Japan trip - Chan Brother or CTC ?

mooniiie

hi emcee,

which means gotta pay this amt of tax on top of your $1958?
this tax amt is not included inside?

thks =)

emcee

moon

yeh ... so is 1958+286+50=2294 lor ...

of course the extra night stay yet to be included . either i book my hotel online if not try to redeem free stay. and tips yet to included too

mooniiie

hi emcee,

wah add everything together really alot hor....
somemore like wat you say still haven't include extra nites, tips, etc

hi annice,

thks for the info =)
600yen/day nearly S$10 liao leh...

emcee

yeah... it's quite alot leh ... tour fare 2294.
base on exchange rate now its about 60 for tips per pax. of course the additional stay, the transport and meals will come out to be 150 at least.

lucky my hotel stay for the addtional day would be free.

so total would be abt 2500 less the money to go shopping leh ...

emcee

hahaha
my wedding dinner was at marriott and i was given the marriott rewards points. enough for me to redeem 2 night stay in japan

silentelf

OMG!.. i think the tipping kills.. tats pretty much .. i didnt tot of that when i signed up with CTC 7D Central Japan tour. Anyway signed up already.. and CTC is my first stop.. i did not even ask around other tour agencies.. hopefully i made the right choice as our family is sort of a CTC 'fan'..hahaha...

silentelf

hi wennie.. the price is $1838 (before taxes) but they gave us $50 discount (telling us there's a promo) & additional $30 for CTC member... and departure date is 5Nov.

fannygirl

I was wondering how come nobody mention Asa? Can anyone who have traveled with Asa give me some ideas about them? I am planning to sign up the 9 days tour with them. Now considering Asa or Sa. Help needed. Nasta fair is coming, should have better deal.

lu_meihua

hi anyone gg tokyo/osaka/mt fuji in mid-oct? wondering how is the weather like so that i can bring appropriate clothing. thanks.

wandelust

Hi Mei, the temp is between 15-25 degrees depending on the places u go. It is autumn now with occasional rain. 1 light jacket and umbrella are a must!

Hi all, I'm living in Nagoya and tipping is not practised here. Why nobody consider F&E? It is an easy place to travel esp if u are going to tourist spots. I'm never a fan of package tours personally.

lu_meihua

hi Lyndia, thanks. Any idea what kind of footwear is recommended if I am going for lots of walking, mt fuji and the famous fish mkt in Tokyo? Thanks.

wandelust

Hi Mei, good comfortable non-slip shoes like sneakers and sports shoes are recommended. Unless u're like the gungho japanese ladies heels everywhere...
Btw u must try the sushi shops in Tsukiji (famous fish mkt). ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! I recommend "da he" in chinese characters. The place is small but the food and chefs are amazing.

lu_meihua

oh ok.
u familiar with the route in Tokyo? cos' i have a few places to visit in tokyo but dun know what's the best way to plan the route. can u help?

pm ur email address to me, then we can email via from there. easier. thanks so much!

bluegal

Just wanna know how much does you gals bring for a 7days central japan package tour? We intend to exchange a bit of cash and the rest we'll sign by credit cards as we do not wish to carry too much cash with us. Is this advisable?

chuckybabe

bluegal,

me gg wif chan bros to japan on 20 dec 4 a 7 days central japan package tour... i intend to bring $1K only for myself and hubby... da rest, we will sign by credit cards..

wen u gg??

bluegal

Hi chuckybaby,
we too, intend to bring 1K along for meals and souvenirs. We'll sign credit card for shopping purchases. We are going on the 3 nov with ASA.

bluegal

Hi Chuckybabe,
Our package is central japan + universal studio, we paid about $2K (include tax) per pax. The exact cost i forgot already. Initially we shortlist Chan Bro too but we did a compare, ASA is cheaper but it's quite a new agency lor. Then we check with their sales promoter, she told us the boss of ASA used to be the partner of CTC... something like that so we thought since they have experience so try their service lor.

chuckybabe

does yrs include disneyland?? mine xclude universal studio as da person in charge told me if i want to go to universal studio, i hv to pay an xtra $100 per person.. so we drop da idea...

bluegal

Hi Chuckybabe,
our package already come with disneyland and we top up $100 for universal studio. so how much did you pay for your package?

chuckybabe

i pd $4566 for 2 persons in all for da package... ohh.. so u gg to universal studios... do u hv msn?? so dat we can chat from dere??

cheerrzz...

bluegal

Hi Chuckybabe,
Guess you go during peak period that's why you paid slightly higher price than us. We prefer to go during non peak period to save cost lor. Ya disneyland and universal studio are one of the main purpose for us to visit Japan.
Oh ya i have msn, already pm you on the email.

lu_meihua

hi minssy, i'm with hong thai. our package, we went to USJ, Shinsaibashi, Kyoto, Hakone, Mt Fuji, Tokyo Odiba Park, Asakusa, Disneyland for the tour package.

Then extended on our own for 3 more days in Tokyo to tour around Ikebukuro, Shinjuku, Shibuya, Ueno, Rongpoongi, went fish market, Nakamise Ave, Sunshine City, Takeshita Dori, Sumo Museum, Tokyo Metropolitian Building, Tokyo Tower, Harajuku, Akihabara. And also went out of Tokyo to go to Yokohama to visit MM21, Cosmo World, Ramem Museum and Curry Museum. Oh yes!! and went to all the HRC cafes!! = )

Wanna go hello kitty land and Nikko but no time liao. next time...heehee. Now not a gd time to shop cos' autumn season. All change to winter clothing liao. A bit disappointed. And the trees not yet change colour yet. Still green green. Guess mid-nov then will be red leave.

Total we spent abt S$7k for 2 pax, including tour package, tips, our F&E stay, food, transport, shopping and gifts and other misc.

ANYONE GOING SOON!?? I wanna buy MORE food stuff back!!! heehee....

emcee

mei

wat time u went to the fish market?? and wat you see ... basically i wanna to gauge the right time to be threre ....

lu_meihua

Hi the host of the event, are you planning to see the auction? If yes, you got to be there as early as possible. Perhaps you can start off by taking the first train out...

We did not experience the auction but in time (reached abt 7plus) to start queuing to eat all the fresh food!! Yummy...

emcee

Mei
Yes, got the intention to see the auction, so wanted to know roughly wat time they start ... any idea wat time is their first train????

lu_meihua

hi emcee, hmm...not sure what time is the first. let me check it out for you.

hmm......not sure if I'm correct.
but i think the first train is around 4plus. depends on which station u start off.

sorry can't help much.

mooniiie

hi mei,

you say start queueing to eat fresh food... you maen there's only 1 restaurant?
or there are queues for all the restuarants there?
which is the nearest station to the market?
or is it tsukiji or tsukijishijyo?

thank you in advance =)

lu_meihua

hi mooniie, we alighted at tsukijishiyo and walked about 5 mins to get to the fish mkt.

there are more than 1 restaurant. only 2 restaurants with queue (and one of them happened to be recommended by friend), thus we quickly started queueing.

enjoy the sushi!! it's very worth the price for the quality and quantity!! yummy!! i missed it so much!!

can someone fly back for me? keekee...