I think there is a pic of him in the older post. Very fatherly looked.

kiat

is prof yu fluent in both english and chinese?

we would like to avoid those with 'weird' accents...

zerochristy

Kiat> Yes Prof Yu is fluent in both english and chinese. Not to worry... no weird accents... just speak like usual Singaporean.

i12bjwnbride

Another happy couple here who is honored to have their ROM solemnized by Prof Yu =)

There are plenty compliments around on Prof Yu, and I'm honored to experience his great personality yesterday on my ROM =) He made our solemnization so lively and I especially appreciate his great efforts to ensure that the ceremony was carried out in an orderly and heart-warming fashion.

Prof Yu is probably the best JP around! Highly recommended!

nat_1008

i am not the couple but the emcee for my friend solemisation and wedding dinner. Prof Yu is very professional and is effectively bilingual. He is also very patience and guided the couple on the flow of the ROM.