Jurong West Ave 3

puffykel

Today to the shengshiong near our house for lunch. Wah piang, the plane is louder than i tot. I been stayin at jurong for past 25 yrs and tot i can get used to the noise. but the noise from the plane at our house is super super super loud! sounds like they flew super low or wat... Angel, wont yr baby cry for u? My niece living in old JW always run to us or cry while sleepin when there's such plane noise and imagine Ave 3 is 3times louder....

vividz

ya, agreed that the plane at our hse super loud somtimes. lately should have more cos i heard from news they got training around. yesterday i was at hm, dun know who on the sound system so loud, it's like loudspeaker, so noisy, nothing we can do also.sigh...

angel_77

Yaloh, i live in jurong since birth, i oso thought that i was used to it, but aft i hear the noise cos by the plane at the food junction, i oso find that the noise is beri beri loud, cos the base is near our here mah, they are landing dwn to the base that y, it sound that they are flyinh low. I havent move in leh, so duno hw will my bb react. When i n bb at the food junction tat time when the plane fly over, my bb not scare leh, he just see the plane fly over every 2-3min that time, duno will he cry for me during his slp slp when the plane fly over...

entiragult

the runway is abt only 2km from our place and we r in line with the runway..seen it on google earth, so we will have a good view of the belly of the airplane....hehehe...just trying to see some positive point and forgetting the sound...

got quote from U-home- expensive;
Got quote from Lesense, okay for us but havent met them

So, we shortlisted
1.) Lesense-depends on our meeting
2.) Ideal home-if he can give a detailed quote as the package seems not clear in the costs
3.) A&D-carpentry seems a little bit more than others
4.) CH Koh-if he can reduce the flooring cost a little bit

If someone has the money, u can try U-home....

Promax, MaxsImage, Huge Stone Construction are now out of our list as we feel our frequency doesn't match....we will select one of the 4 i mentioned....We contacted Design N Do, Gracious in IMM and Ho Bee and they didnt bother to contact us back.....

Thats a total of 11 IDs we contacted ;p

vividz

oh quite a lot ID I nvr heard of. my friend recommend Inzen (the one at jurong east) to me, she said the quotation quite ok but I got ID ald so nvr take discuss with them, u might want to try. her EA hse renovation is cheaper than mine by a few thousand. I feel so hard pain after hearing that but no choice ald started so can't change.

puffykel

Haiz. Iris, tis kinda loudspeaker noise hor, cant really do anything unless it's over 11pm. Angel, if ur baby nt scared of such noise, that'll be great for you. It pains me to see little ones scared or cry. Eh from what I know is A&D has their own carpentry and they do good works.

angel_77

I think my bb not scare of the plane sound, im just afraid he might wake up by the loud noise, n start crying when takng his nap. Hope he will get use to the loubspeaker noise ba... I myself need to get use to it too.

Over 11pm? Plane still fly at this hour? am or pm?

vividz

ya, can't do anything, just feel like calling the police but not yet 11pm. Angel, kel saying that kinda of loudspeaker is the sound systems from my block. always have one, like ktv session at hm, movie session at hm and even carpark also have. tat day got an ah beng washing car, he on his sound system for movie one, so loud. sigh.

angel_77

oh... sorry, i get it wrong. Actually cant do anything to it, but once 10.30pm still noisey can call police liao, no need 11pm. I can understand ur feeling, the place i m living at now, behind is carpark, whenever got car or motorcycle drive pass, they modify their car till boom boom boom beri beri loud, i oreadi cant take it, especially at night n even midnite... feel like throwing waterbag to them, hahaha... joking

angel_77

hi iris,

Regarding the contact for the curtain, shall we have to go dwn to meet the person, or meet her at my hse for measurement be4 we go dwn to the shop?

vividz

i went down and had a look first. After I confirmed they will ask someone to come down for actual measurement. u can just bring ur floor plan u can estimate from there, quite close.

olengjuz

However, for my case, the salesperson just come directly to my house to see their samples. Dun have to confirm on the spot too. Once decided then confirmed by placing a small deposit. Of course, the sales person will take the measurements before writing down the order.

Hubby had seen 3 curtain makers and all of them brought their stuffs for his viewing eh. Then again, if choose to go to their shop might explore more options in curtain designs/materials.

angel_77

hi iris, sk,

Thank for ur reply... i Have selected my curtains liao, ia man happen to pass by my hse n ask whether i need curtain. He is from factory side, so the price is slightly cheaper than shop, so i engaged his service liao. =)
By the way yesterday i fix up my plasma tv, i discover my scv/ tv point is faulty, not just the living room 1, all bedroom's scv/ tv point all cannot be use leh, blur vision. I wonder who shd i get help from? HDB? but it is over the 7day period to check defect, n i dun think anyone will bring their tv to new hse just to check scv / tv's defect. Some friend say i shd go to look for scv, that mean i need to pay leh. What to do now? I didnt know where to get help fr... Anyone got this prob,can advice me.

vividz

Hi Angel, I got this prob too. My hubby called the HDB to arrange someone to come and check, they will connect for u, they nvr charge us on this.

olengjuz

Yup, should go to HDB to settle this problem. THat's what I did too. Not our fault to discover this problem late so HDB will rectify it.

