Japan Package Tours

sunniepie

hi piggy

ya ...big grp have t o wait....but no choice lor...hope all of them are considerate enough.

me also counting down.....u think we would need to bring thick clothins?

piggy12

HI Sunnie, My aunt who is going to Japan Tml told me the temp now is 0 - 12deg which is pretty cold.. n she advice me to bring along those windbreaker jasket for winter. BUt I will wait till end of March check the temp then decide. If the temp raise to ard 15deg i will only bring a jacket along.
Cos tt time i went Melbourne the temp is between 15-20 i only bring a jasket along wearing bermuda i find it sufficient. But hor looking at the situation i tink it will still be quite cold towards end of march wor.. hopefully the temp will raise lor...

pisduck

Jule,

don't bother. Although they (UOB travels) say extension is free, now they say they cannot get tickets for me, all is booked. Even though you still can get ticket though ANA (even the $650 promo tickets still available).

I called up ana themselves and they say the group tour package is different.... Bottomline is there wasn't probably any chance of extension and yet UOBtravel neglected on mentioning that.

I have extended on all my past 3 tours with no problems..... Last time I ever try ANAtours or UOBtravel.

Especially UOBtravel as they were not helpful at all. Just say no tickets.... When they were selling the package to me, they advertise book in Natas, no extension fee, etc,etc...

jule

I didnt check with UOBTravel, but with other agents. And I saw the new flyer from First Choice, and it did mention that there's a extension fee. Has it been 2 weeks before departure? becos all extension is pending availability 2 weeks before departure.

I booked with CTC with no extension. As I see no point in extending 1 day (my case) and also cos ANA only allow extension to a weekday departure, being a peak period for my tour.

sunniepie

hi piggy

ic.....ur aunt also going on group tours too?
ya bring thicker clothings also good, at least u dont have to spend money buying there.

u intend to change how much currency ah?

piggy12

HI Sunnie, nope my aunt free n easy they got relative there.. they goin to hokkaido and self drive to central Japan..

I am thinking of changing $1200 (excluding tips n branded goods if i gettin any)
since your group exceed 20 u got to pay for local tour leader as well. For Japan tour guide n driver the tips is 550yen x 6days. As for local tour leader the tips is 200yen x 7days for 1 pax.

I jus received a call from CTC to attend the briefing next Sat
seems like it getting nearer wor..

sunniepie

oh so fast they call u for ur briefing...
wow u changing $1200, i still thot no need to change so much cos can use card for branded stuff and most meals are catered for. I only thought of changing 1k including tips and my extension le. Now i have to consider changing a bit more .

yr group how big now?

piggy12

HI Sunnie, jus to clarify the $1200 is for 2 pax not sure the 1k u referring is meant for 2pax as well
Anyway if u r not buying a lot den i tink 1k is sufficient.. but the things there not very cheap wor especially if u r like me who love their product a lot.. FYI on average a box of local goodies (like biscuit etc)cost ard $20+. somemore i am thinking of buyin some fancl products n cosmestic which is cheaper over there.. u know la when things r cheap woman tends to buy more which could amount to a few hundreds wor.. n most of the shop there accept only cash. Not to forget got 2-3 meals it on our own it could easily cost $20 per meal/pax.. i am still thinking if i shd change more wor cos my colleague say 1k might be jus enough only somemore for your case the tips is already $120+ for 2pax..

Ya the briefing is about 2 wk prior departure.. currently my group still 12pax only not sure if this is the final figure. The think the final group size will have to wait till the briefing to confirm

BTW how many day u extending? is this trip for your honeymoon?

sunniepie

extending 3 days, ya for honeymoon.

oh ic, come to think of it, if even local goodies are so exp, i think really need to change more currency, dun want to get stuck later no cash to pay.

btw, u like to use fancl? i dun use fancl, so dunno if got other brands to use..
u buying a lot of fancl back?

piggy12

Hi Sunnie, nope i only use the cleasing oil it good..dunno what i will buy yet will go there n see.. I use more on KOSE.. the KOSE black mask is very gd.. u can consider.. I be buying more mascara.. cos it gd n cheap regardless of brands.. but my main focus is the local goodies la haha.. miss it man.. Forgot to mentioned their disney also got lots of thing like sovenior u can buy.. i heard it very nice...

