JP - Chan Kai Yau

midori

i read from one of the posts that Mr Chan's church service ends at 6.30 pm on sunday. My Solemnization is on a sunday at 6pm.

Shd i still call him and ask? Also, any kind soul has a photo of him?
can send to me pls? thanks!

benbenfish

Mr Chan has called me last night to meet up with him on this coming Friday.
Anyone here met him already to sign the form? As he said our appointment will at 'Borders' at Orchard road. but Borders is so big. Anyone know the actual location?

jfaith

I am so disappointed with Mr Chan. I called him in July and booked for my ROM in September. He told me he can make it as he also had another couple before me at the same venue. He gave me his JP no. and told me to efile and he will contact me nearer the date to sign the consent form. Since I didn't receive any call from him, I called him this week to finalise details. To my horror, he said he didn't have my booking! I even told him what he told me...can you imagine my shock and anger!!! The worst thing, he can't make it for my time slot. The couple before me cancelled their slot so I have a feeling that he cancelled mine too. So so disappointed, I still have to look for another JP and pay for the changes to the efile.

hitsubi

Hi Fish!

Am here to report tt Mr Chan called me, and saw ur post that he has called u too! =) Will be mtg him next Tue, actually it was wed, but he called me again today to change the appt.

Mr Chan usually meet at the fountain at Borders, u know that fountain that's close to the mag section? Yup, there. He didn't elaborate on the meeting venue when he called u ah?

Hi Celine
I suppose u can call Mr Chan to book him first, then later advise him on the venue? I was quite kiasu I called him in late mar or early april and my solemnization is next mth.

Hi faith,
o dear... how come like that? POorthing. Oh no... I hope that you're able to get another JP soon! Keeping my fingers crossed for you.

benbenfish

I'm meeting Mr Chan today after work. but I heard alot of ppl that meet up section is very short, then in that case, shall we buy some drink for him still?
then u all got discuss wat language you wanna him to use during the ROM? And place to meet up at the ROM place?

hitsubi

Hi Fish

No chance to come to the forum yesterday.
So how was the session? Was it really short and did u end up buying a drink for Mr Chan? You all sat at the sofa etc where Coffee Bean is right?

benbenfish

hi Hitsubi,

hmm...when we reached, he was talkng and discuss with another couple. so we waited for him. At the same time, there is also another gal whom waiting for his signature as well.
When we meet up, he write down our name and date on a piece of paper, then ask us to write our chiense name as well. at the same time, he signed our form. then tt all, nothing much already. so is that means after the form is signed, everything will fix and he wont be reject and forget our invitation time slot? i'm still abit worry whether he will remember onot. Hope everyone goes smoothly. haha...

hitsubi

Hi Fish

Wow, he really meets all consecutively! So busy!
Oh... like that ah, so simple, I thot I read last time that for some couples, he will tell them what will happen etc. I think after he sign the form should be quite safe? Keep our fingers crossed!!
Thx for the update! =)

Recently keep raining... i am getting v worried.. and it always rains on Sat mornings >_<"""

hitsubi

Hi Asphere

If yours is a hot date, then it'll be good to book Mr Chan earlier. I booked him like 6-7mths in advance. =p

eden_dream

Am thinking of booking Mr Chan for my solemnization targetted in Jun 08.. do you all think it's kinda early?

In addition, I am thinking of holding my solemnization at 7pm onwards so that I would not have to pay rental charges for the venue in mind.. Any personal comments if the timing is too late for a solemnization as my bf feels that it is kind of late...

alanis

hi eden.. mine is @ 7pm too...I remember after that Mr. Chan had to rush to Marriot for the 8pm one... up to your preference

karine82

I use JP Chan on my ROM Solemnise.
He is a person who hates ppl late.
So if u are using him, u and ur guest cannot be late.

My Husband abit upset with him. Becoz that day, our brother in law family are late becoz their caught in a Traffic jam.

Then my Husband ask him is it possible to hold on for a few min. then he ask “ the problem is how long†this is the first, then the second thing is our Solemnise took only 5mins ( consider very Short), all our job is to say “ I do†only. Then my guest all ask “why your solemnize like so rushâ€. My husband say he almost see my tear coming out then whole things ends already ( hahaha)

I think he is really in a rush…

benbenfish

Hi Karine,

I do hear from my colleague tt he late ppl late. The pervious ROM she attended was held by him and he will be at the place either earlier or on time, it's impossible for him to be late. So my colleague remind me to inform all my guests not to be late for my ROM in Oct. haha...
He didn't make jokes during ur solemnisation? Think he is reli in rush.. But solemnisor is just someone who announce u and ur Husband has become 'husband and wife'. As long as ur hubby dote u is more than enough. rite?

karine82

He never crack any Joke... haha...
Of course Dote me is the most important la, But this is a once in a lifetime thing. So, he hope to be very perfect for me. but... is ok la, he say Tradditional wedding he will do 70% of the things... hehe. then I can shake leg abit le

twinklestarzz

I was using Mr Chan as my JP on 29th Dec 07..anyone here using him as well? I have only verbally confirm with him the date and time over the phone...can any kind soul here advise what is next? Should I wait for the Mr Chan to call me? Thank thanks

karine82

Hi Twinklestar, Mr chan will give u a call on Nov then maybe meet up on 28-29Nov with u and ur Hubby, so have a short chat.

