JP - Koh Kok Weng

ccatjs

I wish you all the luck .. he is not someone I can trust him. Yes I must agreed he is friendly 2 weeks b4 my ROM I called him and reminded him but he actually forgotten about our solemnisation and told me he had to attend a class in SIA buidling. (Apparently he was supposed to give them a lecture) anyway he told me since mine was a beach wedding and is not a tradition kind of wedding is ok he will try to make it by 530pm. If not just let my guests wait there on the beach as my guests are able to enjoy the scenery etc... I got very upset and changed my JP and I was very lucky that I managed to get MRs Chia Swee Tin to do that for us.. Thumbs up for her instead.

So think twice lor....

twinky83

Ccatjs,

Like tt u haf to change th JP details that u haf register earlier on when u book the date online??

Wil there be any other additional charges? Or special procedure?

stjt

i am getting Mr Koh for my wedding will like to know how is he? does he also do in chinese?

truefaith

I had Mr Koh for my solemnisation in July last year. Well, he was friendly and obliging throughout, and fortunately, he turned up as scheduled.

He went thru the ceremony like clockwork. I wouldn't have minded if he'd provided some jabs of humour every now and then.

He did offer to solemnise in chinese so I guess he should be proficient in that language.

No major problems for me. Congrats on your impending solemnisation!

summerbride

is it true that ROM doesn't accept faxed consent form from solemniser?

i spoke to Mr Koh and asked him if i could fax him the form so that i can e-file now but he said it's not accepted. he says i need to see him in person to let him sign. is that the case with all of you who use Mr Koh?

as i am overseas now, i really want to organise as much of this as possible before i return becos i don't want a mad rush.

jsim15

i my FH scan d consent form & email to my solemniser..he sign & email back to us..i juz print out d signed form lo

moopo

I'm looking for JP now too, but i can't find this Mr Koh name in the list of JP from ROM website....any idea how to contact him? Appreciate ur help ladies...

princess_fifi

Help... i cant find a JP.
I called up Mr Chan, Mr Koh & even Prof Yu and three of them are fully booked on my day and the timing i need

Can anyone recommand me another other JP who is good, friendly and humorous?
I need someone biliguial (English & Chinese)

bugbunny

Hi, all,
Just one question. if the person agreed to be your JP. what should we do usually to reward him? a gift voucher, or sth else?
heard that the private room for ROM is not available from now on. i called the Solemnisation Service Centre and they ask for 400+ dollars if they choose a solemniser for me. So what should be do usually to reward him? roughly how much??Thanks!

brendalim

just got some problem with the Mr Chan. Apparently, he isnt as good as wat was remarked on him. He refuse to meet up . My solemnisation is on the 17 Nov 07, I booked him back in May/June period. He agreed and have signed the fax. Now he back out. I am looking for another Jp now. Very gan cheong, fear that i am not able to look for a good one. I dun want my solemnisation to be a dull one.

jonic

Anyone had Mr Kok to conduct ur solemnisation recently? Anymore feedback? Cos my initial JP last min can't make it for my solemnisation and got Mr Kok for me.

octo

I had mine with Mr Koh last May. Very nice person to work with. He prepared all the vows etc in cards. Before the solemnization, he will go through with us on whether we want it in English / Mandarin (although he had both sets of cards ready).

We had ours in the hotel, hence had to do it on the stage. Initially the hotel staff placed chairs with the couple facing the audience, being stage shy, I asked for the chairs to be turned around (solemnizer facing the audience and couple's back facing audience instead).

But when My Koh arrived, he advised that we faced the audience instead as its our big day. Hence, hubby asked the hotel to make the change.

I am so glad that we changed the seating arrangement as it turns out very nice on our photos and video.

Mr Koh did a great job conversing in Mandarin and English. Infact he sort-of took up the role of the MCs once he's on the stage, greeted our parents, guest etc.

I did heard from some couples that some solemnizers will want to meet the couples before signing the form. Either to ensure that the couple know what they are going to go into or to speak to them on some issues (abit like marriage preparation, sharing their marriage experience etc).

For us, my hubby went alone to ask Mr Koh to sign on the form as I cant make it. Hence, its my first time seeing him on my ROM day. He managed to calm us down, assuring us that everything is in order, going through all the steps before going on stage.

