Japan trip - where to go

vinmei

Does anyone have any F&E itenery of Japan to share? Me is planning for a 2weeks HM in Japan.

Help needed here. Tks in advance.

cutiepooh

Hi Astrogirl

Disneyland is fun for its rides, phototaking w the cartoons and the castle performance

Disneysea is great for its stage and sea performance. I love the mermaid performance thy best! Rides are so so only.

So it really depends whether u like to take rides or watch performances. It will be great to go to both!

yming

helo

anyone going to Japan for HM? we intend to go in Jan - need feedback on reliable travel agency

suishi

ming,
I'm going Japan for HM too but will be going for the sakura season. Normally, i went to CTC agency for all my overseas trip. Still looking out for the intineary to Japan during this season

yming

hi suishi

your wedding is next month - congrats! how's preparations?

we very likely to go in Jan (though i know its very cold) so CTC is a good choice?

suishi

ming,
thks. when is yr?

i cant gurantee CTC is a good choice, so far mi still happy with them. SA, chan bro & CTC should be quite reliable agency.

U can try sourching around & compare prices, see which suit you the most lor? All the above agency are having promotion right now

astrogirl

Thanks cutie! i dun haf enuff time to go to both... time constraint... if got time, i would go for backpacking... tat'll be in future. willd efinitely go japan again...wanna go other cities too...

anywae, i'll choose disneyland most prob, seems more positive feedbacks on it.

vinmei

Hows the planning of Japan trip? I have bought the air tix and now planning for the trip. Anyone have any information to share? Me now sourcing for Hotels in Tokyo & Hokkaido.

raindrop

I'm thinking of going to Hokkaido to see lavender and sunflower. Can anybody kindly advise when is the best timing to go?

chickensoup

japan is one of the easiest place for F&E despite language barrier. If you are looking at lodgings in tokyo, hotels in shinjuku and ikebukuro are great places for food and shopping.

elmo_78

I am planning our HM to travel on 22 Apr....but searched thru all the travel agency's website n found that the package is almost the same...all tours r from ANA.

Anyone has any experience in taking up the tour package n extended their stay for a few more days? I was told by one agency tt the extension is subjected to approval by airlines...n they only allow 8-10% of whole flight to extend their stay.

Thanks in advance for ur great help!

suishi

Hi tweetytwee,
booked my packages to japan but with group tour, too exp for F&E.

when is yr departure date & for how long?

chickensoup

hi tweety,
only been to tokyo and hakone but not hokkaido. my trip was pretty short. about 5 days in total. so i stayed a night at hakone and enjoyed their famour onsen (hot spring) with ryokan stay experience (traiditional jap houses) it was the best from the trip. Back in tokyo, it's good food and shopping. It's actually not that expensive if u know where to shop. Shops in harajuku, asakusa and some in shibuya r quite reasonable. i booked the hotel through priceline sg at $150 per nite and in japan the jap hoteliers were kind enough to upgrade us to deluxe room which was great! However, we did not go disneyland cos thinking that since everything in jap, may not be worth it. the must try in japan is their fish market. u dont have to go early cos that's for some kind of auction thingy which now prob dont allow tourist to be in it. So anytime before noon u can still get good sushi from the restaurants within the fish market itself. hope it helps! Oh btw, with my hubby we spent a total of $2.5k including lodgings and transport.

vinmei

Hi suishi,
Thats great leh! When are u going?
Me is going there from 31stMar - 15Apr. Almost 2weeks there. But sourcing for hotel accomodation leh.

Hi anfield,
Thanks! I have sent u an email. Check it out.

