Justice of Peace-Prof Yu Shi Ming

bee26

Can't get Mr Chan and Mrs Chia for my ROM,thinking of Prof Yu Shi Ming?Wonder if anyone had him as JP before?How was it?

me2

Hi..When will your ROM be? I am using Prof Yu as well on October 1st. He seems very friendly when i called him up to "reserve" him for the day. Will keep you updated when my ROM is over!

bee26

mine is on 22nd nov...keeping my fingers crossed!cos after surfing thru e website,it seems tat there r a few JP who are quite popular but all taken up for my dates so me considering prof yu....did u meet up with him to sign the consent form?

me2

Nope.. i faxed to him and he acknowledged. Will be calling him sometime next week to remind him (just in case).
Wanted David Loh cos he did for my friend's ROM but he is retired so picked Prof Yu.. Maybe fate.. after all, out of so many other people, y pick him?

bee26

yup, i agreed....my bf sent him email,awaiting his reply...am reading abt him on styleweddings forum now..so far all positive reviews...

twinky83

I did engage one..

But it's up to individual. To save cost, maybe you can get your relatives or frenz to help..

me2

i agree..i rather engage a professional photographer when i am having my wedding dinner.. they are quite expensive.. even if only for ROM.

bee26

yes,im thinking of engaging one too..got a few quotes but still sourcing around....btw,i got prof yu to be our solemniser,will be meeting him to sign the consent form tmr....

shan_shan

Hi doreen,

congrats! ur solemnization is over rite....so how is Prof Yu? He wil b my JP for my solemnization this month oso...:p

how many weeks/days in advance muz we call him to remind him ah?

so an ang pow of $28 is gd enuf rite?

jenzhuzhu

hi shan shan

i can ensure u that Prof Yu is very gd

he was very patient with me during my wedding as there was some last min crop-up n i started my solemnization late but he was very patient n ensure me that he will nt start until i say can start

as for HB value, its reali up to u but i gave Prof Yu $38 as a token of appreciation n i call him 3 days b4 my AD to remind him again on the time n venue but he ensure me that he remembers coz he already took it dwn on his diary

hope u like him as ur JP

bee26

thks for your replies...i have also booked Prof Yu for my rom ....i actually went down to nus to look for him to sign the consent form and had a short chat with him,he's quite nice,thinks he records down on his diary as jenzhuzhu mentioned...hope he can make it a touching event,hee

christine

i have also booked Prof Yu for my rom next sun... have not met him in person coz he asked me to fax consent form instead. but he sounds like a nice man over the phone, very patient even though i had lots of silly questions to ask. I hope everything will turn out just fine at the rom... :>

shan_shan

Hi jennife ng,

thanx for ur reassurance...im so glad to hv chosen him for my JP...

yah, i tink he reali keep a gd record of the dates....in fact i was vvv impressed....i rmb i call him sometime in feb cuz i v kiasu scared i wun b able to find a jp later....then he say its stil early n he cant cfm then, but he wil mark down in his diary n ask me to call again to check on his schedule 3 mths before my AD...so i oni call him again in early aug (which is less than 3 mths in advance) n he said dat he has actuali been waitg for my call...cuz somebody call him to be their JP but since he has oredi agree to be mine, he hvnt give his word to dat couple...im so impressed manz...n he rmb my name immediately when i told him my name...he is reali v responsible from this little incident lor..hehe, long story hor...reali looking fwd to him solemnizing for my big day..

realspicy

hi lingandyang, yes.prof yu can solemnize in both lang. he use 2 language during my solemnization in sept 06. he is a very nice jp. you will not regret if you choose him as yr jp.

me2

Hi Shan shan,for my ROM I personally find that Prof was not very friendly leh.. he was very on time (5 mins early) and never take time to talk to me or by hubby. After the solemnisation, he just told us he's leaving while we were taking photos.(didn't stay for food also even though we invited.)

Overall I would say he was there for 20 mins max.. seems to me he's in a hurry to leave and did not smile much too. We gave him $50 ang bao.(any amount abv $28 is ok. Is up to you.)

He can do the ceremony in Chinese if you ask.

shan_shan

hi doreen,

well, i guess d JPs r usually quite busy....they usually hv a number of solemnization lined up for the day....so they hv to leave immediately after one to rush for another one...i guess dats y he has to leave n not stay back for the food....like for mine, he oredi told me dat he has another solemnization to do immediately after mine....actuali for David Loh, he wil oso leave quite fast lor..so 20 mins is consider quite gd liao...

sun_lover

I'm also getting Prof Yu to be my JP. Can anyone advise whether he customises the vows or it's the normal standard one?

bee26

when is your rom?i tot customisation of vows is up to the couple,it doesnt matter who the JP is,as long as you let him know beforehand?why not u check with Prof Yu and see what he says?

missy_miao

Hi..I've approached Prof Yu to be my JP for ROM next year..but I can't find his particulars on the JP list uploaded on the ROM website..anybody know why is that so?

jsim15

Hi gals, any updates or reviews abt Prof Yu? Mi planning to invite him as my soleminizer..still can't decide to invite who lo but tink he is veri sweet as tat i email him in last oct(plannin rom july2007)..juz causally askin whether he be avaliable n he actually email mi ytd to ask mi whether my weddin plan is still on track cos i tink another couple is inviting him too

jasmine23

hi janice, i just had my solemin done by him on sat... i find him v approachable n helpful... u can mit him up n tok about it... he is a nice guy

jasmine23

hi janice n pink_piglet... can i sent u the picture after i get my photos from my PG which i m collecting it 1 wk later... thanks

pink_piglet

Hi Jaz,
Yup sure thanks a lot.
So did Professor Yu arrive on time?
wonder shld i get my guests to arrive 15mins or 30mins in advance?

pink_piglet

Hi jennifer,
i can't access the website too...

thanks Jaz. think i will ask my guests to arrive earlier too,so can start on time

jenzhuzhu

Hi Janice n Pink_piglet

I guess u need to have macromedia programme in order to view the link

Will try to upload the pictures here so that u gals kws hw Prof Yu looks like

skywu

my ROM solemnisar will be Prof Yu... hopes tat everything will run smoothly tat day.

He hv another ROM half an hr ahead of mine, so hope tat he can reach mine side on time

tssr

Just to check, is Prof Yu still a solemniser? I could not find his contact listed in the ROM list.

skywu

jsim15, my will be 9 June, sat. hw abt urs?

Tssr, yes, he is still a solemniser. tink his details are under the Grassroot club. nvm u can contact him at 97366131 or email at [email protected]

tssr

Hi Sky,

Thanks for the info.

Is he good? Saw a number of comments in the forum, but just to confirm.. haha.. before doing the invite. Why did you choose him?

jsim15

Hi Sky , mine will 20 july..u mit up wif him liao? I'm still waiting to efile leh...but invited him liao

skywu

Hi tssr

for me, intially i wan to invite Mr Chan, but he is fully book tat day, so i juz read thr this thread n the comments are quite positive so i pick him... heee :p

hi jsim

i haven meet him, but i dun tink i will be meeting him till tat day. coz the consent form he alreadi sign liao. maybe when the date is nearer then i will ask him if there's a need to meet a not

hope tat his gd