He left after our ceremony ended without the Ang Bao. End up my hubby had to chase after him to gave him the red packet.

fairywedding81

hi shir

can you tell me where your hubby meet up with mr koh?
I am having mine in June and need to meet up with mr koh to sign the form

octo

Hi Joanne,

I cant remember already since I didnt went with my hubby. If not wrong, I think my hubby mentioned is Jalan Besar CC or something. Need to arrange timing with him one. I think its better to ring Mr Koh and check with him when and where is more convenient to meet up.

janesis

i had mr kok for my ROM in dec and its great! as compared to mr chan i feel... he did something different than the normal vows.

he gave us the voxws in a heart shape, my hubby and mine is different. more like a poem or something. which we didn't expect it at all.

and mr kok is a very nice JP. you can feel the personal touch with him.

if anybody wants his pics, can let me know. cheers

janesis

Mr Koh is grassroot member from JALAN BESAR COMMUNITY CLUB. his number can be obtained through www.rom.gov.sg

but heres his contact anyways.
62925274(H)/ 68706285(O)/ 96301728(HP)

happi8080

we are very lucky to have Mr Kok as our JP.. he is a very nice JP . He will try his best to be on time.(sometime the previous couple may be delay)...and manage to reach early because our solemisation was on a hot date.. he prepare all the vow on the heart cards for us to read out... very special. we strongly recommend him...

goddesss

we met him up yesterday and he was v nice and friendly.. warm...
we chatted abit about wedding and stuff and he shared some of his experience.. den signed the consent form la.

OH he can speak chinese and english.
my vows will be in chinese, when i asked him do i need to prepare anything, he says no need he will do everything. oh he said he is Baba.. (peranakan).. so i m surprised he can speak chinese.. ^^

goddesss

i had mrKoh as my Jp during 12 12 08.
and yes he was v on time.. early by 5mins in fact, whole process was done very smoothly and he can speak both english and chinese v well.

i had my rom done in chinese...

but he seems to be in a rush. haha after everything (including the phototaking) he rushed off and my Hub had to 'run' after him to pass him the angbao.. haha

any brides considering/having him as ya JP.. dont worry, ur in good hands..

blizzie

hey danlee, why not give mr. koh a call? he sounds nice & i've confirmed him as my jp.
plus i think it's more personalize & polite to call than to email since jps are the vip.

i actually called mr. koh twice, once was few monthssss back before i even confirmed my banquet, second time few days back after confirming my banquet & he actually remembers me (i think he jots down my info. on his planner/notebook or what), so don't have to worry that he will forget abt yr solemnization date.

racingbaby

Hi anyone here hv koh kok weng as JP lately and is conducted in english? i called him today and he says he only do in chinese..but seems u guys here hv him in english issit?

pool_fan

I just confirmed him as my JP for my Jun'09 wedding. Sure he only does Chinese? His English seems all right over the phone... I would prefer an english ceremony as it seems a bit weird to say the vows in Chinese.. pin2 chiong2 yu3 fu4 gui4?

racingbaby

hi song yeow chung,
U are so funny..hehe..ya better confirm before u really need to say pin2 chiong2 yu3 fu4 gui4 in chinese..:p i also puzzled he is insisting to do in chinese more..i ask him can do in english, he say yr hubby is british issit? he do deaf and dumb also can understand..why yr hubby cannot understand chinese?hahaha..

blackrock

Mr Koh did the solemnisation for my wife and me. And i have to complement him on a very well job done, it was very memorable.

Unless you are malay or indian, or ang moh, i think least we all know how to listen, converse in basic chinese.

He did prepare a chinese version BUT Mr Koh read it all out himself, and the only answer i had to give was " I Do." in chinese.

And the best part was he specially provided us with a very mushy love poem (in english if you're wondering) and both of us had to read it to each other.

I feel that was very special and i will definitely remember that day for a very long time.

I dont think couples should get overly worried. ;)

kidnomore

wow, thanks justin. yr rom sounded really heart warming & special. i guess u're right, we shld all understand the language & able to converse in it.

i guess mr koh will prepare the poem for all couples w/o having to request for him to do it, right?