JP - Chan Kai Yau

scrat_78

Hi dzxz,

Gee, thanks for d info..
But when you spoke to him back in Jun, did he confirm with you that he can be yr JP but ask u to remind him again in Aug?

dzxz

Hhi Esther....

Mr chan did not mention anything but he did jot down the date and time..he ask me to call him back for his license number in aug...So by hearing this, means he agree lo...ke ke

dzxz

ya I already call him in Aug and already met up with him to sign the consent form liao....hee before the 7th Month already register on line...yeah yeah...now waiting for the date nov to go to the ROM center to collect docs and then have to call Mr chan again to inform him all done.

sept_09_bride

yah.. rest assure.. Mr Chan is v responsible..

me also invited him to solemnise our marriage on 090909.. juz got my marriage cert and call him right after i got my cert.. guess wat, he tells me in a v assuring tone tat he rems and even reminds me to bring all the cert along..

dzxz > Yes, when u collect the documents at ROM centre, be prepared to read something like a statutory declaration .... i still remember i pause a few times because I DON'T KNOW HOW TO SPELL MANY WORDS, lol. Luckily, the lady there helped me.

happy_penguin

Hi dzxz / CH, May I know which part of wheelock place to meet Mr Chan? Received a call from him for meet up to sign consent form next week.. And beside the consent form, what else must I bring along?

dzxz

Happy Penguin, just bring the consent form will do....

Meet him at the wheelock place...at the back there is a fountain....if u enter into the bookstore(borders from the main door) then u walk stratght all the way and exit from the backdoor of the borders.

sept_09_bride

Juz has my solemnisation, solemnise by Mr Chan Kai Yau.. he's really v professional and a very nice and friendly man.. he's very puncture... he comes at 12:30pm sharp... he crack some light jokes to ease us dwn before he begin..

thumbs up for him..

goeie_more

Anyone know how long will the whole ROM ceremony last with Mr Chan as the JP? Booked him for Oct ROM. Does he leave immediately after the ceremony photo takings?

sept_09_bride

The whole thing last abt 15mins.. on my rom, he has 2 more solemnisation to do and in the same plc.. therefore, after snapping few shots with him.. he left to solemnise another couple..

relax.. and hv faith in Mr Chan.. he's a good solemnise.. Good choice to hv him as our Solemniser..

ernie80

just attended a ceremony yesterday whereby Mr Chan was the solemnizer. his voice has a very commanding tone... serious, but funny at the same time. i think i laughed a few times too.

sept_09_bride

wow.. ernie.. so u attended another rom again..haha.. :p

think those who solemnise by Mr Chan or attended his solemnisation.. will find tat he's good.. im solemnised by him.. he's v prof.. gota get him early..he's v hot fav..

edea_12

Hi hi...
I heard my friend who uses him actually says can only booked him exactly 3 months in advance and no earlier. Is it true??

Mine is in March. Havent find a JP yet.

dzxz

edea...u can call him early tell him the date first and the hotel...then later he will tell u to call him again exactly 3 months to reconfirm again...no worries he is very pro and responsible.

ernie80

hey CH!

yeah... this part of the year alot of ROMs, ADs, full-mth and baby's first birthdays... 2 days before this ROM, i attended one dinner. and i still have one in oct, 3 in nov, and another one in dec... lucky already set aside some savings for angpaos... :p

edea_12

Thanks dzxz!

I just got my htb to call him today. He say he will take note of my date and to call him again early next yr b4 registering with rom.
So happy! another thing off my mind.
After reading all the threads, I'm glad I found a good JP! I was clueless as to who get for my ROM until my ex-classmate recommended him. Hengz.....

sgprincess

Hello brides-to-be!

I understand the stress you gals are going thru trying to find a JP and track dates for eFiling and wondering what in the world to do first!

Here's my experience with JP Chan documented on my blog. I hope this would help put your hearts at ease.

http://bliss42.blogspot.com/

Love, sgprincess

LING > WHAT? Already have 10 couples on that day??? Unbelieveable!

Edea > U can be assured by me …. He is the best JP in town now. I love him!!!

