JP - Chan Kai Yau

gelaine

Hi trazz,

Yeah i supposed it should be me. I had mine at 12.30pm. Heh... he was great! Really no regrets engaging him at all. He had 8 couples on 18th March itself... so he dint stay for the lunch. But all my guests enjoyed the solemnization. We did ours in chinese coz both our parents are chinese speaking... and my friends commented it was pretty touching. More touching than the english one. So you can consider too!

applerain

I have orginally cfrmed David Loh but as hes retiring by jun,i called Mr Chan & hes still avaiable on my ad.Told me after I filed my rom date to call him again for the consent form,but he blocked my date already

crescent

i try to contact Mr Chan @ 6235 6143 but the number is always busy..

does anyone have other means to contact him?

jacrudo

Hi i also managed to get Mr Chan too... I booked him on 7 oct.. was so afraid that he will be veri busy cos yesterday newspaper also mentioned that 7 oct is an auspicious day. luckily he say he free on 10am in the morning...

bandtz

<font color="0077aa">Hooraaayyy~!!! I've managed to get Mr Chan! Actually i was supposed to engage Mr David Loh but because of his license expired, the lady from ROM managed to contact Mr Chan to replace him... he was actuali my other choice~ hehehe.. Im so overjoy~ Can any1 share wif me wats the procedure for Mr Loh.. many thanks!</font>

puroland

hi all, i just arrange for JP chan to be my JP for sept 2007.
Just a note, 62356143 is his home no.
His office (church) no is 62564298

pastillies

jus to check on something, after we have "book" Mr chan to be our JP, do we need to let him sign any consent form or anything?
cos all he said was he has noted it down &amp; will contact me 3 months prior to my ROM date to arrange a meet up to sign the form(wat form ah) &amp; guide us with the procedures....

gelaine

Hey pastillies,

Yeap... need to let him sign the acknowledgement and confirmation that he will be your JP then the form have to be submitted to ROM office when u go verify your docs.
You will also need his license number stated on the form to efile.
He will guide you along dun worry.

pastillies

hi gelaine,
yup i koe Mr chan will guide us along, but wat i meant was prior to even meetin him, do we need to let him sign any thing? or so?

see the timeline is: my rom date is only in dec , so i only need to meet Mr chan in sept. since some time back i;ve already confirm mr chan to be my JP, do i need him to sign any confirmation form etc..??

gelaine

Hi pastillies,

Nope you only need to sign the confirmation when meeting him. Mr Chan works differently from other JP who request for the forms to be faxed to them and so on.

So when meeting him, he will ask you to write your details fo solemnization on the form and he will sign it for u. Dun worry, once he say he is going to solemnize your ROM, he will block the slot for you and wun take in another couple. He would have noted the time/date down in his notebook.

hwee_pheng

hi all! i jus met up with mr chan on wed to collect the consent form... i think he's a very friendly man, and from looks of it, he is the kind who'll want to know more at the couple personally b4 even the ceremony!

spent some time talking to him about myself and fiance. very nice man! am so glad to have him for my upcoming ROM!

gelaine

Hey Hwee Pheng!

I totally agree. JP Chan is very nice and the effort he makes to meet every couple shows his sincerity lor. You definiely will have no regrets!

I went through my ROM with him in March and my guests totally enjoyed it. Though he looks serious, he does have a sense of humour amidst his seriousness. Heh...

And liek i mentioned, JP Chan is so family oriented. It does brings about good feeling to a lasting marriage too!

alya

hi! i am looking at confirming
a solemniser
is it too early to confirm for 07/07/ 07
i am afraid it's a hot date

zhuoen

wow, by reading thru these post. i think i must get hold of mr chan real fast!!! had been worrying who to engage for my rom in dec... cos we are holding it out of rom... this post reali helps! cheers

deannen

i ve booked Mr Chan for my ROM also...my frenz' rom this 27.05.2006 also using him.... heehe

my frenz met up with him liao...comments very good!! so conf no regrets!!

haywiregirl

Our JP was Mr. Chan. Well, frankly speaking, we were very disappointed. I don't think is right for me to say too much as well when I am the only one that not very happy with him here. Just hope all happy brides happy with your JP.

