Japan Trip - Tokyo

snoozy

Me and hb going to Japan via F&E. Since this is our first time there.. so we reali need to do any of homeworks. Anyone can recommend us any accomodation. We are okay with those hostel etc.. no need to stay in hotel. And if we going to Mt Fuji, how far is that from tokyo? Do we have to stay overnight there? Pls advise. .. Thanks in Advance

snoozy

Is there a problem i wan to post my own thread? Most of the thread is on tour and not F&E and another is last year one. If u got a problem then dont post.

d1amonds

sorry, just kpo here...
snoozy,
in that case, maybe u should change ur thread's title to "Japan F&E trip" or something more specific like tat.
as S&H mentioned, there are a lot of Japan threads and some forummers might be lazy/tired to advise u coz they tot u can search for info in the many other existing japan threads.
just my 2cents

dear99

i'm gg tokyo early july, is my 1st time there... intend to go f&e, any advice which r e places muz go?

ebearz

hi deardear,

i'm just came back from tokyo recently.. and one of my friends just flew off last night to tokyo.. =)

how many days will you be staying in tokyo?

maybe you can take these places into consideration:
1. hakone/mt fuji
2. tokyo disneyland or disneysea
3. tsukiji market (if you like to eat sushi, must go! alot of fresh salmon, tuna, etc, very nice!)
4. sibuya (if you want to buy comestic, there're alot of pharmacy like stores selling comestics)
5. shinjuku (alot of dining places)
etc.. and there're still alot other nice places to go too.. = )

dear99

hihi!

thks for ur info, i intend to go there 5days only..
hmm.. disneyland or disneysea better? As i can only choose one becos lack of time.

how long is e journey fr tokyo to Mt fuji?
is it by train?

s__h

hi dear99,

ebearz will be the best person to ask since he just came back from tokyo few weeks ago..

There is a local bus tour to mount fuji with english speaking guide

ebearz

hi deardear,

your 5 days is not including the flight right? if including, it may be quite short.. and it's better not to plan too many places to go..

personally, i prefer disneyland to disneysea.. the rides are better and they sell more merchandises compare to disneysea.. but the landscaping of disneysea is really beautiful.. much better than disneyland.. and also not to forget about the show @ the sea.. very nice..

S & H prefer the disneysea.. he found the rides are nicer.. so both places has its unique ways of attracting people.. = ) and that have to depends on which one you prefer..

i'm not sure of the duration for the journey from Tokyo to Mt Fuji cos we went to Hakone first, then went to the Mt Fuji the next morning.. we bought the the roundtrip, Fuji Hakone Pass @ 7,200 yen (almost close to S$100) to go to both places.. we travelled by Odakyu Railways and back by Fujikyu/Keio highway bus..

maybe you can check out this link on how to go from Tokyo to Mt Fuji:
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e6905.html

think S & H is talking about the JTB guided tour har? my friend check up the prices for 1-day guided tour (not sure from which company) from Tokyo to Mt Fuji, is about S$190+ per person, including lunch and back by the bullet train from Mt Fuji..

Hi deardear,
Me oso just returned from Japan abt 1mth ago,
Frankly, in the world, there is only one DISNEYSEA, but many DISNEYLAND, so why not consider DISNEYSEA which u cant find elsewhere...

Around 8.15pm, in DISNEYSEA, there will be a show by mickey mouse with shui mu, water flash, fire, laser which is so magnificant... then abt 9pm, u will be able to see the fireworks that is from DISNEYLAND, up in the sky...

Further, the best DISNEYLAND is in US, not in JAPAN, can give it a miss......

s__h

Yes i am referring to the JTB tour but my package did not include lunch !

So maybe now the package has changed...

ebearz

yupz.. there's only one disneysea, and that is in Japan..

jenn, i didn't manage to see the fireworks @ disneysea.. cos it's was cancelled due to strong wind on the night that i went.. you meant the fireworks is only @ the disneyland?

dear99

thks for ur advice!!

really appreciated..
i'm 2mths pregnant, so i tink cant tak a lot of rides so i choose disneysea.

snoozy

my bad.. sorry S&H. Anyway.. I start a new thread cos I found the other thread too long. Btw.. most likely i will be going over there for 2 weeks F&E. Anyone got recommendation on hostel at Tokyo, cos we dont wan to spend too much on accomodations. We need room that got bathroom attached will do.

s__h

New hotel added to this Accor hotel membership in Tokyo, Ginza Japan : Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier (Novotel Associate)

However, cannot use complimentary voucher to stay but can use the membership to stay at member price. of abt S$200 or 15,000 yen onwards.

Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier is your gateway to Japan’s financial centre.