Christine D > Thanks for your blog, it definitely help those who want to ROM a lot. Somehow your blog brings back a lot of my fond memories. Cheers x 3 to your wonderful blog, the tips is very useful too.
I also believe, “what goes around comes around†… sgbride helped u, u in turn help other brides. Thank you on behalf of all the forum members, u are so kind.

ferlyworm

All > just manage book JP Chan as my JP. He told me the whole solemnisation only take 10mins. Is it really so short? Will he stay to take a few shots with us?

Felecia > Congrats on booking Mr Chan successfully!
The solemnisation conducted by Mr Chan is short, sweet and definitely memorable. He will stay and take few shots only ... afterwhich, remember to pass him the "red packet" before he went for the exit.

Every single cent is worth it, trust me.

germian

Hi all, my ROM is on 5th Dec.. But Mr Chan hasn't contact us to sign the consent form. Usually when will he get us to meet him?

germian

Garfield > Heng ah.. Mr Chan called us last Fri and we met up with him yest to sign the consent form. We thought he had forgotten about us.. so worried sia.. luckily he called just 2 weeks before our solemnisation. =)

Queen > Pls don't be shy to call Mr. Chan and booked now ... otherwise good dates are being booked fast.
U can call now as i remember i call him around 5 months in advance and he also mention it is so early to call. But nevertheless, he still let me booked him.
Congrats Queen!

jiening

Thanks Garfield!
i've successfully booked him!!! so lucky! :D
called him exactly 3 mths before, luckily he's still available on that day. :D

dimsummeimei

Garfield : OMG!! realie?? becoz i see from threads that we are suppose to call the JP when it is 3 mths before your ROM date..

If that is the case any ideal what is a gd time to call him?

Jiening > Whahahahahah ... i am so happy for u. I still played a small little portion of my ROM video during my AD yesterday of Mr Chan and it still bring back sweet memories.

Queen Yeah man, no need to feel pai seh or kiasu ... rather than not getting the best JP in town.

dimsummeimei

@ Garfield you just had your AD yesterday? Where did you held it? Is it necessary to have a videography (professional kind)?

@ Ev3 Mr Chan is bilingual

germian

Hi all, we had our solemnization last sat! Our JP was Mr Chan Kai Yau. We informed him to come at 1010am cos our ceremony will start at 1020am sharp, with some special arrangements prior to the ceremony.

We were ready and stood-by at 10am. To our dismay, he only arrived at 1020am... We could not start the pre-ceremony buildup (i.e. Emcee to start talking and stuff as the timing will all be jumble up).

When he arrived, he told us our ceremony was at 1030am right? (He was reminded that very week, during the signing of consent form, that it would be at 1020am and we needed him there by 1010am. Worse thing was he had no hp!!)

That's not the worse, we prepared a $40 ang bao for him. Upon opening it after the ceremony, he came back to ask for more. We were not informed cos he went to one of the guests. How embarrassing and can't imagine him doing that!

JP should be a volunteering work and he actually asked for $60 more, amounting to $100, when ROM adviced us to give a "token of appreciation"...

Giving him some credits, he presented well during the ceremony and did lead us on to our vows etc..

Thus, do be careful when you approach him as your JP. He has many ceremonies to attend per day thus he may rush things during the actual ceremony in the event there's a shortage of time. (I heard from others).

Take care and all the best to your solemnization!

Queen > I had my AD on the 6th Dec, which is last week and my ROM on the 17th Jan 09. Mr Chan performed our solemnization on the 17th Jan 09 at Royal Plaza on Scotts. Just that we played back some ROM video as it was incorporated into the montage during our banquet which brings back sweet memories.
Mr Chan is really good at handling the whole solemnization ceremony, I must say.

Ger&mian > In fact, I heard abt that he have many solemnization to perform and thus rushing here and there. We can’t blame him as he is very popular right now. But really can’t imagine that he came back and ask for more “ang pow†money … is there some miscommunication some where?
That’s really bad, if he does that as this is a holy job.

germian

Hi Garfield! There was no tie down on the amt for ang bao as it was supposed to be just a token of appreciation. If there's a tie down then it will become a side line for him. haha, nevertheless, we are ok with his presentation on that day. Just got to be careful with the money allocation :p