BTW, I am doing wallpaper for my dining area and happened to know that both sales person for doing the curtain and wallpaper are colleagues. They also do walk-in sales to my unit (near Pioneer Mall). Also from direct factory sales.

pandas

Hi all, I am new in this forum and would like to ask a rather stupid question. Hope u guys don't mind. Here goes:

I just applied for the Oct 07 Sector A BE, eyeing the EA at JW Ave 3. When I say just, I mean 2 days ago. Hence our queue number is.. 6000+++.. -.-" Being quite new at this process, I don't know what will be next? So will we be notified if they run out of apts? Or will it be no news at all?

Looking at the available flats left, we figured that we have a slim chance, but would like to try anyway. Anyway, nice knowing all of you.

vividz

welcome in this forum, pandas.

for the new procedure, I'm not so sure. I think they will give u an appointment date & time to select your new flat. you can go into the HDB website to check if the apts u want still available a not, they will update daily.

hope u can get the flat soon.

pandas

Hi vividz, thanks for the welcome. Been checking the availability of the flats quite often. quite demoralising to see the numbers go lower and lower.. hahahaha..

unless a miracle happens, i dun think we will be able to get the flat here this time bah.

vividz

dun worry too much, 6000+++ might be the queue from tat time till now, so now the queue might be quite near.

angel_77

i been missing for quite a while, cos these days bz dealing with hollow tile of my hse, ask the contractor to amend some tiles, but end up still got 3tiles hollow, going to ask thenm back to do again... Haiz... think have to postpone the date to move in again n again...

pandas

Hi Angel,

I still think its highly unlikely lah.. currently only 7 units left. we aiming 4th storey and above nia, but even so, i dun think we will be able to get it.
But thanks for the encouragement tho.

oh and in case anybody looking for a interior designer, here is my friend's blog. I'm going to entrust my future flat, wherever that might be to him. There are some pics inside, so those interested can take a look bah.

http://loydpek.blogspot.com

angel_77

Dun worry, even if left with 7 unit, some applicant will give up their unit halfway, eg they fail in the HLE application, or cant get loan fr bank or whatever. My unit oso last min take 1, even the sale have finish, some1 give up n i just quickly select it. If u have been rading our thread, u will know, sometime it show that all unit sold out bacos people have booked it, but aft a awhile, it release out some more, a few lah, cos they failed in their loaning or what, then HDB take out for sale again.

v4l3n

Damn!! This few days the nearby army camp is very noisy! Plane fly pass early in the morning and late at night, loud sound like war. Argh!

Can we report police??

entiragult

i wouldnt need an alarm to wake up every morning to go to office
in my current house, i wake up with the newspaper boys footsteps....now i will jump out of bed !!

our blocks are all sold out ....jus checked hdb website....

angel_77

Hi sharon,

Think we cant do anything at all, but to get use to it lor... =( Maybe can gather others to sign on a letter stating the above problem n send it to town council hor. If there is large amount of complain, they will take action.

vividz

I'm being staying over there for a few days last week. my area quite noisy. i think some ppl there just can't be more considerate. Always like tat make loud noise. one night, I heard some drums and singing sound, think they doing some praying or wat, quite loud. I got no choice, but to close all my windows. Nothing much can be done, cos it's before 11pm. =(

angel_77

Thinking of buying a chest of drawer to put my baby clothes. Any place in jurong area selling cheap n gd furniture to recommend? Best for those neighbourhood shop, shopping center is expensive, dun1 waste so much $ on bb stuff as they outgrow beri fast.

I used to buy those plastic chest of drawer (those 5 tier drawer at IMM), but bb getting bigger, clothes is getting more, that 1 too small cant put too much thing liao.

olengjuz

Angel, have you try the furniture shops at Jur West Blk 400+? Think there's another one at Blk 500+, I always passby them whenever I take 187 heading to Jur East.

angel_77

thanks Sk, will try on that area...