Fyi, he is very "infamous" among photographers, a least those we met said one common same thing about him. But to be fair, whoever wanna know can email me at [email protected] but if you think he is the right person, go ahead. Good Luck!

haywiregirl

I received many asking what actually happened on my ROM and I also received same neg feedback about him. TO BE FAIR, let's give a chance for those who "recommended" him, mind sharing what so good about him? Is very confusing to those bride-to-be who intend to enagage him, I really don't wanna any brides ended up like me.

dolphin48

Hi bendi, mind sharing why you were disappointed?
I had Mr Chan for my ROM and i think it went well. And I didn't hear any feedback from my photographer or at least my photographer says that he's quite popular for solemnization too.
I wouldn't say that he's the best. I would say that he's very experienced, punctual (that's most important), and he is able to loosen the anxieties that we have. So to pinpoint what's so good about him? I think he is just like any JP out there, doing their job.

assirac

My ROM with Mr Chan went quite well also leh ... I've attend 2 other ROMs before my own ... think the Mr. Chan is the Best JP amongst the 3 I've seen so far wor ....

haywiregirl

Can I know how was your ROM like? Did you all march in? Did you all get to discuss with him how you wanna do it, he is indeed punctual, until there is no time to discuss anything, I was discussing is it okay for me to march in, cos we wanted, he asked me to get chairs for fathers, which I did(yes the bride do it herself)and my hubby also quickily ran to the behind and get one. Before we could get ready, he spoke out loud to get my guests sitted and told the 2 of us to sit down as well, HELLO, I said We wanna march in, I thought we can take a min to discuss about it, the moment we sat down, he started !! My photographer also know the flow and he also got very shock, i still remember after a while, photographer was taking pics, he even asked him if he has taken enough cos he wanna start! At the end, we didn't get to march in, photographer missed some shot as he is real fast and guess what, my ring bearer was the pathetic one, we were suppose to march in and stand while we were saying "I do" thingy, ended up my back facing my guests, Mr.Chan took the ring pillow from my ring bearer and he was the one who took the ring out from the ribbon!! We were at Fairy Inc's the day before learning how to tie the ring onto the pillow and how to remove it, we have been practising and ended up, it was him that took it out and he even took the wrong one, both of us got the wrong one! can you imagine that! There is no smile in all the photos, there was even one taken whereby I was smiling at him, shooking hand and he is busying (facing down). I really don't know if this call professional or I am too picky? Why me? Our first time meeting with him was not a very pleasant one, but hubby said I too sensative and when I said he never smile, hubby said, I have my way to make him smile,obviously he failed.
For those who interested to know what happened during the first meeting.
He gave us the ideas that we are way too young to get married, why so early? even remind my husband if I am the one he is marrying, frankly speaking, I felt offended. We may look young but marriage is something BIG for us. We have thought about this and we really wanna go ahead with it. He is a really serious man and if you guys prefer a serious one can consider him.
Put yourself in my shoes and think again, i really very upset over my ROM thingy.
I am not here to talk bad about him, that's why I didn't wanna say all these out here. But if you all wanna know, here are the answers. I will still hope ALL YOUR ROM turn out to be good, like daphne and assirac, I also wanna said out loud that I am very happy with my rom but just too bad. I wanna share with you all this just to prepare, something good to you may not good to others. I will let the other to decide, of cause can engage him but just be prepared, if couples are like us, happy go lucky, always laugh, i will said both me and hubby are like those super young sweet couple. Mr. Chan is really not suitable to solemnize our ROM. just my 2 cents.

assirac

Hi Bendi,

I'm sorry to hear what happened to you ... your ROM sure sounded a little messy ... where did you have it?? how come you have to get chairs yourself one ....

I did not have a march in ... did not prepare for it either ... no song ... no emcee ... and we were at the table already ... guest were sitted ... a bit weird for us to exit and come in again lar :p

I think it's common practice for people for say I dos facing the JP instead of the guest ... cos he's the solemnizer mar ....

