Japan Package Tours

micky12

piggy,

I think ctc is offering $1968 or $1988 (cant rbr the price) for the package but taking nite flight rite? When are you leaving?

jule

May, as Im only looking at a particular departure date and for hokkaido,as I have been to osaka, so I have limited choices. I have called up the various agencies. Am keen towards taking first choice holidays which is by ANA. Can book with a few agencies.

piggy12

Hi Micky,

Yup taking night flight. For me i am ok with it cos even u took morning flight by the time u reach Japan n transfer to hotel it be like ard evening time so basically u only have a few hr of free n easy which is a pity for the free additional night unless u intend to explore their pub area. i would prefer if they offer me the additional night in additional to the last day of the tour but up to individual
BTW for your return flight is it a morning flight or evening flight?

kittylovers

Hi, Piggy12, can you share your package with me?

I just went Hokkaido during this CNY period by Chan Bros, very dissappointed with their services and I don't think I'll join their package anymore...

pisduck

I went with SA for hokkaido and it was pretty good. Nice food and hotels.

This time round dunno which to book? Ana first choice holidays for tohoku 7 days looks good but no morning flight. Anyone went with ANA b4?

Thinking of trying Hongthai as heard some good things about them.

I also prefer a morning flight as it doesn't affects my sleep pattern, else first day is very tiring as I can never sleep on plane

micky12

piggy12,

My return flight will be in the noon, reached home ard 7pm.

Pisduck,

Yes, i also prefer morning flight than nite flight, sleep on plane always will get disturb either by air stewardess or pilot announcement, furthermore, to Japan is not long journey, by the time i really can get into sleep, need to get down of plane liao. If taking nite flight, reach japan in the morning and will right away continue with the itineray will be too tired for my mum as well.

Yesterday went out with dinner with my frens, one of them told me Tohoku is nice.

piggy12

Hi Micky,

Sure most impt u feel comfortable with it

Hi Jas,

Ya I heard a lot of negative feedback for Chan Brother as well hence, do not wan to risk by trying them.

This is my first time with CTC and I heard their service was quite good food n hotel also not bad and i quite like their itinery, price wise i tink it reasonable
My package is 7Day 5night. Highlights includes:
Disneyland/sea
Sanrio
Geisha accompanied tour at Kyoto
Mount Fuji
Hot Spring
Ashi Lake cruise
Hakone
Nara
Osaka
Ueno Flea market (if u like to buy lots of local food this is the place to go)
Tokyo (Shinjuku etc)
Nagoya
Including 1 night stay at Hyatt Regency(depend on availabilites)
Night flight by JAL return in the evening.
tt all i can remember. But if you wan a more detailed itinery u can go to their website it avaialble. But take note the itinery for Apr onwards is different i goin end of Mar

mzlt7879

I jus signed up with CTC to Hokkaido in July (lavender season) after comparing all the various agencies. Wanted to sign for ANA first choice package and SA but compared e package & decided to give CTC a try..

sallykoo

Anyone seen the 8days Honshu luxury collection offered by Singxpress?

Thier package is slightly different from the others as the last night stay is in Tokyo city and not near narita airport. This is especially good for pple who wish to extend in Tokyo.

sunniepie

hi piggy

i mgg on 3rd apr. hopefully the tour can be confirmed soon, so i can start my planning as i extended a few days on my own too....

my itenerary doesnt have the hello kitty land.
hee do u have any must buys items from japan?

piggy12

Hi Sunnie, me too hoping the tour can be confirm. How much did u pay for the extension?for how many days?

In Japan there r many thing to buy but dependin on ur liking. If u like Burberry it very cheap to buy in Japan.. N if u makeup the cosmetic is good n cheap!! like the shiseido Marjoli Mascara only cost $15.. N if u like to buys lots of tibits like me they have lots tt u can buy llike kitkat they have diff flavour for diff season.. n 1 of the famous brand for cookies "Bai Se Lian Ren" is very popular with white chocolate as filling v nice... haha... can't wait to go.. but make sure u compare among the stall or shops. the prices varies..

pisduck

I thought shiroi koibito chocolate closed down already?

