Jurong West Ave 3

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">ya, our kitchen entrance very big, tat's y I nvr do door. I did horizontal panel, I did 4 panels (1 empty) with 3 tracks. so I can keep all 3 panel to one side (near the washroom), if I need then I pull out the panel. But those panel will fly around with ur hse very windly. For me, I onli pull out when I cooked so it's ok. ya, going to be quite funny like tat, but I also dun know wat to do. My friend who is living in blk 275C, just left it open, so I'm not sure wat can be done. Let's see wat Kel did?</font>

puffykel

Heh, I also havent decided whether to do or not.
But one of the designers I talked to actually plan to do a feature wall so the big glass door can be slide in. The feature wall also can double up as a display cabinet. Quoted me 2380 for feature wall and 1500 for glass door. I dun tink I have the budget wor. Most prob not doing any.

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">feature wall quite expensive especially the area quite big. everything that's look nice need to pay more.

angel_77

wow... tat expensive. Today i went up to my new hse, they are fixing the false ceiling liao... wow, tat's fast. So happy. Now are headache on the painting part, duno which colour is nice. Thought of using brown on 1 side of wall in living rm as feature wall with beam lighting shine on it, but my furniture are already brown, duno will be boring anot. brown is a safe colour, not bad my furniture mostly are walnut colour. Dun dare to use bold colour leh, scare turn out like malay hse like tat. But i been thinking on dark purple as feature wall, then curtain do those transparent purple oso. Think only lah, hehe...

Any recommedation for colour for living room feature wall(the big wall jus outside kitchen)?

v4l3n

Hi Angel,

From what I read, your reno nearly same like mine but I did not install feature wall. Below is how will it look.
542950.jpg
542951.jpg

(Don't laugh at my curtain. That is not I wanted. m-i-l insist to hang it up. =(

v4l3n

Hi Angel,

Yes, with balcony. I din't take much photo on the whole house. Only forus the living room. =D

v4l3n

Hi Angel,

Thats the store room hiding behind the mirror =D. Here is another pic. Beside the mirror is the kitchen
543604.jpg
543605.jpg

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">wow, Sharon,ur hse looked nice. simple design like that can let the whole hse look so diff from others. how much u spend on ur renovation?</font>

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">oh, abt the same as mine but i tink u got more carpetary works. quite worth.

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">Oh, EA flat, no wonder the floor plan look abit diff. Sigh, really so disappointed with my contractor, quote my renov so high.</font>

v4l3n

It really depends on luck for reno cost. Some may get cheap quote with good quality, some may get cheap quote with poor quality. Some may get exp quote with good quality, some may get exp quote with poor quality. Don't be disappointed... Look at the bright side.

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">ya, but mine is exp quote with poor quality and workmanship. no choice la, ald finished so close one eye lor cos they kept on saying it's like tat 1. talk to them till vomit blood. lucky over liao, now preparing for hse warming.

angel_77

Hi everybody,

wea r u all? thread seem to be quiet nowsaday. Today i went up n saw the painting result, not bad loh, i painted middle grey on 1 of the living room's feature wall, look not bad loh, i didnt choose very dark colour cos mostly my furniture is dark brown. Too bad forget to take pic... nxt time go up will remember to do so. Now i been searching for picture to put on my living room feature wall. Anyone have any recommdation?

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Angel, middle grey looks nice. wat kind of picture u looking into? as in paint on to make it ur featured wall? need to match with ur tv and tv console, we dun know how ur tv console look like abit difficult to recommend to u.</font>

angel_77

I din knw choosing a picture got so much to consider, eg matching with furniture or colour of wall. my grey not very dark grey 1, think it will be more nicer if slightly more darker. I oso duno wat picture im looking for, just went round see which one nice then buy loh. My furniture mostly in walnut / brown colour.

Blk274c is having EA flat for sale again, saw the showflat at hdb website, beri nice wor... Blk 600++ EA oso on sale, that location shd be more more expensive liao.

angel_77

Went to new hse just now n taken some pic. Can give any suggestion on what kind of picture to put on my living room &amp; MBR's feature wall after view the colour of my paint?

Living Room in creamy white
548301.jpg

Living room's feature wall in grey which i wanted to put some painting/ art pierce/ picture.
548302.jpg

MBR's feature wall
548303.jpg
548304.jpg
548305.jpg

Actually did saw some art pierce in ikea quite nice, but i dun feel like buying becos if in future friend come, sure will say, "oh i knw this is fr ikea" It seem very common oreadi... U knw wea to get nice nice art pierce, cheap n nice?