Hi LV,
Thanks for the information. It helps. Hotel in Japan are not cheap ya! Me hoped not to spent so much lor. I am going there for about 2weeks leh. Abit KS leh. hehee

suishi

hi tweetytwee,
mi going on 7 Apri to 14 Apr,only 7days.

sorry cant really help for hotel cos it my 1st time there, may be other brides can help.

kiost

hi tweetywee, u will be able to see the cherry blossoms. nice nice... go to ueno park.

as in hotel wise, i can't advise. coz first trip, i stayed at fren's house. second trip, stayed in a hotel which offers staff rate.

miso

hi.

i went to hokkaido last aug..from tokyo to hokkaido, u have to take internal flight.
i think free and easy is quite expensive. have u thought of going on guided tour to hokkaido and extend in tokyo by yourselves?

vinmei

Hi Miso,
Tks! Me had booked my air tix liao. Now trying to see how I can make the best out of it.

By the way, anyone been to Tokyo & Hokkaido? Can tell me what is the difference there? And what I can do in Tokyo and Hokkaido? I want to know the difference so that I can plan.

tsubame

Hi tweetytwee, I planning to go Hokkaido & Tokyo F&E too, but in July, for the flowers. So got lobang can let me know?

From what you have written, seems like you haven't been to Tokyo b4. Why don't you just enjoy the whole trip in and around Tokyo this time? Hokkaido is mainly scenery. Tokyo is shopping, and more happening, with great day trips for scenery a couple of hours away. I done a 10D F&E Tokyo for my HM 2 years ago in March and it was just nice.

tsubame

Hi miso, F&E Japan can be cheaper if you don't mind non-hotel lodgings. I've checked out the guided tours for Hokkaido by local agencies but they are all very rush. The only one I quite like is by Hong Thai, but they still missed someplace in Hokkaido that I want, and they fly back via Osaka.

Anyway, for those of you who don't mind guided tours, and wanna go Hokkaido for the flowers, the tour by Hong Thai is the best so far I've seen. But note that their tours are usually conducted in Chinese.

vinmei

Hi Cat,
I tot so too but then my hubby also want to go Hokkaido leh. U been there for 10days. Do u have any itenary to share? By the way, dun mind sharing how much u spent? And where did u stayed?
Tks in advance.

pinkbunny

hi, got to be in chiba (i think) for company trip end april. any suggestions on where i can go for R&R? hot springs would be nice!

tsubame

Hi tweetytwee, my itinery was scribbled on a piece of paper long thrown away...
It's in one of the 2004 archives either here or in the Tokyo thread. Cost-wise, we spent abt $1k/pax for flight and accomodation. Accomodation we stayed at House Ikebukuro(www.housejp.com.tw), a minshuku ran by a Taiwanese lady. Very popular with Taiwanese and Singaporeans. Her toilets all equiped with the high-tech towel bowls.
My husband still misses the bowel washing function...

We visited:
Ikebukuro (Of cos, since we stayed there. Very good place to stay, lots to eat and shop when you get back. Supermarket basement always have bargain for food after 8 pm. Very good ramen at the Ramen Street hidden in one of the back lanes)
Odaiba, Shinjuku, Akibahara and Ueno(lotsa of good food here too), Roppongi (one of the lanes got a resturant selling beef stew to die for!)
Visit Meiji Shrine in morning, proceed to Harajuku, walk thru Cat's Alley to Shibuya (best to visit on a Sunday, then you can get to really see and experience their street culture)
Day Trip: Went Kamakura, saw lotsa traditional weddings held in the temples there (guess it was an auspicious day, also a Sat), visited Yokohama afterwards, mainly the Chinatown
Theme parks: Studio Ghibli (book your tickets from Lawry's, we visited Chikuji in the morning b4 going), and DisneySea (wonderful, wonderful place not to be missed)

Hope the above gives you an idea. Mt Fuji will be good to go if you never been there yet. We visited with a package tour b4 so we never go Mt Fuji, Asakusa, and Ginza(personally find nothing much there to see), which are some of the must go places.

If got day to spare, my friend highly recommend a day trip to Nikko.