Anyway I signed up with ANA 7 day Tohuku. $2.2k includ tax. Reason is because there is no extra charge for extension for ANA. I want to extend 3 nights. hopefully can get.

sakura predictions. This year supposedly a bit later than last year as the winter is colder.
http://www.sakurazensen.com/

pisduck

kind of curious did anyone tried prime travel? The pricing of their tours is REALLY ex ($4k for 8 nights) but I see the hotel list is also not super good...

sunniepie

hi piggy

i paid for $125 for extension, hotels not included i hv to book on my own.

Ya heard raves about the nice cosmetics there....any other brands to recommend?? I thought ur trip alreadi confirmed as you are departing earlier for japan.
Hope after the natas we all can confirm the trip hee....
I am also looking foward to go to the hot spring.
are u?

piggy12

Hi Pisduck The shiroi Koibito Chocolate u mentioned is it Bai se lian ren? If it is i dun think it closed. My colleague jus bought some back last month wor..

Ya Sakura is a llttle this yr hence i opt for 29/3 departure hope to catch it
Wow $4k for 8nights?? it very ex wor.. even my aunt she went for free n easy with all the good hotel n car rental it only cost $3500/pax wor.

piggy12

Hi Sunnie Pie,

the $125 is the charges by the airline i wanted to extend too but i only intent to extend for 1-2 day so not worth it.
Cos when i book only 4 pax n last wkend i drop by the fair at MS the sales who serve me told me not yet 10pax so still waiting but he told me there is another departure on 31/3 is more or less confirm so if my departure date cant hit the min pp i might join tt date. Hopefully i can depart on 29/3 at least after i came back it wkend i can rest for 2 more days

According to my friend all their cosmetic is good regardless of the brand and the packaging is very cute
I tried the hot spring in Taiwan few yrs back it was gd i can feel my body being recharge hence, no doubt i was looking forward another session of hot spring

s__h

gi pisduck,

i been to prime via their self drive tour to hokkaido before...

no doubt is $4k plus is crazy for a package tour when other agency are typially 2.2 to 2.8 max...

but my questions are :

for package tour to japan, does other agencies offer same amount of night stay? i.e 8N or 9N at $2.2k?

all 3 meals provided throughout the tour, except 1st and last night?

which agency offer the same hotels as prime ?

quality of food same as prime offer ?

if other agency can provide similar level of services, then yes, it not worth to take prime

s__h

shiroi koibito factory has stopped production as they lied in their expiry dates on the packaging...so waiting for government to resume their production

for those already out in retails, the biscuits are allow to be on sale but once all stock run out, there wont be any left to buy til production start again by law

kittylovers

I think they had resumed their production since early this year. Because I was purchased few boxes some for myself few weeks ago on my Hokkaido trip, the expiry date shows on the box is till May 2008.

Do correct me if I'm wrong. =)

piggy12

Hi S& H n Jas, I din kow they were asked to stop production but hope can buy some back becos they were very nice

sunniepie

hi piggy

ya agree the hot spring in taiwan is good...i lov e it too.....hope japan one is gd too.

So have u written down your shopping list?? hee

piggy12

Hi Sunnie, I think Japan 1 will be better
Shoppin list haha.. nope i never set shopping list but will sure buy lots of tibits haha..

pisduck

S & H,

Their tohoku 8 night tours is around $3.6k. I thought if they gave me good hotels I don't really mind. I just checked the 2 nights in tokyo was grand tanaka prince. From the web and it is like SGD200 per room, per night.....

you can check the package below

http://www.primetravel.com.sg/disp.asp?id=219&cat=FMJ+%2D+Package+%2D+FMJ

how was the hotels you stayed in Hokkaido? How much did you pay for the self drive?

The ANA tohoku tour hotels is also not too bad (some of it is similar to prime travel like in sendai). I can just book a 5 night tour with ANA for $1.7k and extend it by 3 nights and book the hotel myself for $100/per pax per night.... so that works around $2.0k..... which is a HUGE difference. (the extra day in tokyo for the prime travel tour was F&E anyway)

s__h

i cant remb exactly how much the package cost but is between 3 to 3.5k.

One of the hotel i stay was rutsututsu in the south tower room and it has 2 level...rooms above...living room below.

This room is only available on certain season...

does ANA provide 3 meals ?
How about the iternary ? same as prime ?