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">ur master bedroom also have false ceiling and ur lighting effect is for ur master bedroom not ur living room? u doing wiw or normal one?

ya, some ikea art piece quite nice. I also feel that the living room's featured wall very plain that's why I put 2 art piece and 1 clock set. At first, we wanted to put mirror but very troublesome so we put tat. u got see feng shui one? cos sometimes some painting not suitable to be there, if u dun mind then it's ok. there's the dining area, rite? might consider some food designs. =P</font>

angel_77

My MBR n living room oso have the lighting effect, but the man havent fix the florescent light at the living rrom leh, duno y. There will be 1 long beam lighting effect on the feature wall at living room too. I doing the normal wardrode at the corner beside the toilet.

I dun see feng shui 1, as long it suit my hse n look comfortable, it ok. Im dun intend to put any art piece at dinning area cos i oreadi got a mirror there, no place to put, hehehe... But will get a mini 1 to put at my shoe cabinate there.

Iris, wea did u get ur art piece fr? Care to share with me? I remember there is a thread on on-line painting n wall clock, the thread got many address to get art piece, but the thread suddenly missing leh, duno y too.

I hope to get someting simple, something like the above "springtime woodland EA"'s art piece, look very clean, soothing n simple

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">I got my art piece from City Square (Johore). There's a shop next to Popular bookshop selling clocks and other stuffs. I think Sg Molecule also have but the price quite expensive.

ya, simple is nice, can consider, most impt u like.

angel_77

izzit cheaper to get art piece fr JB? Im thinking of getting my curtain fr JB too?

Hw's ur preparation for ur house warming?

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">it's not really very cheap, it's abit cheaper onli. I bought my dining area art piece for RM$200 plus.

I just had my hse warming last sunday. Quite busy entertaining my friends and relative. The food quite alright, as usual balance lot of food. My air con got some prob, I saw condensation on my air con trunking &amp; the water drip down to my laminated flooring so sad. Need to call my ID to arrange air con contractor to check. </font>

entiragult

me new here. Booked EA in Blk 274C and appt is next week.

Meanwhile, i go see Designer....

Can you please suggest which of thse are good.....or any other people....

1.) A&amp;D- I dont like but hubby like as it is within our budget
2.) Promax-expensive for us, may drop them
3.) Ideal-Design-House-: comfortable but may be over budget again
4.) Max's Image- i like, but hubby doesnt like, they keep saying others will cheat you and claim that they are genuine
5.) U-home: waiting for quote
6.) C H Koh: Within budget, quote by email but havent met them yet.

angel_77

hi entira gult,

U booked 274c? it is just beside my block 276c only, saw the whole block not occupy for many year, hopefully it will be more occupy aft the sale by hdb. not bad over there loh, dwnstair is coffee shop liao. it is quite windy as there is a gap there in between block which strong wind blow fr there.

there is still 2 unit in 276C, whoever buy #09-29 is a good choice, hehehe cos im just live upstair only, wind very big at living room n bedrooms in afternoon, at night i duno, still havent move in. i notice flat here are getting higher, i onli buy at $173K on sep, but now #09-29 already $204K, wow... increase qutie alot hor... my neighbour buy her hse @$150k 2yrs ago.

Regarding designer, i din do much research, so cant give comment

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">hi entira gult, I nvr deal with those designer yet. But if u come across this design shop which is superbrand and start with image and end with creative, dun go. their quote is expensive and workmanship not so gd. my designer is Raymond, tat's of cos it's my ID, sigh.

ya lor, I also take a look, increased so much ald. luckily I buy early, $170K for 8th Floor. Angel, u lived so high no wonder so windy. My side not much windy cos I'm surround. I saw my floor also got a unit, Blk 273A #08-41, got balcony facing the police station and main road. Dun know y no one buy. Tat time I see all sold ald, dun know how come still got 3 units unsold.</font>

puffykel

eh... i wanted blk 273A but was told it is fully booked. so got 273B instead. Wow i tot i bought 157k for my 5th floor super cheap liao but angel your neighbour cheaper leh for such high floor. Is your blk EA or 5 rm? I have sign up with
A &amp; D last fri. Really can work within our budget plus our ID Rick is very patient with us. Who served you, entiragult?

angel_77

Actualli I live in the 10th floor 5rm flat, which cost $173K, my hubby oso happy that we get it early, cheaper. My neighbour get it cheap @ $150K is becos she brought it 2 yrs ago mah, not same as us. I oso wana buy 273 but being sold out in earli march. These are are remaining 1, example like couple booked it at 1st but give up in the end maybe becos of failure of HLE, or suddenly duno marry liao, or cant get loan fr hbd or bank. sold out in 273, so i buy 276C with little choice, but end up, actually it is a not bad location. 1. windy. 2.dwnstair is bus stop liao. 3.behind is coffee shop n carpark. 4.high floor loh. 5.without balcony, hse actually look much much bigger. Must thank god, hehe...