A JR Pass is a must for you of cos, to save on transport, which we didn't get cos we though not travelling too far, furthest being Kamakura. We spent $3k b/w the 2 of us for transport, food, and shopping. Actually got lotsa spare, but my hubby spent it all... So works out to around $2k/pax for a 10D trip.

vinmei

Hi Cat,
Thanks for the information. It really helps alot.
It seem ur air tix plus accomodation is cheap leh. Mine air tix is already near to $1K/pax liao.
Still have not book accom yet. The inn u stayed in also recommended by my fren but my hubby does not find it ok.
So I also dun know what to book mann!

Really appreciate ur information. Tks!

tsubame

You are welcome tweetytwee. My air tix was Northwest promotion, but my hubby swear not to go by NW again after that, so my next trip air tix not going to be so cheap...

Your hubby finds minshuku not romantic enough izzit?

What's your itinery for Hokkaido currently? Like where you intending to visit, and any recommendations you've heard for accomodations?

There's this website that's pretty useful: http://www.virtualtourist.com/ Check out their Tokyo and Hokkaido page. Tokyo page got lotsa information. Then Hokkaido page, check out the pages by Singaporeans. Pretty useful as reference and makes for interesting read.

vinmei

Hi Cat,
Perhaps ya... hehee

Japan is so huge leh.... I search till I really siao liao. hahaa:0

Most accomodation are fully booked in Tokyo. Now got to continue search & search. Tiring mann!
Yup. We have got lots of information on Hokkaido from a fren who have been there. Seem very interesting. A place not to be missed but transporation is super ex mann! Calculate liao, will scared mann!

Thanks for the webbie. It is very helpful.
I am still searching for my accomod. Gona faint...

tsubame

tweetytwee, you going begining of April is start of peak tourist season for Sakura viewing. Accomodation gonna be expensive too... Best of luck!

Yah, Hokkaido everything more ex. than mainland. Transport gotta really figure out first, especially since the trains' frequency not as high. Already a headache deciding if to take internal flight there, or to take train. Both also expensive.

pinkbunny

hi, will be going to tokyo this thursday for biz trip and have some F&E time. staying at roppongi prince hotel. anyone knows if the hotsprings are open all times of the year or only winter? and anyone has any good recommendations? i'm travelling with my boss and of course i'll be going for this alone, so the separate gender ones would be more appropriate

my husband's jap friends recommended the following, if anyone is interested:

shinjuku
asakusa temple
odaiba ferris wheel
roppongi hills
disneysea
yasukuni shrine
ueno park for sakura
ginza

l0v311

Hi, I'm planning to go for honeymoon in mid of Oct'06 (Autumn in Japan). Interested to visit to central of Japan (Tokyo, Osaka..etc)
Any recomended Travel agency? & any recommended places or any places where marked as "MUST GO"?

Never been there b4, hope all my sisters here can give some guideline!^^

Thanks ya!!

lilacz

Can i check which area has the most nightlife in Tokyo? I dont want to travel at night so will have to hang ard in the area of the hotel. is Ikebukuro area better or Shinjuku?

pinkbunny

lilacz,

just got back from tokyo. roppongi is slated to be the best area for pubbing. i didn't feel so though. i also felt a bit scared at night. sun set about 6 plus. rise at about 5 plus. not called land of rising sun for nothing!

these are the places i visited and really liked:
asakusa temple and the shopping around it
meiji shrine
takeshi-dori (street shops near meiji shrine)
ueno park

shibuya also got shopping but quite expensive.

for those of you who would like to watch a sumo tournament, it's very expensive (something like 10,000 yen) and you need to book like 2 months in advance.

look out for a guidebook called travelpack tokyo. it's got everything. tells you what the top 25 places are to go, tells you about each place and what subway stations are the nearest

tokyo's subway system is a tad bit confusing and certainly overwhelming at first glance. just take a minute to think it through and you'll be fine. if not, ask the station controllers - they can speak english.

it's a city of vending machines. around the central area you'll see the boring ones like drinks and cigarettes (300 yen) but i hear that in the more ulu parts, you can buy porn mags and used panties (not that i would buy, i just hear about it ok?)!

hope this helps somewhat.

lilacz

PinkBunny, thanks for sharing. I have just booked a htoel in the Ikebukuro area, hope it will not disappoint us.