Since u extending for 3 days den better change more to play safe to avoid disappointment..

s__h

Only major shopping mall take credit card so is better to have more cash on hand..

japan is a cash society...

should you have citibank ATM card, you can actually go to any of the Japan ATM (usually at the their post office) and withdraw japanese yen...is direct deduce from your singapore account..

heard the exchange rate not that bad like credit card

sunniepie

ya i also got use kose black mask, but if buy a lot back, will it expire?? tink can buy sheet mask too , i dont know how to read jap, wait buy wrongly haaa...do u read jap?
oh i didnt know fancl cleansing oil is good, how much per bottle? i normalli use clinque.
mascara i also wanna buy, heard shu one is not bad le...Got so many things to buy ........is 1200 enough then?? Ya Disney i heard fr friends they buy the popcorn container back, so cute ....

if u go there can use internet, please share yr experience and buys here ya.....

Hmm will our luggage be over weight then?? By the way, u travelling by sq or jal?

piggy12

Hi Sunnie, Kose black mask as long as u dun open the sealing tape it can last for years but i not buyin tt cos i got lobang here for KOSE products.. ya Fancl cleasing oil is very good better than most brands it cost $29.50/bot i hear it much cheaper at Japan.. Mascara i am using Shisedo Marjolie might try other brands haha.. actually they got lots of other products tt is gd u must drop by their drug store hmm... cos i buying a lot of light item products so dun think will exceed the limit but if have to bring thick clothing den there is a risk.. i dun read jap but can somehow figure from the chinese wording
Actually i dun think $1200 sufficient lookin at the way i am buying haha...

I flying by JAL my colleague told me very gd service n food
u?

sunniepie

me also by jal. hope its good...and hope can get to sleep on flight...if not next yr is panda eye.

Oic....but fancl bottles quite small one rite??how many ml?

hmm majolica i want to buy too..... been hearing so much raves abt it....how long is ur shopping list?? heee

piggy12

Hi Sunnie, it 120ml...

I have not set any shopping list wor cos not sure if I will get to passby any fancl shop..

But hor from my pass experience. Usually i wun be able to get any sleep in a night flight 1 but u can try to catch some sleep during the afternoon.

sunniepie

u tking leave on the day u depart?

i should be working, so cant nap too...

ya sometimes if never pass by the shop also cant buy, plan so much wishlist also no use.

piggy12

HI Sunnie,

I am departing on a Sat so lots of time to rest
I deliberately chose a Sat so that I return on a Fri can continue to rest during wkend. For your case i tink it ok by the time u board the flight i believe u be too tired to stay awake...

Hopefully they gave sufficient time to shop ard tokyo haha..

sunniepie

heee ya hopefully the meals there they provide is good too....i dont want to have chinese food there all d time.....

cos i extend so have to go earlier before the wkend.....

piggy12

dun worry la since u got 3 extras days u shd go n try their local ramen i heard it very good...

maybe this wkend will go ard n check out the exchange rate cos the rate seems to be increasing..

piggy12

Hi Sunnie, ya the lower the better.. when i book the rate is $13.11 now it $13.50 n it seems to be increasing wor..

piggy12

HI Sunnie, the rate gone up again I have already changed the rate today is $13.63(per 100yen) i tink it will continue to increase due to this peak season.

piggy12

HI Sunnie actually quite a no. of money changer already run out of Yen.. anyway i only got 3wk left so not really fast la.. I only change $1300.. eh.. i dun think there will be special rate leh i tink the rate is quite fix.. FYI most r selling at 13.65 and i tink it will reach $14 soon.

sunniepie

hi piggy

must keep my fingers cross rate wont increase too much or any further....

scary....