B4 we buy this hse, we already knw location for it is not very good, so the price for the flat here is cheap. I din expect price will shoot up so much, cos i have friend buy flat at 271 five yrs ago, she say, the price of her hse din went up much aft 5yrs. She say didnt went down already beri gd, so we knw flat there no value. but we still buy it because it cheap n we dun1 4rm flat, so small. we dun care whether it got value anot, live there for 10, 20 yrs dun move loh, haha... so happy the value for the flat there went up. Maybe becos there is sheng soing there...

Today went up see, they are starting to do carpetary work liao, so happy, think can move in earli Nov liao.

Iris, ur hse warming over liao, hw ur experience? My hubby dun1 hse warming leh, say scare too much people, wait will break this break that, drink spill here n there, esp ur carpet, will make hse full of scratches n dirty aft that, did u experience that? we still duno whether wan hse warming anot... =S

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">ya, nvr know the price goes up so high. my old hse here also got ppl selling back to HDB, the price was onli $186K for 121sqm, 10th floor, so cheap onli. I didn't choose Blk 276C cos we were thinking next time the empty area will have some development. my hse onli living room view not gd, cos facing the other neighbours. I lazy to walk far so brought the one near to the lift but not next to the dustbin.

wow, Angel so fast can move in ald? I still haven't pack my stuffs in. maybe nov then offical move in. my hse warming quite ok. one room for my relative &amp; family to play mahjong and other room for my husband's friends. the rest of my friends stay at living room. still alrite la, not tat dirty as we expect.

oh ya, I happened dropped my mahjong on my laminated flooring, quite loud. Dun know my neighbour will hear a not. I also happened to heard some sound from my neighbour upstair also.</font>

entiragult

thanks!.....Now, abt 50 out of 86 units in Blk 274C are sold, all in the top floors.......we were skeptical when we booked, but after we booked, so many people booked....we are happy now that we will see people by the time we move....

angel_77

Iris,

Haha, my laminated flooring oso done, n we did try to drop a $1 coin on it, beri loub loh, hahaha, neva mind lah, as long it cheap n nice can liao, cozy mah. =P

entira gult,
wow, 50unit sold, that good...

vividz

my uncle took a nap on my laminated flooring cos we didn't buy extra bed yet, haha. there's a showflat going on, my husband said he wants to go take a look.

angel_77

i oso wana go see hw they decorate the showflat, 1 at our place here 274c, another1 behind pioneer mall blk 626 near my present hse now, near near just walk over n see.

Haha... have any1 ever think of buying the showflat? Price higher of cos, but no need to take loan from bank or whoever for renovation loan. Best for those who doesnt have cash for renovation. Cos if take loan fr bank, interest super high, not worth it. but if buy shwflat, jus pay the price of the hse n reno cost together with hdb's low interest 2.6%

entiragult

i visited the show flat last week in 274C, #04-35 and also in 626, #04-xx; and also in Sembawang they are pretty good......we took a tape and we measured almost everything
to plan our house
u may think that we are crazy to visit so many showflats .....we have a budget constraint, so we are seeing as much as we can so that we can plan well within our budget.....

we visited ave 3 about 5-6 times b4 we booked to get a feel of the area, we wanted to be absolutely sure that we can live there, we even stayed there until 11pm one night to get a feel, it was scary,but we were confident that they will all be sold soon...and they are getting sold ..... and visited the place another 5-6 times after we booked

HDB was then doing some work in our unit and also the show flat at that time and we could take a look inside our house even b4 we got the keys .......

now that we met a few contractors, we are beginning to get a clearer perspective, we will settle for someone whom both me and hubby are comfortable with and also who is not very expensive.....we may have found that contractor; i will let u know once we decide may be in 10 days or 2 weeks........

angel_77

Im looking for curtain for my living room, n all bedrooms. Any recommendation fr any of u? I visit 1 curtain shop b4 at IMM when they r having promo, the uncle say if my sun is not hot and sunlight didnt shoot in in the living room, no need do night curtain, cos our window have the tinted shade, people oso cant really see thru. He say normally full height clear window then encourage to do D &amp; N curtain, normal window no need can save $, bedroom curtain must be thick, prevent people to see thru when slp slp. Is that true?
I think the man refer to this type of curtain ba
552063.jpg

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">I did day and nite curtain for living room cos it looks nicer. For bedrooms if u want to save money then do curtain, put curtain also can see thru unless u close it. tat picture u upload is onli suitable for living room, normally u go curtain shop, they will advise u. My curtain shop is from MGL, the price quite alright, but abit far, it's at Eminent Plaza. Many ppl go there. I actually asked another curtain shop to quote recommend by my contractor, the another curtain shop quoted us abt $500 more than MGL. If u need the contact can PM me.</font>

angel_77

hi iris,

Im so glad that u are here to give us some advice, share ur experience n comment even thought ur renovation have already ended. So thank u. I read the thread abt curtain too, they recommend MGL as the price, quite reasonable. Other than the price is cheap, hw abt the choice of design, material, pattern? Got alot anot? My mum just brought me a love clock, got flower flower inside, ohh, super orrh biang man... Haiz... dun dare to reject her, so tell her wil put in bedroom...(nobody see mah, hehe) yi4 fen1 xin1 yi4, just take it loh.