I will be booking the day trip (eg. Mt Fuji) in Japan, hopefully it wont be too ex and troublesome.

pinkbunny

hi lilacz, i think you can book the day trip directly there. i think i remember someone saying it's at tokyo train station. or you can ask your hotel receptionist to confirm. when i went to mt fuji in the winter they only let us up halfway so check how the weather is and how high up you can go. no point go there and only at ground level :S

btw on a fair day, you can see mt fuji from the tokyo tower.

if you want to see my pics just drop me a mail. [email protected]. cheers!

yunxi

I am planning to go Hokkaido this Oct for honeymoon..planning to spend 12 days F&E..does anyone have any itinerary or tips and accom. recommendation for hokkaido? Please kindly share or send to [email protected]. Thanks!

yunxi

Hi ladies, I have been to tokyo + mt fuji twice...I love mt fuji a lot. I was lucky that both times the sky was clear. There were 4 of us rented a car and drove to Mt Fuji and stayed over a night at this lovely Hotel Sunnide Village (http://www.hostelz.com/l/de/hotel/21234-Hotel-Sunnide-Village), our room was just facing the lake and mt fuji...the view was simply awesome. The first time we went, it was only my FH and myself, so we took a bus fr. Shinjuku Bus Station to Mt Fuji 5th station. took abt 4 hrs...according to my fren it's the cheapest and faster way yo get to Mt Fuji.(http://www.kangetsu.com/mt_fuji.htm).

Personally I feel there's no need to pay to go up to Tokyo Tower...you can get a magnificient view of Tokyo city on the top of Tokyo Metropolitian Towers...u could see a glimpse of Mt Fuji too. Entrance is free. Check out these websites for more details.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tokyo_Metropolitan_Government_Building
http://gojapan.about.com/od/shinjukuareaattraction/p/tokyotocho.htm

mskazama

I married a Jap, so now.. japan. its a nice place to venture even F & E. In tokyo: Shinjuku( SG CityHAll), they've a TAKASHIMAYA there. Ginza( SG Orchard), Shibuya( SG Bugis), Harajuku- Meiji Shrine , arrange to visit on Sats as u will see street bands, and young people dressing up in all different styles, Asakusa- temple cultural theme can have a taste of Rickshaw, ninja village) , Hakone- where popular Onsens are located. Imperial Palace- disney Land / disney Sea, its 2 different entrance thus u may wish to get a 2 day passport to go to these 2 theme parks.

other places like Osaka/ nagoya/ Kobe/ Mie/ Kyoto... Can travel by Shinkansen( bullet train- if i didnt remember wrongly it cost abt SGD 150 from osaka to nagoya- allocated seats)

Osaka Region has lotsa Big Marine Park like aquariams, even in nagoya. Real big scale type.
Try gg up the towers too, amazing and their ferry wheel.

all in all, Japan is a really nice place but u have to keep in mind their culture, main transport will be JR line( japan Railway) or Subway.. Unless u drive.

another place i simply love...HOKKAIDO... my fav...

happyface

hi amanda,

is it a good time to go jap in Jun? cos actually i'm planning for my honeymoon, thinking of going to japan in Jun.. but afraid tht nothing "good" to see, ie no sakura, cherry blossom etc...

mskazama

for Honeymoon i will recommend Spending time at Hakone or hokkaido , ONSENS... go to those traditional ones, though may be more Exp but its worth it, look for ryokan style.Personally i like to indulge in ryokan style hot spring say in MAY or APR , its not too cold.. and the pool are all stones with beautiful scenery, bamboo architecture.. and japanese bedroom.. beautiful..
Cos all along we've been living in the City, so tokyo is not too exciting...but still worth to venture..

http://www.jnto.go.jp/

yuki31

I am planning to go Hokkaido for honeymoon in Jan ... Is there any good agency to recommend for group tour? any advise do share with me coz i know nothing much abt hokkaido