Finally renovation finish,i have moved in 2day liao... Feel so nice having a house of our own. Everything is in, next is to plan a day for house warming, SK, do u have any nice buffet catering to reccommend me too?

olengjuz

I will be having my housewarming end of this month, near to Xmas and Hari Raya period. Cos it's festive period, many caterers have increased their menu price/pax abit or delivery charge. I am having FoodTalks for relatives and YLS for friends. Both caterers serves nice decacies. You might want to consider having Rasel Food Fusion if you have Malay friends. Their mutton rendang is superly good! Have Foodtalks and Rasel for my conpan functions lately. Above 2 caterers *FT & YLS) dun think are Halal certified. Rasel does. HTHs.

angel_77

After so much restless night, bz with my DIY design house, finally it is ready... Just wana share my Simple DIY house...
Tv console w/ black tinted mirror, floral design on center piece
582275.jpg

Shoe cabinate w/ seatee
582276.jpg

Living room
582277.jpg

Long Kitchen
582278.jpg
582279.jpg

My Fav dinning light
582280.jpg

puffykel

Wah angel, Your house looks nice. How much u bought this lighting? Hmm.. may i know where is the washroom located in the kitchen?

witch

Great to see this thread being so active
Hubby and I have sort of move in to our new flat in Blk 274A... we hope to see more new neighbours and new facilities so that the area is not so gloomy.

Did most if you got your flats thru walk-in selections, ballots or resale? We got ours as resale.

Has anyone tried to walk to the nearest MRT station from ave 3? If yes, how long does it take?

angel_77

hi Kel,
Thank for ur praise. I didnt go thru any ID for the whole renovation, i DIY myside n eventually lucky it turn out quite ok loh. Heehee... i brought this dinning light only $380, becos it is last piece, display set, tat y cheaper, usual price $688. My sofa oso display set, $999 only, UP $1700++. Renovation spend alot of $ liao, so abit stringy when buying furniture, hahaha....

The toilet is jus opp. the hood n hod loh... I think every hse in our location is the same ba....

Hi Ashley,
Welcome. Our nearby now got new pizza hut shop oso...It is at the sport center inside. For take away n delievery only. Hope there will be more shop opening at the sport center too. I get my hse thru WIS. Walking to MRT quite far leh.... Wont try that, hehehe

angel_77

Hi Arizona,

I get my sofa from NOVA at the Boon lay way there loh.

Hi Ashley,
The sport center is opp the coffee shop/ School loh... i think there got indoor soccer field. The pizza hut is there oso.

puffykel

Hey hey Angel,

Wow u mean u didnt have designer? I tink u mentioned that previously but I forgot. WOw. Your feature wall looks designer leh.

Your sofa is a good buy. Is it half leather r full? Hmm... I also like a dining table from Nova. Read from the thread here that their service not good... How u rate their service?
Yup I notice a sports center too.
Eh Aunty a Bit AH... I juz went to the void deck coffeeshop to eat economy rice(not very delicious) yesterday... hmmm... the coffee shop looks like it needs a renovaion... keke. I bought a Good Morning towel at a corner shop yesterday at 3 for $2. Juz now went Sheng Siong, same towel... selling 12 for $3. Wah. I will buy things from Sheng Siong in future if not urgent.

angel_77

Hi kel,

I went thru renotalk forum, magazine, website to look for idea loh. Copy here n there, change here n there, then ask the contractor to do loh. The tv console design idea is from chew design, i copy abit, change here n there loh. Nova;'s furniture quite expensive... i buy onli becos cheap as it is display set. Service not bad lah, i was serve by robin, he did ask me dun buy certain thing from nova n get it from else where which is cheaper, quite honest loh. i agree that the coffeshop food not beri nice...

vividz

I bought my mattress and dining table from Nova Boon Lay Way too, cos my friend working there so I can get discount. I bought my sofa from White Collection cos Nova dun have wat we like. I nvr been to the coffeeashop there for dinner, so not sure abt the food.

my neighbour always told us void deck coffeeshop food not nice, sheng siong there better but I tried sheng siong food centre, the food also so so onli, not really delicious also. I think the void deck coffeeshop food quite expensive also, the fried hokkien mee $3.50, same as Sheng Siong Food Centre price, the normal mee also not cheap, maybe cos 24hrs coffeeshop bah.

Angel and Kel, have u move in to ur new flat? mine still chalet, hopefully can move in before chinese new year, hee hee.

witch

I agree that the coffeshop (Kenny Cafe) is quite old and dirty and the food there is not nice at all. Sheng Siong side is a bit better, at least there are more variety to choose from.

BTW, do you guys find that our area is quite humid? Moulds and fungus are formed very easily in my house...so gross! And we haven't even move in totally yet. Now the house is like our chalet too...will move in officially after our wedding this month.

vividz

I find that my hse got sometimes got some smell, I guess it's cos of our wiw near the washroom. so far haven't find moulds or fungus yet, saw lot of ants and some lizard. some of my neighbour threw coffee powder packet from upstair, drop till our window and the place where we dry our clothes, so angry, feel like complaining to town council, cos it's not the first time ppl throw things down liao. the other time, it's a container, then after raining, the water all inside the container, we worried got mosquito so we clear it. I heard some foreign workers talking very loud from upstair, guess must be them.