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Angel, glad to give some advice too. I understand how u all feel being new to renovation. MGL is recommended by my friend, I also went to read the forum comments. May is quite nice gal, they have some catalog of paint colour, so u can tell her wat colour is ur wall, she will try to match for u. As the material, she will ask u, u prefer dim out or black out type. Dim out is sunlight can still shine thru abit, so won't be so dark. Blackout will block the sunlight, more suitable for bedroom, especially so ur room will dark when u close the curtain, then won't disturb ur sleep. My master bedroom curtain, abit thin, May suggested to have another white colour cloth over, it will face out so won't see, also can help block some sunlight. The shop have a lot of type of material to choose, dun know. You onli need to decide u want all to be curtain type or some room u want to use roller bind or roman bind. Roman bind nice but not so gd to use and it's expensive. Roller bind will be noisy if u open halfway cos when wind blow, there's a knocking sound. It's simple and nice, so I used it for my study room and other bedroom.

ya, parents always will get very excited and start buying things for their children new hse. no choice la, need to display and let her see, if not she will not be happy.

oh ya, ur hse nearby got childcare centre, I scare of noisy, tat's y nvr take ur side. But I see got a few blocks ald painted, so envy. I think mine going to be the last one, sob sob.</font>

angel_77

ya ya... a few blocks oreadi painted, i oso waiting for my block to be paint. The flats oreadi many many year, can see the white wall grow black black kind of thing on the exterior wall.

The childcare is beside my block, not too noisy lah cos my dwnstair dun have playground leh, duno y. My mum hse which i am living now, the playground is just in-between the childcare block n my mum block, every afternoon can hear the children screaming n playing. But i get used to it liao. When ever i heard children playing downstair during their playground time, i bring my baby dwn to join in the fun, hehehe... My baby is well-known at playground =P my baby get use to go out often, alway throw temper to me asking mi bring him go gai gai.

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">my mum block is kindergarden, tat's y I dun like. every morning 7 plus, those kids will be at the playground playing and shouting. I used to work shift work so sometimes 1 2 catch some sleeps also can't. so now i'm scared ald. but actually our side also quite noisy with air plane flying. no choice la.

baby is like tat, they dun like to stay at hm, like to go out and play. I saw the childcare there have a playground, so next time u can bring ur baby there or can go to the park.

angel_77

One thing 100% no gd is what u say... AIR PLANE!!! ohh... Jalan bahar got lot of air plane fly across. Worst when it come during national day, lot of training, every 5min, plane fly across. Got 1 time i at sheng siong food court there eat in earli evening, every 2-3min, plane fly across. Wow... i wonder hw we able to cope with the noise when we move in.

Next time u sure saw a lady with a fat baby at playground almst everyday, n that's me! haha.. But a pity my hse dwnstair dun have playground, have to walk over to the childcare block.

Ur mum block is childcare, izzit blk813? This thread have come alive since we start posting here... hee... Anymore jurong west ave 3 owner there?

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">yup, my mum block is blk813 and my room is at the playground side, so quite noisy. my new hse dun have playground also but next block have, very near onli, from my kitchen can see. actually my area quite noisy, cos near carpark and main road, no choice la, got to get use to it. ur baby always go playground play then won't be fat ald, I think next time I see ur baby, very fit ald.

talking abt the Air Plane, this morning quite a lot flying across, quite loud. I was at my new hse waiting for my air-con contractor to come repair my air-con. from 9.30am wait till 12pm then come, super angry, my husband still can be quite calm. sigh, guys always like tat, everything ok. </font>

angel_77

Cos our place here quite near to the air plane base mah, bobiam must get use to it loh. Nxt time airplane fly over, i ask my son count 1. 2, 3 loh hahahha. By the way my bb alr fat n fit now. =D

My mum live 10th floor, behind is carpark, alway hear lot of noise, boom boom from motorcycle, lorry, etc... Alway wake my BB up too.

Guy is alway like that, they very relax 1. My husband oso like that. And becos they are like that, it make us lady look like we are beri fussy, nagging.I used to scold him, "pls do the right thing at the right time" meaning when it time to get angry, do so. When it time to complain, do so... But 1 thing good lah, when i scold him, say him, he oso beri relax, neva answer me back, or talk back to me hahahahahahah.... He say he gd man dun wana quarrel.

vividz

<font color="aa00aa">gd la, at least ur baby won't be scared of tat noise. my husband also gd man seldom quarrel unless i make a big fuss on small small things, hee hee.</font>