Jaw Surgery - Orthognathic surgery

yue

Hi monster6,

Thanks for responding.
How much did you pay for your set of clear hard plastic retainers and how often do you have them replaced?

I just went to my orthodontist recently to have a new set made. The 2 ends often chipped off and there are always white build up, especially for the upper retainer, no matter how I brush it with toothbrush, soaking it in water with cleansing tablets as well as baking soda. The stain just can’t be removed.

I told my orthodontist that most of the time I hv my retainers on, other than when I need to use my mouth to eat.
He advise against it, saying at most is to have it on 10 – 12 hours a day.

Is there any concern having it almost 24/7 or to hv it only 10 – 12 hours a day?

yue

Hi monster6,

Another thing, I experience rather tight tightness when the retainers are put on only after couple of hours, especially the upper one.

judynguyen

i'm foreigner.may i know where should i go to check and ask for recommendation about my jaw problem? i'm not staying singapore for too many year so. i should go to private or govt hospital?which one is better?

bigman

Hi Nguyen,

u can go to a private ortho... waiting time is short. For govt u need to wait quite long time for appt.

bigman

Hi Nguyen,

Many private clinics in Singapore... u can try NTUC clinics.. jus call their number .. i think ALexandra Hospital also gives u fast appointments.

jinnous

I underwent orthodontics surgery in 2005 to correct my jaw. I had an overgrown lower jaw, which was jutting out. My physical appearance affected me greatly since I realized the defination of beauty. Well, you can say beauty is shallow, and its not a really big deal to me lah, I have uneven eyelids, I wear contacts, I have zits etc.....but I guess all these imperfections can be hidden with makeup. But with a jutting jaw, and remarks about it, kinda hard when there are options available to correct the problem. And I do have a problem eating. I can never chew or bite off my food, be it veg or meat, esp. veg. Its either I cut with my utensils before I pop it in my mouth or I pop the whole food in my mouth. But just wanna let u guys know that there are risks involved when you go for this surgery. For one, my nerves in my lower jaw are numb. It got better over the years, but dun think I will ever feel anything again. But that's part and parcel of the surgery. Maybe you wanna look up for a little more info on orthodontics surgery, http://www.dentistry.nus.edu.sg/public/orth.htm. My condition is the same as the young lady in the pic (but its not me!). Yup, I did it in NUH, under a well-known professor.

bigman

Hi Jinnous,

Did u go with Prof Ho kee Hai?

He left NUH and has opened a clinic at Orchard Paragon jus last yr.

jinnous

Nope, I was wif Prof Loh Hong Sai. But I think he's not there anymore.
I also had a friend who went for this surgery. But he's opposite my condition. He had a small jaw which resulted him always biting on his gums, so he "pulled" his lower jaw out, whereas mine is "pushed" in. I think his doc is Dr Djeng.

bigman

Hi Jinnous,

So are u more beautiful now?

jinnous

I can't really remember though....I did everything under 10k I think....

Braces- ~$2.5k to 3k (incl. removal of teeth, could be slightly more though)

Operation- ~$7k to 8k
(slightly more ex as I stayed in 4-bedder and operated by professor and doc)

But I got a side effect which was quite bad and scared the hell out of me. Immediate after op, when I woke up, I experienced a numbing sensation on my right foot. Like pins and needles pricking my foot, and its very specific, last 3 toes all the way up my mid-calf. Initially docs told me could be I slept and my nerve was pinned down during the op. Kinda funny though lor.

So I kept trying to walk around. Not easy cuz first few days I felt like I'm carrying a lead ball on my head. My hubby had to carry my head for me to shift up the hospital bed or just to sit up. The pain on my foot was so sensitive and bad that basically I was limping by the end of the 1st week and I couldn't even wear sandles. I have to drag my foot along. My little 1 year old nephew even imitated how I dragged my foot. That's how bad it was.

I went for acupunture every 3 days near my hse. My hubby rode bike. Just imagines how I had to climb up the bike. There were times when I basically couldn't walk after the acupunture. No strength.

My jaws were oso wired shut. Top and bottom together to prevent movement and for healing. And tat's for the next 4 weeks.

Oh 1 more thing, you had to see a nutritionist b4 the op. They will tell u wat u require during and after the op so that u dun lose too dramatically. You can only have liquid diet, like milk. I started having chicken essence after 1 week plus. Anything liquid would do. Cuz you use tube feeding.

I also used my own blood during the operation. So 1 week b4 the op, I went to have my blood "donated" for my own use. Its your own blood so its sort of safer lor. You can opt to use the blood bank I think.

Now, I can say I'm quite recovered. Except for the numbness on my lower jaw. And a screw which can be feel underneath the surface of my upper face, just below my eye. Everyone who has touched that area all got freaked out. Haha.... the doc was a little apologetic. He said he didn't push it far into the flesh.

You know, 3 years after, sometimes I still can't believe I went for that op. Its a major op, and there are risks involved. Think well b4 you wanna proceed lor. But if you asked me if I wanna go thru the thing again if I have a choice, I would lor, the change is that significant.

jinnous

Yep, I used Medisave to co-pay. Let me go back home and check if I still have the receipts. I think I forked out 3k cash initially. They returned me some money after calculations. The rest used Medisave. Let me see if I have any info on my Medisave....