so did u keep track of the weather now? saw fr the site the cherry blossoms will bloom around the time we go japan....yipee....

piggy12

HI Sunnie, ya the sakura is est to bloom ard end march n i heard usually for a week only.. tt y tt time we had a headache on which date to departure luckily we spot on the date
the weather seems to be increasing for tokyo the temp end of this week is between 8deg to 17deg.

sunniepie

hee, piggy

temp increase also good, then we dun have to bring so much clothes or thick clothings.

is this trip for yr honeymoon?

piggy12

HI Sunnie, ya but hor still must bring more long sleeve cloths la cos it will still be under 20deg which is still quite cold.. NOpe this is not my honeymoon trip. I spent my honeymoon in Sydney n melborne
wanted to go new zealand back then but the climate during tt period no good..

piggy12

Hi Sunnie, i went for free n easy but not doin self drive cos the transport is very easily accesible can reach the country side via train. No children yet no luck hahah..

sunniepie

hi piggy

how many yrs u maried liao?

today's weather so cold.....seems like winter time....

heard the daiso in jap is so much cheaper than sg....can go there n buy.

piggy12

Sunnie i married for 2yrs liao... daiso? haha.. not very keen in daiso... anyway i dun tink i have time to explore also..

sunniepie

hi piggy

dun worry, hope the hotel they allocat us per nite is near to shopping areas.then we can shop a bit....

the agency havent call me about briefing yet le.....

piggy12

HI sunnie, dunno leh this sat i will know abt the hotel thingy during briefing..
hmm... maybe they will call u soon.. tt time they call me 3 wk in advance..
anyway on the last day i have abt half the day to explore tokyo but dun tink sufficient..i have already print out the metro/JR routing also

micky12

Selling this coat on behalf of my frens, she is selling it at cost of $58, do let me know if you keen. The jacket come in a cardigan as set as seen in pic 3. Can wear separately. Pic 2 is the cardigan.
626791.jpg

626792.jpg

626793.jpg

sunniepie

hi piggy

the agency told me before the last night is at narita airport hotel. so if want to go explore on your own, guess u must come out early cos its pretty far from the city. btw wats yr return flight timing?

piggy12

huh narita airport ah... ya it very far from the city abt 1-2hr of travelling..... I tot it will be at tokyo hotel.. tt bad.. my rtn flight is 6+pm if not wrong..

sunniepie

then u can stil go out in the morning, and explore for a few hours...if not stuck in hotel do nothing also very boring.

piggy12

hai but very short if have to leave the hotel for airport at 3pm i only got 3-4hr to explore wor..i expect the last night to be in tokyo leh ... hmm... maybe during the briefing i will ask if staying at tokyo area is possible..

sunniepie

if from narita hotel to airport is very near.....so u just need to rush back by 3pm....

say if u leave narita hotel for city around 10am, should be ok, still got some time to explore, ya do ask them ...but i think high chance they say cannot, cos i ask them if i can stay in city so that my extension can also be same hotel in city, they say cannot.

so sad lor.

sunniepie

i key wrongly , should be

But still, do ask them if the hotels that we stay in for other nights are in town that can go shopping at night one or not ya.

piggy12

HI Sunnie,

HOpefully can lor cos if remember correctly the 6th day we are going Disneyland which is very near narita so i doubt can..if really cannot den i will jus take the JR to tokyo city lor but quite ex wor..

so ur extension also at narita hotel?

sunniepie

nope, i extended on my own in tokyo city itself...if not very mafan, have to travel to and fro back to narita every day.

ya lor, hope can.....heard now the customs a bit troublesome too cos need to take pics and scane fingerprint issit.

U going disney land or sea?? U can go sanrio kitty land, not bad la. i dun have tat in my itenrary....

piggy12

not sure abt the custom.. actually i am no fan of Sanrio.. so with or w/o no diff for me... i going Disneysea.. u?

sunniepie

i never been to disneyland, so tot of gg land first then next time to sea....u been to disney land before?

haha....so wat fan are u??