No worry, I believe he had take note your date and time.
Have u confirm ur ROM venue?

fuku

hi just to check out how mr chan is?? cos i book him for my Solemnization, i see here some bad comment ab him i'm worry

benbenfish

Last afternoon Mr Chan called me, double confirm with me whether my Solemnization is on 05 Oct or 06 Oct, I told him is on 06 Oct, and he mentioned he has put me on 05 Oct, but we have already met up to ask him sign the form 2 week ago, he should know he has put me in a wrong date since that time... Hai..but luckly he just push my time slot 20 min earlier to our usual time slot.

chocolatier

Think he got too many appointments...
We called him up lately again after submitting our ROM docs...he actually thought we had cancelled our appointment with him for solemnisation! OMG!
Thank god we called him in time...else we would be left with no JP on our solemnisation tis wkend...

hitsubi

Hi Fish
Wow, that was a close one!~ Now am a bit worried >_<
Am suppose to call him again after I collect my docs at ROM on 3rd oct to confirm our date/time.

And hermit crab, how come Mr Chan thot u had cancelled? Aiyo! Lucky u called in time reli. So scary.

chocolatier

hitsubi
he prob mixed us up with another couple who cancelled their appt with him...
pray hard that he doesnt mix it up again...

benbenfish

Hi hitsubi

we are collecting the certs at ROM office on 3rd Oct as well. Think can see u there...haha..
Anyway, he also mentioned to re-confirm one more time after we collect the certs after 3rd Oct...

troymay

Hi, I managed to contact Mr Chan for his lisence no. He say I can efile first he will call me at a later date to arrange for a meet up session.

Anyone have a pix of Mr Chan? Can email me at [email protected]

cherrie20

Hi all, had my soleminsation by him too... on 28/9/2007 at 11.30am... =)

Look stune, but got powerful voice and jovial...

hitsubi

Hi Hermit crab
Cross fingers for you that he will not mix u up again =)

Hi Fish!
Yes! I was there... hmm.. dunno which one is u tho. Wat time were u there at ROM?
Yes, my hubby called him up again after we verified our certs... then just said his name and the date &amp; time of our ROM that's it. Then he said Mr Chan just went ok. Err... ya...

benbenfish

Hi Hitsubi,

we were sitting the very front row wor...haha... then have u see the mediacorp artist? they were there for verification as well..!!
we also called up Mr Chan and he said ok as well...the date is getting closer.. Less than 48hrs..aiyo...haha...

yc_mw

I've oso confirmed Mr. Chan to be my JP liao. I'm holding my ceremony on 5th Jan.

Hi Daniel,

U can contact Mr. Chan at 6235 6143. I tink there's no time frame de lor, juz tat once u noe when's ur confirmed date, time &amp; venue liao, can call Mr. Chan to book him ler. For my case, my AD is in Jan'08, but, I've oredi confirmed Mr. Chan in Mar tis yr.

hitsubi

Hi Fish

oh u sitting front row ah. Hee! We sat on the right block, 2nd row. I didnt see Pris Chan &amp; Alan Tern that day leh. But i saw them at CVH where i had my ceremony coz they also held it there on the same day. Saw them the next day when we were hving breakfast. Haha.

Hope that your ceremony went well!

Just to share with the rest... Mr Chan was good on the day of our solemnization. As mentioned by many other brides here... he likes to ask us to speak up louder &amp; managed to made the audience laugh here &amp; there. =)

benbenfish

Hi Rachel,

Mr Chan is able to speak both english and chinese very well... so do not need to worry..haha...

Hi Hitsubi,
He is good on the date of our soleminization too.. It's just he is abit rush as he has another solmnisation at 3:15pm somewhere else. So he wana exactly 2:40pm starts ours and went off immediately...haha...

hitsubi

Hi Fish
Am glad to hear that it went well for you too! =)
Oh, he's a busy man! We were luckier in a sense that he wasn't rushing that much coz I think he had even buffer time for the next couple. I wonder if you were the next in line after mine or was there another couple before you. Hehehe!