How about the cost of the 2 places to visit when u extend on ur own vs the prime ?

s__h

how about the rest of the hotels that prime provided other than tokyo ? not as good or better than ANA ?

sunniepie

hi piggy

u must bring a big luggage to store ur tidbits le...so many different kinds and flavours.

how much u intend to change for uyr currency?

piggy12

Sunnie Pie, in fact every time i go for vacation i will bring along a big luggage to store my tibits haha... i intend to change ard $1200 for 2 pax (excluding tips for the tour guide and of cos blurberry if i getting any

pisduck

ANA covers all the meals but I have never taken a ANA tour so don't really know.

The thing about hotel is that there are different kind of rooms in the same hotel so it is hard to judge unless you actually been on the tour.

How was the drive tour for hokkaido? From your earlier post, you guys have a tour leader and it is like a car convoy? How many cars? What happens if one car get lost or can we go on our own somewhere or stay longer in one spot and meet up at the hotel later?

Sound quite interesting. I did not check it out as I thought it was a F&E kind of tour, without tour lead, you drive on your own all the way. Sounds like an interesting blend of F&E and tour.

sailormoonwt

Just saw the news tonite and notice tat yellow dust has hit Tokyo and the visibility seems really bad ... now i'm getting worried

milo66

I am also travelling to Japan in mid March.Its next Wed actually. Any of u going ard the same time? Any plans to change date because of the sandstorm. At a lost now

piggy12

Hi Milo66,

according to my friend who work in Tokyo, the situation is not tt bad wor.. jus tt the road is a bit dirty full of sand.. visibility is still alright but i believe by next wk it shd be fine... BUt if u wan to play safe u can try to call up ur agency change another date. but personally i think it depend on ur luck even if u change the date u can't guarantee there would'nt be another round of sand storm on the day u depart.. who know things turn out well by end of this wk:p

milo66

Piggy,

True also hor.. All this sandstorm etc, we cant predict also

Seems like for the metrology website, its supposed to be better by next week. Hope so..

Thanks for the update! Me going FNE so if have to change the date must do it latest by 8 Mar

piggy12

HI Milo66,
Ya lor all this natural event we cant predict 1 i going end of march hopefully will not encounter any storm
lets us all pray hard haha...

sunniepie

didnt know got sandstorm le...

piggy , ur tour confirmed??

ya heard is rather cold there now. winter is delayed..wonder if the sakura will bloom by end march

milo66

piggy & micky,

i think this year winter abit colder than usual hor. didnt expect late march to be 12oC also.

piggy12

Hi Sunnie Pie, I jus called up CTC.. my tour is confirmed!! very happpy but seems like many pp wor cos the lady told me current got 12pp but they have yet to finish with all the data entry from the natas so there might be more.. hopefully not more than 20..

Ya this yr the winter is slightly longer tt y the sakura is predicted towards the end of the march instead of mid march..but i tink it depend on individual luck
hopefully i am lucky enough..

milo66, ya below 15deg is consider quite cold during tt period. hopefully the temp will go up a bit so tt i can bring less thick clothing along to save some luggage space haha..

jule

pisduck, which agency u sign up with for ANA tours? I checked with few of the agents, and they tell me now ANA charge for extension. How comes yours dont need?

I last went Japan with ANA Tours 3 years back and they didnt charge for extension.

sunniepie

hi piggy

so good for u.....tink natas fair sure many people booked...i heard some groups have 42 pax...i tink is too big a group....

piggy12

Sunnie pie: ya 42pax is too much.. i was hoping my group wun exceed 20pax.. wat abt urs? u got call n check?

sunniepie

havent call n chk...sobz. calling later bah....
hope can confirm and also on my extension...

aiya, if i same grp as u then good...heee

piggy12

Hi SUnnie, i tink very hard to be in the same group since we r not departing on the same day
If same group then gd can help each other to take pictures haha...

sunniepie

hi piggy

my trip also confirmed.....got more than 20 pple in the grp...so many le....seems like its not school holidays also got many people go japan hor.
ya lor....if not can help each other haa..
which date u back to sg?

piggy12

Hi Sunnie,

I coming back on 4/4. The day u depart right?
i tink it becos of the sakura season

But 20 over is alot wor.. i very scare big tour group 1 wait have to wait for this n that...
Now i already start to counting down le haha..