I think nutritionist is optional. They wanted me to go cuz I guess I was a little thin for their comfort. I was about 48kg when I went in. When I came out, I was about 45kg. Tat's bout 3kg loss in 4 days, resonable lah. So seeing the nutritionist to determine how much I should take to prevent my weight from dropping further.

Luckily I like milk, so I was able to build up my weight faster. It helps to mix with protein powder for extra energy. An uncle (in his 40s I think, by my same prof) went for op 1 week b4 me. He hates milk, so his weight loss was quite bad. I think he lost over 10 to 15kg within tat 2 weeks according to my doc. He only drank water. I saw him when I went for followup. My doc said my recovery was significant compared to him. I could speak clearer wif my teeth wired shut than he.

jinnous

I remembered my op was around $7k. Sorry! I forgot to find the receipts last nite. My pup made a mess of my hse yesterday so was cleaning up when I got home. I clean forgot bout it..... paiseh....I'll try look for the receipts tonight.....

bigman

FOund the receipts? waited 2 nights liao..

But then now GST increase.. will be different alos bah..

oH ya, i also need to pluck abt 3 wisdom teeth .. so add up maybe more ..

celine11

Hi Jinnous,

I admire your courage. I had thoughts about going for jaw surgery but was overwhelmed by the risks which may be apparent. I heard that you may even need to be under ICU for couple of days after op. that freaked me out..however sometimes i still have thoughts of going for it...

jinnous

Jeez...I didn't hear bout the ICU thing leh....

Wait bigman, before u blast me...I'm still looking for the receipts... :p

You might say I'm vain or what. But I lived with my pre-surgery face for 20-odd years, and I tell you, it affects a lot of things. Confidence, tops the list.

I've been called a witch before you know, though I can't remember when was that. A lot of funny names. It depends how you look at it. If you dun mind, I dun think you'll mind it now or later. If you mind, no matter what you think, it'll still affect you.

My mum had a fit when I told her bout the op, though I scaled down the risks. I even acted ok when the nerves were playing havoc on my foot. Cuz, I didn't want her to both worry and scold. She minded the fact that I'm going for such a big op because she gave birth to me. Hmmm...how shd I put it? She gave birth to me, with this jaw, and I'm going under the knife to "correct" the malformation. (But she's ok now, she doesn't quite believe either....keke....but of course I cut out the screw-in-my-face part lah)

I still remembered after they woke me up in the op theatre, I was thinking, "eh, they didn't do the op?" Its fast for the patient, but it was very scary for my hubby. He didn't managed to send me to the op theatre, 5 mins late. The op I think was scheduled at 9am. I reached my ward at around 5pm. So imagined the waiting time....

I had some friends who went for the op. Its generally ok, but of course docs would wanna prep you for the potential risks. Numbness is confirmed. You'll get back the feeling but it won't be like before.

bigman

Scheduled at 9 AM and u were at the hospital at 5 PM?? u waited overnight there or slept there waiting for Op?

I'm not calling u vain cos I know how it's like being one of the same as u.

jinnous

Haha...no, I mean my op was scheduled at 9am and I came out of the op theatre around 4pm plus.

I checked in the previous day, around 3pm plus I think. There was a difficulty in getting a bed. After that I ate to my heart's content cuz it would be more than 2 months before I can eat again. Imagine you have a plate of KFC in front of you and ur teeth are wired shut, and you can only drink milk. Keke.... what a torture.

jinnous

Ya...I stayed overnight leh....
Cuz they still need to do checks on the previous day. I remembered I was in the dentist chair getting final checks. They oso took a lot of blood from me....a few test tubes, and I always want to faint when they take my blood, so its good to sit in a dentist chair, they can rotate the chair so that my head is lower than my feet... haha.....

jinnous

I dun think it can be taken out you know. Cuz your flesh, muscles would have grown all over covering the plates. Removing would be another round of risks.

I wanted to remove the screw though which is near my eye. But my doc wasn't keen. He said if want to remove the screw, he would rather remove from the face, as in cut and leave a scar lor. If want to go by the same op procedure, then he would remove all the screws, and that's another round of risks.

So I live with it lor.

jinnous

I finally found my bill.
Its:
1. Estimated total bill- $8000++
2. Estimated Medisave Claimable- $4200
3. Deposit Required upon admission- $3800

NUH returned me a cheque of around $420.

So total op costs was around $7000++. I think I stayed around 4 days, including 1 day earlier.

It doesn't include braces, dietician, follow-up checkups, medication and special foods etc....

Hope it helps!

jinnous

Cash you need to have about 4k for the op.

The rest are small amounts you pay over the months lor. The result is worth it, for me. I was doing spring cleaning on Sat and I found my old photos. The difference is that big lor. But again it depends on individuals. You can talk to me if you are planning to go for the op. It helps when you know someone did the same thing.

bigman

I want to go for the Op just that didn't expect so expensive.

Maybe can we meet up so I can see the difference more clearly? lol :p

bigman

ANyone else needing jaw surgery soon or expecting it ? post here and share wif the rest here!

Jinnous: thank u for sharing ur experience
looking forward to our next correspondence.