Exchanging of rings was done ourselves ... he did not help ... and the "you are marrying your wife, not me" i realise is a standard joke that Mr.Chan has for couples who faced him instead of each other when saying the vows.... i've seen him repeat it 3 times .... he did it for my ROM too ... i had a good luff .... dun think he had any ill-intentions ... ... also ...getting the couple to kiss longer and asking the PG if he has taken the "kiss" is also part of his standard script ...

assirac

Oh yah ... Mr Chan is certainly not an "all smiles" guy ... my PG focused his shots on us ... I only had about 2-3 shots of Mr. Chan ... Guess my PG chose to do that for obvious reasons ...

But i certainly won't say that he's unhappy or what lar .... some people just dun smile lor ... Mr Chan considered mild case already ...for me... the real "black face" came from my own relatives ... but they are just born like that ... of cos they are happy we are getting married .... they will not be there to witness it otherwise ... :p

mitzi

Oh no, I also planned a march-in before solemnizing
Does it mean that it'd be best to do before all the guests arrive? (Behind closed doors + close relatives/frens)

assirac

Mitzi, hmmm ... you planning a solemnization before your banquet huh ??? .... dun really get what you mean leh ....

I've been to 3 fren's ROM ... and witness 2 stranger's ROM (I happened to be eating at the same restaurent ... kekeke) ... so far, I've only seen one 1 march-in took place ..... My fren had 2 seating separate arrangements to cater for this... one side was 3 tables for lunching ... another side was rows of chairs + solemnization set up ... for the march in + solemnization ceremony ...

I guess it depends on your set up ... for me ... i was already mingling with guests near the solemnization table ... to exit and enter again was a bit comical and redundant lar ... :p kekeke

mitzi

Assirac, then when u have your solemnization leh?

Was planning to ask guests to come earlier, then close the door, then march in for solemnizing.. then dinner. Advisable?

assirac

Mine is over liaos lor ... this year march in Peony Jade restaurant ... my AD will be next year ...

Are you planning to have your solemnization "incorporated" into your dinner? or it would be a 1-2 hours before ....??? ever tot what would happen to those guests who are not greeted by anyone when you close the banquet doors? (presumbly... jie mei and xiong di will be at your ROM too mar ..)

Logistics and planning will be very very crucial if you hold it closer to the banquet timing ... so have to be careful lor

mitzi

Together at the dinner. I think probably can ask a few close friends to handle those guests who came late. The whole solemnization probably takes about 15mins or so.

How did u do your solemnization? 1-2hrs before dinner? Where? Dinner venue?

assirac

my rom is over .... banquet will be next year ...

so can't advice you much on having one together ... personally ... i prefer to have it on separate days ...

laurenboo

I am using Mr Chan for my ROM too. My bro used him in feb this year. Yah, Mr Chan is usually a serious looking man but we had a short chat when we met up before. HE is actually pretty chatty actually...

pastillies

i'm also using Mr Chan too for my ROM this coming december.Also intend to do a march in. Mine would be outdoor at a Gazebo, &amp; ther's a short pathway leading up to the Gazebo which is where I intend to do my march in at...shd be alrigth rite??

hots

I'm new here... Called Mr Chan jus now. Managed to booked him for my solemisation. Heng! One thing done. Yeah!!

assirac

Hi Pastillies . ... I think March-in suits a gazebo solemnization ...
.... would be good if you get a "coordinator" to speak with Mr Chan .... while the both of you wait at the back for your march-in... In case he jumps right into it again lor ... :p kekekeke

tare1919

I am an ex-brides of Mr Chan, personally i think he is very responsible person. When i 1st book him as my JP i was kind of worry he might forget my date but he did not. I pass him a vow that i edit myself during my cereony he actually read out the letter exactly as wat i gave him. My friend also find him ok.

BenDi,

For yr case maybe he is really buzy recently as Mr David is retiring soon, so he got to rush to so many place in a day. Maybe u got to understand him. Another thing u should do is to call and inform him before hand wat.

But anyway since it over try to plan a better march-in for yr AD better still right, don't brood over it anymore le.

lywong

Does any1 here have ROM on the AD itself and solemnize during the banquet? Mine will be a long march-in. Duno if Mr Chan will accept it since BenDi said he dun quite like couples to march-in during solemnization. Coz if he dun handle such request, guess I will need to find another JP.

gelaine

Hi Yan06...