Leisure and business travelers can indulge in the suave shopping of Chuo dori, Namiki-dori’s art galleries and the Tsukiji Fish Market.

Acclaimed for its sophistication and comfort, the 361 rooms hotel offers amazing skyrise accommodation.

Address is Ginza Chuo-ku, , Tokyo, Japan.

gera78

I will be going to Japan for my honeymoon in mid march. Anyone knows when will be the sakura season?? Some says its in mid march to early apri this year...Really hope can get to see the flowers bloom.

piggy12

Hi Geraldine,

I checked some of the forecast website for sakura for tokyo the blooming is est to be between 28/3 - 4/4. The cherry blossom will only bloom for a week. this year due to the prolong winter the spring is slightly delay
so it depend on ur luck...

milo66

I will be going Japan on the 12th. Have u girls heard of the sandstorm news? Affecting Japan?

sailormoonwt

yes, milo66 . .. saw the news on TV as well .. seems to be affecting Japan quite bad .. visibility was within 5K or 10K for some towns .. worried as well ..

sailormoonwt

ah! i played the animation oredi ... seems tat the yellow dust storm will go away wor.. praying hard for all of us here whom will be goin Japan tis mth!!

piggy12

HI Sailormoon u going on FNE as well? or with tour? if tour which tour? I leaving on 29 Mar if my tour is confirm wor

sailormoonwt

i'm travelling with CTC .. taking the 9 days tour .. but seems like the day we r signing up very low hit rate .. so the trip not confirmed yet .. now very worried as may need to change dates or change to 7days ... *haiz* then with tis stupid yellow dust tingy ... giving me the nightmares ~~~

piggy12

I am with CTC also..did u call up n check on the availabilities? If cannot hit the 10 pax i might join the departure on 31/3/08. dun worry abt sand storm i believe it will turn out well

piggy12

Hi Sailormoonwt,

I jus called up CTC.. so happy my tour is confirmed!! But I got a bad news for u I help u to check on ur departure but they told me urs is still pending wor...

babymoon

Hi anyone,

Is self drive advisable for a family of 4 ( 1 kid is 4 yrs old and another 18 months) in Tokyo? Is it left or right hand drive in Tokyo? Anyone been and done that before? Pls advise as this is my first trip to Japan with my family. Pls share any itinerary if any. Thks.

kireii

Jessie, driving is fairly easy in Japan, same right hand drive. Rental car are with GPS, just input destination no# and you will be guided to your destination. You need to rent child seat for your kids. International license.

Road in some area are very narrow, if you have a big car is tricky. Take note of highway toll, if you go really far sometimes toll are may expensive.

Also hotel in city usually require parking fees which may cost a lot. Driving is very good for outskirt places, in city is better to travel by train.

babymoon

How about driving in Hokkiado? Easy to travel free and easy around there with 2 young kids? Anyone can share /advice? I am planning to go in OCt.

crown

Hi gals, below is a draft itinerary, any ideas to improve and beef up my itinerary? Please comment thanks! Anything i missed?

Saturday 4th Dec
Touchdown @ NRT Airport @ 07.30am

Check in ard 3pm at sunroute shinjuku

Shop around hotel area

Tour Tokyo Metropolitan Govt
Odakyu dept store
Keio dept store
Takashimaya
Isetan

Sunday 5th Dec

Shibuya
- Department stores
- Tokyo and Seibu
- Uniqlo

Harajuku
- Meiji Shrine
- Daiso Harajuku
- Yoyogi Park

Monday 6th Dec

Asakusa
- Sensoji temple

Akihabara

Ueno

Tuesday 7th Dec

Hakone mt Fuji day tour

Wednesday 8th Dec

Disney land or Disney Sea

Thursday 9th Dec

Ghibli Mueseum

Ikebukuro

Friday 10th Dec

Tsukijj Fish Market

Odaiba
- Rainbow bridge
- Decks Tokyo Beach
- Venus Fort (Shopping)
- Odaiba Seaside Park

Saturday 11th Dec

7pm flight back from Narita

sangay

Hi, my family and I are going to tokyo this december, plan to book bluewave inn asakusa hotel because it says in its reviews that its near asakusa train station, does anybody here knows how really near it is to the train station?, any information about this hotel and its surrounding place will be highly appreciated. Thank you

candycandy001

I am planning a F&E trip to Tokyo in Mar2011, about 5D4N. Anyone can recommend a gd travel agency? This is my 1st time travel there, actually my concern is the airport/hotel transfer. That's why I wish to book the F&E from a travl agent here which incl hotel + airport/hotel transfer, if there is any 1/2day city tour also not bad.