Japan trip - Chan Brother or CTC ?

drew_drew

Can anyone advise between Chan Brother and CTC (Commonwealth Travel)....which is better in terms of service / accommodation / meals ? I am thinking of booking a Japan trip with either one of them..

Did anyone have any good or bad experiences with Chan Brother or CTC ? Can share your experiences with me ?

Thanks a million !!

junebridetobe

Hi I went for chan bro's japan tour last 2 years, the tour guide/hotel and food not bad.even the counter sales also very helpful.
chan bro take service quit seriously as they will ask the customer feedback in writing before they depart Japan, so they will provide good service.so you can consider them, as for CTC I never been with them so no comment

lliong

Hi, I went with CTC to Osaka/Kyoto/Tokyo 2 years ago. Both hubby and I agreed that the trip was value for money. Accommodation and meals were quite good. Guide was also very friendly. The package was "all inclusive", meaning, no need to pay for optional tours, and 100% meals included. They even gave out 1000 yen meal voucher per person, for use in Universal Studio and Disneyland.

basker

My family went last Lunar New Year - 7 days Central Japan. The local guide ws terrible.. gave us wrong info, makan before the whole group arrive fro meals. The jap guide very professional though, however decide not to book wif CTC for our future tours.

kurera

Gers...SQ flights to tokyo...do they still have tickets available? any idea?

Understand they having promo, me lazy to check anbody can provide link so I can check the conditions applicable for next month?

lu_meihua

Anyone booking CTC 7D5N Central Japan + Universal Studios (JOSU) package, departing on 21-Oct? Cos' we are interested and thought if there are interested parties, we can book together, hopefully can get more discount. Thanks! Pm me!

kimono

Hi Mei,
How much is the package? Actually we are planning for 7 days F&E around oct/nov but if the price is reasonable we may consider.

sleepy_sg

HI..

From my research.. If u comparing Chan Bros n CTC, Chan Bros will be better.. Both in service n food..

Btw, I am going 7days Japan with ANA..

mooniiie

hi annice,

ANA doesn't seem to have in-house fairs these days... where to go book their package?
which part of japan are you touring?

sleepy_sg

mooniie,

You can book their packages through their local appointed travel agency.. you can get the info/links thru their spore ana website.

I am leaving next sunday for their 7days honshu package, which mainly covers tokyo and osaka thus i will be visiting disneyland, universal studios, mt fuji and narita area..

sleepy_sg

Cheer Bear,

I tink both are having roadshows and discounts now.. U can have a look what are the places that they go and the throw-ins that are given

antares

I went to Japan twice. Once with Chan Bros and once with CTC. The experience with Chan Bro is bad cos the local guide is lousy. Really spoil my holiday mood. The experience with CTC was great! I really enjoyed the trip a lot!
To be fair, that might be the only not-so-good local guide from Chan Bros. Maybe I am just "suay"...:p

skybluegal

hi annice,

i was thinking abt SA, CTC and Dynasty but i sign up with dynasty instead.. SA too ex as they include a domestic flight and CTC too ex as they go to hello kitty land and 2 other place which i dun realli like so end up with dynasty

7D central japan for $1898 per pax include tax by JAL

jennie

wow, cheer that was cheap, btw hows the itenary like for dynasty travel? n the hotels they used cos the price diferences is so great.

skybluegal

hi jenny, u going to japan too? have u book any package yet?

my itnerary includes the following place:
Tokyo disneyland
Asakusa kannon temple
Tokyo tower
Yokohama chinatown
Red-brick warehouse
Ramen museum
Lake kawaguchi for hot spring and steamboat dinner
Mount fuji
Owakudani boiling valley
Bullet train
Heian shrine
Kiyomizu temple
Kimono show
Todaiji temple
Nara deer park
Osaka castle
Universal studio

skybluegal

annice
me going on 16 oct if nothing happens. Cos now the tour grp not enough pple so not confirm yet. cross my fingers will have more pple joining.. btw, u interested?

skybluegal

jenny,
4got to answer u abt the hotel.. i am not too sure but the sales guy said for japan tour all hotels are usually 3-4 stars one so not to worry lor.. and i hope he say one is true

rainette

i signed up during their in house fair at mosque street 2 weeks ago. They gave me the assurance that if this iternary has a lower price at any point in time before my departure, i can ask for the refund of the difference. That's why i din wait for any more fairs or NATAS.
My package cost $1808 per pax before tax, flying SQ. But without universal studio.

sleepy_sg

Cheer bear

I oreli booked with ANA liao.. Will be leaving this sunday..

Update u gals when I'm back..

Rainette,
Oh.. U took the package with SQ flight ar.. You have to take note of the refund if higher.. there is a catch to it.. Its oni applicable if the tour itinery u discover is fully IDENTICAL.. which is unlikely the case lo.. cos not many packages have SQ flights...

droplet

I have also booked 6day Tokyo tour in Dec with Dynasty during the travel fair @ 1388 (by JAL morning flight), SQ is only $10 more but is a night flight which i think 1st day will be wasted on the flight.

But now thinking whether to change to 7days Central Japan(osaka, kyoto) because the 7D package seems rush & not much shopping at tokyo.

Cheer bear, do u know for the 7days central japan, 1st nite is staying at Narita or Tokyo?
I asked the consultant but they are like not sure at all.

lu_meihua

hi cheer bear, yap. my hong thai japan trip also central japan + osaka universal studios. similiar itinerary as you but no stop at yokohama.

hi jennie, my 7D package is S$1799 without tax, departing on 23-Oct by JAL.

skybluegal

adeline,
for me is 7d central japan. 1st day at Tokyo Disney but they din say stay at which hotel but i think most likely is narita since is nearer to Tokyo Disney (if i am not wrong)

same as u i took the JAL morning flight eventho SQ shld be more worth but i will waste the day on flight liao

mei,
mine is 7D central japan for $1898 per pax include tax by JAL mornign flight leh.. so i think urs abit ex somemore without yokohama leh

lu_meihua

Hi cheer bear, not realli ex lah cos' mine is on the peak period. you are departing on 16-oct? That's before the peak period, that's why cheaper. = )

I was initially thinking of CTC, deparing on the peak, going to the same itinerary plus yokohama plus hello kitty land and is only at S$1838. Best package. Too bad, I missed the booking date.

Dynasty one, I also got considered. Wanted to book but it's in tokyo first, which I dun want. I wan Osaka in first.

skybluegal

mei,
u going on the peak period ah? btw when is the peak period?

actualli i oso wanted CTC but is too ex liao.. cant rem the price but the places includes my current itinery, hello kitty, flea market and one more temple. then me dun like hello kitty so decided to 4go and temple, will be going to a few liao so decide not to join CTC jus bcoz of the flea market.

emcee

I was at suntec last week and comparing the CTC and SA of almost the same itinery SA is slight cheaper in term of tour fare and also admin charges for changing return date of air tixs.

so i took SA

emcee

i took SA tour 7D hokkaido, morning flight by ANA. i extended 2 days at tokyo.

$1958 tour fare + $50 admin charge for change date + Airport tax.

mooniiie

hi emcee,

when are you flying?
how much is the airport tax?

is your return flight confirmed?
coz i called to ask about extension, the staff told me that the date of return flight is not guaranteed

emcee

mooniie

flying mid dec. return yet to discuss as I haven finalise with them the date yet. they did not told me the non gurantee part seem like there are able to do so.

as for airport tax. can't remember exactly, it's range 260+ to 280+.

mooniiie

hi emcee,

yup they say if wanna extend, they can only let me know 2 weeks before departure leh =(
anyway, keep me updated okie. thks =)