I guess should not be a problem as logn as time allows. But do communicate with him about your arrangement beforehand to avoid any confusion or misunderstandings lor...
My friend had hers by JP Chan for ROM on AD itself and it was very memorable.

missywong

Hi People,

I just had my ceremony with Mr. Chan on 20 May 2006 at Shangri-la hotel.

Mr. Chan is very professional and fast, he doesn't waste time naying around making small talk.

He arrived on the dot at the time he specified, walked straight to check on the solemnisation table set up and went through the documents himself, then he asked if the bride was ready so he can start on time.

I went down 5 mins before the march in, and everything proceeded smoothly on time, on the dot...think he was pleased.

He is definitely not against a march-in, and his timing cue is very good, once you reach the table where he is standing, he starts a speech loud &amp; clear, he will also ask the guests if they all can hear him &amp; us clearly, if you mumble yr vows, he will ask you to repeat it.

He is very well versed with the whole procedure, he made my guests laugh, and even dispensed a very useful tip to married ladies regarding the Marriage Act.

He even helped the photographer get a good kiss shot.

No regrets asking Mr. Chan to be our JP.

If any of you expects a JP to join in the party and sashays around, then don't ask him please. He arrives on the dot &amp; leaves right after the ceremony.

But you can be assured of a very professional &amp; smooth ceremony.

I don't think it is possible to march in to the end table &amp; still be facing guests...that is a logistical issue which has to be discussed with the venue manager, whether it is possible or not. Anyway when you are saying your vows, you have to face each other &amp; your side view is towards your guests.

Honestly speaking, the guests won't be listening also, it is a special moment only for the couple, some people find it boring.

thesilentgal

Hi Gelaine,
My ROM is in a month's time and Mr Chan has not called mi up.. Did call him last month to inform that i have efiled and when he is free to meet up and he says he is still ample time yet.. If i call him again wait think the gal so kan cheong hahaha

gelaine

Hi thesilentgal,

Hmm... you mean you efiled without him signing the paper? Coz for us, we efiled after we got him to sign the acknowledgement. That's how we got his license number and all.

thesilentgal

Hi Gelaine,

He gave mih his license number the first time I call to invite him for the solemnisation. SO 3 mths befor e the ROM date I efiled

jarenlynn

Hi thesilentgal,

I think you can call Mr Chan 25 days before yr ROM day to sign the consent form.

I called to invite him on 25th Feb.
Efile on 20th Mar.
Fix appointment to meet him 22nd Mar.
Meet him on 29th Mar.
Call him on 14th June.
ROM day on 18th June.

I think if you are within the same time line as mine, you should be fine. = )

gelaine

Hi thesilentgal,

Since you efiled already, should be no problem.
Maybe JP Chan is busy so he change the schedule a little.
Basically when u efiled, he would receive notice frm ROM too. So he will know it too and dun worry, he will keep on mind the date. Meet up is just to let him tell u some marriage tips and to sign acknowledgement. Some JP dun even do that.
So dun have to worry lor. He should call you soon, if not, just give him a call maybe about a month before your date lor.
Also, call him about 3 days before your actual date to give him a gentle reminder.

cathccl

I jus had my solo on 26th May..my JP is Mr Chan Kai Yau..
when i first saw him, i was quite disappointed..(same for most of my frens who saw him when mr chan was at my solo)
but he is funny and he can speak in mandarin
even though he is old and he dun look like a person who can crack jokes, he really can break the ice and make the guests laugh..to loosen the tense atmosphere..
some ppl say he has white hair which represent bai tou xie lao..
is a gd choice to use Mr chan as compared to David..
at least mr chan make an effort to meet couples for signing up the JP agreement form..cos his intention is to have a chat with couples and get to know the couples well..
but David jus fax over his signature (even though ROM accept fax copy)
one bad thing abt mr chan is..he dun use hp..so u can only able to get him over his office number and he owas reach office ard 10am-11am..if not u can owas leave a msg for him, if he didnt get back to u, jus give him another call..he definetely return ur call..
If u wan to see how mr chan look like, jus give me ur email..i will send to you

i nv regret using mr chan and greatly thanks him for creating a memorable solo for me n my hubby and of cos my guests
and all my guests agreed that mr chan is gd..